Old 02-11-2008, 06:09 PM   #1
Alanbxr8
BA XR8

Default I'M Gutted

I can not believe it, my son gets his license next month & he wants to buy a VT Holden, try as I might he has his heart set on one. The shame of it all,, my family has owned Fords since the early '70's, I currently own a BA XR8 & a 5.0L EL Fairmont Ghia.

I'm having doubts about my roll as a father, as this happened to anyone else or am I the only one.

Old 02-11-2008, 06:09 PM   #2
Daymoe

Get him to drive both cars of the same year by Ford and Holden, then see which one he prefers.
Originally Posted by sourbastard
ive got the weight gain bit mastered, Colonel Sanders is my personal trainer.

As to weight loss, nah, im a fat bastard and proud of it, im going to die from a massive heart attack, for theres nothing worse then lying around in hospital dying from nothing.
Old 02-11-2008, 06:12 PM   #3

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Offer him some financial help to buy a Ford, it may steer him to the path of righteousness and stop his eternal damnation....
Old 02-11-2008, 06:13 PM   #4
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

^^ thats the easiest way ... The VT is soo much rougher than the AU (trust me ive had the VT calais and AU Fairmont)

although, alot of it comes down to peer pressure, it's the "in thing" to have a commodore, and VT's are the new VR/VS in price range ... and if he is looking for the V8 he will want the S1 because he would of been tought that they sound tougher than the 5.7 ....

Meh .... Don't stress ... they all go through car phases
Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
Old 02-11-2008, 06:14 PM   #5

Originally Posted by Alanbxr8
I can not believe it, my son gets his license next month & he wants to buy a VT Holden, try as I might he has his heart set on one. The shame of it all,, my family has owned Fords since the early '70's, I currently own a BA XR8 & a 5.0L EL Fairmont Ghia.

I'm having doubts about my roll as a father, as this happened to anyone else or am I the only one.
Disown him.

Old 02-11-2008, 08:22 PM   #6
JG66ME

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Great tech articles and assistance to all in the Classics arena. 

Disown him.
Drown him
Old 02-11-2008, 06:17 PM   #7

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

give him the EL?

Old 03-11-2008, 07:49 PM   #8

give him the EL?

I instilled the good oil on Ford in my eldest boy 4 years ago (then 10 now 14) when I bought him a doona cover with a BA XR8 Ute plastered over it and some FPV boxer shorts with a pic of a Blood Orange BA GT-P...I think he got the message
2005 BA MK2 FPV GT - 6 SPEED MANUAL , SILHOUETTE, SWISSVAX, SUNROOF, BILSTEIN AND LOVELLS, FACTORY GENUINE 19'S, X-FORCE STAINLESS QUAD CATBACK, ADVANCE HEADERS, 200 CPSI CATS, BLUEPOWER CAI, HERROD BREATHER KIT, 4:11 DIFF RATIO, MAL WOOD OPT 3+ CLUTCH, BILLET SHIFTER, MELLINGS 10227, NOW WITH REVERSE CAMERA/SENSORS, ALPINE SPEAKERS & SUB - CUSTOM TUNED TO 275 RWKW

Old 03-11-2008, 07:59 PM   #9

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by ozmale42
I instilled the good oil on Ford in my eldest boy 4 years ago (then 10 now 14) when I bought him a doona cover with a BA XR8 Ute plastered over it and some FPV boxer shorts with a pic of a Blood Orange BA GT-P...I think he got the message

Agreed, i did too but started at age 4, the pup will have blue blood too. :

]

Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 04-11-2008 at 02:23 PM.
Old 06-11-2008, 08:46 AM   #10
Buddy 1

give him the EL?
You cannot Own or Drive a v8 or a Turbo on L's or Restricted P's in NSW anymore.

Nothing wrong with a EF or EL XR6 However for a first Car :

And be Thankful he wants a car as my Son recently became old enough to Drive & what did he do, Purchased a GT650R Hyosung Motorbike :(

I would much preferred him to buy a Car even if it was a Commodore lol
Old 02-11-2008, 06:23 PM   #11

just let him learn from his misfortune of owning a crapadore

he will learn from a bad driving experience

Old 02-11-2008, 06:58 PM   #12
Bent8
Long live the GT !

Maybe remind him who won the last 3 Bathurst 1000's and then go on to question whether he really want's to drive a losers' car.

Or you could remind him which car (Ford GT40) beat the Ferrari's & Porsche's four times in a row in the late 60's!!

Or the fact that the 1971 Falcon Phase 3 GTHO was the fastest four-door production car in the world!

Or maybe the fact that the 60's Ford Mustang was fastest selling car in history!

Or the fact the Ford Model-T was the first ever mass produced car.

I'm sure there's more but these should do the trick...

