You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-02-2012, 12:00 AM   #1
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Default When does Plastic become Classic?

I'm a big believer that everything is 'relative'.

Working on this principle, when does plastic become classic?

It's long held that we classify Australian cars as 'classic' if they have big metal chrome bumpers, i.e. pre 1979.

Time doesn't stop though. People that were young in the 80s are getting older. There has got to be a time when plastic becomes classic.

I guess when it comes to the forums, there is the 'Post Classic' section which takes care of cars in the plastic era. But at some stage, this criteria needs to shift as both the cars and we all get older. It's not as if we think of cars of the 30s and 40s as classic. We directly think of the cars of 60s and 70s.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that a 50 + year old's view of classic may be different to a 20 year old's view of what is classic.

What do you all think? What do the younger generation on here think? If you're 18, do you think that an XE ESP is classic?

1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 12:23 AM   #2

Default Re: When does Plastic become Classic?

I think a car becomes a classic when they start to get your attention when you see one. Take the XF as an example - growing up in the nineties, I used to see XFs everywhere. They didn't really stand out at all because they were so common. Then about six or seven years ago they pretty much disappeared and you very rarely see them getting about these days, with the exception of a few XG and XH utes. A few days ago I came across a mint dark blue XF Ghia, not unlike yours eb2monty. A really classy looking car, not my favourite model of Falcon, but it stood out in a sea of smiley faced imports and other weird looking newer cars. Yes, it had plastic bumper bars, and no, it didn't have a big V8 under the bonnet, but it was still a classic in my opinion.

Of course, there are always tools out there that think anything that isn't a GT or an XU1 Torana isn't a classic.
Old 26-02-2012, 12:24 AM   #3

I guess its all relative to your age, give it 20 years and to Gen Y, an R34 Skyline will become "classic".

If I was going to have a project car instead of my EL, it would have been an XE Falcon, I love the old 80s square look, I'd have an XF Fairmont old school all digital dash in it.

Asking people, its like the 80s everything tried to go "super modern", and a lot of concepts that in theory sounded awesome, didn't work well at all, like that digital dash, VDO got burned hard on that and its the classic text book case at trade school for auto elecs.

Another thing is I can't ignore the last 40 years of technology advances in the auto industry I've experienced, example my first car was a 2009 WS Fiesta, which has electric power steering and of course EFI so for example if my old man still had his first car, a XU1 Torana, I'm sure I'd think its pretty crappy if I drove it, but for someone who was actually around then and driving cars, it would feel different and still "fast" like it was back in 1971. There would be a lot of nostalgia value in it also.

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 26-02-2012 at 12:32 AM.
Old 26-02-2012, 12:26 AM   #4

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Well, considering the corvette has always been plastic...

Old 26-02-2012, 12:29 AM   #5

I guess its all relative to your age, give it 20 years and to Gen Y, an R34 Skyline will become "classic".
Maybe to 40 year old Muzzas.
chrisfpv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 12:36 AM   #6
In Focus

Originally Posted by Ford_The_Win
I think a car becomes a classic when they start to get your attention when you see one.
That's a pretty good definition for me. I would add that when you see people starting to restore them, rather than just driving an (increasingly) ancient car until it dies, then it is definitely a classic in the making.

Hers: 2020 Ford Puma JK: 1.0 Ecoboost 3-cylinder, 7-speed DCT in Frozen White.
In Focus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 12:39 AM   #7
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

Being born in the early 80s, I think the XD-XF falcons are starting to become classics and to a lesser extent the EA-EDs.

XD-XF's are nearly non existent on the roads these days and EA-EDs are becoming rare.

XD, XE still had the mighty Clevo and with the EB got the return of the V8 option.

Try to find a nice XD-XE Falcon with a V8. The price people asks reflects how rare they have become.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 01:28 AM   #8
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

As a rule I reacon the time frame seems to be about about 25-30 years. At that point cars seem to pick up a label and/or can be considered as a "classic".

