You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 10-07-2011, 05:58 PM   #1
LethalLeigh
Get in the van!

Default Buying a 4x4 vs going RTV style

Hey guys, I thought I'd pose a question to the masses to get some input for the next vehicle choice for my partner. She currently drives an 03 BA XT and uses it to tow a pretty standard horse float about with one horse.

What we've found however is traction at her agistment is pretty damn woeful but we're mainly let down by normal road tyres and a single pegger diff. We've discussed different replacements and come up with a few ideas:

- I'd love an RTV but with a young girl a single cab just doesn't work.
- The option of a full 4x4 like a Patrol would tick a lot of boxes but fuel consumption around town is a concern.
- Retrofitting an RTV style rear end to a BA/F wagon (possibly E-Gas), be it a manual locker or something like a Lokka rear end from 4WD systems. The questions surrounding this probably relate to feasibility and reliability compared to a traditional fourbie.

Over to you guys...

Old 10-07-2011, 05:59 PM   #2
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

Default Re: Buying a 4x4 vs going RTV style

diesel 4x4
Giant Cranium is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #3

I get close to 700kms from a 70L tank combined cycle out of my diesel.

Pretty good consumption imo. Best ive gotten was bout 800kms to the tank.

My vote is diesel dual cab

Old 10-07-2011, 06:40 PM   #4
Raptor
^^^^^^^^

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For quietly going about moderating in a fair and even manner. 

If an RTV won't work choose an AWD Territory.

If you not rock hopping you don't really need a 4WD and they come with a lot of compromises for everyday road use.
Old 10-07-2011, 06:53 PM   #5

The newer diesel turbo 4x4s will return good economy
Does depend on what
The older patrol 4.2 diesels get low teens per 100Ks
The newer 3L patrols,not sure
But dont get the early 3L patrol, no matter what the cost
They have major issues

It does really depend whats the major purchase for
Daily duties with the occasional tow
Or alot of towing with the occasional daily duties
Most 4x4s are still a single pegger rear

Whats the budget ???
Old 11-07-2011, 09:18 PM   #6
lamborghinifan

awd terry on gas
lamborghinifan is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-07-2011, 09:46 PM   #7

Territory, Territory, Territory!! Otherwise just chuck a LSD in the back of the Falcon, 700 bucks well spent. I tow horse floats in a RWD with LSD, works great.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:06 PM   #8

Originally Posted by Brazen
Territory, Territory, Territory!! Otherwise just chuck a LSD in the back of the Falcon, 700 bucks well spent.
This.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 13-07-2011, 12:44 PM   #9
jed

Territory, Territory, Territory!! Otherwise just chuck a LSD in the back of the Falcon, 700 bucks well spent.
i agree with this, on gas , personally i wouldnt go the diesel 4wd option unless you have a money tree
jed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-07-2011, 01:40 PM   #10
pb02
inconceivable!

Originally Posted by jed
i agree with this, on gas , personally i wouldnt go the diesel 4wd option unless you have a money tree
Why would you need a money tree? I get around the 7-8ltrs per 100kms so far. 10 year factory warranty, and fixed price servicing? My 4x4 dual cab I replaced only needed one set of tyres in the 4 years and 140,000kms I had it?
pb02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-07-2011, 09:57 PM   #11

manual locking diffs are ok as long as you don`t forget to disengage them when you get onto the firm stuff, myself i like the idea of a torsen diff if possible with some decent treads.
Old 12-07-2011, 12:57 AM   #12
LethalLeigh
Get in the van!

In the end budget is still undecided and all options will be looked at. I'd love something to do some serious offroading but I don't think I'm going to have the budget for a 2012 Ranger :P. So I'm left thinking that I'd love to take advantage of the poor resale of a large family car and mod it a bit. So it's good to hear a variety of feedback. Cheers so far guys.
Old 12-07-2011, 01:20 AM   #13

Originally Posted by LethalLeigh
In the end budget is still undecided and all options will be looked at. I'd love something to do some serious offroading but I don't think I'm going to have the budget for a 2012 Ranger :P. So I'm left thinking that I'd love to take advantage of the poor resale of a large family car and mod it a bit. So it's good to hear a variety of feedback. Cheers so far guys.
I still dont know why people want a 4wd when your towing, the suspension is too stiff and the handling too roly-poly. What you want when you are towing is long wheelbase, wide track, low centre of gravity... I know a guy who has a 90grand Landcruiser and to this day he says the best tow car he ever had was a V8 AU Fairlane.
Old 13-07-2011, 10:34 AM   #14

