You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 07-12-2007, 03:04 PM   #31

Originally Posted by theunfairadvant
I was staying at my friends place in Mel about 6 yrs ago and they live
out in the sticks, at night the temp was like 0 degrees or something
as the next day i have a layer of ice on my windscreen.
Meh, out where I am, we regularly get 0 or below temps at night in winter. One morning we had -4 degrees, according to the BOM site. Could have been worse in person.
Another morning my car door had frozen shut because of the ice on the car! Not to mention the door handle had also frozen and I had to break the ice on it to operate it.
Old 07-12-2007, 03:09 PM   #32
theunfairadvant

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
Meh, out where I am, we regularly get 0 or below temps at night in winter. One morning we had -4 degrees, according to the BOM site. Could have been worse in person.
Another morning my car door had frozen shut because of the ice on the car! Not to mention the door handle had also frozen and I had to break the ice on it to operate it.
Yeah that happen to me as well when i was there for 30days, i have to boil
some hot water to pour it over the door handle and the windscreen.

My friend got used to it he just keep the heater running all night till the next
morning.
theunfairadvant is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 03:11 PM   #33
Tealglow
Waiting

What's the price of LPG in Alice Springs????
As i said 66c/l +8c = 74cpl. At Caltex

Up to 82 or 86 at others in town

So what does the taxis drive there and what did they use?
Most taxis use good old OPAL (we are not deserving of normal ULP)

Too bad we weren't forced to use AVGAS (which is also unsniffable)

They are trying to take PULP off us too by stating the staggering statistics of 2 people per month caught sniffing the heavy stuff in town.

This is on top of the new dry town status and the push to ban alcohol completely (in a 20,000+ population)

Do-gooders - where would we be without them?

1984 Bronco XLT 351 C6 4WD - Black/ Silver LPG, 3" Lift, American Racing Wheels

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited CRD Renegade- Black

2009 FG XR6 Vixen
Tealglow is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 03:15 PM   #34
la2or
Your Hero

As far as i know i have been using a heater during winter,
you must be capa flash yourself for not using one.

Unless you live in QLD the you don't have to use one.
Depends.

The inland and desert places in australia might be 0-20degrees on a winter's day. I would use a heater most the time if it were like that.

In Europe it might be less variance like 2-3 daily range because of the ice,altitude and coast line making it less variable.
la2or is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 03:56 PM   #35
ea90gl

just another scam if you ask me, everyone gets a rebate on LPG installation so more people run LPG, plus its christmas time so more people are driving perfect chance to raise the price. And since they think people wont complain "as its still cheaper than petrol" they probably think no one will ark up. oh well like some have said its something we have to get used to but i still think its bull shite and something should try to be done about it
ea90gl is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 04:04 PM   #36

As luck would have it we are very fortunate to have the National spokesman for LPG (and president of the LPG lovers and users association) as a regular contributor on these very forums: our very own Steffo!
Maybe he can explain the reasons behind the price hike? or at the very least google the answer for us...

Old 07-12-2007, 04:07 PM   #37

sometimes when i am following a car on lpg i smell a huge burst of gas like the car has an upset stomach or something man it really stinks and i have to switch the aircon from outside to recirc just to dull the smell a bit of course i try to overtake them and get away from it but sometimes there is no overtaking lane or their car just has too much horsepower so i have to pull off to the side and let them get away
||| is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 04:08 PM   #38

Originally Posted by |||
sometimes when i am following a car on lpg i smell a huge burst of gas like the car has an upset stomach or something man it really stinks and i have to switch the aircon from outside to recirc just to dull the smell a bit of course i try to overtake them and get away from it but sometimes there is no overtaking lane or their car just has too much horsepower so i have to pull off to the side and let them get away
It wasnt a pintara was it....?