My personal labelling system runs something like this:-

Antique - 1880-1916
Vintage - 1917-1930
Veteran - 1931-1946
Post war- 1947-1960
classic - 1961-1979
post classic - 1980-2000
modern - 2001 - ?

Others will have other ideas and I'm sure somewhere some organisation or other has decided on different criteria but I reacon I'm in the ball park. What do others think?

Bushbasher

HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body

MINE- AUII Forte
Meteorite, dual fuel but otherwise bog stock.

MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares

Bushbasher is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 01:36 AM   #9
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by Bushbasher
As a rule I reacon the time frame seems to be about about 25-30 years. At that point cars seem to pick up a label and/or can be considered as a "classic".

Antique - 1880-1916
Vintage - 1917-1930
Veteran - 1931-1946
Post war- 1947-1960
classic - 1961-1979
post classic - 1980-2000
modern - 2001 - ?

Others will have other ideas and I'm sure somewhere some organisation or other has decided on different criteria but I reacon I'm in the ball park. What do others think?

Bushbasher
Yes, that's a good summary of the timeframes as they stand currently, however, it seems that we keep adding new sub groups rather than keeping the same sub groups which work on a sliding scale. e.g. surely what is modern now will move to post classic, then to classic in the years ahead; rather than creating another sub group such as 'ultra modern' etc.
Old 26-02-2012, 01:46 AM   #10
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

True, and it makes you wonder what label they'll come up with next. Personally I think "modern" will always move with the time and at some point when the latest car is far enough removed, technology wise, from what has come before, a new label will be put on the previous generation, (as it were), so what is now modern may become, for example, "pre-digital" or "pre-wireless" perhaps, but some term to reflect the era in history as pertaining to automobiles and what is the current evolving generation will remain "modern".

Bushbasher

HERS- BFIII Wagon Gold, alloys, dual fuel, bullbar, big tow pack, trans cooler, fully rebuilt HD suspension, Clarion, alarmed, full 2 1/2" sports system, mint body

MINE- AUII Forte

MINE- AUII Fairlane Sportsman Liquid Silver over meteorite,HIDs', Airhog, Eagle Leads, dual fuel, custom rear springs, BA slotted discs + a second one for spares

Old 26-02-2012, 08:48 AM   #11
Falcman0o7

Any car over 20 years is a classic IMO not many around after 20 years!
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 09:06 AM   #12

Originally Posted by Bushbasher

Antique - 1880-1916
Vintage - 1917-1930
Veteran - 1931-1946
Post war- 1947-1960
classic - 1961-1979
post classic - 1980-2000
modern - 2001 - ?

Bushbasher
That's a very good summary and I think most people would generally agree with those accurate and non-offensive titles.
May adjust the last entry:

Antique - 1880-1916
Vintage - 1917-1930
Veteran - 1931-1946
Post war- 1947-1960
classic - 1961-1979
post classic - 1980-2000
modern - 2001 - 2015
new era - 2016 -
Old 26-02-2012, 09:37 AM   #13

There is/was a time frame for each category ...

Classic is around 20yrs and older..

EB2Monty has it right for the Veteran, Vintage and Antique.

Old 26-02-2012, 09:59 AM   #14

To answer the question , when does plastic become classic ???
Never !!!

As in reletive to the question,as mentioned its a new classification retaining to the cars age
Classic stopped at the chrome steel bumpers(1979)
You can get a mid 90s nissan patrol with a chrome steel bumper from factory (import model) as well as some toyota 4bies,but they certainly aint a classic

Yes there are and were rare models after that period, XE ESP, Brockadores,factory turbo hotties, but its different
Old 26-02-2012, 10:17 AM   #15

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Old 26-02-2012, 01:01 PM   #16
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Originally Posted by 302 XC
To answer the question , when does plastic become classic ???
Never !!!

