The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
As the title says. Im just wondering how many ford forum members here live in Kalgoorlie as I am making the move there towards the end of next month.
Why hello
#3 | ||
Seeing I know no one over there was hoping someone could help and tell me some areas that I should stay away from when it comes to buying a house. Ive found some in Coolgardie, Kambalda East and West. Im not worried about the drive as I currently drive an hour to work here sometimes its been even longer then that. Just want to make sure its not a "bad" area and if my dogs, wife and cars would be safe there.
Thanks in advance
#4 | |||
That is all. |
#5 | ||
What brings you to Kalgoorlie?
From what I have heard, people are leaving in droves (My parents included) something silly like 6-7k people in the last 12 months along with a few businesses. |
#6 | ||
With really no work here ive been offered a permanent job over there so its a lot better then chasing contracts which ive been doing here since November.
So Boulder is the only area to stay clear of?
#7 | ||
Generally, yeah.
Its not terrible, but it is really "meh" Broadwood, O'Connor, Somerville, Karkula are all nice enough suburbs. Hannans too and around that part. |
#8 | ||
Hi all
Im just wondering if there are any burnout comps, car shows, races etc around the Kalgoorlie area?
#9 | ||
Coolgardie is cheap but the abos are ****!, Kambalda is alright but its 40 odd km away and its a **** road to drive in the dark, boulder is mostly fibro snot box houses and guess what, more abos, oconnor, broadwood, Somerville is a nice new area but heaps of homeswest houses, decent crime rate there, have burnout comps at the gokart trac every couple months, Kambalda has the Nickeltown car, bike n ros show which is on very soon, summertime is coming and plenty of nice cars and bikes head out to the broad arrow tavern on a sunday for lunch
#10 | ||
o I see your location is now Kambalda, where are you working?
#11 | ||
Yeah im working for CPC Engineering (Yes I know get the laughing out now) but im still onsite here so cant complain I guess.
Yes I see what you mean about the other areas and I have been told be people I work with to stay out of boulder after 9pm
#12 | ||
Haven't heard all bad about CPC, as long as the money's in the bank every week who cares who YA work for
#13 | ||
that's it at the moment im just happy to have a perm job just wish I had one of my cars with me. And its impossible to rind a cheap car in this town with rego on it. cause I killed my xh (blew the head) at Ceduna so now I have no car here :(
#14 | ||
Are there any wreckers here? brought a cheap xf ute which needs a few things done on it and just wanna try getting them on the cheap
#15 | ||
Boulder Parts and Towing, as far as I can remember they are one of very few wreckers there. Expect premium prices, however.
I honestly have no idea why, but people seem to think their cars are worth a hell of a lot more in Kalgoorlie, extortion prices compared to what you can get down here in Perth mate. |
#16 | ||
Is there anyone here nice enough to loan me a mig for a weekend? I wanna do some rust repairs on the xf. Just a gasless will do as I have a 5kg roll of wire and what ever I don't use you can keep.
#18 | ||
#19 | ||
I got 406 Loctite, rape tape and cable ties if I need to go down that track lol. Im sure between our 2 toolbags we could get it fixed lol
#20 | ||
Wait, what?
#21 | ||
Where is the best place to get a wheel alignment done?
#22 | ||
There used to be a mechanic in Kambalda called Stefans and they had a few 90's falcons in their yard. Not sure if they are still around, I was last in Kambodia in 2007.
Display Modes | |