"Whatya think of me car, XR Falcon, 351 Blown Cleveland running Motec injection and runnin' on methanol... goes pretty hard too, got heaps of torque for chucking burnouts, IT'S UNREAL !!" - Poida
Old 02-11-2008, 07:38 PM   #13
Ryan

Originally Posted by Bent8
Maybe remind him who won the last 3 Bathurst 1000's and then go on to question whether he really want's to drive a losers' car.
Maybe remind him of who's won the last 2 championships? Hmmmmm.

Personally if I had a son who wanted to buy a Ford (Holden fan here), I wouldn't care.

I've gone through weird stages myself I think it's gone LJ Torana, ED Falcon, MK1 Supra, AE86 Corrolla, VS SS etc.

I would only buy a VT if it was a V8, but I reckon they look pretty cool. Not as nice as the VS, but I would have one.
Old 02-11-2008, 06:28 PM   #14
S3SR

i wanted a VT commodore because i wasnt much into the Falcons...... the AU put me off

saw a bright Venom Red 5sp AU3 SR and loved it so much i bought it then and there

tell him to test drive both and see what he thinks, i thought the ergonomics in the falcon were 1mil x better than the commos, and handling and performance + being a manual....

OR

chain him to a tree and belt him.... he'll change his mind :P

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
Old 02-11-2008, 06:28 PM   #15
cheek

Just bloody let him get what he wants!

..........................................and then put some cable ties on the driveshaft and he'll soon get sick of the VT and buy a ford!
Old 02-11-2008, 06:34 PM   #16
WASP
Whipple Induced

While its a very bitter pill to swallow now, sometimes you have to let your kids choose their own path and make their own mistakes. Let him buy the VT. If that experience doesn't bring him back to Ford, nothing will....
Old 03-11-2008, 07:56 PM   #17

Originally Posted by CDAA
While its a very bitter pill to swallow now, sometimes you have to let your kids choose their own path and make their own mistakes. Let him buy the VT. If that experience doesn't bring him back to Ford, nothing will....
Agreed. And tell him his boyfriend is welcome to stay over while you're at it; you have to be accepting of all his choices, even the ones you don't necessarily agree with. Lead a horse to water and all that!

Old 02-11-2008, 06:41 PM   #18
Rob's 76 Effy
Lion Tammer

My son is the same, got his licence just before last christmas, bought a VR Berlina ex police station car, now i'm a true blue blue blood but that thing was quick, to quick for his first car IMO (Dad's being Dad's) but it had gearbox problems that met with an end in the accident kind, tried to get him to buy a ford anything but rocks up with a VS this time instead which is starting to have problems now all of a sudden, i think my other sons are going down the Rory path also (i have 4 boys 0 girls)
Old 02-11-2008, 06:41 PM   #19

Can you get a divorce from your own kids?

Old 02-11-2008, 06:42 PM   #20

Originally Posted by auslandau
Id be looking for "closet" tendancys too....

Old 02-11-2008, 06:45 PM   #21

Definitely sure he's yours?
Old 02-11-2008, 06:49 PM   #22
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

Rules are simple NO PARKING with in 2 houses from home NO MONEY towards any purchase price or running costs, if that fails do what I did with my 2 boys NONE of mums cooking (christmas excemption I am a softy realy) it worked for me nothing but FORDS up the drive for nearly 30 years (wife has Excemption as well, I need to eat )

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Old 12-11-2008, 01:00 PM   #23

Originally Posted by auslandau
A certain South Australian couple comes to mind... (let's ignore the technicalities b/w "divorce" & "separated")
Old 02-11-2008, 06:48 PM   #24
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

You got a shovel?
Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
Old 02-11-2008, 06:52 PM   #25
ozfast

kick him to the kerb! son !!! what son
Old 02-11-2008, 07:09 PM   #26
ST

What are you talking about a "son" for Alan? We both know you don't have a son, right Alan?

Don't worry Alan I disposed of the evidence at the LAKE, now about that money?
Old 02-11-2008, 07:02 PM   #27
redxm
64 Deluxe 4 door

Sorry to hear, there are support groups for parents of gay teenagers
Old 02-11-2008, 07:07 PM   #28
w2008

if your quick i'm sure you can get him professional help, but it will be a long slow progress. i too am a father, but luckily my 20 yr old wants to do an xc with me, an she's a girl? but take heart if it werent for "those people" who would we watch in the rear view mirror.
Old 02-11-2008, 07:14 PM   #29
BAxtER
ive been 4490'd

try a hypnotist, for 400bucks my cousin no longer smokes, been clean for 2years now. Im sure your son will be in a ford when he visits one.
www.taipanmotorsport.com.au
Old 02-11-2008, 07:17 PM   #30
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

walk him to the station and say your goodbyes
but whatever you do make him buy his own ticket :