Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
01-07-2011, 11:19 AM | #1 | ||
July 1 2011
Ford Performance Vehicles today revealed its first-ever ‘concept car’ at the Australian International Motor Show in Melbourne. The sinister all-black GT-based FPV concept features a number of bespoke features and design treatments not seen before. “Taking our iconic FPV GT, we have put together a package of performance and design enhancements to demonstrate what could be done by FPV in the future,” Ford Performance Vehicles, General Manager, Rod Barrett said. “The black-on-black treatment looks spectacular and it really changes the look of the car, so I’ll be very interested to hear what FPV enthusiasts think.” FPV’s one-off concept car is powered by the supercharged Boss 5.0-litre V8 engine. Finished in menacing Silhouette black paintwork, the FPV concept features a unique matt finish stripe package on the bonnet,rear wing and body sides, a paint treatment that is also carried over to the rear diffuser. Up front, large brake ducts are incorporated into the modified front fascia, black framing has been used to enhance the rear light graphics treatment, and the vehicle carries a unique black GT badging. The vehicle sits on 19-inch lightweight one-piece forged alloy rims, finished in black of course, which are 8.0 inches wide at the front and 9.5 inches wide at the rear, and all shod with special Dunlop SP Sportmaxx GT tyres. Underneath there’s a track-tuned suspension specification and a full stainless steel high-flow twin exhaust system finished with quad black tips. The performance brake package includes larger six-piston brake calipers up front and four-piston brake calipers at the rear, which are also both finished in black. Inside, the all-black theme continues with black leather trim throughout and an all-black dash treatment that includes the interior command centre (ICC). "We’ve equipped the vehicle with the GT’s ‘most ticked’ options, such as leather trim and reversing camera. That way, it’s a reflection of what our buyers are choosing and gives us a ‘real world’ basis to get people thinking,” Rod Barrett said. “That’s what this concept car is about – we wanted to demonstrate the possibilities, explore the future and gauge public opinion to assist us with the evolution of FPV product.” The FPV concept joined the supercharged Boss 335kW V8 GT-P and 315kW GS Ute on the stand at the Australian International Motor Show.
01-07-2011, 11:22 AM | #2 | ||
love the mat black stripes..
love the ride height and the way the rear sits.. tlove the tough rims.. yay rims bigger than 8.5 inch rears! looks way more BLACK than hsv's BLACK series.. lol |
01-07-2011, 11:24 AM | #3 | ||
Win.
(10 chars) |
01-07-2011, 11:25 AM | #4 | ||
SRBRO
Unreal, well done FPV.....
01-07-2011, 11:28 AM | #5 | ||
*Likes*
01-07-2011, 11:30 AM | #6 | ||
Game Over.....
01-07-2011, 11:33 AM | #7 | ||
formerly millenium_falcon
G'day everyone, I'm selling my 3 kid plus wife so I can buy one of these!!!!!lol(I'm only joking kids!!!)
What a hot looking car, I reckon a 2 door version of this should be in mad max 4 as a modern pursuit special. kick her in the guts, max |
01-07-2011, 11:35 AM | #8 | ||
Pethy FG XR8 Ute
that it horn right there ...love it
FG XR8 Ute 2010 Nitro, Mods so far: Herrod CAI, headers, Ballistic cats, Cat back Manta dual 2.5" with X pipe and hotdog mid section, Mellings oil pump, Summit racing 60mm twin throttle body, and Yella Terra plenum Powerbond 25% under drives, Sports bar, now fitted with Koya Inox R1's, the rears are 20x10 with a 40mm offset and the fronts are 20x8.5 with a 35mm offset total of 285.5 rwkw and 642nm when Herrod cams in 290rwkw GSXR 750K7 with goodies, dyno'd 136rwhp, 10.567sec for the strip |
01-07-2011, 11:38 AM | #9 | ||
drooooollllll !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
01-07-2011, 11:39 AM | #10 | ||
imagines colour coded Specisl RTA plates ... "GAMEON" FPV needs This car as a Halo/hero car...
01-07-2011, 11:43 AM | #11 | ||
FORMER T3 OWNER
if that dosent attract real world buyers there is something wrong with the world.
so if i sell the lexi i only need to find 50 large....*off to the bank* lol.
01-07-2011, 11:54 AM | #12 | ||
Youth worker
It looks great, but Im sorry, unless they actually put it on sale, its no different to a enthusiasts Black GT on Pedders coil overs and aftermarket wheels.
01-07-2011, 11:57 AM | #13 | ||
Get EcoBoosted
FPV, we NEEDS this to put HSV in their place (as well as some more hi-res images to go with it! ;) )!!!!
01-07-2011, 12:05 PM | #14 | ||
Bathed In A Yellow Glow
Yummmmmmmo
01-07-2011, 01:07 PM | #15 | ||
I like the stance on that. Looks mean!
01-07-2011, 01:44 PM | #16 | |||
Racing improves the breed
01-07-2011, 02:19 PM | #17 | ||
You could almost say you could buy the car and not have to do anything to it.
Ticks all my boxes. |
01-07-2011, 02:24 PM | #18 | |||
This probably sounds biased, but I still think the Efigy Holden made a few years ago is the greatest example of a concept car this country has ever seen. |
01-07-2011, 02:26 PM | #19 | |||
Zoom Zoom
01-07-2011, 02:30 PM | #20 | |||
Look how long I've been here for mate... |
01-07-2011, 02:30 PM | #21 | ||
moonlight rider
That is veeeeerrrrry easy on the eye and simply put "stunning" .
01-07-2011, 02:32 PM | #22 | |||
Zoom Zoom
01-07-2011, 02:33 PM | #23 | ||
Trev
I put that up early this morning in the Supercharged V8 thread in the performance section, and sized the picture in a variety of resolutions for peoples desktops for those that want a larger version check in there, I did right up to 1900x1200.
Trev (FPV FG II GT-E thus the fully loaded burger with the lot as standard +Alpine/Dynamat fitout - 2 of only 4 ever made GT-E factory 9" rear rims - Michelin Pilot Supersports - Shockworks Suspension) |
01-07-2011, 02:37 PM | #24 | ||
Go the Hogster!
Looks sweeet!
01-07-2011, 02:39 PM | #25 | |||
But the Effigy was just an aftermarket party with nothing translating to the real world. Nor was it really "new", it was more of a hot rod IMO. That front bar has to be FG2.
01-07-2011, 02:39 PM | #26 | |||
01-07-2011, 02:40 PM | #27 | ||||
In saying that it is FPV's first attempt, so maybe I was being a tad harsh. Quote:
The more I look at this the more I reckon it would look bad *** as a coupe. |
01-07-2011, 02:52 PM | #28 | ||
It is an awesome looking car, no doubt and FPV need to build it.
As for it being a "concept" car, that is a question of definition and in my opinion it is not really. Concept cars generally showcase radically different features, styling or direction that is not yet available in the manufacturers range. As set of lowered springs and wider wheels does not really fill this criteria if you ask me. Some may even suggest this is what the FG 335 should have had from the start to keep the handling and grip up to the task that the engine has set for it. Anyway, the idea of the vehicle is a big win and I hope it is a sign of things to come for FGII.
01-07-2011, 02:56 PM | #29 | ||
Looks great.....I want...
Best thing, no Alice Cooper eyes. As for concepts, i'd hate to admit but the late model monaro must be one of the best, as it actually made it into production due to demand. |
01-07-2011, 03:40 PM | #30 | ||
Looks mean as. I love it.
The obligatory !>
Display Modes | |