You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-09-2006, 12:52 PM   #1
EBFalcs

Default people with V8's suffer

i seen an article in one of the news papers where a lady wrote in saying that all the people in V8's can suffer the fuel price rise cause it's their fault for driving a V8, i did'nt care. but yesterday while driving to work i got stuck behind a laser that was stuck behind a school bus doing 40km/h in a 100km/h zone. which leads into a windy uphill bit of road for a few km/s where the bus does about 25-30km/h which isn't nice to get stuck behind. anyways the laser tried overtaking before the windy bit, and everytime it went to pull out a car came from the other way so it couldn't, eventually there was no cars comeing the other way but the laser knew it couldn't excelerate quick enough to pass the bus before the windy bit, so i'm in my big V8 and i plan't my foot past the laser and the bus and pull in with about 300 meters before the windy bit. so now who's the one who has to suffer because of the size of their engine, the one stuck behind the bus doing 25km/h for a few kays is my answer.

EBFalcs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:00 PM   #2
70caprigt3k
Nitrous Junkie

Generally when a person buys a V8 they aren't all that concerned about fuel economy, if they were they wouldn't have bought one. So :thebirds: to the old lady.
Old 09-09-2006, 01:13 PM   #3
tbearz

if you want fuel economy and pulling power buy a turbo diesel
tbearz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:17 PM   #4
charles_wif_xf
Purveyor of filth

Fukc, I've driven some turbo diesel vans (Merc Vito) and boy does it pull up hills. Massive torque in dem diesel buggers. Very comfy drive as well (auto).
charles_wif_xf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:28 PM   #5
Interceptor
HSV - I just ate one!

who says the V8's are thirsty? depending on the application, they're just as economical as a 4 or 6 cylinder car, sometimes more economical!
Interceptor is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:31 PM   #6
70caprigt3k
Nitrous Junkie

Originally Posted by Interceptor
who says the V8's are thirsty? depending on the application, they're just as economical as a 4 or 6 cylinder car, sometimes more economical!
If you baby them, but the catch is with the V8 comes that sweet sweet sound and you just can't help but opening it up a little to get that sound.
Old 09-09-2006, 01:31 PM   #7

Originally Posted by 70caprigt3k
Generally when a person buys a V8 they aren't all that concerned about fuel economy, if they were they wouldn't have bought one. So :thebirds: to the old lady.
Agreed

Agreed again

:thebirds: :thebirds: :thebirds:
Old 09-09-2006, 01:32 PM   #8
SPK-250

I got one drive it every day of the week and only put in $30 a week!
Old 09-09-2006, 01:39 PM   #9
GTS_300_Coupe
Mandy Moore FTW!

V8's definetly have their purposes. So do Turbo 6s.
I remember last year I was travelling from Townsville to Cairns on the highway and we got stuck in a 13 car line because the truck in front was doing 80 in a 110 zone but none of the cars behind could ever overtake due to oncoming traffic and their little econo rubbish boxes didnt have the pulling power to overtake fast enough.

I was the 8th car behind trying to find a chance to overtake too in my falcon, next thing I know there's this yellow XR6 Turbo about 3 cars behind me that suddenly pulls out and overtakes the whole crowd! I could hear that thing scream past me.
The guy managed to overtake all 10 cars in front of him including the truck and just miss the oncoming caravan in the other lane.

Pretty dangerous manouver and he must've gone well past 200km/h but just goes to show that powerful cars do have their special talents. :
GTS_300_Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:41 PM   #10

As I've said, people who love driving couldn't give a stuff about fuel prices.

It's like smokers...they don't care about the price of cigarettes...they'll smoke anyway.
Same as everything.

Old drivers **** me off sometimes. They see a 4 as a perfect piece of machinery, then drive at 20km/h down the freeway, stating themselves as a shining example of a safe driver.
Old 09-09-2006, 01:44 PM   #11

Originally Posted by uranium_death

It's like smokers...they don't care about the price of cigarettes...they'll smoke anyway.
Same as everything.

