You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-07-2005, 09:00 PM   #1
Simmo
White Lightning

Default wtf is wrong with my hp curve

whats wrong? it looks lovey then it dies.

Simmo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2005, 09:02 PM   #2
parawolf
beep beep

Where's the Air Fuel Ratio print out on your dyno chart? that will tell heaps
Old 28-07-2005, 09:03 PM   #3
Simmo
White Lightning

i was there when it was done and it was fine on screen as a number readout.
Old 28-07-2005, 09:15 PM   #4
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

running out of air to breath probably, whats the details of your motor?
Qwikcorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2005, 09:16 PM   #5
xr8ute
Back on the road

bad valve springs? bad ignition leads/plugs/coil? bad fuel pump/reg?

AU XR8 Ute 13.90 @ 100mph - http://www.aufalcon.com/xr8ute
5L Windsor, GT40X heads, Crane 2030, Pacey 4-1s, Lukey 3", 3.91:1, auto. Tuned by me w/Quarterhorse and BinaryEditor.

Coming Soon: Ported lower intake, Tickford "Premium" Brakes, and a good wash.
xr8ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2005, 09:19 PM   #6
EA_Bender
Hmmm Gold!!!

i think we'll thro that new snorkle on it and see how it goes again...
1990 EA Series 2 Fairmont, Low Springs and shocks, 17 x 7 Advanti Flash Mags running on Falken rubber :, EL XR8 Sway Bars, NGK Iridium Plugs, New Trip Comp, Pacemaker 4480, 2.5 system 4L ED engine with surecam

Now Sporting - OED666's 202+ RWHP engine!! :dj: fully
EA_Bender is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2005, 09:22 PM   #7
parawolf
beep beep

Perhaps its timing - perhaps its air, perhaps its fuel/fuel supply, perhaps its springs, perhaps its - well - anything.

This is where an expert is good and not just guessing.
Old 28-07-2005, 09:26 PM   #8
Simmo
White Lightning

ok basically the engine is 197,000kms old. new head gasket about 5000kms ago. cant see the valve springs being bad. they are the tickford jobs. the electrical system wouldnt surprise me as it idled like sh*t till i got new leads and that cleaned it up a bit. i will getting a new coil, dizzy cap and rotor button soon. i really need my AFRs messed with i think. hopefully the avg zorst that came with it isnt strangling it.
Old 28-07-2005, 10:39 PM   #9
Supa R00
Rolling on Simmons...

Originally Posted by derb
ok basically the engine is 197,000kms old.... cant see the valve springs being bad. they are the tickford jobs..
Having just had my 215k tickford springs changed when i did my cam i beg to differ. my springs were deffinetly tired and had become soft. i now have 600' crow springs in...
5Spd, Simmons FR17"s, SupaLow's, Sprint Bodykit,
Cam, exhaust and all that jazz... Complete AU XR6 conversion and soon to be turbo!
:voldar02:

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
When has any XR6 after the ED, prior to the XR6T been anywhere near being a performance car, or much more of a car than a stock taxi spec Gli?
Supa R00 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-07-2005, 09:26 PM   #10
Gammaboy
Grinder+Welder = Race car

Its obvious whats wrong with your curve, you simply don't have enuff power:P
Sorry derb....

I'd suspect mixtures or igniton breakdown... when was the last time the plugs were changed? plug leads? coil?

Bish
Old 28-07-2005, 09:27 PM   #11
Simmo
White Lightning

plugs were done with the head.
Old 28-07-2005, 11:25 PM   #12
Simmo
White Lightning

hrm. how much they set you back mate?
Old 29-07-2005, 12:51 PM   #13

hows ur cat?
does it feel ok on the road?
Old 29-07-2005, 01:07 PM   #14
Simmo
White Lightning

apparently, and i say apparently, there was a hi flo cat put on when the zorst was done by the previous owner. and since its pretty bodgy i cant take it off to look in cos its welded. on the road it feels like the curve exactly. lovely till about 3500 and you can feel it struggling to push out the last 1500. even the engine sond changes from throaty roar to someone trying to push out a big dump [sorry couldnt think of any other way to describe it].
Old 29-07-2005, 06:45 PM   #15
ef5l

first check things that dont cost much, check fuel pressure, rev it up about where it starts to strugle put your hand near the back of the exhaust and feel the flow comming out, check timing. the way that looks to me either the exaust is blocked or its running out of fuel..
ef5l is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post