Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
17-08-2005, 06:41 PM | #31 | ||
What did I say wrong only criticised a magna? :dr_Evil:
Ok got the message no sh, bull@#$@ or other words thanks guardian angel |
17-08-2005, 06:43 PM | #32 | |||
its not a!
bout the ford vs magna thing, dont go by power figures on paper. When i had a vp-commodore i dragged a mate who had an ED with heaps of mods, he was sure to win because on paper the ED had the power and torque (i was sure he would win). But surprisingly i had him off the line and all the way to the end. Last edited by TuMor; 17-08-2005 at 07:04 PM. |
17-08-2005, 06:48 PM | #33 | ||
Chevy power - I'm with everyone else here who is perhaps 'wary' of your statements. Lets not forget too you are talking red light racing when you are taking on these other cars (which is bullsh*t anyway man - get to the drag strip will ya). Racing other cars on the street out of traffic lights is certainly NOT a definitive answer to what cars you can beat with your own.
On a dragstrip - different matter. There is no doubt the bloke in the other lane is going balls out to beat you. As for the magna v ford debate - I reckon the magna might put up a good effort! Is yours a manual? And for under 200 bucks your mods are limited. Sorry guys I own an older model Cleveland 351 - and my suggestion will be to make sure it has PULP in the system and a bottle of Octane Booster too! Is it ok to use octane booster in ECU engines??? If so - I'd be giving it a drink of that. Good luck! Its made some spirited debate - let us know how it goes. |
17-08-2005, 06:51 PM | #34 | ||
its not a!
Its ok to use additives but i dont think you get all the benefit that you would a carbied engine, a possible cheap mod would be to advance the timing a bit and tune it for PULP?
17-08-2005, 06:51 PM | #35 | ||
yeh just as an indication, my old mans has and repitivley beaten sum worked 5.0l's and sum gen 3's
17-08-2005, 06:55 PM | #36 | ||
its not a!
Im looking forward to the outcome : :
17-08-2005, 08:18 PM | #37 | ||
Hate to say it but some Magna's can move. One pulled up next to me at the lights and floored it, I was slow to react and went after him in my EL XR8 and was only catching him slowly and then he backed off at the speed limit to deny me any chance of catching him, how embarrasing.
Getting the jump off the start is the key, I've beaten an SS Crewman up to 80km by getting the jump, although he soon dissapeared past 100. No bad for an old slug. |
17-08-2005, 08:28 PM | #38 | ||
Its yellow, NOT green!
My EL XR8 gets beaten by heaps of cars including Magnas and Camrys if I'm not ready to launch dragstrip style. Only thing is, it cant catch up to anything either!
17-08-2005, 08:39 PM | #39 | ||
its not a!
Yeah, the launch is vital
17-08-2005, 08:57 PM | #40 | |||
17-08-2005, 09:02 PM | #41 | |||
17-08-2005, 09:12 PM | #42 | ||
its not a!
chevypower - do you have those "fast and the furious" windshield wipers? :hihi:
jk... |
17-08-2005, 09:24 PM | #43 | ||
Chevy Power - If you arent talking about a drag strip, then stop talking about dragging cars then mate!!!!
Your example of what speeds you have reached on certain roads is just bullsh*t man. Get a brain. Then use it. Then that will see you on a drag strip doing this stuff - NOT on public roads. By jumping on this board and beating the chest about how much of a dumb a$$ you are on public roads - then trying to tell us how fast your laser is because of these 'wins' - is beyond comical dude. Its pathetic. Its actually quite scary. You are a perfect example of why we should introduce IQ tests for driving licences. I hope I dont have to share a road with you EVER. Sharing this message board with you is enough. I dont know what forum you came from - but id really like to see you go back there. And I will continue to assume you dont know what a true drag race is. In fact you save me from having to assume - you admit you dont go to the strip. So sorry man - you dont know what a true (at least legal) drag race is!!!! Sorry for taking this off topic but I cant help but address Chevy Power's obvious lack of brain matter. |
17-08-2005, 09:32 PM | #44 | |||
Might have to send him out the Laminge Family addon for his computer game
17-08-2005, 09:47 PM | #45 | ||
Woooaaahhhhh back up everyone, your cornering me here, didnt think it was that bad - XA no need to get so personal, the orginal question was regarding two stock cars, using the brain matter to assume that didnt mean "worked" cars for the track
17-08-2005, 09:48 PM | #46 | |||
17-08-2005, 09:52 PM | #47 | ||
auto it wont, but eveleve me those things are about 170kw, theyre front wheel drives, so less power loss, even i have trouble shaking my ol dman off, and there lighter, u can not believe me thats ur choice, but if one lines u up and it flogs ya, ull remmember what i sed,
i drive it every now and then, its slow off the line cos if u stick it, it just spins after second , floor it and it puts u back in the seat, and preveiouldy owing a worked falcon 6 manual also i can guarantee it will flog a the falcon that it is being draged with, the el
17-08-2005, 09:59 PM | #48 | |||
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○ ○○○○○
LOL : preach it brother! back on topic... a magna will beat your e series, if they both havent got any mods. why do i know this? i just do.... check out these forums if you want the low-down on the magnas... my mate BOOYA HAD a 300 KW + magna ( 97 - 99 ) i think, but that got burnt up when a fuel line broke! real shame! |
17-08-2005, 10:12 PM | #49 | ||
Mitsubishi has retained the driveability and tractability of its renowned 3.0 litre V6 engine for Sports. The engine produces its peak power output of 140kW of power at 55OOrpm, and maximum torque of 255Nm at 45OOrpm.
