Old 17-12-2010, 12:42 AM   #1
EF
Formerly gt.4.me

Lightbulb why chev motors ?

i still dont fully get why hotrod owners put small block chevs in ford bodies ?
please explain :L

EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 12:52 AM   #2
FPV GTHO

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Sharing his knowledge of performance exhaust setups for the NA 6 cyc Barra Falcon from BA to FG. 

Theres a massive aftermarket following for them, so theyre easy to get big power out of.

Alot of hot rods are running either fibreglass bodies, custom suspension and diffs and gearboxes from whever so i guess some people also feel what difference does the engine make.
FPV GTHO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 12:55 AM   #3
EF
Formerly gt.4.me

yer i guess so. i am just weird fibreglass body or not if its a ford shape it gunnar have a ford motor but that just me i am just like that
EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 12:59 AM   #4
XB GS 351 Coupe

Physically smaller in size, so fits easy, cheaper horsepower for horsepower, easier to get performance parts for, no contest really..

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 12:57 AM   #5
kezzer

pretty cheap to get parts for also, at the end of the day nothing is written in stone. I'd put an Ls7 or Ls9 in my FG if I won tattslotto haha
FG XR6: pacemaker sterline coated headers, Xr8 snorkel + modified CAI, 100cpsi ballistic cat, 20" rims, lower with shocks, custom catback exhaust, custom spacers, tune soon to come, 1/4mile soon to come.
kezzer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 02:34 PM   #6

Originally Posted by kezzer
pretty cheap to get parts for also, at the end of the day nothing is written in stone. I'd put an Ls7 or Ls9 in my FG if I won tattslotto haha
No, not "political" enough.

Buy a W427 and put a coyote into it......
Old 17-12-2010, 01:49 AM   #7

as above, small dimensions ,decent power , and most of all very cheap, a mate bought a brand new chev 6.2 for his supra, complete with the works , coil paks an all for 5 k............ for comparison from ford an AU vct 4.0 long motor = near enough to $7000
Old 17-12-2010, 02:23 AM   #8
barnz_xr8
Turbo 358W

there really simple to get between 300-400 horse's out of, but after that there just another small block that requiers heaps of coin to get realy swinging.
barnz_xr8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 08:50 AM   #9

its to balance out all the commodores with chev badges
||| is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 08:56 AM   #10

It's because they don't like doing oil changes. With an LS whatever V8, the motor has usually burnt or leaked all the engine oil after 300 kilometers, so it's just a matter of topping it up.

Old 17-12-2010, 11:21 AM   #11

Originally Posted by ltd
It's because they don't like doing oil changes. With an LS whatever V8, the motor has usually burnt or leaked all the engine oil after 300 kilometers, so it's just a matter of topping it up.
your funny!!
Old 17-12-2010, 01:07 PM   #12

Originally Posted by ltd
That sounds more like a chrysler 6 in every valiant i've ever owned
Old 17-12-2010, 08:56 AM   #13

Cheap, compact, plentiful aftermarket support and easy to modify...

Old 17-12-2010, 09:05 AM   #14

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

This right here.

Old 17-12-2010, 09:08 AM   #15

Ding, Ding... and a sexy note to them too
Old 17-12-2010, 09:32 AM   #16
protd
TUFF FORDS

Originally Posted by SgtBourne
Ding, Ding... and a sexy note to them too

personally i think small block chevs sound like ****..
protd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 09:19 AM   #17

I have often wondered this to. Now I know..............
Old 17-12-2010, 09:22 AM   #18
Zedjay

the toyota/lexus v8 is a popular choice for hot rodders these day's too!!
Zedjay is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 09:23 AM   #19
wrongwaynorris

Maybe they like the sound of piston slap too .

http://www.pistonslap.com/
wrongwaynorris is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 09:30 AM   #20

Originally Posted by wrongwaynorris
Maybe they like the sound of piston slap too .

http://www.pistonslap.com/
We're talking 70's 350 chev's, not LS1/Gen 3...

Old 17-12-2010, 09:32 AM   #21

Rodders are the ultimate resourceful car modders... column out of this, brakes off of that, window regs that work, seats etc.... car building awesomeness whatever it takes......
Old 17-12-2010, 09:39 AM   #22
ZA-289

As said, Chevs fit alot easier than Windsors/Clevos.

Thats all there is to it.
ZA-289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 09:54 AM   #23
aquahead2001

Originally it was because the '55 Chev small block was just so much more readily available than other motors to hop up a once side valve powered Ford. And when Ford did finally bring out an engine that could compete, the Ford small block, 260/289/302, it had it's sump bump and oil pump at the front and that made it harder to slip straight in to a rigid axle 1930's/40's Ford, where the Chev had the rear mounted sump pump and oil pump.

Also Chev were selling nearly double the number's Ford were for a few years in the 1950's too.

If you look at good old USA V8 motor history, from 1955 until the 1990's Chev has 3 V8 motor series, the small block, the original big block series (Porcupine or W Head) and then the mighty "Rat" big block. Ford on the other hand had Y-Block, FE series, Small Block, Windsor, 335 series Cleavland, and 385 series bigblock. And don't for get there was also a big block Lincoln Edsel Mercury series in there somewhere in the late 1950's early 60's too.
Old 17-12-2010, 09:52 AM   #24

In true ford hotrod style, you can't beat a flathead V8 for sound and cruisyness. My neighbour has a '32 ford roadster and a '51 4 door, both have hot flatheads and they sound super tough. As he said though, they are harder to get hp out of unlike a chev, and they are becoming harder to find.

Old 17-12-2010, 09:58 AM   #25

Another option hotrodders have is oldsmobile engines, I am unsure of spec but they are apparently a bit of fun once some tinkering has been done.

Old 17-12-2010, 10:51 AM   #26
Mesa

And when they want serious power, they throw in a Hemi!!!!
I must admit I'll walk past a Ford rod that has a Chev in it purely because it's like they're following a set criteria of how to build a rod or becoming one of the flock.
Even though they're a bit rarer, I love the look of the side valve Ford.
Mesa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-12-2010, 10:58 AM   #27

As decent as they are, you just don't put a GM engine in a Ford or vice versa. It's just wrong!!!!!! But I guess the Chevy guys put Ford rear axles in their cars and nobody complains.
Old 17-12-2010, 11:17 AM   #28

nothing wrong with a 5.7L big block wedge in a rod..they look the goods.
Old 17-12-2010, 12:31 PM   #29

An example is my brother in law.. We are both Ford nuts...
He's building an A.C Cobra in Vic..
He wanted to fit a Ford V8 but the 5.6 is way too big..
A 5.0 is too old as it needs to be 05 and newer due to EPA..
The 4.6 Cobra is too expensive especially for a second hand motor...
Being a panel beater it was easy for him to acquire an SS V8 assembly...
6.0ltr too....
Old 17-12-2010, 02:21 PM   #30

Originally Posted by gt.4.me
i still dont fully get why hotrod owners put small block chevs in ford bodies ?
please explain :L
Because ford don't make hotrods. and they haven't made cars that look like them for 80 years, and they don't look anything like they did back then, anyway.