You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-09-2011, 05:44 PM   #1
Ibrox90

Default Removing dealer stickers.

For Ages I've had a dealer sticker on the back window, I've tried to peel it off but to no avail.

I was told a razor blade helps but i don't wan't to damage the tint or the window.

I thought about bug and tar remover but it says not to use on glass little help.

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears
stage 2 shift kit, riding on G6ET 18's

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Parking your ford after a long day of being Awesome
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Parkin...37774932974038
Ibrox90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 05:46 PM   #2
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

Default Re: Removing dealer stickers.

Is it on the inside????
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 05:47 PM   #3
THE CADBURY KID

Is the sticker on the inside?
If its the outside carefully use a blade to get an edge up then peel off and turps on a rag to get the sticky off,done heaps of them that way over the years.
If its on the inside the dealer was an idiot because that will ruin the tint.
THE CADBURY KID is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 05:47 PM   #4

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Is it just the sticky residue and some of the sticker remaining? I've found wax and grease remover works well in removing that.
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 05:54 PM   #5
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

If it’s on the inside mate I don’t really know what to say that wouldn’t fault your tints.

Thought there’s a product called Double D. It’s like eucalyptus oil or something. It was advised to me when I got slapped with a massive don’t park here sticker at the shops. Absolute killer to get off. Tried everything and one guy saw me struggling and advised me that and it worked a treat!
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 05:57 PM   #6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

As someone has already said razor blade, but use some windex with it to wet up the sticker (will stop you from scratching the glass).

If its on the inside then its all over.
Old 08-09-2011, 06:19 PM   #7

if its on inside go back to braindead dealer and ask how it can be removed... tell them youre not happy you bought a car not their crappy sticker...
Old 08-09-2011, 08:04 PM   #8
Ibrox90

SIGH. got the one on the outside off....and theres another one underneath it on the Inside......... FML

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Old 08-09-2011, 08:16 PM   #9

Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Very helpful and gracious with photoshop work to help others.. 

If it's on the inside under the tint then you don't have a lot of options. If you have a steady hand and can do it neatly you could try cutting around the sticker and through the tint and then apply another section of matching tint to the area (bodgy) or go back to the dealer and ask to have the window retinted (at their expense) and tell them to remove the dealer sticker first or buy yourself a " No Fat Chicks " or some other stylish sticker to cover the existing dealer sticker from the outside

I still find it amazing that some halfwit would apply tint over the top of a dealer sticker in the first place

Handy hint - don't use eucalyptus oil or any other solvent near the window tint or it's history :(
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 11:31 PM   #10
fangq

Originally Posted by Russ
If it's on the inside under the tint then you don't have a lot of options. If you have a steady hand and can do it neatly you could try cutting around the sticker and through the tint and then apply another section of matching tint to the area (bodgy) or go back to the dealer and ask to have the window retinted (at their expense) and tell them to remove the dealer sticker first or buy yourself a " No Fat Chicks " or some other stylish sticker to cover the existing dealer sticker from the outside

I still find it amazing that some halfwit would apply tint over the top of a dealer sticker in the first place

Handy hint - don't use eucalyptus oil or any other solvent near the window tint or it's history :(

Just shifted a sun damaged one the other day, Size 22 scalpel blade and WD 40 ( via small "soaked "paper towel ). One thing to watch for is that the flakes of the sticker can still be as sticky as all hell if they land on your duco.
I placed tissues in the boot sill area to catch any of that rubbish.

fangq is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-09-2011, 08:10 PM   #11

this thread needs pics.....
Old 09-09-2011, 08:22 PM   #12

i have seen tint put on over the top of stickers before. stupid idea.

if you have not long bought the car from the dealer whos sticker it is and they had the tint fitted i would be going back and having a big winge. try and get the back window retinted.

i wouldn`t try and cut and patch the tint, it will end up looking crap.

Old 09-09-2011, 08:27 PM   #13
THE CADBURY KID

Wet water soaked paper towel and let it sit on the sticker and soak,used to do this to help get old rego stickers off.if it doesnt work it wont damage the tint.worth a try
THE CADBURY KID is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 08:32 PM   #14
AMGC63

Discrete matte black sticker over it on the outside...
AMGC63 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 08:38 PM   #15

I'd say put a better sticker over the top.
Old 09-09-2011, 08:48 PM   #16
rocket67

I'd say put a better sticker over the top.
Yep..... Totally agree.

A "Collingwood" sticker would be just right!
rocket67 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2011, 09:04 PM   #17
Supercharged

Originally Posted by rocket67
Yep..... Totally agree.

No No No not Collingwood, Essendon way better

And remember: Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways - Beer in one hand - meat pie in the other - body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming "WOO-HOO, what a ride!!"
Supercharged is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2011, 09:15 AM   #18

Yep..... Totally agree.

I did say a better sticker by the way. Not the first one you find in the bin lol
Old 11-09-2011, 03:44 PM   #19

Yep..... Totally agree.

A Geelong 2011 Premiers sticker would be perfect.
Old 10-09-2011, 10:52 AM   #20
IDT
Marko

Go to tinta-a-car (or similar). Get them to remove the sticker. If they can't strip the window and re-tint it. I'd be very surprised if the dealer would give a rats.
Old 10-09-2011, 05:18 PM   #21
asdf1234

Leave it there. Just put a JDM sticker over it on the outside
asdf1234 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2011, 05:36 PM   #22

Originally Posted by asdf1234
Leave it there. Just put a JDM sticker over it on the outside
Just D icks Mate..??..
Old 11-09-2011, 12:28 AM   #23
asdf1234

Just D icks Mate..??..
What a bad. JDM is japanese domestic model..... It's like when VTEC just kicked in
Old 11-09-2011, 11:00 AM   #24

Originally Posted by asdf1234
What a bad. JDM is japanese domestic model..... It's like when VTEC just kicked in
oh...
Old 11-09-2011, 05:06 PM   #25
Ibrox90

.......going to say it ...... AFL is not a Sport worth recognition on my pride and joy :P

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Old 11-09-2011, 05:20 PM   #26

Put a sticker over it that dis-respects the Holden brand. It wont be long before some GMH fanboi smashes the window and then insurance, new window, tint and no sticker! Bam! In seriousness, you haven't mentioned if it is under any tint or not as of yet.
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2011, 05:36 PM   #27
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

Originally Posted by duaned
Put a sticker over it that dis-respects the Holden brand. It wont be long before some GMH fanboi smashes the window and then insurance, new window, tint and no sticker! Bam! In seriousness, you haven't mentioned if it is under any tint or not as of yet.
he said he took off the outside one then there was another on the inside
Giant Cranium is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-09-2011, 07:24 PM   #28

Originally Posted by captain awesome
he said he took off the outside one then there was another on the inside
From a quick read I thought he had removed one from the outside of the car itself. I simply can't understand why someone would tint a window, but leave the sticker on underneath the tint. Stupidity.
duaned is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2011, 01:28 AM   #29
No.6

i took the sticker off at the dealership, right after he handed me the keys! And i didnt stop there, i removed the licence plate frames too and replaced them with 'xr6 turbo' frames instead! Hell i didnt pay for the car so i can advertise for the dealership!
No.6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-09-2011, 01:37 AM   #30
asdf1234

Sticker removing can be a pain in the butt and a lot of pain for the thumb.