You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-02-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
SumoDog68

Default Best cruiser

After spending few long days driving between Melbourne ,Adelaide and Sydney i started to wonder what would be an ideal long distance cruising car. My preference would be for seat comfort and than performance and economy. For the record i drove VW Golf TDi and found it great in economy and mid range torque. Seats are good but maybe a bit too sporty and slightly narrow in design. What is the car that you prefer for long distance driving and why?

SumoDog68 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 03:49 PM   #2

Falcons win hands down for comfort, and on the highway they are very good on fuel.

My father in law recently brought a VW Golf TDi and while its a great car, very economical etc I really didn't find it comfortable; its secondary ride is shocking. Actually my mums Polo also seems to be rubbish over the little bumps.

So yeah BF2 Ghia or G6ET would be my pick at the moment.
Old 04-02-2009, 03:54 PM   #3
GTP owner

a ba gt-p of course! Bet seats ever. And it a grand tourer, name says it all.
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 04:02 PM   #4
jphanna

suzuki mightyboy...?
FG XR6 (son)
jphanna is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:56 PM   #5
SB076

Originally Posted by jphanna
suzuki mightyboy...?
What happens if there are hills involved.

My pick G6ET, bit softer suspension (I think than a GT so if there a a few little bumps should be good) on a nice flat road the GT is a great cruiser

Edit I havent driven a G6ET so not sure about the suspension

with Sunroof and tinted windows
with out all the go fast bits I actually need :
SB076 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2009, 01:29 PM   #6

Originally Posted by jphanna
suzuki mightyboy...?
dont be knocking the mightyboy (we use one at work ).
Old 04-02-2009, 05:00 PM   #7

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

Originally Posted by GTP owner
a ba gt-p of course! Bet seats ever. And it a grand tourer, name says it all.
I second that, Touring is what they are made for.
Falcon Coupe is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:06 PM   #8

My 200 series Landcruiser of course.... :

Old 04-02-2009, 04:05 PM   #9
bluovl

After just have driven back last week, Brisbane to Vic, in my new acquired GT-P, I'm agreeing with GT-P owner. It was way comfortable.

Dale
69 Mustang Convertible
XA 351 Coupe
1965 Galaxie Convertible
2005 GT-P
AU XR6 Ute
bluovl is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:01 PM   #10
cheek

hyundai Excel any day for me....NOT I reckon a force 8 would be a brilliant car to tour in
cheek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:07 PM   #11
blackers10

Ford Fairlane/LTD
the length smooths out the bumps
and its high ride height soaks them up
seats are nice and comfortable and has loads of room and all the options
the rear seat room is great for people in the back also (having done bris to syd in Fairlanes and smaller cars.. the fairlanes leg room sure helps with stretching the legs or general spreading out
Old 04-02-2009, 05:14 PM   #12
GTP owner

Originally Posted by blackers10
Ford Fairlane/LTD
the length smooths out the bumps
and its high ride height soaks them up
seats are nice and comfortable and has loads of room and all the options
the rear seat room is great for people in the back also (having done bris to syd in Fairlanes and smaller cars.. the fairlanes leg room sure helps with stretching the legs or general spreading out
I don't drive in the back seat!
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:17 PM   #13
cheek

mr bean does!!!
cheek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 05:38 PM   #14

G6ET, Force 8 or G220 would be my pick for the cruisers.....
Old 04-02-2009, 05:56 PM   #15
blackers10

the back seat is a bonus feature for passengers.. didnt say ya drove there...
Old 04-02-2009, 06:10 PM   #16
RavenLS1

87 FE LTD gets my vote
RavenLS1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2009, 06:48 PM   #17
Kamshaaft
Broken eBay Starter Motor

VZ Calais - and you can get em down to almost 7.0L/100km on long interstate cruises, so long as you don't give into temptation and wind that sucker out. Ride isn't at all floaty as your typical Ford offering though, so if you're into something that rides like a Rolls, then get yourself a Fairmont with slightly worn shockers.
Kamshaaft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2009, 11:12 AM   #18
colossus
Secret Sleuth

I honestly just can't get comfortable in any B series XR or lower series seats and I am normal height/weight (i still buy and own them though as seat comfort is low on the priority list for me...). Maybe FG changed, if so I'd say G6ET.