I still dont know why people want a 4wd when your towing, the suspension is too stiff and the handling too roly-poly. What you want when you are towing is long wheelbase, wide track, low centre of gravity... I know a guy who has a 90grand Landcruiser and to this day he says the best tow car he ever had was a V8 AU Fairlane.
Most use the larger 4x4s for towing as they have a bigger tow rating than a V8 fairlane
Dont see too many people pulling 26foot vans with V8 fairlanes
There was a fairlane in town with a tandem on the back , loaded,the towball wasnt a few inches of the ground

As for the pajeros or the lesser popular brands
They are good value for money as not many want them
Its nissans and toymotas that have the following and ask the big $$$
Old 13-07-2011, 10:38 AM   #15
BrisVegas
Noobie

Originally Posted by 302 XC
As for the pajeros or the lesser popular brands
They are good value for money as not many want them
Its nissans and toymotas that have the following and ask the big $$$
bwahahahahaha!! Just the thousands of grey nomads cruising the country with their Jayco Expandas and the like. The Pajero is a very well respected tow vehicle and offers much cheaper running costs than the Cruiser.

Nissan Patrols are dirt cheap for a reason... Toyotas play on the fact that they have a dealer in every town out bush and they have 'legendary' reliability.
LS Focus Zetec 5dr - gone
WS Fiesta Zetec 5dr - gone
BrisVegas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-07-2011, 11:07 AM   #16

Originally Posted by BrisVegas
Toyotas play on the fact that they have a dealer in every town out bush and they have 'legendary' reliability.
Actually Toyota parts grow on trees in the bush, not that you need them to, because they never need to be repaired, they are 100% reliable, and are worth more on the used market than they are brand new.
Old 13-07-2011, 07:03 PM   #17

Originally Posted by BrisVegas
bwahahahahaha!! Just the thousands of grey nomads cruising the country with their Jayco Expandas and the like. The Pajero is a very well respected tow vehicle and offers much cheaper running costs than the Cruiser.

Nissan Patrols are dirt cheap for a reason... Toyotas play on the fact that they have a dealer in every town out bush and they have 'legendary' reliability.
Most 4x4s offer cheaper running costs then a cruiser or even a patrol
(My 4.2 petrol patrol at 20-25L/100Ks is testimate to that)
Nissans patrols are cheap ???
maybe the newer 3L 4 cylinder ones
Try buying an early 4.2 diesel GQ model thats any good ,and there wont be any change outta 10K
My GQ patrol, ive just been offered a few more K than i paid 2 years ago
You have to look at the popular brands Vs the not so
Same year,same Ks,same condition the more popular brands will and generally command more $$$
Toyota , always have and always will command a premium
Old 12-07-2011, 01:15 AM   #18
Fireblade
Wizard Member

Can't go past a diesel 4x4 Leigh, the 2.5TD Courier gets good economy around town and towing a decent weight, but not too sure on their offroad capabilities but most can be made to go well in the thick stuff with decent mods.

Heaps of various diesel 4bys will tick the box though, Hilux, Patrol, Landcruiser etc plenty to choose from. When you get one hit me up and I'll take ya down the quarry for some fun
Old 12-07-2011, 04:48 PM   #19

Originally Posted by F6 FOON
Can't go past a diesel 4x4 Leigh, the 2.5TD Courier gets good economy around town and towing a decent weight, but not too sure on their offroad capabilities but most can be made to go well in the thick stuff with decent mods.

Heaps of various diesel 4bys will tick the box though, Hilux, Patrol, Landcruiser etc plenty to choose from. When you get one hit me up and I'll take ya down the quarry for some fun
Yes 2.5TD is the goods. Get the XLT and you get underbody protection and an LSD rear standard.

As ive found on sunday they go great offroad! I do reccommend them, you can pick up a dual cab XLT bout 15 to 25k depending. TJM is where youd go for offroad gear for these. (my exp.)

Old 12-07-2011, 03:15 AM   #20

My dad (in Oz) towed the horse float with a WK 5.7 Caprice, the rear suspension is clapped out now. I recommended he takes a serious look at the Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD, and he says he loves it so much he would buy another. 3.5 tonne towing capacity, and not a massive car, drives good on-road, powerful and economical. The new model that has just come out is supposed to be much better again.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:05 AM   #21
4vdean

AWD territory all the way
Old 12-07-2011, 11:10 AM   #22
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Isnt a falcon ute a little light for towing a horse float?
Go the 4x4 in a turbo diesel. Great allrounder, you can do your 4WD'ing and she is safer.
jcxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-07-2011, 11:24 AM   #23
GTP owner

I would suggest the Pajero - we just bought one 6 months ago and can't fault it. Good fuel consumption from the diesel, heaps of grunt, 3ton towing capacity, lots of room, pretty good offroad, and a lot cheaper than the major rivals
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-07-2011, 09:49 AM   #24
pb02
inconceivable!

