Old 27-06-2012, 02:33 PM   #1

Cool QLD Police to Auction "Hoon" vehicles July 4

Vehicle auction, Molendinar – July 4
JUNE 27, 2012, 8:32 AM
Twenty-eight vehicles will be auctioned in accordance with Section 127 of the Police Powers and Responsibilities Act 2000, in Molendinar next week including 11 impounded under Type 2 hoon laws.

The Type 2 hoon laws target repeat offenders who are charged with multiple offences in one of five categories:
• Driving an unregistered and uninsured motor vehicle
• Driving whilst unlicensed or disqualified
• Drink driving over 0.15%
• Failing to supply a specimen of breath or blood, or driving under 24 hour suspension
• Driving an illegally modified vehicle.

Vehicles up for auction have either been ordered by a Magistrate to become property of the State, have failed to be collected by their owners or have voluntarily been handed over to the State.

Vehicles will be auctioned on Wednesday, July 4, 2012 commencing at 10am at Nationwide Towing and Transport, 12 Industrial Avenue, Molendinar.

Inspection of vehicles is permitted between 8am and 10am prior to the commencement of the auction at the holding yard. No inspections will be allowed prior to this time.

Any inquiries regarding these vehicles are to be directed to the Sergeant M Jackson on 5581 2859. Sale of these vehicles is subject to any claimant providing evidence of ownership by 4pm Monday

Anyone with information which could assist police with their investigations should contact Crime Stoppers anonymously via 1800 333 000 or crimestoppers.com.au 24hrs a day.

Old 27-06-2012, 02:47 PM   #2
XR6T0Y
Half brain dead already

Default Re: QLD Police to Auction "Hoon" vehicles July 4

I don't think this is a good idea. If these 'hoons' are either there, or see their vehicles on the road with another user, most likely they will either trash the car or try and steal it back. My 2c

Running tuned at 191.3rwkw with 475nm Torque
Pacemaker PH4490 + Hiflo Pacemaker cat/catpipe + Xforce 2.5' catback into dual pipes after Diff.
FG Manifold + Herrod airbox + 20% underdrive +Hi flow thermostat + 26mm radiator and Weapon X coils!
Now rolling on staggered Matte black Lesnso D1R's
NOW MANUAL!
Shockwave Blue!
More to come

Now the proud owner of a '97 NL Fairlane

XR6T0Y is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 02:48 PM   #3

Originally Posted by XR6T0Y
I don't think this is a good idea. If these 'hoons' are either there, or see their vehicles on the road with another user, most likely they will either trash the car or try and steal it back. My 2c
And then go to jail.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 27-06-2012, 02:50 PM   #4

Originally Posted by XR6T0Y
Is there a link between hoons & car theft/vandalism i'm not aware of?
sounds like a new story for ACA!
Old 27-06-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
XR6T0Y
Half brain dead already

Originally Posted by EFFalcon
Is there a link between hoons & car theft/vandalism i'm not aware of?
sounds like a new story for ACA!
I never said that. By I know for a fact in the area i'm in, that this HAS happened. ANd yes, ACA is a load, I think we all know that.
Alls i'm saying is, someone may think they are getting a fairly decent car. But what about all the gremlins that go with it

And then go to jail.
I am by no means saying not to do it. If they havw done something wrong, they deserve it to happen. I fully agree with that

Running tuned at 191.3rwkw with 475nm Torque
Pacemaker PH4490 + Hiflo Pacemaker cat/catpipe + Xforce 2.5' catback into dual pipes after Diff.
FG Manifold + Herrod airbox + 20% underdrive +Hi flow thermostat + 26mm radiator and Weapon X coils!
Now rolling on staggered Matte black Lesnso D1R's
NOW MANUAL!
Shockwave Blue!
More to come

Now the proud owner of a '97 NL Fairlane

XR6T0Y is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 02:53 PM   #6

is there a list of vehicles?

Old 27-06-2012, 03:04 PM   #7

In other words if you want to buy a car that was previously owned by an idiot and my have had the bag thrashed out if it that's the place to go ?
Old 27-06-2012, 03:09 PM   #8

Originally Posted by The Yeti
is there a list of vehicles?
Not that I can find..must be..maybe at the auction place ???
Old 27-06-2012, 04:43 PM   #9
Streets

www.youtube.com/watch?v=dceB3SKBw9w
Streets is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 03:25 PM   #10

I think its a good idea.

If you can't play nice and lose it you deserve to see another owner in it.

First thing I would do is change central locking (if applicable) and change the ignition barrel.
Old 27-06-2012, 03:28 PM   #11

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

They come unregistered I think so you would have new rego plates.

Its a shame they dont give a listing of the vehicles, they are all probably trash heap rice burners anyway.
2024.50 Mustang Darkhorse 6M Blue Ember + Appearance pack ETA Jan 25.
Smoke Pursuit is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 05:01 PM   #12
TC200six

Originally Posted by DASH GT
Its a shame they dont give a listing of the vehicles, they are all probably trash heap rice burners anyway.
And there would have to be some VN's in that lot of 28. Where's Riksta?
TC200six is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 06:44 PM   #13
Riksta
Captain Malcolm Reynolds

Originally Posted by Linkachu
Ah ive been after a cheap VN commodore =)
No matter what time you get there, it will be too late now that I've been alerted to the fact of potential VNs.

