Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
25-10-2006, 10:56 AM | #1 | ||
Hey all,
For a long while I’ve wanted to be a fire fighter and I’m finally going to peruse my dream. Are there any past of present fire fighters out there who can give me some advice and any tips on maximising my chances of getting in. (I know I know that every dog and his cat applies to get in but everyone has drems) |
25-10-2006, 01:28 PM | #2 | ||
It's Cat huntin season...
Do you have any fire fighting experience / qualifications? Do you what it as a full time job, ie. get paid?
Like any job, having experience in that field helps. I'm in the NSW RFS and have seen a number of members join the RFS, get a taste and join NSWFB as a full time firey or retanted and get paid for doing something they enjoy. Obiviously, due a having previous experience has helped. Check out the local fire authories for your state website's or contact them to find out exactly want you need to do. Good luck mate. It's bloody hard work at time but very rewarding.
XRB055 - Black BA MkII XR8 Ute. 6 Speed manual, Leather seats, hard lid. To do list - Cat back exhaust, new wheels, new shock and front sway bar, and whatever else seems like a good idea Old Ride XR40RD - Phantom BA XR6 160 rear wheel killer wasps - Pacemakers - 3" HiFlo Cat - 2.5 Redback exhaust - 18" Speedy Graphite Rims - Dumped on King Superlows - Standard ICC with iPod cradle, 5x7" Boston Acoustics, 12 Alpine sub powered by 4 channel Alpine amp |
25-10-2006, 02:23 PM | #3 | |||
I Like To Shake It
Not sure what state your in, but I can speak for NSW.
Iam a retainer with NSWB, and the selection process can be tough. The biggest challenge is the fitness nowdays. Though academically, you dont have to be a rocket scientist, however fitness for the job is a must. There is a nasty little thing called the shuttle run, where what starts off as a stroll between two points spaced twenty meteres apart, ends up as an all out sprint to and fro. Best bet is to approach a local station and talk to the firies, ask them the current essential and desirable criteria, or check out the web. Regards Paul
25-10-2006, 02:46 PM | #4 | ||
Join the CFA... you will need the experiance before even being considered for full time Metro Fire Brigade work.
25-10-2006, 03:16 PM | #5 | ||
See if you can do a ride along to get a taste for exactly what happens, there can be alot of downtime but there can also be alot of ugly stuff you'll have to deal with :
Also firefighting movies/tv programmes cannot realistically depict what it is like inside a building burning at 500+ degrees, so if you dont like hot stuff, darkness, confined spaces then think again. Having said that I think it's the best job in the world.... Go For It ! : |
25-10-2006, 03:18 PM | #6 | ||
wow thanks for the replies guys! I'll look seriously into it. Any further info would be great!!
25-10-2006, 03:27 PM | #7 | |||
25-10-2006, 07:50 PM | #8 | ||
NSWFB and Vic's MFB have a pretty detailed fitness guide that you can download and train to. As the other's have said, it's pretty competitive to get into but you might as well give it a shot.
From what I know of people who have joined the firies recently and other mates who have been knocked back they generally like to see you with a few years of "life experience" and possibly even a trade (although not a requirement) under you belt. Most of the successful applicants to full time positions seem to be in their mid to late 20s. |
25-10-2006, 08:17 PM | #9 | ||
Low au
My best mates a fire fighter was wn electrician before hand and said that was a gr8t help in getting in.
Other than that dont be scared of high places.
25-10-2006, 08:44 PM | #10 | ||
CFA also have fulltime firefighters, fitness is the biggest thing, what state are u in
25-10-2006, 08:50 PM | #11 | |||
25-10-2006, 09:17 PM | #12 | ||
Also consider the Civil Aviation Authority for a job as an Aviation Rescue Firefighter.
Go look at the CAA website and follow the links to ARFF. Some requirements I remember to get in are: 1. must pass a differential aptitude test,this includes and is not limited to..english,spelling,punctuation and grammar. Also includes some physics and math and logic 2. must be medically fit 3. must pass an involved and complex physical test..i.e running hose,dragging dummy, climbing ladder and shuttle runs. You are shown how first then have to do it in the time required From memory they get hundreds of applicants and only select the top 25 to 50 for the recruit course,which nominally has about 12 to 15 on it. Also keep an eye on the 'Australian' newspaper saturday edition positions vacant. Hope this helps it was my job for over 30 years till I retired. If you would like more info let me know..oh forgot to mention when you have all your ratings you can earn in excess of 60k as a base firie.
25-10-2006, 09:21 PM | #13 | ||
whats the pass for shuttle run? i did this in school...
EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU - 1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps- |
25-10-2006, 09:33 PM | #14 | |||
Can't remember exactly but it has to do with your age as to how far and fast you get against the tone.
25-10-2006, 11:21 PM | #15 | ||
Whatever the shuttle run is its in the NSWFB fitness guide that you can download.
Prob a good idea if you train to this level or greater. Also consider the RAAF's fire service. Less (well more like none) MVAs to deal with. |
26-10-2006, 01:09 AM | #16 | ||
CFA isn't just voluntary..
Are you in vic? Might also be a good idea to go up to Fiskville and check out the site before you did testing/training and ask around as well. It's a pretty cool place, i've being up there a few times with dad (he works full time stationed and also does fire investigation). It's good pay (won't give anything away on here, but i've seen dads pay slip who's a leading firefighter, and his overtime rate made my jaw drop a little!), and the government benefits are pretty good (though still behind coppers I think?) including things like super, petrol etc plus sick days, leave, holidays etc. Good luck with it all! I'm thinking I might go that path too. With that, I could still do studio recording work on the side part time (usually fishes $500 a day) for some extra cash! |
26-10-2006, 07:22 AM | #17 | ||
Correction to my post...its Airservices Australia,not CAA...the joys of too many painkillers and a few drinks.
Display Modes | |