08-10-2006, 04:05 PM | #1 | ||
5/00 AUII Forte
Hi folks,
I had four impacted wisdom teeth as well as some jaw bone removed last Tuesday. Recovery is going okay, however I can't physically open my jaw so there's any more than a 1.5cm gap between my upper and lower teeth. When I try to it almost feels like the left jaw joint is locking up and it hurts like hell. I imagine this is due to swelling but my face externally seems to be of normal size. Has anyone had any similar experiences or offer any short term advice? Driving me nuts! Cheers, Ian
08-10-2006, 04:08 PM | #2 | ||
panadol forte
08-10-2006, 04:10 PM | #3 | ||
5/00 AUII Forte
yeh im on the codapane and ibuprofen. just wondering if this is a normal post op reaction
08-10-2006, 04:12 PM | #4 | ||
yeah, its just swelling.
it will go away in a week or so. I had all four of mine out at the same time, while i was awake with only an injection in each gum.
08-10-2006, 05:38 PM | #5 | |||
For those that aren't aware, impacted is when they grow sideways and push the teeth forward. Takes more effort to get out and normally leaves you with cheeks looking like you're sucking on golf balls
08-10-2006, 04:30 PM | #6 | ||
5/00 AUII Forte
awake.... that's crazy!?!?
2.5 hour op in theatre for me. the general anaesthetic was good. cheers
08-10-2006, 04:38 PM | #7 | |||
08-10-2006, 04:32 PM | #8 | ||
V8 Powaah
Yeah the swelling will go. I had no fun at all when i got mine pulled, 4 done at once with local, took the best part of 2.5 hours.
It was very bad for about 1.5 weeks (Swelling and Bleeding), but after about 3 weeks it was back to normal
08-10-2006, 04:36 PM | #9 | ||
BUILT FORD TUFF
normal mate, i had mine done and it will come normal
08-10-2006, 04:38 PM | #10 | ||
5/00 AUII Forte
Cheers guys. making me feel better already.
Ian
08-10-2006, 04:40 PM | #11 | ||
Fantastic Plastic
As my avitar shows , i have no teeth ! ..lol , i had all the stumps and my 4 wisdoms removed in 1 hit ! (32 teeth/stumps removed at once) / that was years back now , but i still remember the pain ! ..lol
It's natural your jaw will be a bit stiff for a while , load up on codine based tablets , does wonders for mouth/jaw/teeth/head pain , cheers .
08-10-2006, 04:54 PM | #12 | |||
5/00 AUII Forte
08-10-2006, 05:16 PM | #13 | |||
Fantastic Plastic
08-10-2006, 05:49 PM | #14 | ||
I was told at 16 mine were impacted, and had to come out after I had braces.
Last trip to the dentist a few months ago he said they were fine, don't need to come out. My father had his taken out without any injection. He was more afraid of the needle that having the teeth pulled. The dentist was in a worse condition at having to do it, then my dad.
SINISTER BA XR6 Blueprint, manual, 4490's, Redback 2.5" dual exhaust, BA Typhoon rims, tint, fog light covers, BF tailights, blue illuminated window switches, Ghia bootlid carpet, lower grille, FPV door spears, steering wheel & interior bits, XR6T + F6 intake, K&N filter, Typhoon spoiler, tuned, sway bars, custom angel eyes & plates..YUM!
If there's one thing guys in Holdens hate more than being beaten by a Ford... It's being beaten by a girl driving a Ford |
08-10-2006, 07:29 PM | #15 | ||
Fantastic Plastic
lol , gee i dont miss the dentist anymore . Mine were all removed when i was only 27 ! (too many years of bourbon drinking from a young age playing in bands and pubs all the time etc etc / 'live fast die young' sorta life when i was younger / too stupid and young to realise back then.... anyway . I went through about a year of visiting nearlly every dentist in melbourne, no-one wanted to toutch my teeth as 90% of them were rotten and just stumps in my gums , they had to be dug out. I think i scared most dentist away ,they kept refering me to other dentists.
Got it done in the end. Nearlly every dentist tryed to convince me to keep at least 2 bottom teeth / get them rebuilt / so it would hold the bottom denture better. My teeth were past fixing ! , so i just said rip the lot ! . I must admit it took a bit of getting used to full dentures, but nowerdays i forget all about them most of the time as they feel like my real teeth and hold no worries without any glues etc etc . And knowing i never have to see a dentist ever again in my life is Bliss , i hated dentists .
