Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
Is it me or are greenslip prices going insane?
12 months on my Terry is now $532/annum and that looks cheap going by my comparison on the net. There is now an MCIS Levy of $117 tacked on the premium apparently "to fund ambulance and hospital care for people injured in Motor vehicle accidents" This is what I thought the $378 premium is suppose to cover? Can't complain (well I can on here ![]() |
2 users like this post: |
Ford Fiesta
How much on top of that do you pay for registration?
In Melbourne it's now $700 for registration and CTP for 12 months.
#3 | ||
I am Batman
Totally agree!
My green slip is more expensive than my fully comp insurance! Personally its an absolute scam. They should make it that if you have fully comp you don't need greenslip... Afterall its to cover those who don't buy insurance so why should I have to pay twice? I just paid about $900 for greenslip and rego.
Rebuilt Boss260 with #Kellogs 1500hp forged and balanced crank#Manley forged flattop pistons with a 9.5/1cr#4340 forged h-beam rods with arp bolts#Clevit performance rod and main bearings#full ARP headstud kit#total seal rings#Mantic twin plate development clutch and lightened flywheel#Mellings uprated oil pump#Mainforce Performance Supercharger kit#AU motorsport 345mm big brake kit. Now sat on an engine stand going nowhere
#4 | |||
Sick Puppy
The green slip is only to cover medicals for people injured in an accident. That is it. Normal third party , comprehensive etc only covers property damage. People really need to learn the difference! |
#5 | ||
I am Batman
My fully comp covers me as well as the car in the event of an accident...
Rebuilt Boss260 with #Kellogs 1500hp forged and balanced crank#Manley forged flattop pistons with a 9.5/1cr#4340 forged h-beam rods with arp bolts#Clevit performance rod and main bearings#full ARP headstud kit#total seal rings#Mantic twin plate development clutch and lightened flywheel#Mellings uprated oil pump#Mainforce Performance Supercharger kit#AU motorsport 345mm big brake kit. Now sat on an engine stand going nowhere
#6 | ||
Hoon On The Rise
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
It's nothing more than a gravy train of social engineering. Taking the dumbest, lowest most inept stooge as a lowest common denominator who deserves a hand out for something of an injury they were born with....
It's a goal of masquerading stupidity and a gross lack of common sense into a blame game of guilt and handouts in a social, communist bid to redistribute funds and lock all those who need it not, into a hand out scheme. You shouln't pay unless you caused the accident, and if you did cause it, and injured yourself, more fool you. Can be said for so many aspects of life with taxes, levies. It's about blaming everyone so none can be blamed. Given the current levels of stupidity everyone is only going to pay more as the erosion of responsibility and consequences for actions continues.
#7 | ||
MCIS levy has been around for a good few years, longer than the 5+ years I've been paying it.
#8 | ||||
I remember when the RTA abolished having the CTP insurance inclusive of the rego fee, I think the promise was that it will create much needed competition and a drop in prices. Not once did I pay less it's just gone up every year Quote:
Absolute joke... |
#9 | |||
you need to do some reading on insurance. fully comprehensive covers all property damage and your own vehicle but not death or injury to third parties . CTP covers death or disability to injured third parties so you aren't paying twice for the same thing
Everyone starts off with a bag full of luck and an empty bag of experience. The trick is to fill the experience bag before the luck bag is empty. "It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." Start a new career as a bus driver Rides: FG2 XR6 stock at this stage but a very nice ride xc 4 DOOR X CHASER 5.8 UNDER RESTO |
This user likes this post: |
#10 | |||
I am Batman
"We will cover you or anyone who has your permission to use your vehicle for legal liability for: •death or bodily injury to other people, or •loss or damage to someone else’s property, during the period of insurance resulting from an accident caused by the use of your vehicle in Australia" I know exactly what insurances cover what and may be playing devils advocate by saying the ctp is a rort... according to my pds I am covered, so why do I need ctp? It would appear i am paying twice. In terms of ambulance levies etc, Why not just put the levies into fully comp insurance? Granted, I have never injured anyone to say I have used my insurance in that way but I just think the ctp is to get yet more money out of the motorist, even if I am doing my legal duty to ensure my vehicle is roadworthy and fully insured.
