Old 06-12-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Talking Whats Doing For Chrissy??

G'day all,

Seeing as it's very close to christmas now, thought i'd start a related topic to it!!

So as the title says, what are your plans for christmas day/period?

For myself, i have lots of close family friends to visit, eat and get drunk with for christmas day , then on the 27th will be packing up the family to drive down to Brissie to have new years with more family!!

Have a merry christmas and a happy new year!!

There's no replacement for displacement!!!

Handling: Bilstein Shocks with King springs all round, Whiteline 27mm front swaybar & 22mm rear adj, upgraded PBR rotors, calipers and braided lines all round with Bendix Ultimate pads.
Go Fast Bits: Herrod C.A.I with K&N 4" pod flter, Herrod Helix spacer, Herrod oil breathers, Tridon 72c thermostat, Herrod 2.5" stainless cat back zorst.
Bunyip04 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-12-2011, 09:30 PM   #2

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Can't think of anyone more deserving. Russ Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the technical support behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Technical submission 
Default Re: Whats Doing For Chrissy??

Pulling the ZG apart... time for a new engine.
Old 06-12-2011, 09:34 PM   #3

Christmas day - Breakfast with my boys and then we go and visit the elderly who might not have any family visit them on Xmas day...then we come home and watch Groundhog Day!

Watching that movie has been a family tradition since I bought Jack the DVD for Xmas years ago
Old 06-12-2011, 09:34 PM   #4
Spudz27
Call me Spud

Spending time with the family, flying my new r/c cessna (already know present haha) and hopefully knowing I am employed in the new year. Have an interview this week.

My sister is staying with me the week before (even though we will also see each other next week and at christmas) so we will celebrate everyday leading upto lol.
Spudz27 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2011, 01:27 AM   #5
Mickxr8

Going up to Dongora (WA) to spend time with family and not often seen rellies, do the nice christmas thing in the morning then kinda wander down to the back shed with the ol man,uncle etc and play with car stuff and drink lotsa beer
Old 07-12-2011, 01:40 AM   #6

Christmas day? No idea. Nothing i hope.
Every other day around christmas? Working.

Old 07-12-2011, 02:19 AM   #7
Altern XR6

I'm gunna get totally ****ed and naked, jump up and down, do the hokie pokie and wait for the bastard that didn't bring me my bike when I twas 12 and punch in him in his red suit.. Might do his rain-dear aswell.
Old 07-12-2011, 01:55 PM   #8
trippytaka

Interestingly it will be the first time that my family hasn't been together since I was born. My sister will be up at her farm in Mudgee so we'll be having Xmas at mum's on 23rd, then to my gf's on Christmas eve.

Christmas day? I might get my mum around to the new rental house that my GF and I are moving into on the weekend. Either that, or I'm goinng to buy an inflatable pool, crack a few beers and sit back and listen to music while reflecting on the busiest year of my life.
trippytaka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2011, 02:37 PM   #9
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Sounds like everyone's winning!!
Good luck with your interview Spudz!
And safe driving to all those traveling by road.

Handling: Bilstein Shocks with King springs all round, Whiteline 27mm front swaybar & 22mm rear adj, upgraded PBR rotors, calipers and braided lines all round with Bendix Ultimate pads.
Go Fast Bits: Herrod C.A.I with K&N 4" pod flter, Herrod Helix spacer, Herrod oil breathers, Tridon 72c thermostat, Herrod 2.5" stainless cat back zorst.
Old 07-12-2011, 04:28 PM   #10

Drinking up with the mrs and the mates, pretty much all holiday season.

Old 07-12-2011, 04:51 PM   #11
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Sleeping! And finishing the unpacking I haven't done since I moved in October.
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2011, 07:59 PM   #12
LyleXR8

Sleeping during the day, working at night. Mining industry stops for nobody!!!! Well our site doesn't
LyleXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2011, 08:32 PM   #13

being that the father in/outlaw had surgery today we are heading to their place to cook chrissy dinner as he wont be able

( he is the best cook in the house )

we need to do the cooking looks like the kettle cooker will get a work out

Jason

Old 07-12-2011, 09:03 PM   #14
Dazza TT
Now Prado Powered

Heading to the Whitsundays to smash beers with some top mates, and their families.
Old 07-12-2011, 09:23 PM   #15

If the weather keeps going like it has been in the last couple of days here, we might end up with a White Xmas. Coldest Brisbane december day today since 1888............ Heading down south to "Warm" Ballarat to catch up with my Dad......... Love your idea Geez, visiting the folks that have know one...
Old 07-12-2011, 11:59 PM   #16
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Yeah visiting ppl that have no one is unheard of these days, my Missus was saying her family used to do it all the time. The least we can do now is have the guys or gals i work with in defence come to ours for lunch that are spending their first ever time away from their families for Christmas that can't catch a break to get home.

And am DEFINITELY looking forward to the cooler weather in Brissy!!

Old 08-12-2011, 12:19 AM   #17

We did it one year when the kids were complaining that they didn't get something they wanted for Xmas...so we showed them some people have no-one to share Christmas with. Been doing it every year since.