08-10-2006, 07:52 PM | #16 | ||
XR6-VCT-2000 if they are your real teeth they look fine.
im lucky i had about 2 weeks of pain from my wisdom teeth and thats it. still got them
My Cars: 2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR 2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6 2008 Mazda BT50 SDX 2004 BA XR8 ute 2006 AUDI A4 B7 2013 FG II XR6 Ute 2006 Ford Territory TX 2003 Ford Falcon XR8 2009 Territory Turbo Ghia Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro |
08-10-2006, 08:15 PM | #17 | ||
Track Red XY
have been avoiding taking out the wisdoms for the last ten years, so ridiculously expensive to get removed! I'm pretty much used to the excruciating/numbing pain that kicks in everytime they grow/move a little (which is usually a 3 month or so cycle...hehe). Only bummer is they have been pushing my other teeth out of place over this time...
08-10-2006, 08:26 PM | #18 | ||
a.k.a PAULY
just had my bottom two wisdom teeth removed cost $180 each,unlike the rest of the teeth wisdom teeth are usually fused to the jaw bone making them hard to get out and they have actually zero use in the mouth besides pushing the rest of the teeth out of place
2002 silhouette pursuit 250 manual,brembos, 3.73,s 2002 blue print pursuit 250 in restoration 1995 WMW250(CR250) dirtbike fully road registered 1947 ford thames tipper V8 21 stud flat head 1939 ford beer barrel truck V8 24 stud flat head HZJ diesel ute HJ47 diesel ute |
09-10-2006, 07:51 AM | #19 | |||
Fantastic Plastic
cheers.
08-10-2006, 10:13 PM | #20 | ||
P6 LTD
Many years ago I had 6 teeth pulled, 3 erupted, 3 impacted (3 wisdom of course!). Went into hospital on a Sunday, came out on a Tuesday, lost 6 teeth and a kilo of weight for each tooth removed. By Friday of that week I felt like complete *****. I stopped taking headache/painkillers that night and then felt fine on Saturday for the post op appointment. Gums (only where teeth were removed from) stayed tender for quite a while (can't remember exactly, was 17 years ago now). Other than that, all was fine about 8 days after the op.
I think you will be fine, just give it time and best regards. Hope you'll be okay soon. |
09-10-2006, 09:35 AM | #21 | ||
^^^^^^^^
I should not have read this thread.
I have just built up the courage to go back and have a wisdom tooth out later this week, having been told probably 18mnths ago it has to come out and not to leave it too long. I'm like, shouldn't that be done in hospital, with me unconscious Dentist is nah, it'll come out no worries, the needle might hurt a bit though :
09-10-2006, 10:12 AM | #22 | |||
Fantastic Plastic
Have you had your mouth x-rayed ? , or did the dentist just inspect the wisdom tooth visually ? . If it has been x-rayed and the dentist says it will be fine, then i wouldn't worry too much. It's strange how some poeple react different to others though ,for example ..... My missus got her 4 wisdom teeth removed years ago / and she has good teeth / she ended up in hospital for 3 days and came out looking like a 'cabbage patch kid' doll (swollen /bruised cheeks) ...... yet i had all my teeth removed , including 4 fully grown wisdom teeth , and i was in and out within 3 hrs !, and i had no swelling or bruising. I had long large roots too ! . I suppose alot of it can depend on the dentist too though if he/she is a butcher or not. The sooner you get it sorted out, the better you will feel ;) . gl , cheers.
09-10-2006, 10:20 AM | #23 | |||
^^^^^^^^
Yes I was x-rayed, dentist explained he was checking whether the roots were nice and straight (which they were) or all twisted and skewed, which would have complicated things.
09-10-2006, 07:52 PM | #24 | |||
Next 3 where below the gums and one was impacted. Lots of local for impacted one and couldn't get to the chemist quick enough to fill the script for the panadeine forte, was 3 hour drive home, luckily olds took me. Bottom line, don't worry about it if the dentist can do it, will be easy, good luck
09-10-2006, 12:04 PM | #25 | ||
5/00 AUII Forte
If anyone is going to hospital for this procedure I highly recommend taking advantage of a pre-med. If it's not offered, DEMAND IT!
09-10-2006, 12:19 PM | #26 | ||
had mine out a few years ago...
top 2 in the chair, out at 8:30, ate pizza for lunch. speaking of lunch... had to get the other 2 out in hospital. Took a week for the swelling to go down. Best thing ever to get them out!!!