You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 22-08-2015, 08:39 AM   #1
sprintman1

Default Longest continuous use car battery?

What's the longest you have achieved from an automotive battery in daily use?
sprintman1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 08:46 AM   #2
damo76

Default Re: Longest continuous use car battery?

I bought my bronco in 2007 and sold it late 2014, anyway it had a acdelco battery that was stamped 2002 and i only just replaced battery in the bronco before i sold it only because i thought it was getting old.
damo76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 09:22 AM   #3
gossy
CLEVO POWERED

7 years 6 months in my daily Honda Accord Euro. AC Delco battery as well.
gossy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 09:42 AM   #4
Bill M

8 years from an OE Hitachi 12 volt in a mid 90's Nissan.
It was translucent and you could see the fluid levels at a glance which made it easy to maintain.
Old 22-08-2015, 09:47 AM   #5
Trump
bitch lasagne

13 years out of a Lucas battery in the old man's HQ Kingswood. Car was bought in 1977 and it lasted until he scrapped it in 1990.
Trump is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 09:50 AM   #6
thefargo
black xb

Start battery in Landcruiser, when I bought it second hand in 2006. Still there. Still good. probably going to die today, now that I've said it out loud!!
thefargo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 10:12 AM   #7

7 years out of a battery from the NRMA in an Echo. But it had the battery in the car when we bought it so who knows how long it was in before hand.
When it finally went flat it was after being parked for 2.5 weeks. If it was driven everyday who knows it may have lasted longer.
Old 22-08-2015, 11:33 AM   #8
sprintman1

Replaced battery in daily use BA 4.0 wagon yesterday and battery still fine for normal use but down on reserve capacity for running headlights without engine in horse paddock. Guy was amazed to see it was date stamped 2002! Did its job for sure!
Old 22-08-2015, 11:57 AM   #9
cram_it_frog
wombat

I got just over 8 years from one I bought from the RAA agebt in Broken Hill

when it died the RAA came out and said he had not stocked that make for over 8 years and said that I defiantly got my moneys worth

what happened was I had to go to Adelaide for a medical appointment and my car battery was playing up so we went to his work shop and said we are off to Adelaide and what battery do you suggest

he said that a with the hid lights and the spot lights I had on the car a standard one would not work well try this one $60 more

my wife winged then but little did we know that it would last so long lol

I just out in a RAA extra heavy duty one so I wonder how long that will last ?

Life is full of experiences some good some bad and with luck they all balance out in the end

What Ford s have I owned
1969 Blue wagon 1974 XB owned 3 of them
Numerious others but I always went back to ford

My first car was a 6 volt VW sedan
cram_it_frog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 12:24 PM   #10
marty351
Shenanigans..............

9 years from an exide battery bought from Kmart. Went flat twice but still worked for years after that.
On the other hand, what's the shortest life for a battery you've had, and what brand?
marty351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 04:50 PM   #11
castellan

Originally Posted by marty351 View Post
9 years from an exide battery bought from Kmart. Went flat twice but still worked for years after that.
On the other hand, what's the shortest life for a battery you've had, and what brand?
I have always got around 3 to 4 years out of a car battery but I have got 7 out of by dirt bike one so far, I can't believe it.

Two mates I know all there life have gone through a car battery's like every year, they both flog their cars when cold or any time, but work the battery hard.

I think people who whine the starter motor over for a long time, if the engine does not start kill's battery's early as well. a lot of heat builds up in doing so.
castellan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 12:48 PM   #12

ive had a couple of cheapies die with very short span over the years, ,i think died at about 12 months (no name brand), and another from the mart lasted about 2 years,
the last one i bought lasted 5 years ish.
Old 22-08-2015, 01:00 PM   #13

I got 7 years out of the OEM battery in my 2003 XR6. I thought that was pretty good going.

I think 3 years out of the one after that, and the newest one was installed in October last year.
Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!

Old 22-08-2015, 01:07 PM   #14
marty351

Battery should last about 5 years. Any longer is a bonus.
Old 22-08-2015, 02:15 PM   #15
cram_it_frog
wombat

Todays car take a lot more out of a motor car battery,s I often see in forms problems with air con and engine running and other faults often relate back to the battery

because of that the first sing of any problems I change mine save a lot of hassle further down the road and I buy a decent one no cheap ones any more extra heavy duty

Life is full of experiences some good some bad and with luck they all balance out in the end

What Ford s have I owned
1969 Blue wagon 1974 XB owned 3 of them
Numerious others but I always went back to ford

My first car was a 6 volt VW sedan
cram_it_frog is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 02:44 PM   #16
supershifty
Missing a sock...