In fact it is the boys who now insist we do it and it is part of our Christmas tradition. No big thing...just a bit of time spent spreading the Christmas spirit.

Hopefully it will become a tradition that my boys will carry on with their kids.
Old 08-12-2011, 12:39 AM   #18
creative
I am Batman

Timing chains on the ute, get my freebie crosser running, might chuck in a bit of fishing then I think we are hitting Sydney for the new year. I'm off all Xmas and new year but the missus isn't... Hence the cars and fishing!
creative is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2011, 12:49 AM   #19

Going to lunch with both my parents and last remaining grandparent.

First time my parents will have been together with me for Christmas since I was 18 months old... but that was only 20-something years ago...
Old 08-12-2011, 10:23 AM   #20

I'm buggering off tomorrow... Won't be back till the end of Jan:

10 days in South Africa, then a few days in Lesotho, then a few days in Mozambique where I will be spending Chrissy in a tent, then a few days in Zimbabwe - spending new years at Victoria falls, few days in Zambia, Malawi, Tanzania, Zanzabar Island, then Finish off in Kenya on the 22nd of Jan...

But wait, there's more!

Fly to Switzerland for a few days, booked a Heidi tour to make the boss happy, day trip to Lichtenstein then fly to Hong Kong for 3 days smack bang in the middle of Chinese New Year, going to Disneyland on Australia day then returning Sunday morning....

And back to work Monday ;)

Still need to pack........
Old 08-12-2011, 11:18 AM   #21
u2canb12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Organising cruises and keeping the events in the spirit of the forums 

Flying back to Brisbane from the Jungle in PNG on the 21st Dec. I have got my daughter and Grand kids flying up from Melbourne on the 23rd and get to see my new Grand Daughter who I haven't seen yet. Annabelle is 8 months old so I am excited to see her.

We have a big family gathering at our place on Christmas day and should be a great time of food, drink and much laughter

Going to fit the toploader in the GT and put the coupe on the rotissorie ready to get blasted and etched primed on my next swing back at the end of January
u2canb12 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2011, 04:30 PM   #22
smally289
growing up is optional

Working in the mines has its drawbacks - I will be working a 12 hour shift on xmas day and wont get home until the 27th. Making up for it new years eve though, heading to Melb to spend it with friends.
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2011, 04:55 PM   #23

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva

10 days in South Africa, then a few days in Lesotho, then a few days in Mozambique where I will be spending Chrissy in a tent, then a few days in Zimbabwe - spending new years at Victoria falls, few days in Zambia, Malawi, Tanzania, Zanzabar Island, then Finish off in Kenya on the 22nd of Jan...

But wait, there's more!

Fly to Switzerland for a few days, booked a Heidi tour to make the boss happy, day trip to Lichtenstein then fly to Hong Kong for 3 days smack bang in the middle of Chinese New Year, going to Disneyland on Australia day then returning Sunday morning....

Geez your a tease mate

xmas day Im spending time at home with the family. Boxing day I leave for Cairns and Trinity Beach in a Sub Penthouse apartment for a week. Spend New Years drinking and lazing in the pool

This year has been hell so a break has been well overdue even if its still short.

Have a good trip though mate. I look forward to seeing a thread with pics of your trip when you get back.

Old 08-12-2011, 10:58 PM   #24
Uncle Niceguy

well we celebrate christmas with the not-so-fortunate a a local park just down the street witch we have been doing since day dot and thats now spread to the whole street going along we all bring a plate of food, initially it was our idea the neighbour stole it and did it and we all just take turns in organising it every year. its great cause the park is a 2min walk away and isn't too difficult to get to.
Uncle Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2011, 02:06 PM   #25
Josh_XC

Working over christmas, one nice governemnt agency decided christmas would be a perfect time to transition services... yay.
Bionic BF XR8 - 6 speed manual, reversing sensors, premium sound, GT starter button. 218rwkw - Got to love the BOSS!!
Josh_XC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2011, 06:05 PM   #26

Working.
At least I have new years off for once.
Old 09-12-2011, 08:30 PM   #27
fordomatic

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva

But wait, there's more!

Have fun when you get back to reality mate. spewing i cant head overseas on holiday this christmas, enjoy.

I shall be drowning in misery as i cant head home to have Christmas with the family due to work, that's another Christmas sacrificed to work. but next Christmas a 3 months overseas trip should make up for it.
fordomatic is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2011, 10:29 PM   #28
Mickxr8

Will be interesting to see what gets posted up here chrissy night or boxing day lol
Have a good and safe one peoples , If ya cant be with family,friends or people you care about , ring em,txt email or god forbid,, send a card
Old 09-12-2011, 10:37 PM   #29

Hoping for a nice quiet one, the usual family things but the new guitar I bought myself for Christmas is begging to be run through an amp so I would like to stay close to home if we can.

Only other thing I want for Christmas is a new job. Here's hoping.
Old 14-12-2011, 10:22 PM   #30

hmmmm... working through til febish... then party hearty when everyone else is back waking up and going to workish.....
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post