Long distance touring though I think you need largish capacity engine, comfy seats and lots and lots of room - I'd actually prefer a Territory Ghia or something like Kluger KX-S or CX9 for long distance stuff over a Falcon given the extra room and height.
Old 05-02-2009, 11:55 AM   #19
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

Another vote for the Fairlane. My NF was comfy enough if a bit soft but the new (for me) Sportsman is just excellent with the LTD seats and that little bit firmer ride than a Ghia. Economy wise, on LPG it's a bargain.

Bushbasher

HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body

MINE- AUII Forte
Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock.

MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares

Bushbasher is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2009, 12:04 PM   #20
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

Recently towed a caravan from Perth to Eildon in a BF F6 ute with the back of it also fully loaded and had no dramas. Did it in three days without trying too hard. Did 600km yestreday towing an 8x5 trailer.
Old 05-02-2009, 12:39 PM   #21
Walt Kowalski
I use brain. Not hip.

I have had a very broad range of cars - see another thread for them all - and have done literally millions of kilometres on Aussie highways.

One VW Kombi Caravelle GL did 436,000 k's in 4 years! Underpowered but carried a load and was good for 1985 but hard work. Hopeless cruiser though. Once you wound the thing up it was 160KPH. Back off a little and it was gradually grinding to a halt.

My vote goes to any car with good steering wheel mounted cruise control and enough power to maintain the speed limit everywhere easily.

That rules out Commodores because the cruise is on the stalk and clumsy to use.

The cruise on the Aurion is rubbish too. I hired one from Melbourne to Phillip Island return and although the car had some good qualities the cruise and torque steer was rubbish.

Hired a 380 in Tassie and although I was surprised at how good it was it was not in the same league as a late model Falcon.

My BA11 6M XR6T Ute did 730klms on one tank and I was not exactly hanging around. 98 octane.. Simple cruise controls and fairly comfy seats.

Not sure about the FG seats in my XR6T Ute. Sometimes my back aches but generally after a trip to a race track somewhere and my spine is probably still tingling from the race car. Not just the harshness but getting in and out you need to be a contorshonist. Not sure. But as a general cruiser the XR6T and similar are EXCELLENT in my book.

I imagine the luxury versions - G6ET, Fairlane etc- would be even better but no actual experience to speak of.

Most german cars I have had are hopeless because they want to cruise at 200 but when you try to stick to the speed limits they are overgeared and underpowered.

Unless its got a decent engine - M3, RS8 etc THEN HEY BABY who cares.

Last edited by Munroman; 05-02-2009 at 12:47 PM.
Walt Kowalski is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2009, 12:44 PM   #22
colossus
Secret Sleuth

^^ Agree r.e. cruise control - B Series Falcons have the best/easiest to use cruise control I have ever used.
Old 05-02-2009, 02:12 PM   #23
Kamshaaft

^ Really? I would love to find a Mightyboy for sale somewhere.
Old 05-02-2009, 05:55 PM   #24
vanman_75

gotta say my old fairlane for sure .new cars are a fair bit more firm,compared to old
Old 05-02-2009, 06:07 PM   #25

Kaam, ours is terrible haha takes about 30 seconds to get to 60kph
Old 05-02-2009, 06:42 PM   #26

I drove a series 2 AU xr6 6 cyl with VCT (Tickford one) was very comfortable for me and the family. 1200kms two tanks. and a full boot. On the subject I find the BA I have now not as comfortable to drive (I suspect the console is higher and the tunnel wider) which makes the floor pans narrower. And the console height pushes knees together more closer to the steering wheel. - This is just a guess and please don't flame me ok.

mrbaxr6t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2009, 07:59 PM   #27

I agree that a falcon is a great cruiser but, you cant go past a mercdes E/S class, very comfy, smooth, great to drive and just soak up the miles in ease!, even my 67' 280se rumbles along nicely at just over 60mph!
Old 05-02-2009, 09:14 PM   #28
Kamshaaft

Originally Posted by SgtBourne
Kaam, ours is terrible haha takes about 30 seconds to get to 60kph
Not if I drop a Gixxer engine into it!
Old 05-02-2009, 06:50 PM   #29

you use a mightyboy at work?
what, are you a clown at the circus?
Old 05-02-2009, 07:05 PM   #30
Walt Kowalski
I use brain. Not hip.

Originally Posted by Mr Hardware
you use a mightyboy at work?
what, are you a clown at the circus?
ROFLMAO

I needed a laugh today