You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-08-2005, 08:30 PM   #1
twr7cx

Post To the guy at Bunnings (Rosny Park, Tasmania) today about sideskirts

This is a message to who ever it was that asked me at Bunnings in the Rosny Park/Bellerive area near East Lands today about the Tickford sideskirts on my EF.

Check out: http://canberracarstyling.com.au/index.php (that's not were I got mine from - mine are customs to fit the LWB of a wagon, but they do good prices, or fairly good, on them, if I remember right they offer both EF and EL Tickford ones, aswell as some others - go the EL's as they are chunkier).
SSV also do them I think, but there a bit exxy so I am told - there wagon ones were 3 times what I paid for mine (and a smaller design), so I think they are too!
Otherwise Auto Web Concepts (AWC) are pretty good (http://www.awcinfo.com or maybe has a '.au' on the end too).
Freight can be a little exxy to Tassie, but it's worth paying the extra to make sure you've got insurance as the fiberglass isn't that hard for them to damage when it is the back of a truck/van or whatever.
Also watch out, as often they will sell the door spats seperate to the sideskirts, so they may hit you for a bit extra.

The other thing to do (if your after Genuine Ford/Tickford parts - they are rubber, not fiberglass like the rest, the rubbers more durable, but a lot heavier) try Ferntree Gully Auto Salvage (FTG) in Melbourne/Victoria, Nick and Darren are decent there, there number is 03 9758 6900 or hit em on www.ftgautosalvage.com.au.

Anyways, good luck to you, and I do apologies for the wagon looking abit poxxy, but I've been working and havn't had time to paint the new skirts up yet - and still trying to organise what to do to the back...

Old 14-08-2005, 10:02 AM   #2
NZ
~~~

Cool thread, hope the guy comes on and see's it

"the man that crashs AFF"
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2005, 03:09 PM   #3
CruizinEB

bloudy oth
CruizinEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2005, 03:27 PM   #4
PULLY6

Originally Posted by CRUIZIN EB
bloudy oth
4:4:4:4:4:4:

On a side note - the genuine ford kit is *VERY* difficult to prep for a respray (about 5 hours of elbow grease with a air feather is required)

Keep this in mind if you're buying a genuine ford kit from a wrecker.
Old 14-08-2005, 04:03 PM   #5
harpsta
I6 LICKS

Thanks for that guys. Just bought an EF Fairmont, this is very helpful : I'm currently in Melbourne but have family in NSW. Would it be worth while getting it shipped down here or should I just road trip to Canberra when I'm up that way?
harpsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2005, 11:29 PM   #6

shipping is actually not that pricey on a full kit.
contact the companies for a quote, i know i was very suprised.
Old 15-08-2005, 12:55 AM   #7
twr7cx

Yeah, some companies are decent others arn't. Not gunna mention names in a public forum, but will if you PM me if you really desperately want to know. But one mob in Canberra charged $80.00 to send a fiberglass front skirt and fiberglass wagon spoiler/dust deflector to me in Tassie. While AWC charged a very cheap and measily $27.50 to sent two HUGE skirts, door spats to me from Melbourne or Sydney or wereever they are! So very good by them!
And yes, I've got a genuine Ford EF front skirt and it did take a lot more prep than the fiberglass aftermarket peices that make up the rest of my kit. But it is worth it as they are more duarble and fit very very very snug and nice. Better mouting design too.
Old 15-08-2005, 11:54 AM   #8

Hey twr what does your Nickname stand for?
Old 15-08-2005, 12:03 PM   #9
harpsta
I6 LICKS

Cheers boys, I will look into both AWC and CCS, I don't htink I have the time to prep and finish a ridgy didge Ford kit.
harpsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2005, 12:04 PM   #10
TadKa
Wait? What?

Cheers mate. I'm the bunnings guy. I really want to get some bodywork done.
TadKa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2005, 12:20 PM   #11
TadKa
Wait? What?

I really like some of the awc stuff.
TadKa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-08-2005, 06:20 PM   #12
twr7cx

Originally Posted by Danny
Hey twr what does your Nickname stand for?
Nothing, it was some randomly generated account name for something of other a few years back when i first got on the net, and it's just something that i've used since. at least i can say it's original i guess.
Old 15-08-2005, 06:22 PM   #13
twr7cx

Originally Posted by TadKa
Cheers mate. I'm the bunnings guy. I really want to get some bodywork done.
I've seen some EA-ED's with teh EF/EL sidies on them looks good, but doesn't look completely right. Reason is that you can't fit the fornt or rear skirts on.
And the kit only really looks ace when it's fully done as you get the effect of flaring up and down at the wheel archs. looks tops!
Better to go for a kit designed for EA-ED than try to retro fit in my opinion.
Old 15-08-2005, 06:34 PM   #14
FalKeen
FTF Car Club NSW

if you bought the wagon side skirts off CCS then they would have actually bought them off us, even sedan side skirts for that matter, actually, basically all the ford stuff, other than that ugly AU brumby front bar :

glad you were happy with the side skirts twr7cx

cheers
Adam
Auto Web Concepts
FalKeen is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2005, 04:23 PM   #15
twr7cx

I thought the spoiler that i got from CCS lookedlike it had been made by the same people who had made the sideskirts I got from AWC! And Bob Hall told me that he sourced the spoiler elsewere.
Bob did make the EL front skirt i got off him himself though, but I traded that for genuine EF one.

Yeah Adam you guys are definately tops, like I said, your cost of transport was about 1/3rd of the other company I delt with which alone is tops as it shows your not trying to rip me off or anything there.