Old drivers **** me off sometimes. They see a 4 as a perfect piece of machinery, then drive at 20km/h down the freeway, stating themselves as a shining example of a safe driver.
Sounds like my missus. :
Old 09-09-2006, 01:49 PM   #12
70caprigt3k
Nitrous Junkie

Same as everything.

Well said mate, Agreed 100%.
Old 09-09-2006, 01:54 PM   #13
Ryan

I reckon.

I hate the way people exaggerate V8s, when it comes to petrol.

They act as if, everytime the pedal is pressed, it chews up about 10 litres of petrol, in 20 seconds.

Dad's Calais V8 only just used half a tank, from Bathurst back to Newcastle. Sure it's not as good as a 1.5L 4, but for a 5L Carby V8, that's pretty good.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 01:58 PM   #14

Really?
Old 09-09-2006, 02:03 PM   #15
Joes_meat
Churches Eat Souls

It annoys me that people think that equate the size of your engine with how much fuel it consumes.
And while it is a factor, by far the biggest factor is weight. So a Fiesta with a V8 in it won't use much more fuel than if it had a 1.6L.
Joes_meat is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 02:13 PM   #16
70caprigt3k
Nitrous Junkie

My old capri used to use roughly 28L/100km and that was a 3.0L V6 whereas my sprint uses around 16-17L/100km and it makes more power.
Old 09-09-2006, 08:58 PM   #17

Hell yeah, i love my cars and driving and couldnt give a toss about petrol prices.
Old 09-09-2006, 09:34 PM   #18
THORNSPAWN
In the Forced 'lane

My EL XR8 did the 500+Km round trip to heathcote and used 3/4 of a tank and that wasn't taking it that easy either. My 2L escort, on the other hand, uses about 5L of fuel just idling for a few mins.
THORNSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 09:50 PM   #19
FORDEBV8
E-Series

well my car get 13L to 100K city driveing and 9.5 high way and its a V8 but today at the drages it went up to 28.9
Old 09-09-2006, 10:41 PM   #20
Abacus
Life's a Gas

Originally Posted by tbearz
if you want fuel economy and pulling power buy a turbo diesel
I've got a V8, and soon it will be running a VSI LPG system. It won't lose any power, and it will be cheaper to run than a Camry.
Abacus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 11:10 PM   #21
Disco1986

yeah i guess its a free country and we can all drive what we want and lets face it the government would make for money from V8 owners
Disco1986 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 11:11 PM   #22
16wantsI6
iRegular crossmember

haha just like my mate he has a 1992 magna station wagon, when i bought my xb 302 he said 'man how are u gonna afford to run that' and i laughed seeing as im only going to drive it to work and back (5-10k's) and toodyay on the weekends (27ks 1 way).

his magna has worse fuel economy than my dads bf xr8 and is the weakest POS ive ever been in, as soon as it sees a hill it dies in the **** and on a hill towards perth on the highway he pulled out to overtake about 3 cars (took him about 2 minutes) and when he finally managed to pull back in every car just drove straight past him.

where as in my car in the same story i cruise at 3000rpm in 4th at 110ks but only used 1/4 tank over 150ks, and over taking is a breeze with all the torque on tap.
(im actually to afraid to go higher than 4000rpm because the car gets so loud i think ill go deaf lol)

he doesnt even bother to drop it back into 4 when overtaking because it doesn't go any quicker lol.

5 spd manual
2 1/2" manta S/S exhaust
After market alpine/soundstream stereo

18" tyhpoons
superlows waiting to go in....
spoilerless
16wantsI6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-09-2006, 11:50 PM   #23
39ClevoUte

Assuming a 4 & a 6 & an 8 were all equally efficient, lets assume all Fords with the same development and type of fuel injection. Then technically you could gear the 3 engines in the same weight car to achieve almost the same ecconomy.

