You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-09-2015, 06:56 PM   #1
calais

Default Best feeds in Adelaide?

Hey All,

Ive found myself adelaide bound for the next ten days.... Not by choice but if the only thing I can do for myself other than work is eat, I may as well live it up.

Best pub feed? German beers? Thai, Indian, awesome brekky cafe, Where would you be heading?

Cheers!
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-09-2015, 07:37 PM   #2
NTF6

Try the Belgian beer cafe Oostende up Ebanezer place in the city, if you like mussels they have half price for a kilo on Mondays with your choice of about 6 different broths for 15 bucks. And Amalfi in Fromme at big generous serves and tasty food.
Old 28-09-2015, 08:31 PM   #3
black13
born to be mild

Default Re: Best feeds in Adelaide?

For indian takeaway, you cant go past http://www.indiantemptations.com.au/, the butter chook is awesome, & the garlic naan is the best. Every cabbie in Adelaide calls in there for a feed.
Another great place is http://grumpys.com.au/, on the way to hahndorf, awesome pizzas
triumph Daytona 1200
the black beast busa gsx1300r
black13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-09-2015, 08:54 PM   #4

Jerusalem on Hindley St, best Lebanese food
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 05:45 AM   #5
Brodes
Brodes

Breakfast: Head to the Coffee Barun on Main North Road in Sefton Park, best coffee & awesome brekky.
Old 29-09-2015, 09:41 AM   #6
Fairlane 500

If you want beers you won't find a better selection
(they pride themselves on having an absolutely massive range from all over the world,
they even have some sort of "beer drinking legends" challenge for you to have a go at.)
than at The Earl of Leicester in Parkside,
it's one of the oldest pubs in Adelaide, great feed as well.
(they have fantastic schnitzels & heaps of other stuff )

The place is a 100+ year old pub, it is hidden away in the backstreets just outside the city.

http://www.earl.com.au/

Virtual tour here...

http://www.earl.com.au/liars-bar/liars-bar-virtual-tour

&

https://www.facebook.com/earlofleicesterhotel?fref=nf

Check it out mate

& no, I have nothing to do with the place, just enjoy going there sometimes.

Last edited by Fairlane 500; 29-09-2015 at 09:56 AM.
Fairlane 500 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 01:37 PM   #7
Fairlane 500

Here is the "Beer Legends" Beer list
http://www.earl.com.au/uploads/files/Beer_Legends.pdf
Fairlane 500 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 02:06 PM   #8
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 

Not sure if they are still there, but years ago when we went to Clipsal, we stayed at Glenelg and there is a place called Fizz on the Beach - Best Garlic Bread you will ever have.

Also, we frequented a place called Cork & Clever 2 Bevington Rd, Glenunga SA 5064

Great steaks but not cheap.
Old 29-09-2015, 03:50 PM   #9

The Hahndorf Inn does a mean German selection. Massive portions too
Im a fan of Raj on Taj in Hyde Park for Indian food
Good Life Pizza on Hutt Street
Sosta Argentinian Kitchen on Rundle Street is amazing
Tanapa Thai in Glenelg are the closet to doing the most authentic Thai food without being in Thailand itself.
St Louis in either Glenelg or Gouger st do incredible desserts http://st-louis.com.au

blueoval is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 04:36 PM   #10

Where in Adelaide are you staying? CBD? North? South? East? West?
Old 29-09-2015, 04:57 PM   #11

went here recently
http://orientai.com.au/

highly recommended, however it is pricey and depending on what you order, the serves may not be much. it tasted awesome and i would go back for sure.
Old 29-09-2015, 08:48 PM   #12
calais

Sadly staying on the base at Edinburgh......

So far we hit the city last night, half the places were closed, fair enough being a monday and tonight some bloke at work suggested the tea tree gully hotel and it seems nice enough. We are heading to hahndorf on thursday so we are looking forward to that
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 08:59 PM   #13
ford71V8

Another vote for Grumpys, good pizza, great beers.
Its close to Hahndorf too.
ford71V8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-09-2015, 09:03 PM   #14

Yeah dont expect a lot in Adelaide at night mid week. Hindley street might have some places worth checking out for food but be aware it is a bit seedy there.

