Queensland police to raise scrutiny at random breath tests
by: Thomas Chamberlin From: The Courier-Mail January 11, 2013 12:00AM 1 MOTORISTS could be delayed as police double the time spent on RBTs to crack down on dangerous and faulty vehicles, out-of-date registrations, drug-driving, trafficking and organised crime. The Courier-Mail can reveal officers will go "beyond the blow", spending extra time scouring cars and licences and talking to drivers. Police are calling it a public relations drive but it could backfire if motorists feel they are being unfairly delayed and grilled. One of the state's most senior traffic officers has defended the move. Would you object to being delayed at an RBT? Tell us below ! "It's an opportunity just not to produce a figure, it's an opportunity to engage and look for criminality and traffic offences," State Traffic Support Branch acting Superintendent Paul Fogg said. Even if one per cent gave up some information, that is a lot of crimes that could be solved. "It may be drugs, stolen property or vehicles, even to the point where there might be a child in distress." It is believed officers will move from an average 45 seconds with each driver to up to 90 seconds. Two new drug vans will also hit the roads to catch rogue drivers high at the wheel, increasing capabilities by 20 per cent. It comes as a major service shake-up will overhaul police commands and as more than three million people are breathalysed on Queensland roads every year. Acting Supt Fogg stressed there were no set timeframes for RBTs and estimated lengthier checks would last up to four minutes as the new initiatives were rolled out. In the past year, routine RBTs and traffic stops have helped score a number of big drug busts for police. This includes the arrest of Arian Shabanzadeh, of West End, who was charged with drug trafficking, possession of weapons, restricted items and drugs. Police will allege they found $4.1m in suitcases in storage, 2.1kg of cocaine and 2.8kg of methylamphetamine after the motorcyclist was stopped by police in October. Peak motoring body RACQ has backed the longer RBTs. "With road safety you've always got to look past any cynical thoughts, you've got to think about what is the benefit whether it be random roadside checks or working closely with motorists and educating them," RACQ executive manager of technical and safety policy Steve Spalding said. http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/q...-1226551467081
CSGhia Last edited by csv8; 11-01-2013 at 10:47 AM. Reason: add link |
Provided it is done well there should not be a problem. Unfortunately as the public service is involved I suspect it will be a stuffup. The idea that a 90 sec average delay is only twice as long as a 45 sec and will only slow your journey by less than a minute is a stupid and naive as the comments made by morons who are sure that travelling at 90 instead of 100 will only add a minute or two to a journey.
And for those who just can't understand this. The delay will only be 45sec more IF you are almost the only vehicle on the road. If there are a lot of vehicles the interaction of speed changes cause chaos for enormous distances in both directions. They have had quite a number of total shutdowns of major roads during their blitzes and if they extend the time it will not scale causing HUGE traffic jams which will lead to road rage and extreme reactions. I would have no problem with this if every senior police officer had his house searched and his family detained for questioning every month or so "just to make sure there is no corruption". Cue graphic examples: Terry Lewis etc. You know, keeping QLD safe........ Or is that different........ |
#3 | ||
I agree but if you are car 12 in the que, the 90secs x 12 ,then thats a 15 minute delay.
Commonsense should apply , but will it,?? why do a roadworthy on 2012 car ??? I thought police had to have reasonable suspicion to search your car ? they cann't search your house without a warrant....Cann't their onboard pc check vehicle rego's etc ??? See how this works in real life.....
#4 | ||
2 wheel pilot, V8 novice.
As I am not a criminal they are more than welcome to ask/look at anything they want. I have always believed that the cops should be able to ask/search ANYONE ANYTIME with NO reason .......
People don't like this idea and that's because they are either crims, paranoid or believer their "right" have been impacted upon....