Old 07-12-2007, 04:09 PM   #39
ea90gl

Originally Posted by |||
something sounds seriously wrong with them cars you follow no car should do that either on LPG or petrol
Old 07-12-2007, 04:16 PM   #40

yes i do not know why they stink maybe i am too sensitive but whenever i smell that all too familiar smell of gas i look up and low and behold the car in front of me has one of those little red stickers on the number plate that says it has lpg powering its engine.

my passengers never like it either and they always comment to me that i have to get away from that car or they wont want to come with me to the shops or the beach any more
||| is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 08:51 PM   #41
Tony xa
Streetrides panel & paint

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Tonys qualified advice on paint and panel is always very good 

I remember once when oil companies had to pay to get rid of this now we pay to take it of their hands and we pay hard its a joke and for one would never use it .
The more people using it the higher the price will get
Tony xa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 09:30 PM   #42
Jastel

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Has much experience with taxis and always jumps on here to explain things simply and help out the new guys in B-series and Contemporary... 

LPG has jumped 8c litre here in Cairns overnight, now cheapest is 82.9cents
Jastel is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 10:00 PM   #43
theunfairadvant

Originally Posted by Jastel
LPG has jumped 8c litre here in Cairns overnight, now cheapest is 82.9cents
82.9 cents :
You must be joking as that is expensive.
Old 07-12-2007, 10:00 PM   #44
XD 351 Ute
Excessive Fuel Ingestion

Heh, and everyone thought the LPG installation rebate was free..............
Now you're starting to pay for it.
Will there ever be anything the government can't tax us for?

Ed
XD 351 Ute is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 10:36 PM   #45
Pursuit_chick
E-series mutantette

yeah ive been using gas for about 3 years now and was paying 42c at the lowest, last 12 months or so been hanging around the 53c mark and noticed last few weeks it has been 63c. I know its LPG and it should be cheap but can't complain, at least im not paying $1.50L for fuel. I think i would have to quit my job if i used petrol. I fill up twice a week on BBQ Fuel and cost me about $35/fill. If i used petrol, it would cost me $150+ per week, and thats just to get to work and back! So i dont mind paying for BBQ Fuel.
Future mods: Speed Holes!
Pursuit_chick is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-12-2007, 10:42 PM   #46

Gas hit 85cents in tassie yesterday!, its madness!!!
Old 07-12-2007, 10:55 PM   #47
cupic
Nikon

what can u say its the festival season upon us and its all up for grabs
cupic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 12:18 AM   #48
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

maybe we should have a federal election and put some one in goverment that will get it right but as they say in the classic's the RICH get richer and fatter and the poor get screwed all the time
bob 351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 12:26 AM   #49

just filled up the ute. 80.9c a litre on the highway outside of gladstone.
i didn`t look what it was when i was in town but its usually about 4c dearer in town.

it was 64.9c for months and then jumped to 68.9c and now 80.9c. 3 price rises in 3 tanks of gas.

also noticed that diesel has risen 6c this week to $1.449.
Old 08-12-2007, 04:09 AM   #50
Need_a_V8

Originally Posted by Hybrid34
Its all a scam, ripping people off at the bowser, as we HAVE to fill up our cars, and goes for every house hold in Australia, hence its a good way to get the money out of us,
Tell you what we should do, which is very hard to do, but the thought behind it is good,
Black Ban Certain Petrol stations per week, eg; No one fill up at shell for a month and go to Caltex, thus Shell will have to lower their price, next week go else where, if everyone where to have the commiitment im sure you'd see a change, BUt as most people go its what ever is convient for them, sometimes i see people fill up on the most expensive days which is sooo stupid, if they were to work it out (like me, i fill my tank up on a certain day so that iget the cheapest day of the week),
anyway just a thought.....
Service stations make nothing on the price of fuel, gas or diesel. Sometimes they even sell at a 3-4 cent a litre loss during extended discount cycles (petrol only, gas and diesel dont run on a discount cycle). Any metropolitan servo is normally only going to make 4-5 cents a litre on fuel and thats normally on the expensive day, as the discount cycle continues the profit margin is normally cut. Did you know that a servo will make more profit off a can of coke than 30L of fuel? Did you know that at certain servo's 60% of overall profit comes from cigarettes? 60% profit from cigarettes, add on the profit from food and drinks and in store sales... How much do you think actually comes from fuel?

So its left to the oil companies... And what difference do you think THAT will make? How bigger proportion of oil supply do you think the public takes up with their own money?

