You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 12-11-2006, 11:18 PM   #91

Falcons and commos and their derivatives are aimed at families and people who want to take more than 2 passengers and tow a boat comfortably. etc etc.

When ford build falcons they dont build them with trackwork in mind.

Whereas say your regular R33 is a 2 door coupe, fairly light weight, has 4 spot brakes from the factory, and is easily modifiable to run 13's with less than a few grand spent.

Same with silvia's, WRX's, evo's etc. They are performance cars. Built with performance in mind.

FPV and HSV take family cars, tart them up with nicer interiors, and a little bit more grunt, and an optional brake package. They go faster, handle better and look tougher than a regualr falcon or commo but where did it originate? From a family car.

Do you get me now?

I bought my EA to throw around a racetrack because it was a cheap base to start with not because its a peformance car. It will be faster than a lot of things when Im done but no matter what I do a WRX, EVO, 200sx will likely handle and go around a track much better due to the way they are constructed.

My EA will always be a family car, just a faster one than most.

That being said family type cars do have their benefits otherwise noone would buy them.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:24 PM   #92
torque is your friend

Originally Posted by dansedgli
Falcons and commos and their derivatives are aimed at families and people who want to take more than 2 passengers and tow a boat comfortably. etc etc.

Whereas say your regular R33 is a 2 door coupe, fairly light weight, has 4 spot brakes from the factory, and is easily modifiable to run 13's with less than a few grand spent.

Same with silvia's, WRX's, evo's etc. They are performance cars. Built with performance in mind.

FPV and HSV take family cars, tart them up with nicer interiors, and a little bit more grunt, and an optional brake package. They go faster, handle better and look tougher than a regualr falcon or commo but where did it originate? From a family car.

Do you get me now?

I bought my EA to throw around a racetrack because it was a cheap base to start with not because its a peformance car. It will be faster than a lot of things when Im done but no matter what I do a WRX, EVO, 200sx will likely handle and go around a track much better due to the way they are constructed.

That being said family type cars do have their benefits otherwise noone would buy them.
I understand what you're saying but isn't the WRX basically the same concept as the XR8/SS being based on a regular sedan?
Old 12-11-2006, 11:25 PM   #93
Boss 290

Do you get me now?

true i guess your right in most aspects. would you call an xy gtho a family car?
Old 12-11-2006, 11:28 PM   #94
Fairmont I6
sideways

if i had the cash id gladly get rid of the ed for a 200sx, its faster, looks better, handles better, but then if i had a bit more i wouldnt hesistate to swap that for a Gt or typhoon. Most of the chicks i know would prefer a guy with a FPV, theres just more young blokes in jap cars.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:28 PM   #95

No because back in those days GTHO's were made for racing.

These days its just not the same unfortunately. Can you imagine how good it would be if Ford made cars for that purpose these days.
Old 12-11-2006, 11:42 PM   #96
Boss 290

No because back in those days GTHO's were made for racing.

These days its just not the same unfortunately. Can you imagine how good it would be if Ford made cars for that purpose these days.
but you could argue that a gt of old is like an xr8 now and a gt-ho is like a gt or gt-p now. eg the gt and gt-p got more power added and bigger brakes for the purpose of performance. in saying that a gt or gt-p will never be like a ho but you can see the similaraties
Old 12-11-2006, 11:45 PM   #97
Kenster

here something to stop this how girls like "ricers" than big sedan

everyone has they own taste some like big aussie v8 and some like imports. Im personally a fan of jap car especially 200sx since they are well made, light and take roads better than some cars on the road.

who cares if girls like v8 or not
Old 12-11-2006, 11:45 PM   #98
[Tonko]

i wouldnt buy a jap car, just not my thing, i love my aussie barges...
on the chick note:
Personally i dont care if a chick prefers to walk up to the guy in the skyline, if they're that shallow i dont want to know them

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

Old 12-11-2006, 11:46 PM   #99

And I could argue that all falcons are taxis.

You can argue anything you want but it wont make you right. Your GF is right, you are wrong. Jap performance cars are more performance orientated than falcons and commos.
Old 13-11-2006, 12:11 AM   #100
Boss 290

And I could argue that all falcons are taxis.

