Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
30-08-2005, 11:02 AM | #1 | ||
After being on dial-up with Net2000 as my ISP since 1997 or so, my kids are really twisting my arm to get broadband.
"He who knows all" (my son) says we want 1500 "whatevers" per second & minimum of 10Gig per month. (I gather that's speed and download limits?) Net2000 appear way too pricey. Home phones with Optus, they also appear pretty dear? Can anyone point me in the right direction? PS. We are in Essendon, Maribyrnong area of Melb.
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner : ) |
30-08-2005, 11:30 AM | #2 | |||
Back in Blue!
http://bc.whirlpool.net.au Have a look through there, you can do a search based on your requirements
30-08-2005, 11:31 AM | #3 | ||
Beware of mood swings!
It sounds like your son wants the best speeds and 1500kbps plans can be quite expensive. We signed up and have been connected for about three weeks with telpacific.com on a 512kbps plan and it's a HUGE difference.
To work out the best plan, go to www.whirlpool.net.au and find out who does the best deals in your area. ;)
30-08-2005, 11:42 AM | #4 | ||
OMG... Whirlpool search turned up 52 odd different providers! How in the hell do you choose?
Thanks for this guys (and girls), I think I'll pass onto "He who know all"
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner : ) |
30-08-2005, 12:17 PM | #5 | ||
iinet are excellent... 1500kbps is at the old 256kbps prices too so its quite cheap too!
30-08-2005, 02:38 PM | #6 | ||
Go on, be a monkey....
I'm with iiNet and now they've released their Voice over IP phone - cheaper phone calls now - try 10 cents unlimited local and national (capital city to capital city) calls....
30-08-2005, 02:51 PM | #7 | ||
1982 Ford XE Falcon 351
yeah iinet are good. But im on their old plan:
- 256kbps, 24gb total download off/onpeak = $49.95 a month There new plans are good, for the same price as the old plan above i can get: -1500kbps, 4gb total download off/on peak. And if i download more then that i have to pay heaps more, UNLESS i get the iiphone package, where id get 12000kbps and so on, but i have to pay a minimum of $30 a month just for iiphone, and we dont want iiphone! |
30-08-2005, 02:55 PM | #8 | ||
they sound good...do these iinet guys have a website?
James |
30-08-2005, 03:01 PM | #9 | ||
Ford Power, in a Merc?
We use iprimus.. PrimusOne packages are good.. line rental, unlimited local calls, capped long distance, and 512k adsl with 12gb (no excess charges, throttles speed) for $99/mth.
Taking into account the home phone charges etc as well.. if you use local calls a lot like we do it ends up being a massive saving. |
30-08-2005, 03:02 PM | #10 | ||
We have iinet after moving from telstra. Faster and cheaper.. what more can you ask for ?
http://www.iinet.net.au/ |
30-08-2005, 03:09 PM | #11 | ||
look at Internode too, like iiNet they are not the cheapest but are the best value for money.
And unlike my 3+ hours on the phone this morning sorting out Bigpond customer sites, calling internode you get to talk to an actual intelligent human at the help desk. |
30-08-2005, 03:15 PM | #12 | ||
Whoever you choose make sure that the plan that you want doesnt charge for extra downloads.. ie if you go over your monthly quota, its better to get a plan that slows the speed down once you hit your monthly quota.
30-08-2005, 03:43 PM | #13 | |||
XB in parts...
Once you blow your d/l limit you just get capped to a dial up speed, so no horrible bills for excess kb d/l'd.
30-08-2005, 03:49 PM | #14 | ||
your son wants stuff that will cost ya around 100+ per month.
Thats with most ISP's around, dont know if they are in Melb, but unwired is wireless and is easy to se/set up. |
30-08-2005, 03:56 PM | #15 | |||
You'll have noticed Unwired have reverted to calling their service faster than dial-up rather than broadband. Unwired is a niche product its not a viable direct replacement for high usage ADSL or Cable. |
30-08-2005, 07:04 PM | #16 | ||
Has Blue Blood
A mate of mine is with a company called TPG. for $49.95 per month , he gets 20 gig download limit , and the speed is 1500 down load, 512 upload !
it cheaper than my telstra rip off , $79 95 per month , unlimited ( after 10 000mb is reached they slow the speed down ) and my speed is 512 down load , 256 upload broadband . I know where im going when my contract runs out in november !
