You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 29-08-2006, 11:06 PM   #91

Frankly, I reckon fuel consumption is bull**** for some people.

Personally, if driving for me is a recreation, I couldn't care less about the cost.
If I spend 40 dollars on petrol cruising about on a Sunday, that's cheaper than blowing 1000 bucks at the pokies, 100 bucks at some posh restaurant, 300 bucks on crappy designer clothing or buying spirits and cigarettes.

We all have pleasures in life. Driving for some is one of them.

If I want a Camry, I'll just save up a little longer and get a car which actually moves.
Namely a Falcon.
Old 30-08-2006, 09:21 AM   #92
Eaturbo
BUILT FORD TUFF

I love the look of it, if fuel gets to $2 a litre I'll bet alot more of us are going to love the look of it to. Lets face it who would have brought the old one, where as now alot of us would consider it. No matter which way you look at it its been a hugh improvement
Old 30-08-2006, 10:38 AM   #93
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

If petrol gets to $2 p/l I'll use more leg power.
Old 31-08-2006, 05:59 PM   #94

Originally Posted by Paxton
That can't be right, as all the new Camrys that I see in my area have Victoria Plates on them, and I know that they are all Toyota cars. I drive past the Taren Point HQ of TMC daily, and most of them reside in there.
Ford does the same thing, most recently with the new Focus, but the higher ups always seem to avoid the same rules as everyone else and get their hands on them when the others can't. There's always one set of rules for some and one for others.
Old 28-09-2006, 10:56 PM   #95
Falcon Freak

I have seen more new Camrys then VE Commodores on the road. Plus a number of other people have also made the same observation.

FF
Falcon Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-09-2006, 11:30 PM   #96
AussieJason

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by uranium_death
Frankly, I reckon fuel consumption is bull**** for some people.

Personally, if driving for me is a recreation, I couldn't care less about the cost.
If I spend 40 dollars on petrol cruising about on a Sunday, that's cheaper than blowing 1000 bucks at the pokies, 100 bucks at some posh restaurant, 300 bucks on crappy designer clothing or buying spirits and cigarettes.

We all have pleasures in life. Driving for some is one of them.

If I want a Camry, I'll just save up a little longer and get a car which actually moves.
Namely a Falcon.
Exactly what I think. Uranium_death is the man ! :thebirds:

Previous Falcons:
2003 BA Falcon XL Ute White
1994 EF Falcon GLi Aqua

bseries.com.au Member

And drive a Holden company car...
AussieJason is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2007, 07:50 PM   #97
Falcon Freak

As several months have passed since last years new model releases and the initial sales surges have passed, I think it is appropriate to revisit this thread.

The new Camry/Aurion model has sold well as anticipated. When the Camry and Aurion sales are combined they are higher then Falcon's sales in recent months. This does not surprise me as four people at work have selected the Aurion for their new company car whereas I am the only person with a BF MkII in the fleet to date. Three of these Aurion drivers had BA Falcons as their previous company car. Not a good sign.

FF
Old 22-05-2007, 07:58 PM   #98

My old man is looking into getting an Aurion as his next work car. His reasoning is that he wants to check out all the different large sedans out there.

3 years ago he had a BA
2 years ago he had a VZ
Last year & this year he's had a 380
Later this year it'll be the Aurion.

He was considering a VE but after test driving one he said he felt no different to the VZ. More importantly, he'll get an Orion when the Aurion needs trading in ;)

Just because your workmates have selected Aurions doesn't mean it's the end of the world for Ford. Maybe they're playing the field too?
Old 22-05-2007, 08:01 PM   #99
David See

To me, and for what it is worth here, my next car will not be a Ford or Holden product. More than likely a Toyota. And I think this is why there are so many new Toyotas on the road now. People have seen the light, had enough of squeaks, rattles, unsupportive seats and crappy interior fitouts.

Personally, I would rather pay a few extra dollars and get something of quality and SO WHAT if a Falcon goes harder than an Aurion???!!!???!:

The Toyotas are so far ahead of the current Commodore or Falcon it is not funny. Not only do they look better....

As I say to my mates: If my Territory was built by Toyota, I would love it. As it stands, I only like it. And I am stuck with it for another four years.

Sorry, but Ford STILL needs to lift its game. I doubt Orion will solve the quality control problems.

IMO :
David See is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2007, 08:49 PM   #100
Poetic Justice
NOT A TOYOTA :/

Well in terms of a territory, new Kluger this year should be pretty good competition
Old 22-05-2007, 10:09 PM   #101
Tles

Originally Posted by Falcon Freak
As several months have passed since last years new model releases and the initial sales surges have passed, I think it is appropriate to revisit this thread.

The new Camry/Aurion model has sold well as anticipated. When the Camry and Aurion sales are combined they are higher then Falcon's sales in recent months. This does not surprise me as four people at work have selected the Aurion for their new company car whereas I am the only person with a BF MkII in the fleet to date. Three of these Aurion drivers had BA Falcons as their previous company car. Not a good sign.