Just been on a magna forum and the general consensus is around 16secs for a stock 97 3.0 magnaahhhh,
17-08-2005, 10:19 PM | #50 | |||
17-08-2005, 10:22 PM | #51 | ||
err yes I said stock magna.......,I don't think a 94magna did a 14.8 1/4 stock do you!
17-08-2005, 10:26 PM | #52 | ||
Yeah but some of those TJ times are more realisitic.
Okay, I just posted those times because they are a combination of both stock and modified Magnas. With the exception of Booya's Magna, there are only a few mods (extractors, cat etc) that have be done. There are some supercharged and turbocharged ones around but they are few and far between. Autoweb ran a flat 7 0-100 and a 15.1 in a 3.5L http://autoweb.drive.com.au/A_0660/cms/article.html Last edited by Dave_au; 17-08-2005 at 10:46 PM. |
17-08-2005, 10:28 PM | #53 | ||
but were not taliking bout a stock magna, were talkinh about a magna sports manual which are 3.6 litre so get ur facts right first rather than making urslef look like an idiot
17-08-2005, 10:30 PM | #54 | ||
sorry 3.5 litre
17-08-2005, 10:31 PM | #55 | ||
As far as IDIOTS go i am talking about the topic which is a 97 magna sports 3.0 V6,
What The F*c* are you talking about,
17-08-2005, 10:32 PM | #56 | |||
buickman
But not to sure on the 3.0 litre with lower torque on doing the 4lt ford mtr though. buickman |
17-08-2005, 10:34 PM | #57 | ||
OH MY GOD!!!!!!
They have a forum please. What's the main topics :togo: Let me think????????? 1. tn, tp astron 1 & 2's !!!!!!!!! Legacy will linger like bad smell until they shut shop. 2.Ts, Tr oil burning, oil leaks both 4 and 6 |
17-08-2005, 10:40 PM | #58 | ||
well my old mans is a oct 97 magna sports 3.5 so maybe there was 2 models in the same year. i might of been wrong there, but ur definatley understating them
17-08-2005, 10:54 PM | #59 | ||
On the road
Though it doesn't match the Falcon or Commodore on the dash from 0-100 km/h, or over the standing 400 metres, the Magna V6 has ample performance for all occasions, is a winner on smoothness and responsiveness, and easily beats those two on fuel consumption. There is a huge difference between a 3.5l and a 3.0l engine my friend a bit like the old 4.1L and the 3.3L they were worlds apart http://www.shift.nrma.com.au/motorin...tmagtev6.shtml
17-08-2005, 11:12 PM | #60 | |||||
XD wagon E20 Nissan Urvan :| 85 Mitusbishi L300 wagon (surprisingly powerful for a van of 2.0 capacity) 83 Nissan pulsar (that was just retarded) So I don't know much about servicing them, infact I haven't had the EL serviced and it's due. What would a regular service do to improve performance? I can do the regular stuff (oil, fuel, air filter changes) but that's the extent of my knowledge. How do I make sure the car is in good condition? Atm the transmission is a bit crazy when I drive it in power mode, the gears tend to hold too long and it takes a few days of driving in economy mode before things calm down. Time for an auto transmission service eh...? Quote:
I've heard that ELs are not as powerful as the rest of the E series, what's up with that? Also the car is an auto as stated above, not a manual unfortunately. Both are stock standard (I'm assuming my mate's car is stock standard, I haven't asked him). As he just bought his car from a dealer I'm assuming it's just been serviced. The EL is in pretty good nick apart from the transmission problem and sounds smooth as. Another question, when did the first magna 3.5s come out? Was it 1999? Thanks for the replies so far dudes. Roo I bet you're reading this |
|||||
Display Modes | |