You can argue anything you want but it wont make you right. Your GF is right, you are wrong. Jap performance cars are more performance orientated than falcons and commos.
jap performance cars maybe? some ricers are front wheel drives have 2 litre or smaller enigines, **** brakes and wheels too large. a big sedan can be a performance car. what is performance? a car that handles good. can stop quick, has good acceleration...all of which a gt or typhoon has. my beef is not with ricer cars being more spoty. its about all falcons being considerd family cars. an old coupe isnt one, a gt-ho isnt one, a typhoon and gt arnt ones. they are muscle cars or performance sedans. end of story you wont change my mind. lol cheers
Old 13-11-2006, 12:14 AM   #101
Kenster

Originally Posted by Boss 290
jap performance cars maybe? some ricers are front wheel drives have 2 litre or smaller enigines, **** brakes and wheels too large. a big sedan can be a performance car. what is performance? a car that handles good. can stop quick, has good acceleration...all of which a gt or typhoon has. my beef is not with ricer cars being more spoty. its about all falcons being considerd family cars. an old coupe isnt one, a gt-ho isnt one, a typhoon and gt arnt ones. they are muscle cars or performance sedans. end of story you wont change my mind. lol cheers
dude i dont know why you have problem with jap cars to be honest, every car that import from jap has to be lower down to suit Australia standard. May be go to Jap and see some really skill in driving possible.

GT/Typoon big and weight down , Jap cars light and well tune

enough said
Old 13-11-2006, 12:34 AM   #102
Boss 290

Originally Posted by Kenter
dude i dont know why you have problem with jap cars to be honest, every car that import from jap has to be lower down to suit Australia standard. May be go to Jap and see some really skill in driving possible.

GT/Typoon big and weight down , Jap cars light and well tune

enough said
i dont have a big problem wth ricers i like some. and im ovber the fact that most girls like ricers more because they are flashy and have a racing look that attracts them to it. so im over all that i even like wrx sti's evo9s and the 200sx look sleek but my problem is that all falcons get called family cars or taxis when some like the ho's, coupes, typhoons and gts are muscle and performance. if they are family cars then so is an excalade or a hummer
Old 13-11-2006, 12:38 AM   #103

You are kidding yourself.
Old 13-11-2006, 12:40 AM   #104
Kenster

i dont have a big problem wth ricers i like some. and im ovber the fact that most girls like ricers more because they are flashy and have a racing look that attracts them to it. so im over all that i even like wrx sti's evo9s and the 200sx look sleek but my problem is that all falcons get called family cars or taxis when some like the ho's, coupes, typhoons and gts are muscle and performance. if they are family cars then so is an excalade or a hummer
: man you havent seen group of pre apprentices meant to be working when an 200sx rock up at Tafe i can tell you Commodore, Falcon were nothing when the car came everyone just stared looking at the car.

Well i see more taxi that are falcon and more family are getting the falcon as a family car (xr 6) all there are big sloon unlike how you could take jap car which is a 2 door coupe that the truth man. If i had the money i would be driving one right now
Old 13-11-2006, 12:55 AM   #105
Boss 290

: man you havent seen group of pre apprentices meant to be working when an 200sx rock up at Tafe i can tell you Commodore, Falcon were nothing when the car came everyone just stared looking at the car.

Well i see more taxi that are falcon and more family are getting the falcon as a family car (xr 6) all there are big sloon unlike how you could take jap car which is a 2 door coupe that the truth man. If i had the money i would be driving one right now
you can get plenty of early 90s jap cars pretty cheap if that is your preference. and there are alot of young lads who would love a big beefy v8 over a 200sx. i went to the auto salon and all i saw was little japs cars...they look great until you see about 200 of them all looking the same just diferent paints, then a big old xy gt stood out from the pack and there were many people admiring it. i bet if you turned up at any tafe in a gt or clubby they would walk up and take notice. when i turned up to my neices formal in the gt with her dad in a nice supercharge clubby alot of people turned away from the little jap cars and bmw convertables and were all pointing. not many "family cars" get that reaction
Old 13-11-2006, 01:00 AM   #106
Kenster

you can get plenty of early 90s jap cars pretty cheap if that is your preference. and there are alot of young lads who would love a big beefy v8 over a 200sx. i went to the auto salon and all i saw was little japs cars...they look great until you see about 200 of them all looking the same just diferent paints, then a big old xy gt stood out from the pack and there were many people admiring it. i bet if you turned up at any tafe in a gt or clubby they would walk up and take notice. when i turned up to my neices formal in the gt with her dad in a nice supercharge clubby alot of people turned away from the little jap cars and bmw convertables and were all pointing. not many "family cars" get that reaction
its really what expect people personalist yeah i have been to autosalon myself. There was a VB commodore with a whole lot of them if you want to talk about complete look like all i could is just Commodore with very single mod they have done.