FF
Apparently with the current growth rate for Aurion, they will pass Falcon by October.
Tles is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-05-2007, 10:15 PM   #102

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Theres an Aurion Supply issue im told, but that will soon be worked out once they decide which models actually sell better then others and get their inventory levels right.

The amount of government Orders for Aurion is huge im told, QLD police fleet will be seeing a Number of them in the next round, which is very unusually as its traditionally a Holden / Ford market.
2025 Mustang Darkhorse 6M Blue Ember + Appearance pack ETA April 25.
Old 22-05-2007, 11:41 PM   #103
Mongoose
Can't go around corners

Originally Posted by Mutley

In particular their styling is going south on many of their models in my opinion. On the other hand, without bias, the BA/BF is one of the best looking cars on the road today. In my opinion, Ford Australia hasn't made such a good looking car since the XB.

Just my opinion though.
And I agree 100%
Mongoose is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2007, 08:12 AM   #104
YOOT

Originally Posted by David See
To me, and for what it is worth here, my next car will not be a Ford or Holden product. More than likely a Toyota. And I think this is why there are so many new Toyotas on the road now. People have seen the light, had enough of squeaks, rattles, unsupportive seats and crappy interior fitouts.

Personally, I would rather pay a few extra dollars and get something of quality and SO WHAT if a Falcon goes harder than an Aurion???!!!???!:

The Toyotas are so far ahead of the current Commodore or Falcon it is not funny. Not only do they look better....

As I say to my mates: If my Territory was built by Toyota, I would love it. As it stands, I only like it. And I am stuck with it for another four years.

Sorry, but Ford STILL needs to lift its game. I doubt Orion will solve the quality control problems.

IMO :
I am another one not to go back to Ford or Holden, just not worth the money.
I've had my time with good value (BA XR6 Turbo, ED Fairmont) and although the cars never let me down, the Japanese cars are just so much better its not funny.

I now own and drive a Forester XT and the difference is chalk and cheese, Ford in particular have more than just a long way to go, they are built like rubbish. But they do go hard, but thats only important to teenagers (which is why I bought my XR6T when I was 20yo). Now that I am older I want more than just speed.

This brings me to my point that an Aurion is a great car which won't have 1/10th of the issues a Holden or Ford product will. Having purchased a car based on good value and now owning a car based on good quality, I'll never go back to value.

Next car after the Forester? TD Prado for space, economy, versatility etc. Yes its very dear for what it is, but it won't have half the issues of its best valued competitor, the Territory.
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2007, 08:38 AM   #105
Quicklier
Perfecting the 1-2 change

Originally Posted by YOOT
Next car after the Forester? TD Prado for space, economy, versatility etc. Yes its very dear for what it is, but it won't have half the issues of its best valued competitor, the Territory.
Prado, don't do it!
Sounds like we'll be getting a TD Forester in MY08 or MY09.
That will certainly be on my list.
Old 23-05-2007, 08:48 AM   #106
YOOT

Originally Posted by Quicklier
Prado, don't do it!
Sounds like we'll be getting a TD Forester in MY08 or MY09.
That will certainly be on my list.
I'll change my mind before then, but at this stage the Suby is too small for a family and itsn't the best choice for camping on Fraser or towing a 21ft boat.

The Forester is perfect for my wife and I right now though
YOOT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2007, 08:57 AM   #107
Quicklier
Perfecting the 1-2 change

I'll change my mind before then, but at this stage the Suby is too small for a family and itsn't the best choice for camping on Fraser or towing a 21ft boat.

The Forester is perfect for my wife and I right now though
If my family grew (or I succomed to having children) I would have a very hard time letting go of the Forester. I can't have fun driving a Prado, so I'd possibly be looking a a used A6 ALLROAD. I just couldn't bring myself to drive a 'real' 4WD.

But yeah, back to topic. The Aurion ZR6 looks the goods. But so does an SS, and a 380GT, and an A4 1.8T, and a Liberty GT-B.

Competition is good, Ford don't have to do huge volume stuff to stay profitable.
Change your setup, and live.
Old 23-05-2007, 12:51 PM   #108

after having owned my subaru liberty for nearly 3 years now, I have been very satisfied with the quality and reliability of the car. Its been THE best car I have owned as far as quality and refinement is concerned. I too find it hard to want to go back to a ford/holden etc unless I was after pure out right power only. At my age Im looking at different things to what I was when I was 20 so naturally getting out of my comfort zone with ford was the next step.

I have nothing against those who own fords or continue to buy them, but for me, its jap all the way.

I still love this forum though

2024 Ford Everest Trend

1967 Ford XR FALCON 500

blueoval is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2007, 04:00 PM   #109
Homer1

I am another one not to go back to Ford or Holden, just not worth the money.
I've had my time with good value (BA XR6 Turbo, ED Fairmont) and although the cars never let me down, the Japanese cars are just so much better its not funny.

I now own and drive a Forester XT and the difference is chalk and cheese, Ford in particular have more than just a long way to go, they are built like rubbish. But they do go hard, but thats only important to teenagers (which is why I bought my XR6T when I was 20yo). Now that I am older I want more than just speed.