#11 | ||
Sick Puppy
But yes the prices are through the roof.
I own 2 utes , both of them registered and used for private use only. Green slip on each of them is $1100 for 12 months as they are a goods carrying vehicle. Rego and green slip for me is around $1500 annually for each car and Im 36..................... |
#12 | ||
FPV BFII GT Cobra No.249
What car's that for Stefan?
My Cobra rego & green slips just come in. Green slip $396, thought that was pretty reasonable. Rego $569: breakdown, $59 rego fee, $411 Motor Vehicle Tax, $99 Annual, personalised coloured number plates fee. Funny thing, I didn't think state governments were allowed to charge Tax? Last edited by cobramania; 12-05-2013 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Spelling |
#13 | |||
Who is your greenslip with? Mine is GIO and they were the cheapest I found. |
#14 | |||
FPV BFII GT Cobra No.249
Goto the Motor Accidents Authority web site, fill in the details, & it will give you a quote from every NSW Green Slip insurer. You don't have to waste time ringing around or filling in multiple web quotes. http://www.greenslips.nsw.gov.au/ |
#15 | |||
#16 | |||
QBE $388 the cheapest. NRMA $489 the dearest.
#17 | |||
Which is why I hammer into people that shopping around can save substantial $$$. NRMA came in around $80 lower online when I re-quoted their renewal notice just for curiosity last year. I just quoted 3rd Party Property with several companies and closed the windows when I found that my renewal with AAMI was on-par with the second lowest quote, which was Budget Direct. I get a call 20 min after closing the window and it was them asking if there was anything wrong with the price. Explained that I didn't go with them as the site said that the car required an inspection and I needed cover from that day so I just paid the renewal. The guy said that for 3rd party no inspection was needed (was just a generic message at the end of the quote) and that as I'm a current customer they could certainly do better than the online (already discounted) price.
#18 | ||
both my 2002 Au and my 1995 Nf Fairlane are $433.76 with GIO
this is with 0 demerit points age 53 no accidents in the last 2 years and maximum no claim on my comprehensive insurance I feel that is reasonable
Everyone starts off with a bag full of luck and an empty bag of experience. The trick is to fill the experience bag before the luck bag is empty. "It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." Start a new career as a bus driver Rides: FG2 XR6 stock at this stage but a very nice ride xc 4 DOOR X CHASER 5.8 UNDER RESTO |
#19 | ||
SHOP AROUND!!! Use the online quoting sites.
Re-quote your own renewal, saved a heap doing that last year... same details, same bloody company! Actually.... things are changing in NSW very soon. They have dropped the payouts people will be getting when injured by a car, and also capped the payments to 5 years (or something along those lines). Was mentioned on talkback last week. I think changes kick in 1st July this year??? Apparently, savings of between $70-100 are on the cards?? Then again, I have saved that when shopping around already. CTP is a bloody cash cow, that's for sure, I remember reading that the payouts are dismally low compared to the income the policies generate..
#20 | ||
Jeez I just did a quote for a green slip on a Mazda 323 and all came back within $780-$795. Then you've got to add rego - for the Mazda, $250ish, and for the Falcon, $430ish. Big $$$$ to keep a car on the road in NSW. Then add your vehicle insurance of course.
#21 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
It also comes down to where you live as well ... even for CTP.
When I was out in the Hawkesbury (semi-rural) ... it was "affordable" ... when paying for 2 cars. Come back over the river and into Sydney's west ... price goes through the roof. It's around the $1K mark for each car for me as well ... like Stefan pointed out. Falcon also falls into the same weight-range as Territory so it's the same price as well.
