You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-12-2008, 03:52 PM   #1
colossus
Secret Sleuth

Default Mazda claim new Diesel 6 is faster than local V8's

Was reading a review/news piece on the new Mazda 6 diesel that is coming to Aus in the paper today (think its Carsguide). In the article it states "Mazda claims the new 2.2-litre diesel will out accelerate the locally grown V8 performance sedans from Ford and Holden in fourth gear from 80km/h to 120km/h."

The new 6 is powered by a 2.2L turbo dieselwith 136kw @ 3500rpm and 400Nm from 1800-3000rpm and does 0-100km/h in 8.5secs.

What say you?

Old 05-12-2008, 03:54 PM   #2

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Doubt it...
Old 05-12-2008, 04:01 PM   #3
irlewy86
Meep Meep

My push bike out accelerates SS Commodores from 0-3 meters.
Old 05-12-2008, 04:02 PM   #4
pwr4ce

In their dreams maybe!!
pwr4ce is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 04:03 PM   #5
GTP owner

I wait for the proof, but i doubt it is true
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 04:32 PM   #6
RED FGII
Formerly EL-351

who cares
Old 05-12-2008, 05:03 PM   #7
BrisVegas
Noobie

if you happen to be in the right gear (the Mazda 6 diesel is manual only) and waiting for a quick blast 80-120 it might go close. Great little engine, but not worth the paddling until they come out with a decent 6 spd auto or twin-clutch setup.
LS Focus Zetec 5dr - gone
WS Fiesta Zetec 5dr - gone
BrisVegas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 05:11 PM   #8

That's respectable torque for a smaller car, could possibly give an 8 a run for its money.
Old 05-12-2008, 06:04 PM   #9
INASNT
G6ET

When Mazda brought out the 3 MPS they claimed it went from 100-130km/h or something quicker than a 911 porsche, which has no relevance in the real world just like the mazda claim.

Who the hell has a drag race from 100km/h to only 130km/h and then backs off
INASNT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:09 PM   #10
bathurst77

in 4th gear..

Ok I will knock the lever to 3rd then so
bathurst77 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:17 PM   #11
BlackLS
yum

I can see the guy racing his Mazda6 Diesel with the pride of "being faster than local V8s".

3, 2, 1, GO.... "I'm winning, I'm winning! *V8 gets traction*...... oh :(......."

BlackLS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:23 PM   #12
TOM-CAT
F-14 TomCat

its a mazda.... who gives a damn?
TOM-CAT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:33 PM   #13
goof

Its all about overtaking really, the whole point of the test
It wouldnt surprise me if it does accelerate that quick from 80-120, have you seen a vw golf 2.0 tdi overtake.
Go Mods: Raptor Supercharger, Bosch 440cc inj, 4495's, High flow cat, 2.5" exhaust, BF turbo brakes
Hows it go: 13.04@107.8mph 1.99 60ft 233.4rwkw
goof is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:43 PM   #14
2fishingdogs

I take it that most V8 owner would be in 3 gear thru these speeds to get the grunt. Would 4 gear be a bit tall for them?

2004 BA MKI Tradesman Ute 1 tonner in Vibe
Tinted windows, Alloy scuff plates.
The rest is still stock as a rock
www.bseries.com.au/2fishingdogs

2fishingdogs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:48 PM   #15
TOM-CAT
F-14 TomCat

yeah if your going for FAST acceleration then you dont want to be in 4th for 80-120km, not in my brothers V8 at any rate...
TOM-CAT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 06:52 PM   #16
Spanrz
Hmmmmmmm!!

This is the only way a diesel will ever beat a V8.........

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=ggxsrV...eature=related

Diesel's rev only half that petrol motors..But the torque is heaps.
The data from Carsguide is only stating where the torque curve cuts in over the V8.

I think someone's pulling their pud on this one. I just don't like people trying to state things that is a **** factor.

So, does it mean that I will want to buy a Mazda simply because it can "overpower a V8" .... Mazda need a few psycologists there, simply because they have no idea what they are talking about.
Why would anyone want to buy a Mazda simply on those terms?

Mazda at lights, Ford F6 pulls up beside him.

Mazda : "yeah, wanna drag mate"

Ford : "pfffft, you for real"

Mazda "Yeah mate, she's gonna go mate"

Ford: "Ok Looser"

Mazda : "but 1 condition, I can only drag you at 80k's to 120k's"

Green light

Ford takes off, leaving the Mazda at the line to dream on!
Spanrz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 07:25 PM   #17

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by BA Waggn

Have you been in a new model diesel ?
Here's mine (note redline), I'd like to see a Boss V8 double it....