If on the other hand you geared all the engines the same, lets say all engines doing 2000rpm at 100ks, then simple maths will prove that the 8 will use exactly double the fuel of the 4 etc. Not taking into account external factors.

By the way I drive an 8 by choice, but I'm not delusional.

I get between 11 and 14 ltrs per 100ks depending on suburban or hyway. Also if I put trip computer onto instainious fuel consumption, my highest reading was a standing start, full throttle, up hill.... reading topped slightly over 90ltrs per 100ks.
39ClevoUte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 01:07 AM   #24
Interceptor
HSV - I just ate one!

If you baby them, but the catch is with the V8 comes that sweet sweet sound and you just can't help but opening it up a little to get that sound.
lol i just tallied up the fuel used for the last fortnight, 675km highway, 175 around town thrashing the hell out of it......
fuel used? 109 litres, =12.82L/100Km
for the first leg of the highway work, i filled up after 308km and it only used 34L, which means 11.04L/100km.....

not bad considering all of the 675km on the highway was done at ~130km/h
Interceptor is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 01:36 AM   #25
Joes_meat
Churches Eat Souls

Originally Posted by 54Ghia
Assuming a 4 & a 6 & an 8 were all equally efficient, lets assume all Fords with the same development and type of fuel injection. Then technically you could gear the 3 engines in the same weight car to achieve almost the same ecconomy.

If on the other hand you geared all the engines the same, lets say all engines doing 2000rpm at 100ks, then simple maths will prove that the 8 will use exactly double the fuel of the 4 etc. Not taking into account external factors.

By the way I drive an 8 by choice, but I'm not delusional.

I get between 11 and 14 ltrs per 100ks depending on suburban or hyway. Also if I put trip computer onto instainious fuel consumption, my highest reading was a standing start, full throttle, up hill.... reading topped slightly over 90ltrs per 100ks.
The V8 will have a smaller amount of load. So it won't use twice as much fuel.
If the 4-pot requires a 30% throttle opening to maintain 100kmph at 2000rpm the V8 will require a 15% load.

The V8 does however, need for fuel to compensate for its higher mass. Quite a lot of your engines power (and consequently fuel consuption) goes into moving all the internal components around and the frictions between surfaces.

If you put a 3-cyl 1 litre DOHC engine from a Daihatsu Charade and put it in your Falcon - it would use more fuel that your V8. Because you would spend the whole time at 100% throttle.
Joes_meat is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 01:41 AM   #26
1970galaxie
Fat 460

My old capri used to use roughly 28L/100km and that was a 3.0L V6 whereas my sprint uses around 16-17L/100km and it makes more power.

28L/100km? You sure about that?
That sucks.
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
1970galaxie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 01:44 AM   #27

well check my signature and see if i give a crap about economy issues. having said that the ELV8 is more economical than my ELI6 i used to have a couple of years back. Around the suburbs i get around 450km to a tank, which is pretty damn good in my opinion. And yeah, depends how you drive them, but that sound will tend to make you have a heavier foot at times. The EB drinks a fair bit more, but also develops a fair bit more pull.

I've owned 4cyl's, 6cyl's & two V8's, and i can comfortably say i will never be dropping back cylinders. (not even for a turbo).
Professor Farnsworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 09:21 AM   #28
EBFalcs

my EB wagon I6 used to get about 450 on good economical run and about 300-350 thrashing it, now i have a 5L V8 and i can get about 700km on a good run and usually about 500-600 with a bit lead footing.
EBFalcs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 09:37 AM   #29
Josh_XC

Old drivers with hats just **** me off, yeh if u own a v8 who the hell gives a **** about fuel consumption.
Bionic BF XR8 - 6 speed manual, reversing sensors, premium sound, GT starter button. 218rwkw - Got to love the BOSS!!
Josh_XC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-09-2006, 10:05 AM   #30

I don't drive my V8 unless I have to. I usually get a lift or borrow another car from a family member. It's a good way to save on fuel. Although you could also say I'm being pretty tight.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.