BA XR8 UTEHurricane 4-1 tuned extractors|3 inch cats|X-Force twin 2.5 inch cat back|Growler CAI|Whiteline sway bars F&R|Slotted rotors|KPM tune YAMAHA R1|-1+2 gearing|Jet kit|Arrow exhaust GSXR AUS SUPER SPORT race bike|K1|Ohlins|PCIII|Voltomotos|Full Staintune exhaust|Tuned| APRILIA SXV|WEAPON|Re-built engine|AKRAPOVIC Ti exhaust|AF 1 Air filter|Custom map. Now I’m of to make a series of comments on the internet intended to promote interest and then complain about everyone quizzing me. |
5 users like this post: |
#5 | |||
#6 | |||
Would you like to have your emission compliance checked on your modded XR8 ute? I would recommend that you spend a bit of time as an ordinary person in North Korea, Laos, Nigeria, Afghanistan or Burma etc. and see if you still think the same way...... |
#7 | |||
I am lucky to get breath tested once a year (doing approx 40,000 kms) so who really cares? At the end of the day the more shitboxes they get off our roads the better it will be for everyone! If you pull up in a car that is noticeably un-roadworthy now they will deal with you, so really whats changing? If you pull up in a brand new car they will not look sideways at you. Most police do show common sense, its the idiots they pull up who start ranting and raving who are the ones who need to show some. These will be the ones that the police are suspicious of. |
#8 | ||
I dunno... a few minutes of your life gone forever... oh how harrowing!!!
Funny though how calls to get rid of the crap cars off the road are met with shouts of "how dare they!".... or drunks off the road... or druggos and dealers put away... I have been pulled over 3times last year at RBT sites... my life suddenly didnt change when it happened.
4 users like this post: |
#9 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
Even if one per cent gave up some information, that is a lot of crimes that could be solved.
"It may be drugs, stolen property or vehicles, even to the point where there might be a child in distress." Going by those sentences, it appears they're looking to obtain info rather than ping the actual driver? "Yes sir, I've had 2 middies..... but I reckon my next door neighbour has a ceiling cavity full of hydroponic weed growing, and the guy that lives opposite me is an ex priest who's always down the kids playground with a big bag of lollies"
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner ![]() |
#10 | |||
Wander off to the coast for a while and see how often you get RBTed. In your 40k a year how many complete road closures have you come across, that is all lanes in both directions stopped? None? One? Does that mean they don't happen? My previous office was on the main drag up here near a favorite RBT spot and I have personally seen lineups with 2, 3 and 4 minute delays when the RBT has been overwhelmed and there was no Sgt. there to tell the plebs to let some go. (They now have standing orders to cover this). Now don't get me wrong, I agree in principle with the idea, I am just not sure the implementation will be successful. |
This user likes this post: |
#11 | |||
Something the world does not ever want to revisit!!!! The Nazis started out as just another political party that gained power and inconspicuously brought in laws for the good of the people of Germany until they were so powerful that no one could stand against them and look where that ended up. If you don't know I suggest that you look it up. We all need to protect the freedom we have by not letting authorities do what they like just because they are authorities. In Australia we put them in place to serve us. Lets keep it that way and not be complacent about the freedoms that we have here atm because any casual observer can see, if they care to look, that they are gradually being eroded by many politicians doing so many things and changing so many of our laws for "our own good". Which is the line so often touted!!! The quote "Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely" didn't eventuate from thin air it has a real basis in fact as history has shown. Having said that I have no objection in principle to a slightly longer stop time at RBT stops if you can believe the reasoning put forward and traffic matters are all that it is used for. So if you pass the RBT test, your licence, rego and mod certificate check out and the vehicle you are driving is not a heap you should be on your way. Suspicious characters and vehicles can be observed and the info passed on to the relevent police squad to deal with so surveillance, arrest or other matters can be implemented by them as they are not traffic matters and it is an encroachment on our personal freedoms for the whole traffic population to be unneccessarily inconvenienced to catch a few crooks
#12 | |||
Isn't it obvious?