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Dave has been a long time active member on the forums and in particular has been a busy volunteer whenever there are cruises and toys runs etc held in South East Qld. He actively gives up his time and ensures that the events are provided for, be it commun 

This doesn't really count as an "in service" battery.

I've had a Supercharge MF50 in my XF for 10+ years with a "maintaining" trickle charger connected. Whenever I start it, it cranks like a demon from hell.

The worse I've ever got was from a no name battery in my 6cyl Cortina that cost $30 from Repco - it lasted just over a year. Normally I get 4 -5 years out of a decent "in service" battery costing $120 - $160.

Cheers!

Real friends + great times = sheer bliss!

Considering becoming an organ donor? Click here

QLD Events, Cruises and Get Togethers: Click here

Gain success instantly - lower your standards.

It's not government funded - it's taxpayer funded.
supershifty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 04:53 PM   #17
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Best battery is your legs a hill, and dump the clutch. Works great for years.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 06:15 PM   #18
marty351

Originally Posted by DeJaVu GT View Post
Best battery is your legs a hill, and dump the clutch. Works great for years.
Car enthusiasts like to warm their engine. Nothing worse than bump starting a cold engine only to have it conk out or run like a pig at the intersection.
Old 22-08-2015, 06:28 PM   #19
Adamz Ghia

My ute was built in May 2007 and I replaced the battery two weeks ago when the car just would start anymore.
Adamz Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 07:22 PM   #20
sprintman1

This was 13 years and still fine for normal use. That's one hell of a battery
Old 22-08-2015, 07:45 PM   #21
projoe

Best run i'm having out of battery is not in a car but my tournament boat bought new in 2006 the starter battery is still going strong but I did have one of my electric trolling motors deep cycle batteries die in under a year lucky i was sponsored.
The shortest lived battery I have heard about was one of my mates he had bought a brand new commodore a few years back & got 2kms on the south road here in Adelaide & it died in peak hour traffic turned out to be a collapsed cell in the battery.
projoe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 04:55 PM   #22
noddy383

I got 14 years out of the original battery in my 1999 AU1. When it finally died, the RACV guy asked if it had ever been replaced, I couldn't remember my folks ever replacing it (I bought it off them). He pulled it out, it was stamped 1998. He nearly fell over. He said the oldest he'd seen before was 13 years in a BMW.
I only got about 3 out of the original battery in my BF3. Pretty disappointed, even though I know its not uncommon.
noddy383 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 08:13 PM   #23
kypez

Got 8 years out of a optima yellow top. Was stoked with that!
kypez is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 09:46 PM   #24
noddy383

I've got a yellow top in the wagon now. Dad's been using a blue top for years as a spare in his garage. Great batteries.
noddy383 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 10:13 PM   #25

Dad's XA got a new battery after 14 years!

I still remember him sooking that he had to fork out for a new one.

Old 22-08-2015, 10:35 PM   #26

Longest is 11 yrs. shortest 45 minutes.
Old 22-08-2015, 10:40 PM   #27
Ratmick
IT Drone from Sector 7G

Just replaced the OEM battery in my 2010 Focus about a month or so ago.

Lasted 5 years, almost to the day. I'm surprised it lasted so long seeing it's turning over a diesel, and it's damn cold up here at the moment.
Ratmick is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-08-2015, 10:45 PM   #28

Its easier to replace a battery when it starts showing signs of struggling than replacing the starter because you kept arcing out the brushes trying to start it on a weak battery.

That being said we pulled a 13 year old battery out of a 2003 VW Golf about two weeks ago, it was the OEM battery.

I get about a year to year and a half out of the ones in my Focus, the opposite to Mick with the same car, go figure.
Old 23-08-2015, 09:32 AM   #29
351EL

The battery in my mustang is the one it left the factory with in America in 2001.
351EL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2015, 02:51 PM   #30
xrystl

Back in the sixties I worked in an Auto Engineering workshop North of Perth , next door to us was a small Timber Mill which had been in operation since the start of the century , the yard had a ex Army Blitz wagon with a PTO Crane which was used only on their site and had never been registered , they bought the Blitz from Army surplus in 1947 and it worked constantly 6 days a week , it was started in the morning and left running all day until knock off time - in 1969 I was sent over to have a look at the Blitz because she wouldn't start , after digging through all the sawdust I found this huge battery mounted in a box on the chassis , I took the battery to the workshop and cleaned it down to find that it was an original Ford 6 volt battery as fitted to the vehicle from the factory in Canada -- the Mill had never replaced the battery and those particular batteries weren't available in Australia so it had to have been over 22 years old .
I ended up replacing it with a 6 volt battery for a VW as nothing else was available and it did the job ok.
xrystl is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post