As in reletive to the question,as mentioned its a new classification retaining to the cars age
Classic stopped at the chrome steel bumpers(1979)
You can get a mid 90s nissan patrol with a chrome steel bumper from factory (import model) as well as some toyota 4bies,but they certainly aint a classic

Yes there are and were rare models after that period, XE ESP, Brockadores,factory turbo hotties, but its different
So by your logic, an XE will never be a classic? An XB in 1974 was not known as a classic then. It became a classic with time.
Old 26-02-2012, 01:02 PM   #17
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

Ha ha ha ha
Old 26-02-2012, 01:05 PM   #18
Legit290

never....it's just a good feeling that mine can eat them for brekkie
Old 26-02-2012, 01:39 PM   #19
Bushbasher
When in doubt, GAS IT!!

"Classic" can and does have more than one meaning just like, for example, "hot". How many definitions can you come up with for hot? As a temp descriptor, to describe an attractive person or item, to describe a stolen item, etc,etc.
In the case of automobiles, classic describes an era of vehicles but it also can and is used to describe a quintessential variant of any model from any era, ie. "that is a "classic" example of a Willys Jeep". It relates to any vehicle, essentially unmolested, and not necessarily the top shelf model of it's type, that represents everything a particular model is known and remembered for. I would suggest any "classic"of any given model would be the volume seller of it's marque, not the most optioned or performance model and not necessarily the base model so, for example, a classic XE or XF would probably be a GL and GLi respectively.

Bushbasher

MINE- AUII Forte

Old 26-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #20

Originally Posted by clarkey117
never....it's just a good feeling that mine can eat them for brekkie
what are you trying to say.. old doesnt mean slow.. ffs..
Old 26-02-2012, 02:34 PM   #21

plassic not classic......
Old 26-02-2012, 02:55 PM   #22

Well there ya go. I thought a car automatically was classified as a classic once it turned 25yrs old.
Old 26-02-2012, 03:11 PM   #23

plassic not classic......
I wanted to say it I just didn't have a the testicals

Old 26-02-2012, 03:18 PM   #24
Legit290

always say it mate...free speech is a good thing
Old 26-02-2012, 03:27 PM   #25

Originally Posted by Ford_The_Win
I think a car becomes a classic when they start to get your attention when you see one.
I will go with this as well... also, when there is a degree of scarcity to them, or if they have been the basis of countless 'replicas'.

Many of the 'newer' commy's would be a classic in my books, the VL Walkinshaw springs to mind (IMO of course).

X-series falcons for sure, especially special editions and upper spec models.

Wouldn't say the E series as much, unless it was a GT model.
Old 26-02-2012, 04:06 PM   #26
davenl5l

classic = i probably can't afford!
davenl5l is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 04:33 PM   #27
Legit290

classic = there's one in the shed

my point wasn't about a contest of who owns what.
I don't think that cars after xb are classic in the classic sense

Last edited by Legit290; 26-02-2012 at 04:49 PM.
Legit290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 05:00 PM   #28

There are a few plastic classics coming along now.

1. The first MX-5s nicely maintained unmodified.

2. The first WRX's, especially STI's as above maintained and unmodified.

Two cars that are cool, have a cult following and as such many have been hacked up...

To be a clasic it takes more than just being 25 years old it actually needs have been a good car at some point .........

Last edited by Auslandau; 26-02-2012 at 05:02 PM. Reason: PLEASE dont start that argument again???????
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 05:20 PM   #29
XP6
Formerly ST170ish

Originally Posted by Geez Louise
Well there ya go. I thought a car automatically was classified as a classic once it turned 25yrs old.
Yep that is correct classic= 25yrs and over, ask your insurance company
XP6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2012, 05:54 PM   #30

EA SVO, Fairmont ghias and XR8 Sprints and the like are classics, the prices show it. Even the most plastic of plastic cars, (the plastic pig its self) VL SS Group A SV is a classic.

And you can count on the FTE falcons becoming classics in the future.

I think "classic" has a dual meaning. Classic defining a period of time when that cars were produced...and Classic referring to a cars status among enthusiasts.