Falcon Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 11:23 PM   #18
Spanrz
Hmmmmmmm!!

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
Have you been in a new model diesel ?
Hahaha.. Nice. But if you knew where I worked, 5K for a diesel, man, you start heading for the hill's at 3.5k-4k.
I'd be surprised if it get's past 5k on a flat road flat knacker. Must be made with lightweight materials to get that.
Probably on a down hill grade, with a low gear chosen, might give you the over rev (over 5K). You'd be hearing engine metal sounds by then.

Spanrz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2008, 11:56 AM   #19
plext
Forum Director

....Here's mine....
'Sif it's that clean.

As to the subject at hand, it's fairly typical advertising bumf with the speed and gear selection criteria. The Mazda quite likely has a different final drive ratio making gear for gear comparisons fairly pointless. The real question is "under optimal conditions and any gear(s), which is faster?" which I would suggest is a slightly different ball game.

It's the usual advertising industry smoke and mirrors, I see nothing to get worked up about.
plext is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 07:29 PM   #20

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Whats so special about the interior??
Old 05-12-2008, 07:32 PM   #21

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Whats so special about the interior??
You are supposed to read, not just look at pictures....
Falcon Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 07:47 PM   #22

5k redline? Big deal, theres no point reving it that high anyway. Bet you dont rev past 3.5k 99% of the time....

Old 05-12-2008, 07:53 PM   #23

Originally Posted by XR6 Martin
5k redline? Big deal, theres no point reving it that high anyway. Bet you dont rev past 3.5k 99% of the time....
He was responding to this post

A Boss V8 is not going to rev to 10k. That was the point he was trying to make I believe.
Old 05-12-2008, 07:35 PM   #24

Turbo Diesel's are all about the torque. I wouldn't be surprised if the Mazda was quicker in that scenario just to the huge amount of torque it would have at that RPM compared to a V8 which torque band would be totally different.
Our 307 has 320Nm of torque on tap from 1750rpm through to about 4000rpm.
To put the Mazda up against a F6 though, I think the F6 would kill it with it's 500+Nm on tap.
Old 05-12-2008, 07:30 PM   #25
DanielXR8

My Mazda 6 MPS is faster then the Falcon GT I owned. Mainly because the GT was parked in the service bay for a lot of time I owned it.
DanielXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2008, 07:36 PM   #26

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Ahh ok, so its a normal small high speed diesel motor. (yes i see the redline) Does it die in the *** like the Ranger diesel does at the top end?
Old 06-12-2008, 11:16 AM   #27
YOOT

Ahh ok, so its a normal small high speed diesel motor. (yes i see the redline) Does it die in the *** like the Ranger diesel does at the top end?
Ofcourse it does, but you don't have to slip the clutch when towing 3000kg uphill, just let it out and away you go.

An it will use 30% less fuel than a Falcon around town.

Horses for Courses...
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-12-2008, 07:42 PM   #28
Carby

Originally Posted by YOOT
Ofcourse it does, but you don't have to slip the clutch when towing 3000kg uphill, just let it out and away you go.

An it will use 30% less fuel than a Falcon around town.

Horses for Courses...

It would want to - it will cost 30 cents a litre more than petrol to fill.

Also - they spew out Carcinogenics - why greenies are not screaming about this is beyond me, Co2 has a use, plants use it, diesel particulants just kill people...................I'd ban all diesels in Oz that don't run particulant filters and would ensure they are regularly changed.
Carby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-12-2008, 08:20 PM   #29

Originally Posted by Carby
It would want to - it will cost 30 cents a litre more than petrol to fill.

Also - they spew out Carcinogenics - why greenies are not screaming about this is beyond me, Co2 has a use, plants use it, diesel particulants just kill people...................I'd ban all diesels in Oz that don't run particulant filters and would ensure they are regularly changed.
Its the NoX that more dangerous, hence why Euro 4 brings the levels down to minimal levels. Also by your reasoning, Any car that was built before 1986 should be banned.
Old 11-12-2008, 04:09 PM   #30
Carby

Its the NoX that more dangerous, hence why Euro 4 brings the levels down to minimal levels. Also by your reasoning, Any car that was built before 1986 should be banned.
Thats what diesels spew out more than petrol cars - NOx.

Well seeing you can't get leaded petrol anymore I fail to see the logic in your last sentence.
Carby is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post