You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 20-11-2006, 09:15 PM   #1
amiers

Default distance to empty readout

my distance to empty readout normally reads the distance left in the tank when i start the car. however i filled up on saturday when the readout said 65klm's to go. when i started the car on sunday i noticed it stlil read the same. when i drive, it slowly goes up until it reaches whatever it should be. what would cause it to do that?

amiers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 09:17 PM   #2
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Fuel Pressure ,
Driving Style

if i put $10 in my car sometimes , it will beep on 20ks left , petrol in , 20ks left still then it builds up with a Bit of Pressure in the Tank , thats what the PSSSHH sound is when you open your Fuel Tank , VaccumPressure :_

Daniel

AU2PWR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 09:27 PM   #3

Originally Posted by SR_AU
Fuel Pressure ,
Driving Style

if i put $10 in my car sometimes , it will beep on 20ks left , petrol in , 20ks left still then it builds up with a Bit of Pressure in the Tank , thats what the PSSSHH sound is when you open your Fuel Tank , VaccumPressure :_

Daniel
So that's what causes you fuel pressure problems lol
Old 21-11-2006, 01:46 PM   #4
janek
Ripping it up

Fuel Pressure ,
Driving Style

Daniel
My tank has never hissed... is that bad? :S
janek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 07:01 PM   #5

Originally Posted by janek
My tank has never hissed... is that bad? :S
Yours is a Ghia, so it probably has the fuel tank ssshhhhh supressor (or whatever you call it) standard.

Old 20-11-2006, 09:26 PM   #6
xr8man83
Grunt Files

that would have to be bad case of fuel pressure i couldnt see it getting that low from that maby your computer is chucking the sads at somthing
xr8man83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 10:25 PM   #7
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

When I leave my car park on a hill or such, then start it back up it reads heaps low 450 to 45??
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 10:40 PM   #8
Smoked
Burnin Rubber

Interesting. Never encountered this with mine. Minute I startthe car after a fill, the DTE updates.
***Coming Soon: Clear Side Repeaters***
Originally Posted by The-ShowStoPPa
...dont get me wrong this 3.8v6 is pretty special, it does come with the popular shake rattle and roll option and the auto compliments this with the ever popular snap crackle and pop feature
Smoked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 10:51 PM   #9
kenz
BOSS Pilot

Ive filled mine up a few times to full and drove off and the DTE was 0 and the gauge was on empty but then when I turn the engine off and start it again its fine

Blue SY Territory Ghia

Originally Posted by CAT600
No matter how good the F6 is (and it is damn good), its missing two cylinders.
kenz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-11-2006, 11:14 PM   #10

my DTE seems to be accurate. on the cruise to canberra on saturday night it rose to 736. then started to fall back down again. when i topped up down there- unneccessarily, it came up as 750 haha then dropped as i was driving.
Old 20-11-2006, 11:23 PM   #11

Mine is very accurate but Ive noticed that if I put less than $20 into the tank it wont add it up correctly, happens more when there is a low level of fuel remaining.
Old 21-11-2006, 12:58 PM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Originally Posted by kenz
Ive filled mine up a few times to full and drove off and the DTE was 0 and the gauge was on empty but then when I turn the engine off and start it again its fine
Bad electrical connection on the EGAS utes ... get under the tray and unplug all the connectors to the tanks ... and clean the terminals ... plug it back together again and you shouldn't have an issue ... till it needs cleaning again.

It's a PITA job as well ... mine is starting to do it again... sometimes it only reads from one tank as well .. but my senders are reading correctly on the tanks.

There's one or 2 connectors per tanks ... and there is a main connector along a support rail ... at the back of the tanks ... above the axle/diff/tailshift .... a right pain to reach and unclip.

When DTE doesn't read it sometimes it is usually due to a bad connection in the loom to the tank(s).
Old 20-11-2006, 11:24 PM   #13
Orbit
Resident Nyctophobic!!

it's ment as a guide only.... but most are pretty ok.
Old 20-11-2006, 11:41 PM   #14
wesomc

Originally Posted by Orbit
it's ment as a guide only.... but most are pretty ok.
Exactly. If i had a dollar for every time someone ran out of fuel and said "but my DTE said i had 20km left...".
wesomc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-11-2006, 11:50 AM   #15
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

this Problem wont occur with LPG , But yeah its Pressure thing

And yes RedXR8220 , Thats the Reason , CleverA%%

Old 21-11-2006, 01:00 PM   #16

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

this Problem wont occur with LPG , But yeah its Pressure thing

And yes RedXR8220 , Thats the Reason , CleverA%%

Problem is a regular occurence on LPG ... I replaced my senders (one was faulty anyway) ... but still had an intermittent issue with the fuel gauge going up and down ... and starting low when it was actually full. Or only reading one tank ... sometimes when empty is says it's full.
Old 21-11-2006, 10:02 PM   #17
blue terra
au=gold

It can also be the fuel gauge thing behind the dash mine would play up after a full top up it would read empty and have no dte. so got it replaced and was fine
blue terra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-11-2006, 08:39 PM   #18

I was nearly at the point or replacing my cluster anyway ... cos it was annoything the hell out of me ... then I managed to get it to work ... so i didn't bother about it.
Old 24-11-2006, 10:36 AM   #19
janek
Ripping it up

you serious! cool... its always bothered me that i don't get the hiss...
janek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 10:40 AM   #20

Originally Posted by janek
you serious! cool... its always bothered me that i don't get the hiss...
No - 'twas a joke.

Old 24-11-2006, 11:22 AM   #21
ronwest
All Bran = Regular Member

Originally Posted by JC
No - 'twas a joke.
Damn!

I was about to add it to my "Factory Options" list ;)
ronwest is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 11:32 AM   #22
XR8-260

You can't always trust the DTO. Faults can develop which lead to inaccruate readings. Once my car ran out of petrol with 65km 'still left'.
XR8-260 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-11-2006, 11:43 AM   #23
GlennBA

Originally Posted by amiers
my distance to empty readout normally reads the distance left in the tank when i start the car. however i filled up on saturday when the readout said 65klm's to go. when i started the car on sunday i noticed it stlil read the same. when i drive, it slowly goes up until it reaches whatever it should be. what would cause it to do that?
That failrane is on gas isn't it? Thats why mate.
GlennBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2006, 11:38 AM   #24
amiers

yes it is on gas. however it has always worked the same as on petrol. i filled up again on tuesday and it now is back to normal.!!!
amiers is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2006, 12:23 PM   #25
GK
Walking with God

I guess if a tank is around half full or less, the juice is free to move around a bit. I suspect that's got something to do with the readings going over the shop a bit.

It does it on both my AU's one sedan, one wagon, both on dual fuel.

Of course the DTE reading does change a bit due to driving style, open road cruising sees it increase, whilst the opposite is the city cycle norm!

There's my 2 cents!

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-11-2006, 12:54 PM   #26
AU2PWR
Spin 'em Habib !

Dont Look at the DTE , Look at the Fuel Gauge , and if a Little Orange Fuel Bowser pops up , be near a Petrol Station

Daniel

Old 25-11-2006, 01:22 PM   #27
bodes-sh

well this was posted in another thread, but is still sorta relevant as it will tell you how many litres you have left and what your fuel consumption is http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=34
it's great, tells you heaps of stuff
bodes-sh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post