VNs are Horn.

Originally Posted by TC200six
And there would have to be some VN's in that lot of 28. Where's Riksta?
Sorry, can't post, on my way to Queensland for a bargain....

Riksta likes VN's so much, he has the ashes of a VN in a jar on the mantle piece, a vile of VN engine oil hanging from his neck and a BT1 build plate locked up in a safe, buried under 6ft of concrete.
pretty much what has happened here is i trolled you. and it was fun.
Riksta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 07:38 PM   #14
GTP owner

Originally Posted by Riksta
No matter what time you get there, it will be too late now that I've been alerted to the fact of potential VNs.

VNs are Horn.

Sorry, can't post, on my way to Queensland for a bargain....

That's funny. You are surprisingly literate for a VN fan
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 08:01 PM   #15
Riksta
Captain Malcolm Reynolds

Originally Posted by GTP owner
That's funny. You are surprisingly literate for a VN fan
Not all VN Commodore fans are three-tooth bogans called "Dazza", stereotypical of areas such as Hackham West and Elizabeth (Pronounced: Lizbef).
Riksta likes VN's so much, he has the ashes of a VN in a jar on the mantle piece, a vile of VN engine oil hanging from his neck and a BT1 build plate locked up in a safe, buried under 6ft of concrete.
pretty much what has happened here is i trolled you. and it was fun.
Riksta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 03:51 PM   #16

Sale of these vehicles is subject to any claimant providing evidence of ownership by 4pm Monday
This line could mean that there will be no cars up for auction!
Old 27-06-2012, 04:38 PM   #17
JG66ME

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Great tech articles and assistance to all in the Classics arena. 

What happens if the vehicle is actually owned by a lease or finance company?
JG66ME is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 04:44 PM   #18

Originally Posted by JG66ME
The same as what happens when your car gets repossessed.
Whatever the sale price at auction is goes to the financier, any short fall has to be repaid by the person who took the loan out.
Vehicles sold by an LMCT (auction house) are essentially "clean" for the next owner, meaning the vehicle cant be repossessed from th enew owner if the previous owner doesnt finish paying his loan.
Old 27-06-2012, 04:45 PM   #19
GULL
TuRbO

Then u cant buy it unless u pay them out i guess
Old 27-06-2012, 04:51 PM   #20

All this would have been dealt with buy the courts.
Old 27-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #21

that's a good question.

I guess the owner (as in the one using the asset) is still obliged to make the payments, but in the event they stop, what happens then?

Ha Ha for the comments about VNs and rice burners

Would love to see a photo of the lot, to see if it is as funny as we all have it pictured in our minds
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 06:47 PM   #22

Originally Posted by shonkymofo
that's a good question.

I guess the owner (as in the one using the asset) is still obliged to make the payments, but in the event they stop, what happens then?

Ha Ha for the comments about VNs and rice burners

Would love to see a photo of the lot, to see if it is as funny as we all have it pictured in our minds
As I said before the courts would have sorted this issue out before the car is sent to auction.

A car under finance cannot be legally sold without the finance being paid out first.
Old 27-06-2012, 04:59 PM   #23
Linkachu

Ah ive been after a cheap VN commodore =)
Linkachu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 05:19 PM   #24

So - does this mean that these 'auctioned' cars get a clear bill of health with Authorities? As in - they've had their 3 strikes/out with the previous owner - though they will be known to the police.

And also - is there anything stopping the previous owner from buying the car back from the Police Auction?

Therefore - the same hoon has the same car again - just with a substantially lighter wallet?
Old 27-06-2012, 05:42 PM   #25
GTP owner

As stated before - who really wants to buy a car that has been thrashed? Last auction for hoon cars I heard about they lost money because the cars were pieces of junk and the auction fees were more than what they actually got for them. That makes the whole exercise a huge fail to me
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
GTP owner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 05:55 PM   #26

Will $1000 buy the whole lot? Could open a wrecking yard with all those commodores

Old 27-06-2012, 06:02 PM   #27
neptune blue

its all about revenue
they wont get as much money if they are sold as scrap
neptune blue is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 07:10 PM   #28

Originally Posted by xisled
As I said before the courts would have sorted this issue out before the car is sent to auction.

No doubt. I guess I was wondering WHAT happens not who does it.

To use a metaphor:

"Dad, how does the microwave heat food"

"well son, it's quite simple. You put the food in and then pull it out hot"

Last edited by Shonky.; 27-06-2012 at 07:15 PM.
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 07:53 PM   #29
Racecraft
they call me Tibbo

if you have a shrewd eye, and know what goodies are on the car you'd snap a bargain.... some will be super cheap specials on the lot driven by turtle heads but there also could be some real hipo machinery that is worth more than the car the parts live in...

Racecraft is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2012, 08:01 PM   #30
Djrystofer

Originally Posted by Racecraft
if you have a shrewd eye, and know what goodies are on the car you'd snap a bargain.... some will be super cheap specials on the lot driven by turtle heads but there also could be some real hipo machinery that is worth more than the car the parts live in...
Once you sort through all the boga-dores
Djrystofer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post