![]() Join Date: Nov 2009
i dont like the idea im not a crim im not paranoid and dispite popular belief i actually do have rights if you would like to give up yours then thats fine by me but certainly dont call others that disagree crims and paranoid just because your belief system is different to mine or others
#13 | |||
Right now QPol is short of recruits and are having difficuly filling spots in the Traffic branch. They are quite open with age and experience although there are physical and psychological tests that need to be passed. Pay and conditions are good and you get to meet a lot of people. So all those on here who seem to be avid proponents of "truth, justice and the Australian way".....here is your chance......talking the talk is easy.....go and walk the walk for a while..... |
#14 | |||
Even if it was a 4 minute wait it really wouldn't worry me.. I have to wait up to 4 minutes at some intersections on a daily basis. Going by my experience its a waste of time anyways because they simply do not do them enough, probably different for you because you live in a regional area where there seems to be a lot greater police presence (based on cops verse population). The area I see the most police is in Warwick, I reckon theres never been a day where I have driven through that town or 20 kms either side of it without seeing a police car. They are very heavy on speed and drink driving there, to the point where most people in the town are on their best behavior at all times. Perhaps with the QLD police restructure they will be able to have more officers on the ground. |
#15 | |||
I don't care as I am not a crim, I have nothing to hide and I am not a paranoid left wing loon ( you know, the ones who think the cops are out to persecute everyone). These actions are designed to keep us safe from the dregs of society not to make life hard for normal law abiding people
Everyone starts off with a bag full of luck and an empty bag of experience. The trick is to fill the experience bag before the luck bag is empty. "It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt." Start a new career as a bus driver Rides: FG2 XR6 stock at this stage but a very nice ride xc 4 DOOR X CHASER 5.8 UNDER RESTO |
#16 | |||
Maybe the whole of QLD is not the same as the tiny little area you wander about in but any laws made apply to EVERYWHERE. I have no problems here with traffic jams or peak hour so why should there be 4 lane roads and tunnels and freeways in Brisbane....... |
#17 | |||
#18 | ||
Go the Hogster!
I got pulled over the other day by the RBT check for a vehicle inspection. The RBT bays were all full so they were letting cars drive past but they made me pull over.
Why you ask? Cause I was driving the wife's WRX. I didn't get breath tested but they checked under the bonnet.
#19 | |||
So your saying police shouldn't take the extra time to do some routine checks on vehicles they have sitting infront of them becuase its going to be some sort of inconvenience to you, or more so to you because you live in a regional area where police presence is much greater? Regardless of the positives that may come of it or the potential it may have to save a life or two? Id happily get RBT'ed twice a week if it meant removing alot more drink drivers off our roads... If it took a few minutes and they nabbed a few unroadworthy cars then even better... We may see a reduction in our road toll, instead of the government relying on revenue cameras that some harp about all the time, finally some law enforcement that actually makes a difference to the roads! |
#20 | ||
Dash GT, I was stopped on a freeway on ramp for nearly 10 minutes whilst waiting to be breath tested, about 2 weeks ago. Department of transport were present to check on anything 'suspect'. To double the time standing still would have made it a 20 minute wait.
#21 | |||
As much as I don't want to admit it, you're probably going to be right on the first point. Not long ago I was driving up the Sunshine coast and the police had staged an RBT coming back into Brisbane.... not 1, not 2, not 3, 4 or 5 but 6 FRIGGIN KM'S of bumper to bumper traffic jam ensured... I couldn't believe they would block a highway but there ya go! Normally they block the offramp near where I live and they (local cops) are always very friendly and efficient. However, being breath tested for 45 seconds then accused / detained on NO reasonable ground of suspicion for an extra 45 seconds of potentially doing something unlawful isn't my idea of building a positive relationship with the Police. I'm all for them pulling drink drivers off the road and especially for a more visible police presence but I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for the 'success stories' of doubling RBT wait times. |
#22 | ||
RBTs here in Victoria can turn into a nightmare if you have an illegally modified car, which is probably 90% of this forum.
A former workmate had a VS Commodore which had a LOT of money spent on it, but it used to attract a lot of attention, big wheels and low, but the guy didn't drive like a moron, it wasn't even loud and just had a few mods to the ecotec V6 like CAI, the rest of the car was in mint condition, like it just rolled out of the factory except with 20" wheels and really low. Last year he was up to 14 defects through RBTs, mostly for being too low. One listed obstruction of view on the list, because of an air freshener ![]() RBT can be a shake down if they don't like the look of you. |
#23 | ||
If they want to waste time there is always the classic:
Officer: "Been doing anything else today? Anything in the car I should know about?" Me: "No officer nothing in the car, just don't look in the boot" Officer: "Pull over please", "What's in the boot?" Me: "Nothing just don't look in there" Officer: "Why?" Me: "Because it's boring, there's nothing in there, so don't look in there" Officer: *searches boot*..... "There's nothing in here, stop wasting my time" Me: "Touche" |
#24 | ||
I dont like where this is heading either. I totally support RBT's etc and have no issues with it, but being accused/detained on no reasonable ground of suspicion for potentially doing something unlawful is wrong. Very wrong.
