Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM | #1 | ||
gday all
Just wondering if anyone may have a good contact or may do paint jobs on cars on the cheap side or have any ideas as to where i may be able to get it done very cheaply preferably in the geelong or geelong side of melbourne
08-09-2005, 09:39 AM | #2 | ||
if you want cheap, ull get a job when it comes to painting a car u pay for what u get!!
sorry i couldn't help you m8 luke |
08-09-2005, 09:56 AM | #3 | ||
www.lukehimself.net
09-09-2005, 10:02 PM | #4 | |||
headsexTuned
Ohh. anyone know if this guy is a forum guy.. his blue/white looking XR8 is a awsome colour |
10-09-2005, 01:29 AM | #5 | |||
08-09-2005, 12:02 PM | #6 | ||
do it your self, I am, its not hard
08-09-2005, 12:32 PM | #7 | |||
08-09-2005, 02:28 PM | #8 | ||
i'm just using spray cans:(
08-09-2005, 02:30 PM | #9 | |||
08-09-2005, 02:37 PM | #10 | |||
08-09-2005, 02:39 PM | #11 | |||
08-09-2005, 03:05 PM | #12 | |||
please tell me your kidding... i wouldnt even spray paint my kombi van with spray cans |
08-09-2005, 03:36 PM | #13 | |||
08-09-2005, 06:00 PM | #14 | |||
please post up pics when youre done!! |
08-09-2005, 02:38 PM | #15 | ||
dad has a compresor but it wont fit in the car:(
08-09-2005, 02:39 PM | #16 | ||
hire a trailer for a couple of hours?!?
Bwahahaha@cans! Have you thrown the cans out? If not, PLEASE take a photo for our immense enjoyment!!! |
08-09-2005, 02:41 PM | #17 | ||
i am almost finished thow
08-09-2005, 02:57 PM | #18 | ||
We done a mates VW with cans (filled up an otto) looked good for about 2-3 weeks now it’s cracked faded and really chalky. Get a pro to put a clear over the top maybe it will keep. Good luck.
08-09-2005, 03:08 PM | #19 | ||
well i wasn't gonna say but i tried to colour code on the cheap..using spray cans...i bought plastic primer and some hard clear coat spray
the ones that i did correctly turned out ok...for a while.....the coded bumper is basically yellow..and the strips are inconsistence..plus flaking and cracking and all the rest of the bad stuff id be pretty confident in sayin ur bonnets and doors and basically every thing that more than 10 cm wide will be up the sh!T do it with a compresser and spray gun |
08-09-2005, 03:44 PM | #20 | ||
thats what i used mate
how much have you actually done? i only painted the grey strips on the bumpers and doors.. how will you get it even with a tiny bee di1K nozzel? |
08-09-2005, 03:50 PM | #21 | ||
i have done 90% now
08-09-2005, 03:54 PM | #22 | ||
and your happy?? cos if so then thats all that matters
its just that after doing the damn strips i couldn't even fathom a bonnet or doors |
08-09-2005, 03:58 PM | #23 | ||
its looking good so far and i have to still polich it
08-09-2005, 04:00 PM | #24 | ||
sweet
08-09-2005, 04:05 PM | #25 | ||
What car do you have?
08-09-2005, 04:13 PM | #26 | |||
Bad Music and Litre Bikes
back on topic.
Down near the race course in Geelong, if you go down Barwon TCE, just before the railway lines cross the road, there is a guy there who does them for about $600 if i remember correctly. Dont know the quality of work though, i doubt it will be very good. As has been said, you get what you pay for with paintjobs. Depending on your budget, go see a few panel shops around Geelong, there are heaps im sure you could get a half decent job for a half decent price. Good luck
08-09-2005, 04:25 PM | #27 | ||
i have been to that guy on barwon tce once before when i had the ea and he wouldnt paint it, as he doesnt do metalic paints as it was a fairmont in the gold colour, but if it was just like a white or something he would do them.
08-09-2005, 04:46 PM | #28 | ||
Are you serious. The whole car by spray cans "NO COMMENT" =)
08-09-2005, 05:02 PM | #29 | |||
Weekender 1964 US Falcon Futura convertible - Rangoon Red 260 Windsor V8, 4 speed manual, LHD, Electronic ignition, Mustang wheels https://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11470868 Daily 2014 SZII Territory diesel - basic runabout Previous Cars 1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - Tickford engine, 5 speed, SVO wheels, bodykit, much more 2000 AUII Fairmont - XR wheels, Ghia interior 2010 FG XR50T ute - XR8 bonnet, Streetfighter intake |
08-09-2005, 05:05 PM | #30 | |||
LOL he seems very determined |