You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 15-09-2008, 08:43 PM   #1
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Default Cam and tune... So far... So good :)

Took my AU to Joe @ Crescent today

He worked on it for a couple hours

Put in his stg2 cam and started the custom tune.

So far i have picked up 8kW and 70Nm. He hasn't had much of a play with the upper range

It's running a bit rich at idle and there is a patch in the upper range where it runs a bit lean.

I am taking it to him on Friday for him to complete

He said it is good for about another 10kW.

Chasing 140

I'll get the printouts once it's done

Coming..CMS Stg2A Cam, 68mm TB
Later.. 4.5L w/ BOOOOOOOOOOST or XR6T or AUIII XR8 220

Currently:
151kW (165 on other dynos )
ayeyew is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2008, 08:55 PM   #2
The Mighty Red

Nice one ,I dont know much about the stge 2 cam but 18rwkw will be a good gain for a cam and Flash tune...
Old 15-09-2008, 09:03 PM   #3
JoesAu

yeah thats not bad result hey, good increases
JoesAu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2008, 09:48 PM   #4
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

So you got 130 rwkws so far..thats an awesome figure on Joes dyno.. Very good. 140 is a very very good power figure.

Single din radio fascias for fg to fgx fords Australia wide .

FG 1 2 and 3 gauge holder in stock now! https://stingraycar.com.au/shop/
Site Sponsor See Sponsor Stingray Car Security 😍👌✌

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Stav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2008, 10:04 PM   #5
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Originally Posted by Stav
So you got 130 rwkws so far..thats an awesome figure on Joes dyno.. Very good. 140 is a very very good power figure.
Yup, 131 so far

Catchin up to you ;)

Originally Posted by blueoval
Thats also excellent increase in torque. Very nice indeed. Watching this thread with keen interest.
Yeah, i was gobsmacked when he said 70Nm. Niiiiiice!

He said he was pretty happy with how it has gone so far. I think he is looking forward to Friday nearly as much as I am!

Definately can notice the increase in torque in the low-mid range. Particularly up hill!

Can't say i notice much up top though, but he hasn't played around with that just yet

Currently:
Old 15-09-2008, 11:11 PM   #6
Stav

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always ready to help others over the years on AFF with advice and tips along the way 

Originally Posted by ayeyew
Yup, 131 so far

Catchin up to you ;)

Yeah, i was gobsmacked when he said 70Nm. Niiiiiice!

He said he was pretty happy with how it has gone so far. I think he is looking forward to Friday nearly as much as I am!

Definately can notice the increase in torque in the low-mid range. Particularly up hill!

Can't say i notice much up top though, but he hasn't played around with that just yet

HAhaa. Are you going to take it down wsid once finished? 140 rwkws from Joe is 14 second territory.

AU wagon 6 14.241@96.75 1/4 mile sold.Octane fg xr6 turbo!! 12.312 112.21 mph home tune f6 injectors gone ..now in nitro fgxr6t ready to go again
Old 15-09-2008, 11:21 PM   #7
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Originally Posted by Stav
HAhaa. Are you going to take it down wsid once finished? 140 rwkws from Joe is 14 second territory.
Yeah he was saying 14.8-14.9, but its got a pretty massive system, lol

Dunno if i will take it down, i'm a bit of a noob

I just got an apple iPHONE and there is this application you can use to simulate a dyno and time your quarter mile and stuff (like g-tech), so i may use that

Currently:
Old 15-09-2008, 11:41 PM   #8
Stav

Thumbs up

Yeah he was saying 14.8-14.9, but its got a pretty massive system, lol

Dunno if i will take it down, i'm a bit of a noob

I just got an apple iPHONE and there is this application you can use to simulate a dyno and time your quarter mile and stuff (like g-tech), so i may use that
I understand.Just do what youre comfortable with,legal and safe. The track is great fun but the greatest satisfaction is the daily enjoyment of the car.When you drive your upgraded car for daily duties you will see what I mean. .A car that is more responsive is just soo great to drive..

Old 15-09-2008, 09:57 PM   #9

Thats also excellent increase in torque. Very nice indeed. Watching this thread with keen interest.

Old 15-09-2008, 10:21 PM   #10
LG

Nice work!!!! I really gotta get my into gear and put mine back into the shop and on the track!

Nice
Old 15-09-2008, 11:03 PM   #11

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

My EGAS made about the same without tune ... was about the 18-20rwkw mark.

And I know Joe's Dyno usually reports lower readings than the run of the mill DD units from different tuners around.

Will be interesting to see after the final tuning though.
Old 15-09-2008, 11:17 PM   #12

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Would be interesting to see how it goes down the 1/4

I should have taken the old ute down there just for fun to see how it went.
Old 16-09-2008, 05:20 PM   #13
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

Be interesting to see what it is like on fuel afterwards.
70nm man thats heaps good
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2008, 07:15 PM   #14
mr302xd
Formerly MR BAXR6t

Good stuff man. Joe knows his stuff ill be gettin my cam and tune from him hopefully next month. Good luck with it all!

