You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-11-2021, 08:34 PM   #1

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 
Default Cheap but OK Spots - Suggestions

This is putting out feelers for the project Territory. Lights to be mounted on a nudge bar.

I can run up to about 30A, or 350W in my circuit, which is wholly independent of factory lighting.

The requirement is good long range visibility. It could be a light bar, or LED lamps or incandescent spots. Durability and maybe serviceability are desirable. New is not essential. Fiscal pain would be approaching maximum wattage above, but ideally a good amount less.

So - any suggestions on where to look, or what to avoid?
Citroënbender is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2021, 08:48 PM   #2

Default Re: Cheap but OK Spots - Suggestions

Narva 71702HID are good value for money if you can get your hands on these on sale.

Nothing beats HID for putting light down range, not overly expensive on ebay at sub $600 for the pair:

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/14243199...evt=1&mkcid=28

You may be able to find these cheaper as they come up on sale, I was getting my hands on these cheap a couple years ago when auto electrical suppliers were running sales. I've done 5 or so cars with these particular lights in the past.

These are halogen but they're pretty good, also the same price:

https://www.fyrlyt.com/product-page/...-12-volt-qty-2

They use a LOT of juice though, its 300W worth of halogen spotlights and at 12V so the current is significant - I used to have these on my Focus

You just need to be careful with warm up time of HIDs but if you're regional its probably not an issue.

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 07-11-2021 at 08:54 PM.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:00 PM   #3
slowsnake

This is putting out feelers for the project Territory. Lights to be mounted on a nudge bar.

I can run up to about 30A, or 350W in my circuit, which is wholly independent of factory lighting.

The requirement is good long range visibility. It could be a light bar, or LED lamps or incandescent spots. Durability and maybe serviceability are desirable. New is not essential. Fiscal pain would be approaching maximum wattage above, but ideally a good amount less.

I haven't used "big eyes" since 2011, but for range I found then perfect, and I like rectangular so I get to see what's coming outta the bush, left and right, used em all over Oz in my Bravo 4x4.
Hella Comet 550 they were pretty cheap back then and I never come close to hitting anything, love the side spread!

Last edited by slowsnake; 07-11-2021 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Miss named lights,
slowsnake is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2021, 09:07 PM   #4

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: Your outstanding contributions to this community have not gone unnoticed. IN my view you are a worthy recipient of the (rarely used) Chairman's Award. 

$600 is around what the car originally cost (it’s probably worth a bit more now) and pretty hard to justify. I imagine that neither of those expensive options come up often secondhand. At least with provenance.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:10 PM   #5

$600 is around what the car originally cost (it’s probably worth a bit more now) and pretty hard to justify. I imagine that neither of those expensive options come up often secondhand. At least with provenance.
You call them expensive, I call them 'cheap but OK'

You'll probably be able to score some of these with people 'upgrading' to LED, the 4x4 mob are next level with accessorising their vehicles and they're always changing out things like lights etc.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:06 PM   #6

Honourable mention for Hella Rallye 4000 Compact, might be a bit hard to find these days but you could probably score a new set for around $300-$400, also had used these on my own car in the past - used to be factory fitment on Regional Vic ambulances.
Old 07-11-2021, 10:16 PM   #7
Rallye Sport
RS The Faster Fords

Originally Posted by Franco Cozzo View Post
Honourable mention for Hella Rallye 4000 Compact, might be a bit hard to find these days but you could probably score a new set for around $300-$400, also had used these on my own car in the past - used to be factory fitment on Regional Vic ambulances.
That'd be my choice, they come up second hand on gumtree, cheap and often, I picked up two pairs and hung them on the old Rally car for under $100.
FG XR50 Daily.
Rallye Sport is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2021, 09:11 PM   #8
slowsnake

picture sharing

Should run under $200 now I paid $120 back then, check ebay.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:15 PM   #9

Originally Posted by slowsnake View Post
imagepicture sharing

Should run under $200 now I paid $120 back then, check ebay.
I have experience with these as well, they do use H3s but they're OK.

https://www.ozautoelectrics.com/hell...light-kit.html
Old 07-11-2021, 09:16 PM   #10

SS, those ones are not unlike the Cibie driving lights fitted to older Renaults.

And Franco, yes I’m “careful” with what I spend sometimes.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:20 PM   #11
slowsnake

My advice, make sure that the "U" channel if they sit in one is at least 2 to 3mm thick, and they have a ratchet type adjustment, I took the Bravo on tracks that are not on any maps, over corrugations you could hide a coke can in upright, no worries.
Bullbar fell off once but lights still aligned when bolted back on, if you haven't travelled CB you just do not need straight beam spots, seen lots of folk lay out mucho dollero?....they looked good, but I like stealth, look at Hella, as good a name as Narva, I chose Hella over Narva for price and bracketry!
Old 07-11-2021, 09:32 PM   #12
slowsnake

Bit of a longer shot, they do not look out of place on my Bravo, so should look ok on yours, I think they make the LED stuff but incandescent is fine for what you want, long range are only good if your name is Paddy Hopkirk, believe me globes are fine.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:45 PM   #13

Super Oscars. Not cheap if bought new, but more than ok.
Old 07-11-2021, 09:58 PM   #14
slowsnake

I'll send my nephews dog over in a post it bag, then you can just run 100 watters, strap this bloke to the nudge bar and his growl will scare any roos away for 100 metres, lol,

Old 07-11-2021, 10:02 PM   #15

He needs a dentist to sort those gnashers!
Old 07-11-2021, 09:50 PM   #16

I was assuming what are called “spread beam” would be the focus I’m looking for.

They would be unlikely to go off road more than a bumpy trail to a campground (remember Euroka Clearing? that sort of place) or a late night arrival to some airBnB cottage/shack. I can’t see my mate pointing for Oodnadatta with his family in the car.

