You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 31-10-2005, 09:41 PM   #1
Stevo

Default Twin Turbo Ski Race Boat!

Ahhh, Now this would livin' up my sunday fishing trips.

Twin turbo Nissan VH 45 DE (4.5ltr V8), around 900hp from what i have heard.

Video Here (About 8mb)

Old 31-10-2005, 10:16 PM   #2
FG8PSI

Yes Please :
Old 31-10-2005, 10:24 PM   #3
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

thats pretty good for a non-intercooled setup.

or is it runnign methanol?
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2005, 10:37 PM   #4
ENVI XR6

Thumbs up

Hey nice work with the engine wat sorta hull is it in. wat about top speed
Old 31-10-2005, 10:49 PM   #5
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

Originally Posted by T_Terror
thats pretty good for a non-intercooled setup.

or is it runnign methanol?
i think you will find it has a core in those 2 plenums with nice cool sea water running through, or atleast thats what i would do.
its got a fitting on the front of it that doesnt make sense other than transferring water.

just watched the video, geez that thing screams! sounds awesome!
Qwikcorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2005, 10:38 PM   #6

that.............is..............awesome!!!!!!

bloddy hell!
Old 31-10-2005, 10:44 PM   #7
Firefox7
T3 Terrorist

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
that.............is..............awesome!!!!!!

bloddy hell!

My thoughts exactly.....WOW....

Fastest Lap time At wakefield park on Dunlop Sp9000's : 1:14:30, Came 2nd in outright driver, in the overall V8 result, 2006 N.S.W dutton rally :1syellow1

:king: T3 :king: The Mightiest & Deadliest Tickford Ever To Hit The Road........
Firefox7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2005, 10:49 PM   #8
THORNSPAWN
In the Forced 'lane

Not too shabby!!
By the pic it looks like it has twin water to air intercoolers.
THORNSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2005, 10:55 PM   #9

Ahh the good VH45DE with twins. Many have done this conversion in their cars. In a boat it would just kick ****!
Old 31-10-2005, 10:59 PM   #10
ENVI XR6

wow again. dont happen to have any more vids do ya. where abouts on the murry were u
Old 31-10-2005, 11:08 PM   #11

Originally Posted by ENVI XR6
wow again. dont happen to have any more vids do ya. where abouts on the murry were u
unless steve got really rich really quickly, its not his :P

im thinking he found the link to the vid on the net
Old 01-11-2005, 05:11 PM   #12
nang3

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Ahh the good VH45DE with twins. Many have done this conversion in their cars. In a boat it would just kick ****!
yep ive been in a 280z with this motor TT'd and holy farrrQ !!!!! fastest car ive ever been in by a long way, felt a lot faster than a 383 stroked dunnydore that pulled 11.8's !!!!!
nang3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 05:18 PM   #13
aimzes
...fairly odd

well those put my ski boat to shame. its only a worked 292.
Old 01-11-2005, 05:22 PM   #14

Originally Posted by nang3
yep ive been in a 280z with this motor TT'd and holy farrrQ !!!!! fastest car ive ever been in by a long way, felt a lot faster than a 383 stroked dunnydore that pulled 11.8's !!!!!
There is a video of a 280 or 260z with a V8 TT engine in it smoking a bike. Not sure if it was a 350 Chev or a VH45.
Old 02-11-2005, 09:14 AM   #15
xbgs351

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Boats are totally different to cars. A 350 chev that would be considered hot in a car would only have a top speed of around 100km/h in a 18 ft boat. To push a 21ft boat to 200km/h takes a lot of torque and horsepower.
xbgs351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 08:46 PM   #16

Originally Posted by xbgs351
Boats are totally different to cars. A 350 chev that would be considered hot in a car would only have a top speed of around 100km/h in a 18 ft boat. To push a 21ft boat to 200km/h takes a lot of torque and horsepower.
I know exactly what you are talking about, I used to work with a guy who said basically the same thing (350 is only a social/family motor in a boat). He had a Keith Black big block in his.
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 12:18 AM   #17
Matt_971
Regular Bum

hey guys.