The vast majority is made up of a.) Government b.) Fleet and c.) Industrial (i.e. trucks etc.). Boycotting certain fuel stations will do nothing as there will always be customers, be it fleet, government, industrial or public.
Need_a_V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 08:37 AM   #51
Disciple

Originally Posted by Pursuit_chick
yeah ive been using gas for about 3 years now and was paying 42c at the lowest, last 12 months or so been hanging around the 53c mark and noticed last few weeks it has been 63c. I know its LPG and it should be cheap but can't complain, at least im not paying $1.50L for fuel. I think i would have to quit my job if i used petrol. I fill up twice a week on BBQ Fuel and cost me about $35/fill. If i used petrol, it would cost me $150+ per week, and thats just to get to work and back! So i dont mind paying for BBQ Fuel.
You could always buy an economical car instead of driving around that dinosaur.
Disciple is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 12:51 PM   #52

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Originally Posted by XD 351 Ute
Heh, and everyone thought the LPG installation rebate was free..............
Now you're starting to pay for it.
Will there ever be anything the government can't tax us for?

Ed

Even at 64c/L it's still more economical then paying 140c/l for unleaded. I've had mine for 6 months and its 3/4 paid off.
vztrt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 05:37 PM   #53
peterban
AULTD

It would be interesting to see the benchmark price over the last couple of months as the retail price in Melb has gone from 44 to 54 and now 64 cpl in the last few months.
Thats nearly a 50% increase in just a few months.
Petrol in percentage terms has risen only about 20% in the same period.
I wonder what the ACCC is doing ????
peterban is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 05:54 PM   #54
jack_crowley

it may become the equivalent price for LPG as petrol is, given that LPG only gets 80-90% of the distance petrol drives.
It might soon be time to get rid of LPG vehicles while they fetch a slightly higher price.
jack_crowley is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-12-2007, 07:19 PM   #55
theunfairadvant

Originally Posted by peterban
It would be interesting to see the benchmark price over the last couple of months as the retail price in Melb has gone from 44 to 54 and now 64 cpl in the last few months.
Thats nearly a 50% increase in just a few months.
Petrol in percentage terms has risen only about 20% in the same period.
I wonder what the ACCC is doing ????
Nothing ATM.
They will do something about it if this were to be petrol not for LPG.
Old 08-12-2007, 10:26 PM   #56
ea90gl

well i know we will all suffer as soon as we use up all the oil out the ground but I'll be laughin at the oil company bastards as millions of $$ in profits will turn into SFA then hopefully they get what they deserve. We all know it does not cost as much as what the pump prices are to get a litre of LPG so why do this? Greed thats all and one day they will pay
Old 08-12-2007, 10:37 PM   #57
ILLaViTaR

Even at 64c/L it's still more economical then paying 140c/l for unleaded. I've had mine for 6 months and its 3/4 paid off.
It's people who think like that who are the reason the oil companies get away with this .

There's no shortage on gas, the rebate was just a massive con, YES A CON!
Old 08-12-2007, 11:20 PM   #58
cupic
Nikon

Be it petrol or gas if it isnt summer here in demand its in demand in the northern hemisphere in winter and vice a verser who can win

The TAX man
cupic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2007, 02:46 AM   #59
Chamelion

Eh, I think it sux, but it's still going to work out better than petrol within 12 months for me. After 3 years, the period I intend to own this car, I will have saved a few grand. As such, once the install has been covered the difference between gas and petrol will be put away, towards the purchase of our next car.
Chamelion is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-12-2007, 03:01 AM   #60
ILLaViTaR

Originally Posted by Chamelion
Eh, I think it sux, but it's still going to work out better than petrol within 12 months for me. After 3 years, the period I intend to own this car, I will have saved a few grand. As such, once the install has been covered the difference between gas and petrol will be put away, towards the purchase of our next car.
Yeah but petrol itself was this cheap near 10yrs ago.

I don't get why everyone is comparing it to petrol???

in a few years fuel will be say $6 a liter and everyone will be saying "At least LPG only cost $4" so it's ok cause it's cheaper than petrol.

People just seem to be too accepting on this situation imo.