Frank

Fords ive owned-
2010 FG XR6 5 speed auto in Mystic
81 XD S-Pac 302c 4sp manual
78 Yellow TE Cortina Wagon 4.1L
92 Green EB Fairmont GT replica
01 Black AU XR8 II Manual
04 Rapid BAII XR6T 220rwkw
04 Mandarin BA XR6T 247rwkw
07 BF II XR6T 385rwkw
1980 ZJ Fairlane 302c
mr302xd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-09-2008, 08:20 PM   #15

Originally Posted by D1XR2C
Be interesting to see what it is like on fuel afterwards.
70nm man thats heaps good
Probably no different ... I found no difference in economy on LPG with the STG 2 (and that was untuned).
Old 17-09-2008, 04:59 PM   #16
poolkeeper
Its Resonating!

Originally Posted by Mechan1k
Probably no different ... I found no difference in economy on LPG with the STG 2 (and that was untuned).
Oh cool in a way
I was hoping otherwise, now its tempting me lol
poolkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-09-2008, 05:17 PM   #17

Will be interesting to see what the Petrol economy is going to be like ... the problem though is that ayeyew is going t be punching it now ... and fuel economy is going to be through the roof.

I found out later after I settled down that economy hadn't really changed when it came back to "normal" driving.
Old 18-09-2008, 01:18 AM   #18
ayeyew
Teh Baest

I've been taking it easy so far

But, damn... the pull from about 2200 is really something!

It is so tempting to put my foot down, but i wanna be good until the tune is complete and the ticking sound is gone

Currently:
Old 18-09-2008, 01:57 PM   #19
private9
www.TUFFCARPARTS.com

I've been taking it easy so far

But, damn... the pull from about 2200 is really something!

It is so tempting to put my foot down, but i wanna be good until the tune is complete and the ticking sound is gone
That ticking sound isn't pinging is it? If so, you're right in taking it easy until it's sorted.
private9 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2008, 02:31 AM   #20

it would be really good to hear a sound file ayeyew

Old 18-09-2008, 03:45 PM   #21

Most likely lifters after a cam change ... I hear it often in vehicles have have an aftermaket cam in them ... the lifters are probably tired anyway.

I was lucky ... mine was quiet from first turn of the key after my cam was done.
Old 18-09-2008, 07:00 PM   #22
schuldiner

Originally Posted by Mechan1k
I was lucky ... mine was quiet from first turn of the key after my cam was done.
mine didnt run for 6 weeks after my cam install :togo:
but as it turned out the crank angle sensor went so after about 6 cam swaps i got serious with getting it fixed properly. i needed the rocker arms to be machined as the new cam wasn't letting the lifters bleed properly and it was rattling not ticking but after that it was all good although i couldn't make use of my new found power until i replaced the clutch

see my ute here

AU parts for sale
schuldiner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2008, 07:26 PM   #23
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Yeah, it's the lifters iirc. Joe was explaining it to me, but i wasn't really listening cuz i was so goddamn excited, lol...

I remember Joe said he had to replace one of the lifters or something

Do they quiten up after a while? I hope so! Sounds half like a diesel engine (exaggerating)

After the final tune is done i will get a video & dyno sheets up (Final tune is tomorrow)

Currently:
Old 18-09-2008, 07:32 PM   #24

sounds good mate. look forward to seeing the vid.

Old 19-09-2008, 06:37 PM   #25
falzoony
Rockin '67

How did it go?

'67 XR Wagon
falzoony is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-09-2008, 11:19 AM   #26
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Bah, a couple of things came up for me (had to go into work for a couple of hours, on my day off!) I couldnt get to Joes until around 11 and by the time i got there Joe was heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeps busy (honestly there were around 8-10 cars outside and 4 or 5 more in the workshop!), so i said i'd go back mid next week. Be a great bday present! ( My bday on Tuesday )

Hopefully we can work out a time suitable for both of us, cuz i get married on Saturday and will not be back in Oz for a few weeks.

After the final tune is done, i will take my beast to a DD dyno and compare Joes and a DD

Then i may go to JMM and pull 200rwkw

Currently:
Old 20-09-2008, 04:13 PM   #27

lend your car to me, and ill make sure it gets to Joe's while you are away on your honeymoon!!!
Old 20-09-2008, 05:07 PM   #28

Bah, a couple of things came up for me (had to go into work for a couple of hours, on my day off!) I couldnt get to Joes until around 11 and by the time i got there Joe was heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeps busy (honestly there were around 8-10 cars outside and 4 or 5 more in the workshop!), so i said i'd go back mid next week. Be a great bday present! ( My bday on Tuesday )

Hopefully we can work out a time suitable for both of us, cuz i get married on Saturday and will not be back in Oz for a few weeks.

After the final tune is done, i will take my beast to a DD dyno and compare Joes and a DD

Then i may go to JMM and pull 200rwkw
Poor Reynold would have been working hard ... Joe ususally stands around and chats .... :P

I know what he is like
Old 24-09-2008, 01:23 PM   #29
ayeyew
Teh Baest

Tune won't be completed until after my honeymoon.

The mrs has stuffed up her knee, so she can't drive or anything.. She can barely walk. Might need key hole surgery.. So i cant take my broom broom in because:

a) she drives a mirage and i dont want to be seen in it

b) I cant drive manual! :O

So yeah, wedding on Saturday and the mrs can barely walk... Nice timing aye?

Mid october now!

Currently:
Old 24-09-2008, 01:34 PM   #30

thats no good mate. Hope your mrs can walk down the isle ok.