This brings me to my point that an Aurion is a great car which won't have 1/10th of the issues a Holden or Ford product will. Having purchased a car based on good value and now owning a car based on good quality, I'll never go back to value.

I'm like you, owned a Ford when I was young, loved it, but grew up and got sick of quality and reliability issues. Now have an Accord Euro and agree that Japanese cars are just light years ahead in terms of quality compared to local cars (which is a pity, cause our cars are great too if they were built better) and in terms of value compared to similar priced Euros. IMO, only the TRULY ignorant continue to deny this and continue to bag Japanese cars.
Homer1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-05-2007, 07:08 PM   #110
Falcon Freak

I don't understand what people's expectations of their cars are. My BF MkII XT is now more then three months old and so far it has only one electrical gremlin with the fuel gauge. Other than that it is great - well built, drives great, eats V6 Commodores and is the most fuel efficient Falcon I have ever driven. You can't ask for much more than that.

FF
Old 23-05-2007, 10:21 PM   #111
Falcon Freak

One of the Aurions drivers at work said that the plastic trim which runs up the inside of the A-pillar and above the passenger's head had dislodged and he could see the side airbag module.

Another of the Aurion drivers said that the new Toyota drove very well but he missed the torque from the BA Falcon.

FF
Old 23-05-2007, 10:48 PM   #112
AEF_Silver94
Falcon obsessed

i actually like the look of this car, not bad at all
AEF_Silver94 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2007, 08:03 AM   #113

And that is the conundrum that most people face. Being a cheapskate at heart I have trouble passing up value, but in the long run you are better off with the quality product. This is my life lesson for the day...
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2007, 10:10 AM   #114
Big Daz
XW Fairmont V8

I understand that people have issues with build quality at times with the Fords but in my experience with the Fords I have owned they have been reliable, cheap to own and run and nice to drive... As for imports that are supposedly more reliable.. A friend of mine up until very recently ran a fleet of 5 Subaru Liberty RX's for his Reps... 2 of them required replacement engines within their warranty periods. He is extremely fussy with his cars, they are well cared for... Subaru's service was appalling, didn't want to know him with his reliability issues... So he's gone to 380's due to their warranty for 5 years.. Didn't want to go for BF's as they are about to be replaced and didn't want VE's as they are very plasticy particularly as a base model. It's not just Fords that have issues and it's not just Ford whose dealers service let them down...
Big Daz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2007, 11:29 AM   #115
stewyg
XC Pride

at the end of the day if your in to get a car for reliability and build quality its 6 one way or half dozen the other. my mums e220 benz is over 8 years old now and not one single thing has EVER gone wrong. my dad puts 80,000kms on his patrol every year and the only thing that has gone wrong is the original pistons disintegrated (they were subject to a factory recall we didnt know about) with no other damage to the motor, and whats more after 350,000 the machine marks had not worn off the internals!, on the other hand a mates e220 built the same year is trash. trim falls off, etc. Both E220's have similar Kms and have been owned by savy ladies and garaged since new. and then there are Patrols that are subject to the same conditions as dads and may as well be held together with selotape. its just luck of the draw. unless you sell the house and buy a $300.000 hand built astan martin (which is owned by prodrive, who also own part of FPV)
stewyg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2007, 02:11 PM   #116
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

I don't know why people are here trying to sell Toyota's and Subarus.

I think all this supposed Japanese superiority is down to big Japanese marketing budgets combined with crappy service at Holden and Ford dealers.

I have never had an issue with the Ford's I have owned the only problem I have is with the Ford service.

When I bought the Fairmont I thought I would do the right thing and get it dealer serviced but when I saw that the employee carpark was packed with VL Commodores and they managed to stuff up an oil change and charged me a fortune I have since decided to service the car myself.

Ford and Holden stop recruiting workers from the local pizza shop and you will succeed.
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-05-2007, 09:06 PM   #117
Tles

The next gen Mazda 6 is getting bigger - if Camry will be a worry then it is cars like the Mazda with 3.5V6 that should scare.
Tles is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2007, 08:28 AM   #118
Nappa
Impressive...

2 weeks ago i quit my job selling fords and now sell toyota's, there's a vast difference in the type of customer i now get, toyota's dont sell themselve's but it seems easier then selling fords.
Old 25-05-2007, 01:01 PM   #119
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

That just means Toyota buyers are idiots......
sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-05-2007, 04:52 PM   #120
Fordmuscle1965

I've got an 04 territory, its not perfect but neither am I. Have had the occasional fault but I've found my sevice department only too willing and able to fix fault fast and most often than not next day after I report it. I'll never stoop so low as to buy an import where the parent company is fully overseas owned. This is our country lets keep our car companies going or else it will be only the outsiders in the race and lets see the quaulity and the choice we have then! While we've still got companies in Australia trying to match the imports in quaulity we're keeping the bastards honest!!!!!!

:Blue, Blue, Blue, Through and Through!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :
Fordmuscle1965 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post