Originally Posted by GTP owner
I would suggest the Pajero - we just bought one 6 months ago and can't fault it. Good fuel consumption from the diesel, heaps of grunt, 3ton towing capacity, lots of room, pretty good offroad, and a lot cheaper than the major rivals
I would agree with this. They are great value for money. I just picked up an NT Pajero Diesel last week. Very comfortable, heaps of added extras and a lot of room. The towing capacity is great, as mentioned above. My first trip on Saturday to the other side of the city and back returned 7.6lts per 100kms!
pb02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-07-2011, 10:45 PM   #25
janddbone
B1 - J & D Services

RTV Wagon All The Way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2000 Ford Falcon Wagon Egas
1999 Subaru Imprezza Sportwagon
1998 Holden Suburban 2500
1995 Land Rover Discovery TDI
1994 XG XR6 Longreach
1983 Holden Rodeo
1982 ZK Fairlane 302 six seater
1975 Datsun 120Y wagon
1970 MG Midget
1967 Rover 2000TC
Soon: Model T.
janddbone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-07-2011, 02:55 PM   #26
jed

are you towing 2.5tonne of horse float and assorted gear all over the state etc?

the territory has a secure weatherproof cargo area being a wagon , which can be useful for carting people too if you need too + its a bit heavier so stabler when towing

the alternatives the OP has put up suggests the budget doesnt stretch to a "newer" vehicle that would still have warranty

fuel economy soon disappears when you actually make diesels work , and diesels are gutless in comparison to the petrol 6 even on gas.

lets remember these are our individual opinions , the dual cab works for you but not me.
Old 13-07-2011, 04:31 PM   #27

Dare I say it...

"turbo diesel Prado"...

I do a lot of highway kilometers in these things, and I can tell you they are, honestly, just as comfortable as our G6E. they've got a lot of good features, and get really good economy. Off road they are a star as well. Pretty much go anywhere sensible with them.

Towing capacity is good, and they handle pretty good as well.

Umm..."diesels are gutless in comparison to the petrol 6 even on gas"...?

Our last car, a 2004 100 series Landcruiser 4.2 six cylinder turbo diesel got good economy, and pulling a massive double axle trailer loaded with a houseful of gear used practically the same amount of fuel, and stormed up hills. Torque is what diesels are all about...
Old 13-07-2011, 04:43 PM   #28
jed

Originally Posted by 2011G6E
i probably coulda worded that better

Our last car, a 2004 100 series Landcruiser 4.2 six cylinder turbo diesel got good economy, and pulling a massive double axle trailer loaded with a houseful of gear used practically the same amount of fuel, and stormed up hills.
granted, but find a 100 series cruiser with under 200000ks for under $20k which isnt ex mine or flogged to within an inch of its life
Old 13-07-2011, 04:48 PM   #29
GTP owner

Dare I say it...

"turbo diesel Prado"...

I do a lot of highway kilometers in these things, and I can tell you they are, honestly, just as comfortable as our G6E. they've got a lot of good features, and get really good economy. Off road they are a star as well. Pretty much go anywhere sensible with them.

Towing capacity is good, and they handle pretty good as well.

Our last car, a 2004 100 series Landcruiser 4.2 six cylinder turbo diesel got good economy, and pulling a massive double axle trailer loaded with a houseful of gear used practically the same amount of fuel, and stormed up hills. Torque is what diesels are all about...
I agree to a point. The prado is about $10k more expensive, has less power, and has a smaller towing capacity compared to the pajero. That was the trio that made me pick the NT pajero. 147kw and 400+Nm tows with ease, and still returns 12L/100km with 2,500kg on the trailer
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-07-2011, 07:35 PM   #30
LethalLeigh
Get in the van!

Budget is a bit of an issue at the moment but we may end up holding off on a decision for a few months yet and get a bit more money behind us.

The missus is pretty keen on an AWD Territory at the moment. Someone will have to help me out here though and remind me if they come with rear LSD standard. The key driving point for her wanting something Falcon based is that she has confidence driving with that much power and as much as I've explained torque vs power in the context of turbo diesel vs the trusty ol' 4L I'm not getting a whole lot of traction if you pardon the pun.

Ultimately if we go full size 4x4 I'm not averse to a Pajero having worked for a Mitsubishi dealer a few years back. It may be bias but I've rarely been able to justify the cost of a Toyota 4x4 be it new or used.