Yeah the sound of an big v8 engine sound very nice which is much better than a turbo starting up like i said its all up to everyone choice of car they like in the end of the day whether its an 8 or 4 cyclindar car.
Old 13-11-2006, 01:12 AM   #107
Boss 290

its really what expect people personalist yeah i have been to autosalon myself. There was a VB commodore with a whole lot of them if you want to talk about complete look like all i could is just Commodore with very single mod they have done.

Yeah the sound of an big v8 engine sound very nice which is much better than a turbo starting up like i said its all up to everyone choice of car they like in the end of the day whether its an 8 or 4 cyclindar car.
yeh i do like the sleek look of the 200sx but i also like the bulky mean look of the gt and its a v8 so it was my choice. it has got the added space for people and luggage and i can understand why it can be placed in the family car catargory.. i also find it impressive that some of those 4 cylindas get make quite alot of power and im not at all against them. everyone has their own preference and personalities. you like the sleek look, light weight, agile and the economy of a car with good power . i like the big mean looking, roomy interior and boot, with the v8 power and rwd. there is nothing worng with liking either and i think that someone wants a gt or clubby and has no children shouldnt worry that some may call it a family car because it have the characteristics of a family car but it has the heart of a performance car. cheers and have a good night
Old 13-11-2006, 06:14 AM   #108
Ives

I think it's just a matter of taste, really. I know girls that drool over Mini Coopers. I'm "asian" but i like the best of both worlds. I like Japanese cars, I like Australian cars, I like a few Europeans. I just like cars in general.
Old 13-11-2006, 08:30 AM   #109

Its all pretty simple really - a Falcon/Commodore is too the deadbrain general public a family car - you are kidding yourself if you think otherwise - sure it might be a very fast family car, but it is still a big, fat, 5 door family car which not many people besides enthusiasts are going to look at.

Then there are sports cars - these are usually 2 door, light weight (read small), good looking sleek cars that will pull a lot of looks from both sexes. Of course by sports car I mean "expensive sports car" not a $12,000 gtst skyline.

PS - Though I must comment that if you need a car to pick up a girl you have serious issues - you dont need a car or money, you need confidence and a personality - you see it all the time, average looking guy holding hands with some very hot girl getting into a 10 year old corolla - it is beacuse he possesses those two above qualities.

PPS - If you think cars pull girls then you have never ridden a bike...
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

Old 13-11-2006, 08:52 AM   #110
XRQTR
TBA Customs

Family cars my arrrrrrrrrrsssssssssenholer, I best get onto BMW and MB and tell them that there M5 and E55 are way too overpriced for family cars and that I won't be buying one until the price tag reflects there 'family car' looks.

Chix are into 'BLING BLING' if the commodore is a family car then why do so many chix follow them like rats following a piper, coz they love the sound of a big exhaust, the look of big wheels (shiny is even better still), the DOOF DOOF of a louder than shuttle launch stereo, BUT most of all the attitude of the driver.

It's not the suit that maketh the man, if you are scared to talk to them they know this, they smell it like a Lion smells the fear on its impending prey.

Another factor in the 'chix don't like my car' saga is the fact that so many of you only clean your cars only for meets and events, try keeping it clean for more than a day or two, armour all on the tyres does wonders to a cars appearance. Whatever you do DO NOT think that stockies 24/7 look good on a car, this says to chix that you are too tight to spend on your car and that you might be even tighter to spend on them, again it goes to appearance and how you want them to see you.

My car is a 'barge' if thats what we are now calling the Falcons now but it gets more looks than just about any ricer does, and that's from both chix and the blokes that drive the ricers, man even chix drivin Skylines and the like have a sneaky. So a unique body stripe goes a long way to changing peoples perceptions of what a car is, even though it's got the stock F6 wheels without tyre shine they just don't stand out, smear some on and they think they are aftermarket. Ok and the exhaust helps get some more attention, even though the twin 3.5" dumpies look tiny on these cars it sounds good and gives the rear end a much more purposeful look. My car is stock except for some lowering and a body stripe but it gets noticed because it has a presence about it, because it looks a little different but in a way that people like.

Doing things like custom color spray jobs and big body kits is great, but when you do this and have stockies on even worse is when I see guys with hub caps on a slightly custom car, no good. If on the other hand you are going for stealth then drop it 2" and keep it cleaner than your grandfathers dentures, this way you still look good when your cruising.

Heres a pic of her in her house, where she stays for weeks on end until i get a chance to drive her as well as one of the rear, you will see what I mean

Old 13-11-2006, 09:01 AM   #111
Ryan

If people generally think that Holdens and Fords are Taxis (Although I think Falcons are looked upon as taxis more. Sorrys guys) or Family cars, then Holden and Ford should bring over the Corvette and Mustang. :

I personally like Aussie land barges too be honest, no matter how much Japanese cars eclipse them by.