Gaso: Bonus points because French.
Old 07-11-2021, 10:04 PM   #17
slowsnake

I was assuming what are called “spread beam” would be the focus I’m looking for.

They would be unlikely to go off road more than a bumpy trail to a campground (remember Euroka Clearing? that sort of place) or a late night arrival to some airBnB cottage/shack. I can’t see my mate pointing for Oodnadatta with his family in the car.

Rectangular are spread beam, you don't want pin beams, good for nothing really, impressive to look at but just not functional, if you are sitting on the speed limit of 110kmh then you get enough distance from spreads to slow down before you hit, but when you see them glowing eyes 150metres ahead you got time to slow, you will work it out!
Old 07-11-2021, 10:10 PM   #18

The Sunyee stuff is quite cheap for new, my apprehension with lower priced LED is both the stories of vendors like Fyrlyt about scatter and also the clear plastics ageing badly.
Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
On the Truck I used to run one pencil beam and one fog beam, best of both worlds
A true fog, with the hooded globe?
Old 07-11-2021, 10:10 PM   #19

On the Truck I used to run one pencil beam and one fog beam, best of both worlds
Old 07-11-2021, 11:02 PM   #20
hayseed

Originally Posted by GasoLane View Post
I have a pencil beam Drivers side, & a Spread beam on the passenger side.

I second what Franco says about Hella rallye 4000. A light is only as good as it's reflector & Hella stuff have excellent reflectors..
hayseed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2021, 10:01 PM   #21
prktkljokr
praek tih kl jo kr

I buy LED light bars from here https://www.sunyee.com.au/collections/4x4-accessories, way cheaper than any retail place and delivered to your door within a week
prktkljokr is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2021, 10:38 PM   #22
Tonz

dont forget your local gumtree or Ebay (select auction and area so you can hopefully pick them up.
Old 07-11-2021, 11:01 PM   #23

Originally Posted by Tonz View Post
dont forget your local gumtree or Ebay (select auction and area so you can hopefully pick them up.
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-parts-a...23l3003435r250

Yep, have been doing that; see prior note on “provenance” - not exactly comfortable with buying off a speedy towing company… There seem some decent bargains around. It’s where Faceache might be handy but I won’t subscribe because of the disgraceful corporation that it is.
Old 08-11-2021, 07:44 PM   #24

As some have said they don’t make em like they used to quality but not everything is crap….
I used to use hella back in the day then once I the hilux fourby top of the line narva spottys with the pencil driving light drivers side amd wide arch passenger.
They were fine for years but them I tried a light bar across my nudge bar.
I’ll never go back they are brilliant imo.
Top narva one again they are great.
Light force is good and many others now for they have become so popular you can buy cheap ones to middle range to quality.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 08-11-2021, 08:25 PM   #25
tbro4123

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...post&tracking=

Cheap and good, better light than LEDS as you can keep your eyes open coming up to road signs.

Terry aka Tbro
tbro4123 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2021, 09:05 PM   #26

Originally Posted by tbro4123 View Post
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...post&tracking=

Cheap and good, better light than LEDS as you can keep your eyes open coming up to road signs.

Terry aka Tbro
They look like Cibie copies !
Old 10-11-2021, 01:26 AM   #27
jstanovic

For years I used Narva Ultima 225, plain halogen with both spread lens. $299 on special 8 years ago.

Fast forward to a couple months ago, the old ones broke after lots of corrugations on 2 4x4s. I found them for $119 delivered from 4wd extreme in Adelaide. I was skeptical (scam or chinese copy) but took the chance and they are ridgy didge the same as my old ones!!! Stoked!!!!.

They are a great halogen light, I like both spread lens as it lights up the immediate road better, still enough distance to travel confidently at 100kph at night.
jstanovic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-11-2021, 09:17 AM   #28
Tassie f100

I use a pair of Narva 160mm which I put 120w halogen globes into.Seem to have pretty good range and spread when set up.
Tassie f100 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2021, 03:57 PM   #29
MattSAU2XR8

I would agree there's a case to be made for halogen lights, particularly for on road use. Years ago I had a cheap set of Narva 175 spread beams and they were great - could see a long way down the road and did not have an annoying bright spot right in front of the car.

One of the problems I've noticed with led bars and spots is a lot of spread close up (is good on side streets) and if they do have a long range quoted this is achieved by a very narrow focus.

Old fashioned halogen spots with a large reflector seem to have a much smoother spread of light. Which means everything in front of the car is more evenly lit up.

I suppose if there was room a set of cheap HID lights could work also...
MattSAU2XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2021, 08:46 PM   #30

Originally Posted by MattSAU2XR8 View Post
I would agree there's a case to be made for halogen lights, particularly for on road use. Years ago I had a cheap set of Narva 175 spread beams and they were great - could see a long way down the road and did not have an annoying bright spot right in front of the car.

One of the problems I've noticed with led bars and spots is a lot of spread close up (is good on side streets) and if they do have a long range quoted this is achieved by a very narrow focus.

Old fashioned halogen spots with a large reflector seem to have a much smoother spread of light. Which means everything in front of the car is more evenly lit up.

I suppose if there was room a set of cheap HID lights could work also...
I agree, I'm a fan of halogen lighting, the magic happens in the reflectors.

Hella does make some quality gear, but anyone who has owned an EF/EL Falcon, those candles that apparently pass for headlights were designed by Hella so we can't give them too much praise

LED light bars give you a wicked spread up close, but I find the lights don't last overly long before they go dull compared to when they were new, doesn't matter if its LED light bars on cars or LED down lights in our house, they quickly disappoint regardless how much or how little you pay for them, they don't blow but they lose their light output massively.