01-09-2005, 08:22 AM | #17 | |||
I want to upgrade to a 512 upload for Xbox live !! :
01-09-2005, 12:09 PM | #18 | ||
I have DODO 256k at home. 49.95/month, and with the 3 month honeymoon period, it actually ends up being a $0 installation (3 months x 40=$120 ADSL connection fee)
DODO is fine if you know what you're doing, and there are no limits on downloading at all. ie. no excess costs, and no throttling of speed Depending on what you want to do on the net, then 1500 isn't necessary. I had 48 MEG connection in Japan, but Australia's ADSL speeds are pathetic. First, find out what your son wants to do on the net. Are you going to be sharing the connection via Wireless LAN or similar? If yes, then you will want higher speeds to share the load. If you only have a single computer on the net, then it's a big expense IMO |
04-09-2005, 07:56 PM | #19 | |||
Has Blue Blood
Yes mate , thats why my mate got tht plan as well ! He has two Xbox's and two Playstations and we all go online at his place regularly !
30-08-2005, 07:30 PM | #20 | ||
Im planning on getting ADSL2. 24,000kbs of goodness.
30-08-2005, 07:31 PM | #21 | |||
04-09-2005, 06:59 PM | #22 | ||||
No longer driving a Ford.
30-08-2005, 07:38 PM | #23 | ||
Bastard knows not of this porn of which you speak.
30-08-2005, 07:43 PM | #24 | |||
30-08-2005, 08:00 PM | #25 | ||
G'day,
This is Charliewools son... i hope he doesnt find out i have done this.. : A couple of my freinds are using TPG internet, yes it is 1500 kbps speed, 20 gig download limit for $50 a month. Now..I bet you are all thinking 'this can't be possible..surely there is a catch'..but so far I cannot find one www.tpg.com.au more specifially, http://www.tpg.com.au/products_servi...pe=residential The friend that has told me about this said TPG is excellent. Check it out...tell me if you think it is a good deal or not :p Sorry dad for posting ! By the way...Holden > Ford Yours, -Jack
30-08-2005, 08:03 PM | #26 | ||
TPG are good but when something stuffs up and you need to talk to them expect a long wait with the worst hold music imaginable. I think they have people who scour the bargain bins at Sanity just to find it.
30-08-2005, 08:25 PM | #27 | ||
Use TPG for my business connection. Its cheap, its throughput is "ok" and its uptime is very good. However you will get better throughput from internode at the same connection speed in my experience.
01-09-2005, 03:49 AM | #28 | |||
I just churned to iinet from aanet. iinet are really good if you don't mind bundling iiphone with it. The phone fixed charge is the same as Telstra, so I'm probably slightly better off with iiphone overall. Internode offers very good standalone packages with a good service. Telstra and Optus are probably one of the last 2 you should pick for ADSL apart from the fly by nighters that come and go quickly. Determine what your usage will be. With broadband comes the temptation to download alot, so a fixed price plan where they just cut your speed would be best. But 10GB isn't considered excessive, unless you only want to surf websites and check e-mail. The speed - 1500Kilobits/second makes it about 25 times faster than dialup. You can get 10GB or more of data a month for $50. Another thing to factor in is you no longer have to dial in - so no more phone calls for internet.
01-09-2005, 06:24 AM | #29 | |||
Boss 290 BA GT Goodness
Yes, TPG and DoDo are most likely the cheapest. A couple of the other techs at work use it and say it great (online games and downloading). I can't give you any idea on the quality of the DoDo connection.
04-09-2005, 06:32 PM | #30 | |||
1500kpbs on a 10 gig limit will run out very very quick, especially if you have kids, they would use the 10 gig up in about a week |