Not to say I don't like Imports or anything, but I just like the Holden and Ford barges that we have over here, because they are reasonably quick, for a family car and are cheap as chips too.

Also IMO Japs cars seem to be more family orientated now, compared to those of the 80s/90s. Really what estabished Jap sports car are there left? WRX/EVO?

I know there's the 350z, RX8, etc, but modern Jap cars seem to be swayying away from the "Performance" scene and focussing more on family stuff.

Last edited by Ryan; 13-11-2006 at 09:25 AM.
Old 13-11-2006, 09:04 AM   #112

At the end of the day who gives a toss what picks up chicks, if you need a car to do that then you have other issues that need attention.

Sportscars are great, handle well and look hot. But sedans can do all of that and transport your mates, tow a load etc etc.

It usually revolves around your life at the time or what your personal taste is.
Old 13-11-2006, 09:06 AM   #113
GXL078

Sorry mate your girlfriend is right.

EVO's, 200sx's and supra's own falcons.

The falcon is a family car first, performance car second.
Maybe they associate FALCONS with Taxis? They like ricers because of movies like The fast and the Furious and Playstation games like need for speed. But any GUY will tell you the best car in that movie is the black '69 Charger, a real muscle car with only two doors!
Old 13-11-2006, 09:15 AM   #114
BAturb

then I must have a "sports" car then, it has only got 2 doors :

Dyno figures are just Numbers!!!

Winner best Ford ute any model
07 Adelaide all Ford day
Old 13-11-2006, 09:30 AM   #115
LilMissDrift

Well, I guess I must be settling down to have kids. Coz i drive a family car. LOL. Maybe they are remotely looked at as family cars, but theres WAYY to many performance ford/holdens out there to even consider them being family cars...

e.g. Any Monaro, GT, Typhoon, Clubsport/Senator etc.

And personally, I can't even see my fairmont with kids in it.. if it were to have the "intended" drivers -(as in the target market)-, the owners would be too worried about the woodgrain being scratched!

BTW. XRQTR. That is one GORGEOUS GT. And you've got it right.. not only would my jaw drop but i believe nearly every person who appreciated cars would stop for a gawk! Personally theres nothing better then seeing someone with something different..
something other than an r33 skyline, or a vr/vs/vt commodore with a set of chromies and a rip off clubsport bodykit!!!
~Spoiler

~*.No its NOT my Boyfriends Car.*~
Old 13-11-2006, 09:37 AM   #116

Originally Posted by LilMissDrift
BTW. XRQTR. That is one GORGEOUS GT

Funny looking GT. :
Old 13-11-2006, 09:39 AM   #117
XYGTHO
FORD FREAK

Originally Posted by Ryan
Hehehehe :hihi:

Yeah alot of girls seem to like the flashy and bling imports. I would rather be with a girl, that likes old cars.

Nothing like seeing a hot girl driving a hot old schooler.
Right on the money! Girls just seem to like whatever is the in thing. Apparently ricers are cool so girls like them, and cause there girly. LOL. My missus like big yank tanks and mustangs and stuff so i'm happy. :
Old 13-11-2006, 09:41 AM   #118
LilMissDrift

LOL TYPHOON EVEN.. IT WAS AQUICK GLANCE.. e very quick one at that! lmfao.. Hmmm no bonnet bulge, different front bar... hmm not to mention the fact its turboed... no gt here (MY BAD)
~Spoiler

Old 13-11-2006, 09:43 AM   #119
LilMissDrift

Originally Posted by XYGTHO
Right on the money! Girls just seem to like whatever is the in thing. Apparently ricers are cool so girls like them, and cause there girly. LOL. My missus like big yank tanks and mustangs and stuff so i'm happy. :
Well ur pretty spot on its a matter of going with the flow.. I love imports but im bred with blue blood.. and my fords my life....
~Spoiler

Old 13-11-2006, 10:10 AM   #120

Guys chicks like most cars that are "pretty". Most wouldn't have a clue about the performance aspect of them.

To me the driver makes the car, not the car makes the driver!

I agree with dansedgli about his comments.

Personally I bought my car based on what I like, not what everyone else likes.

I paid for it, I pay for the servicing, I pay for the rego, I pay for insurance and I pay for the petrol not anyone else so I couldn't care less.

Call it a ricer, it's not going to make me put it up for sale today or tommorrow or the next day!