Being searched in public just because the way you look (as its happened to me in my younger years,((and only recently about 2 yeasr ago, was on 2 week break from work, just driving around to get breakfast ~10am on a weekday)) is humiliating and disgracefull in a supposed 'free' society. How long till 'random' house searches will be the norm? (I mean people can potentially harbour illegal aliens, slave/child labour, unpaid fines, drugs/prescription pills, firearms, unregistered cats/dogs, banned reading material ((mein kampf/Anarchist cookbook)), the list goes on and on)
#25 | ||
Landau Tragic
IDK how the rest of the country does it, but here in Sydney, every time i have been pulled up for an RBT, there's about 8-12 cops waiting in line, and once they have 8-12 cars lined up, the rest go on their way. Process them all, check the rego and tyres, and to see if there is anything potentially bad, and on you go, ready for the next 8-12 cars. Fail the attitude test, i'm sure they'll take a closer look. Personally, an extra 45 seconds to either chit chat while they ask me some questions or look over the car a bit closer is no big deal. The one thing i do feel is that if they do find some issues with the car, that they use their discretion to advise the owner of an issue and give them a chance/warning to sort it out, rather than slap a fine on it. Assuming it's a minor issue of course. Cops are people. Sometimes there are decent ones, sometimes they are jerks. Provided the decent folks are onboard to keep it sensible, there shouldn't be any dramas.
#26 | |||
Stop talking common sense. Some people are confused by it. And to those that think they encroaching on your rights, we dont have the RIGHT to drive, it is a privilege, and the police have every right to ensure we comply with that privilege that has been bestowed upon us. Its all in black and white in legislation.
#27 | |||
But the next half of your encounter has NOTHING to do with you operating a motor vehicle. Even if I was on a push bike I'd still be vehemently protesting this utter BS. Next thing we're headed for: ![]() |
#28 | ||
I would'nt mind betting the good old cars enthusiast will Get targeted in this, what's the bet even minor mods are under the microscope.
#29 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
The Hammer: FG GTE | 376rwkw | 1/4 mile 11.793 @ 119.75mph 1.733 60' (4408lb) 1 of 60 FG MK1 335 GTEs (1 of 118 FG Mk 1 & 2 335 GTEs). Mods: Tune, HSD/ShockWorks, black GT335 19” staggered replicas with 245 & 275/35/19 Michelin Pilot sport 5s Daily: BF2 Fairmont Ghia I6 ZF, machine face GT335 19” staggered Replicas with 245s and 275s, Bilsteins & Kings FPV 335 build stats: <click here> Ford Performance Club ACT |
#30 | |||
I understand what your saying, and thats ok. The part I meant is, the license checks, quick check of passengers, noone has open containers of liquor. These are relevant and have an impact on whether or not you have the legibility to drive. Police have the power and right to investigate whether we are complying with legislation regarding our privilege to drive. And, like all things in policing, officers discretion plays a huge part, as well as compliance from the other party. For instance: Driving in my stock falcon, doing the speed limit and get pulled over; Cop: "Youve been pulled over for the purpose of a random licence check and breath test" Me: "Ok, heres my license" Cop: "Everything in the car yours? Nothing you shouldnt have?" Me: "Nah mate, all good, you can check if you want" Cop: "thats fine, blow into this (with the correct requirement of course). Whats your name passenger?" Passenger: "Shazza McShazz" Cop: "Yeah your under mate, see you later" Driving my EL with 3 inch exhaust with stockos on the back, cut springs and limo tint; Cop:"Youve been pulled over for the purpose of a random licence check and breath test" Me: "Whad I do, your all just picking on me!!!!" Cop: "Everything in the car yours? Nothing you shouldnt have?" Me: "Yeah its all mine, why, are you accusing me of something?" Cop: (Looks around, cant see in the back, Im fidgeting, being a douchebag) "Mate, I reasonably believe that you may have *insert suspicious thing here* in your car, are you prepared to let me look through your car volountarily?" Me: "Nup, get **********" And so on. But I do agree with the thought process of they are trying to do more than it seems they can, and if they overstep that boundary, you can always put in a complaint. But I would say an officer would understand there powers before excercising them on Joe Blow.