You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 08-10-2006, 08:36 PM   #1
XA-Coupe

Default Fatality at HPR Today

Looks like someone has been killed at HPR. Not a lot more known than that right now. Some links

Link To News.Com.Au

Not good, not good at all

XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 08:43 PM   #2
Ryan

Not very good at all.

Condolences, to his friends and family.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 08:45 PM   #3

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

Sorry I had just started another thread in this, can some one delet it thanks

I hope it was no one from here.

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 08:45 PM   #4

Bugger, not good at all. But we do all accept and take the risk when we do these type of things. Still not a very nice thing to happen and my conolances to their family and friends.
Old 08-10-2006, 08:59 PM   #5
egosfast
Out and About

Doogstar and I were at HPR today to test Doug's new tune.
The car involved was a jet engined drag car called "Aussie Thunder".
I'm afraid I did not get the drivers name.

On his 3rd run it appeared a gust of wind caught him at about 3/4 track and
he lost control and veered across the track and through the left lane wall.
He was doing about 165-170 mph at the time. The car broke up and all we could see was a ball of flame and smoke and dust.
Old 08-10-2006, 08:50 PM   #6
Melz

From initial reports, not saying that this is fact. The driver was from Japan, who took the car to HPR for a test prior to taking it back to Japan.

Condolences to his family and friends.
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 08:55 PM   #7
XA-Coupe

After so many years with no one getting more than a rough up, we have fatal crashes all over the place. A reminder to take care.
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:19 AM   #8

Originally Posted by XA-Coupe
After so many years with no one getting more than a rough up, we have fatal crashes all over the place. A reminder to take care.
i agree...its pretty crazy how all of this seems to be happening all at once...

very tragic time in australian motorsport...
Old 09-10-2006, 12:33 AM   #9
Firefox7
T3 Terrorist

Hmmm I'm starting to have second thoughts whether I should run in the "race to the pie" hill climb....90% of this hillclimb is over 200kph and has rock walls everywhere.

Fastest Lap time At wakefield park on Dunlop Sp9000's : 1:14:30, Came 2nd in outright driver, in the overall V8 result, 2006 N.S.W dutton rally :1syellow1

:king: T3 :king: The Mightiest & Deadliest Tickford Ever To Hit The Road........
Firefox7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:42 AM   #10
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Originally Posted by Firefox7
Hmmm I'm starting to have second thoughts whether I should run in the "race to the pie" hill climb....90% of this hillclimb is over 200kph and has rock walls everywhere.
Well.. I was there today and I will still be racing again.

380rwkw - 11.68 @ 120.94mph 60ft=1.97
Custom Tune, Exhaust. injectors.1.2K Plazmaman 1.2K Plenum kit

Now with bigger turbo and 426rwkw.
Doogstar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 09:25 PM   #11
347_XR8
Slide Baby Slide

Default spelling

I'm shocked
My condolences to the family and all involved

Mr Super Skid-Man
347_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 09:51 PM   #12
MightyXR6Turbo
Boooostn'

Geeze, another Jet engine powered dragster accident... first "Hampster" from Top Gear, now this poor guy... it just shows that perhaps jet engines should be left on aircraft.

1979 XD Fairmont Ghia - Silver, 302C V8, Full velour interior, slowly building her up to be a tough cruiser!

2002 Nissan Patrol ST - Desert Gold, 4.8L DOHC 6cyl petrol (Soon to be reequipped with a 5.7L LS1 V8), 5speed auto, lifted, locked, 33's, nature destruction vehicle!
MightyXR6Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-10-2006, 10:02 PM   #13
egosfast
Out and About

Originally Posted by MightyXR6Turbo
Geeze, another Jet engine powered dragster accident... first "Hampster" from Top Gear, now this poor guy... it just shows that perhaps jet engines should be left on aircraft.
Yeah, there's just no margin for error in those things.
Old 08-10-2006, 11:01 PM   #14
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

I am still in shock from today, everyone involved in drag racing know's that such accidents are a possibilty, but no-one expects it to happen.

It was really gusty out there today, I got a few gusts of cross wind when I was down near the end of the track which made the car twitch, but as I was in my Falcon which is quite heavy so it wasn't a concern. In the Jet car though, with not much weight in the front and heaps in the back, the wind was lethal.

As we watched the crash, I couldn't believe my eyes. It happened so quick that I doubt the driver knew what happened.

My sincere and heartfelt condolences go out the the family and friends of the driver.

Old 08-10-2006, 11:33 PM   #15
X ORSMXR
missing the panther

Sorry to hear, just shows how dangerous motorsport/ Driving in any conditions weather it be on the street or track.

In the past few weeks seeing the crock hunter and the legend Peter Brock lose their lives has changed the way l drive and act on the road also life in general as l think there is more to life than driving/ racing cars hard.

My thoughts are with his family and freinds....RIP
X ORSMXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 12:05 AM   #16

Terrible news, I feel for those that lost their loved one.
Old 09-10-2006, 12:17 AM   #17

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

No one likes to see this in any sport, condolences to the family .