I think you should make a ford cruze up to Echuca in Febuary. Anyone ever heard of The Southern 80 ski race.

Superclass has about 20 boats all of em either twin turbo or superchaged. all forced induction of some sort. Other classes inclde unlimited class. mainly same as superclass but lil bit less money spent lol.

Plus numerous amounts of STINKING HOT boats flat stick for 80kms.

Super class boats do the 80kms in about late 28 mintues i think now. IS AWESOME. top out at about 200kmh with 2 skiiers 200ft behind the boat.

So whos up for it. hehe

Last edited by Matt_971; 01-11-2005 at 11:16 AM. Reason: Spelling
Matt_971 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 10:06 AM   #18
AUII_Forte

Meh.....my 115hp V4 Evinrude would give it a run!! lol.

That's awesome!

Pacemaker 4490 Extractors
2.5" Exhaust
High Flow Cat
SS Inductions "Growler" CAI
Underdrive Pulley
Mal Wood H/D Clutch
Custom Tune
18" XHP Sabre's
12" Kicker Sub
169.2 rwkw
AUII_Forte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 11:17 AM   #19
Transit Truck

woww.

Last edited by Transit Truck; 01-11-2005 at 08:43 PM.
Transit Truck is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 12:48 PM   #20
SWOOP
XRSVO

definitly nice ,coolers are the barrels underneath extractors
Id say that the vertical block in between the manifold and valley would have something to do with a dry sump setup,
SWOOP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 03:55 PM   #21

yop motor. Whats wierd is it seems to only have 3 variable cam phasers.

Old 01-11-2005, 04:28 PM   #22
THORNSPAWN
In the Forced 'lane

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
yop motor. Whats wierd is it seems to only have 3 variable cam phasers.
2 cam phasers and a position sensor?
THORNSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 04:07 PM   #23
xbgs351

Makes no sense to me.

As it is not naturally aspirated it puts it in the Unlimited Inboard class. This puts it up against twin turbocharged, intercooled, fuel injected, big block motors that have around twice the engine capacity.

xbgs351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #24

ive seen steamboats go faster
Old 02-11-2005, 06:13 PM   #25
cowboy
Cowboy

Matt is right. Do the cruise to Echuca in Feb. Most of these guys have 50k+ invested in their motors and pulling 1500hp plus, just awesome. Most have paint that would shame many show cars too. If that doesn't entice you how about a thousand or so girls in bikinis? Book accom way early though or be prepared to camp.
cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 07:11 PM   #26
Matt_971
Regular Bum

Hey cowboy

Have you been to the southern 80 before? I LOVE IT. Is disappointing the way insurance is sending it though.

Anyways guys I reckon you will all love it. MEGA horsepower all day long. And in town on saturday night there is heaps to do. All the promo girls around lots of ppl out. Is a big weekend. Brings a massive amount of business to Echuca.

If I remember I will try organise something around the time it is coming up.

Can 1 of the admins plz contact me also plz.

Thanks
Matt
Matt_971 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 07:38 PM   #27

Thats very fast. I want that engine.
Old 05-11-2005, 12:45 AM   #28
Oz Dude

Southern 80 next year - we are entered and going!!

Remember - the Hawkesbury B2B is on in 3 weeks as well...

If you like hearing V8's at max RPM find a goos spot on the river and enjoy the view.

Here's a couple of the boats from Grafton a few weeks back

Old 05-11-2005, 11:54 AM   #29
AGRO
KB TECH SUPPORT

Oz.
Nice pics once again.
That boat "CHIEF' flies. I was fixated on it when I saw it at Southern 80.
Then again, there are a few twin turbo setups now!!!!!!!
Was going to build a setup for southern 80 years ago with a mate, but he ended up getting the cook pregnant so the plans fell through. Just as well, I wouldn't have my toys now if I went through with it!

Regards

AGRO.
AGRO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2005, 02:32 PM   #30
Matty4
Banana

Oopps!!!....my bad