The Current Stable 2016 SZII TS Territory RWD Petrol The Evolution of the EGA54D utes AU Workshop Build thread of EGA54D B-Series Workshop Build thread of EGA54D 2004 SX TX Territory AWD - Gone but not forgotten 2010 FG XT "The ex-rental" - Moved onto a new home Mechan1k's Flickr Page |
#22 | ||
The story I am getting from insurance mobs is some extra charge has been added a few months back.
The greenslip for my GT back in January this year was $330, and now if I quote for the same thing its $440. I have to rego the AU next month, and most greenslip quotes are coming in close to $500.
#23 | ||
FPV BFII GT Cobra No.249
My green slips gone up $29 from last year (same company, still the cheapest).
I got a letter saying if you notice an increase in the cost, it's because their investment income, where they source some of their payouts from (along with the premiums), has been negatively impacted due to the weak interest rates & changing economic conditions. Would be better if it didn't go up at all, but $29 isn't too bad. Some of the prices you guys are quoting, if circumstances haven't change, I think you're getting ripped. $330 in Jan this year to $440 now. ![]() |
#24 | ||
I paid $783 for my G6ET a few months ago. Add $471 for rego itself and it costs me $1254 for rego. Load of crap if you ask me. Under 25s get screwed.
#25 | ||
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005
I think NRMA is going to have re think my green slip.. Nearly $800 I'll take all my insurance elsewhere !! Its nearly doubled in 12 months..
Real cars are not driven by front wheels,real cars lift them!!... BABYS ARE BOTTLE FED, REAL MEN GET BLOWN. Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! Dart 330ci block turbo black pearl EBXR8 482 rwkw.. Daily driver GTE FG.. Projects http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=107711 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...8+turbo&page=4 |
#26 | |||
I have 2 greenslips, 2 CTP, 2 roadside assist, building and contents with NRMA. Whenever I get a renewal NRMA is always cheapest when I quote around because of multi policy discounts, but possibly if I take ALL my policies elsewhere I will get a better total price. |
#27 | ||
Aluminum Falcon pilot
![]() Join Date: Jul 2012
the MCIS levy is a crock.
I dont see why I need to pay it for 2 vehicles - I can only use one at a time, so average it or something. And last year MCIS for a motorcycle was more than the ute.
![]() The Fleet 2002 Kawasaki ZZR600 - Silver - Felix 1975 Fairlane ZG - Apollo Blue - Oberon 1999 Falcon AU Ute - Liquid Silver - The Aluminum Falcon - the Preciousss 2000 AUII Fairlane Ghia (vct)- Burgundy - Five / RedCar - round town clown |
#28 | ||
Thats one thing Victorians can be happy about! About half the cost to register a car than NSW!
TAC (I guess thats like your greenslip) is included in our reg. Its a govt scheme so we dont get stooged by private companies making massive profits. I know, my work pays about $430 for Reg and TAC in Geelong for a Newish Diesel Triton, and in NSW for our Tritons up there the same its well over $1000!! |
#29 | ||
Dunnydore Destroyer
Wait till your injured in an accident!! Then will you complain?
#30 | ||
I work for nrMa who are the biggest holder of CTP in nsw and let me explain something's for you.
- green slip covers any third party INJURIES, that you cause in an accident, including people in your car. - the MCIS levy, is for people who suffer injuries that ruin them for the rest of their lives, such as my step father, Sophie delezio... Etc. The initial Claim and payout comes out of the bulk of the premium you pay, the rest of their rehab comes out of the levy, which in turn stops your green slips from going to high. - the average green slip claim this year has risen from 90,000 to 150,000 bucks, and because green slips are a self funded scheme, (all money taken in must be enough to pay out expected claims) we as a company have to ensure premiums are high enough to cope with the claims we have. There are green slip claimants who are up in the tens of millions of dollars for their Injuries and illnesses sustained by another persons actions. If you have that sort of money laying around, don't bother paying your free slip, could save you $800 bucks |