Since you are staying out there, you could probably check out the Louisiana Tavern in Elizabeth. I have heard it does Southern Comfort food USA style there.

blueoval is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 02:49 AM   #15
Brodes
Brodes

Originally Posted by calais View Post
Sadly staying on the base at Edinburgh......

So far we hit the city last night, half the places were closed, fair enough being a monday and tonight some bloke at work suggested the tea tree gully hotel and it seems nice enough. We are heading to hahndorf on thursday so we are looking forward to that
Just down the road across from the Plaza is the Modbury Plaza Hotel, we eat there often and are never dissapointed, popular place, they do a decent schnitty. Best schitties would have to be at the Coopers Alehouse on Pultney st though, go the mexican.
Old 30-09-2015, 09:05 AM   #16
Tassie f100

Had a funny experience in Adelaide couple of years back.Went into pub to buy a beer,asked the blonde behind the jump for a pint.She gives me a schooner (15oz) and when I said I asked for a pint she informs me in no uncertain terms that that is a pint in SA.And South Aussies reckon the rest of the world is a bit slow LOL.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 09:07 AM   #17
STEALTHY

Not sure if it'd be your thing, but Chicken Chef have the best chips in SA, hands down (only topped by Schnitz in VIC). If you go, make sure you go to the Enfield store. The Gilles Plains store is hit and miss as its been franchised out.

Also, if pizza is your thing, Marcellina's win. The city store is the only one open late late, but worth the drive. (I think your closest store would be Parafield, although i did hear of an Elizabeth one opening somewhere, not sure if it went ahead)
You will however pay a premium, but you can justify the cost as its not a $5 domino's/pizza hut cardboard pizza.
STEALTHY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 09:33 AM   #18

Originally Posted by Tassie f100 View Post
And South Aussies reckon the rest of the world is a bit slow LOL.
Have to disagree. I don't know any south Aussies that think we are ahead of anyone.
Old 30-09-2015, 12:01 PM   #19
ford71V8

Had a funny experience in Adelaide couple of years back.Went into pub to buy a beer,asked the blonde behind the jump for a pint.She gives me a schooner (15oz) and when I said I asked for a pint she informs me in no uncertain terms that that is a pint in SA.And South Aussies reckon the rest of the world is a bit slow LOL.

When we cross the border, this happens to us but the opposite way.

I didn't complain though because my beer was bigger than expected, not smaller
ford71V8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 01:00 PM   #20

Show's how backwards SA must be. For some strange reason they use an imperial pint, which is a schooner in every other state

I do find it fascinating the subtle differences between states though.
Old 30-09-2015, 01:29 PM   #21

Originally Posted by prydey View Post
Have to disagree. I don't know any south Aussies that think we are ahead of anyone.
You haven't met my MIL. She's convinced SA is subsidising all the other states...
b0son is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 03:19 PM   #22
Tassie f100

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
Show's how backwards SA must be. For some strange reason they use an imperial pint, which is a schooner in every other state

I do find it fascinating the subtle differences between states though.
Sorry you're wrong there an imperial pint is 20oz or 570ml. A schooner is 15oz or 425 ml approx.I know Iv'e been drinking out of them for nearly 50 years
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2015, 04:02 PM   #23

Well the opposite of an imperial pint. I must have them backwards.
Old 30-09-2015, 07:43 PM   #24

Yes it can be bit strange going to another state and asking for stuff, i asked for a piece of flake in a fish shop in WA years ago (Geraldton i think ? ), the bloke looked at me like WTF ? whats flake he asks .
sorry back on topic.
Old 30-09-2015, 08:05 PM   #25
HIPO
Al

Thai Orchid in Henley Square, Henley Beach is very good.
HIPO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post