Old 09-10-2006, 02:45 PM   #18
montyv8
Turbo Dinosaur FTMFW

an update:

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sto...005961,00.html
Old 09-10-2006, 03:21 PM   #19

Bloody hell, how many more deaths in motorsport are we going to have? Not good to see, and my condolences go out to his family.
Old 09-10-2006, 04:43 PM   #20

Man this is crazy.

Way too many deaths in motorsport already.

This is tragic for all motorsport fans.

RIP

Old 09-10-2006, 05:46 PM   #21
Quadcams

Heavy duty!

Condolances to family and friends.
Quadcams is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2006, 07:16 PM   #22
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

While searching for an update on the HPR tradegy, I found out there was a death at the Go-Karts in Port Melbourne as well:

Here is a link to a updated news article for the jet-car @ HPR;
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sto...32-661,00.html

This was the first fatality at HPR in it's 30 year history.

Old 10-10-2006, 01:07 AM   #23

Originally Posted by Doogstar
While searching for an update on the HPR tradegy, I found out there was a death at the Go-Karts in Port Melbourne as well:

Here is a link to a updated news article for the jet-car @ HPR;
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sto...32-661,00.html

This was the first fatality at HPR in it's 30 year history.
I used to hang out at that place a bit. We'd shunt each over into the tyres for fun. Never really thought of a go kart center go kart as being lethal.
Old 09-10-2006, 07:15 PM   #24

A sad day indeed. Between the Karting accident at Port Melbourne, Mark Porter at Bathurst and this one at HPR it has been a very dark weekend for Australian Motorsport.

Our thoughts with all the families involved.

Regards

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2006, 11:27 AM   #25
UNRULY

Brings the message home that safety is a huge priority. Invest in the best safety gear you can fellas. Even if your car doesn't require a roll cage (eg ANDRA regs), why not have one for your own safety. Rolling a car at 200kph it will be game over, but why not give yourself every chance. My car that Im building has a moly cage, I race with a fire resistant race suit and gloves every run, all of this with an 11 sec car.
UNRULY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2006, 11:35 AM   #26
AFPGS

Looks like someone has been killed at HPR. Not a lot more known than that right now. Some links

Link To News.Com.Au

Not good, not good at all
Not good at all,it's tracks like these that should be banned.
AFPGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2006, 11:43 AM   #27
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Originally Posted by AFPGS
Don't agree at all, it was in NO WAY the tracks fault. The guys at Heathcote are very aware of safety and the track is in great condition.

The driver knew the risk, it was a jet powered dragster FFS.

In hindsight, he should have called it a day before that run, as it was very gusty up there that day, but that was HIS CALL not Heathcote's.

Old 14-10-2006, 11:45 AM   #28

Tracks like what? Heathcote is well run, the track is in excellent condition and the equipment is first rate. I'd rather run there than Calder.

I dont think the track or the staff/owners can be blamed in any way, shape or form! Strapping yourself into a jetcar is hardly what I'd consider a safe sport and every now and then accidents happen. To say the track should be banned takes the logic that Bathurst should be banned (been a few deaths there now), go kart tracks should be banned and all public road tracks like the Targa Tasmania should be banned.

Old 14-10-2006, 06:26 PM   #29
AFPGS

Originally Posted by Casper
Tracks like what? Heathcote is well run, the track is in excellent condition and the equipment is first rate. I'd rather run there than Calder.

I dont think the track or the staff/owners can be blamed in any way, shape or form! Strapping yourself into a jetcar is hardly what I'd consider a safe sport and every now and then accidents happen. To say the track should be banned takes the logic that Bathurst should be banned (been a few deaths there now), go kart tracks should be banned and all public road tracks like the Targa Tasmania should be banned.
You are kidding,firstly there is no ambulance on site safety equipment isn't really up to scratch either.Bathurst and the likes have medical staff and the likes you really can't compare.
Casper look around mate V8 GT's are that much in demand they are selling for over 400k :the_finge I am glad i have a few tucked away in the shed you never know retirement may be around the corner. :hihi:

Last edited by AFPGS; 14-10-2006 at 06:44 PM.
AFPGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-10-2006, 07:15 PM   #30
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Casper look around mate V8 GT's are that much in demand they are selling for over 400k :the_finge I am glad i have a few tucked away in the shed you never know retirement may be around the corner. :hihi:
Mate, if that shed gets full, I'll happily build a garage at my place to help ya out with space if need be :Up_to_som

As far as Heathcote. I can't comment on which track is better as I've only ever run on Heathcote (although I've heard alot of neg's about Calder) but I have to agree with the mentioned safety concerns. I don't think there are enough safety measures in place at the track but other than that, I think that the track is run very well.

As far as what happen last weekend - the track cannot be blamed for what happen last weekend. It was an accident that was NOT caused by any fault on the tracks surface or such. It was cross-wind. It was an extremely unfortunate thing but it happen. To blame the operators of Heathcote is unfair. And to say the track should be banned is a bit far I reckon.

That's my say on it...
Krissy
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~
FRDGAL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post