Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
02-02-2006, 04:05 PM | #1 | ||
Hi all
Well I'm trying really hard to give up smoking (worked out that I have been burning up quite a bit of money now for almost 22 years e ) Anyway decided after not being successful I would try patches (have tried all sorts of things previously)... But, my problem now is not only the pure craving of having a ciggie..but the horrible pains that I seem to be having!!! My arm feels like someone has punched the level hell out of it (the one with the patch), and the rest of me just simply aches : Any ideas from those that have quit would be awesome..... I do have to quit as have some serious plans for the money saved : Cheers Kerri |
02-02-2006, 04:13 PM | #2 | ||
Formerly au^ute
Hi Mate, glad you decided to quit, and you're heading in the right direction.
Not sure about the pain, what strength and brand patch are you using? Have you spoken to the quit line or a doctor? I used Nicobate 24 hour patches (the dreams are awesome ;)) they worked a treat. But one thing I did, that i'm glad i did, was begin exercising. It will motivate you to stay off them, and after i started to exercise, i didn't want one. Not saying it will work for you - but just change your life a bit, and the usual triggers will not be there. i STRONGLY recommend you don't goto the pub with mates and drink for a while though, as you'll just get cravings, and heaps of em. Think about what situations cause cravings, and avoid them. Well done Kerri, you've made the first step, and that's the hardest. Keep up with it and in a few months you'll feel like a million bucks. |
02-02-2006, 04:33 PM | #3 | ||
Hi and thanks
I have been walking along the beach a lot lately (and no not just for the view, but it helps) : I am on nicorette 15mg patches (after realising I had to get something before I lit up again). They are 16 hour patches (or something like that).. I never went to the pub before so I cant see myself going now.. so its all good.. Most of my friends are all non-smokers so that will make it easier.. I will just have to keep away from my family (all smokers), damn shame : Thanks heaps, your words are great encouragement Cheers Kerri |
02-02-2006, 05:11 PM | #4 | ||
I.B.S is a pain in d'***
To help my mate give up smoking i used to grab his daily pack and stick one cigarette up my nose (dig for gold) and then put it back into the pack.....all this in front of him...then i would tell him to guess which on it was. Needles to say he would throw away that packet and give up for that day. :
I once gave up. Went cold turkey. I was off them for a year..........but got back on to them..............
02-02-2006, 05:52 PM | #5 | ||
Hey Kerrie,
Looks like you and Rob are on the wagon together :nutsycuck Rob also felt like someone had punched him in the arm after he put the patch on, he also felt a bit seedy but it wore off after a while....He is doing really well and onto the stage 2 patches although he still craves a smoke he doesnt get moody and kick the dog : He also says that he has been having very vivid dreams something about Angelina Jole i dunno lol : Good luck with it i know you can do it....Catch up with you soon anyways Lissa
02-02-2006, 06:01 PM | #6 | |||
I have the shakes happening at the moment which is just freakish : If Rob can do it, so can I.... Ohhhhh I don't want to dream of 'her' though... maybe Robbie Williams would be nice :evil_laug Well done though Rob, that's awesome... Look forward to catching up with you guys soon Thunder.... I think I am glad you aren't a mate of mine Cheers Kerri |
02-02-2006, 06:04 PM | #7 | |||
lissa
02-02-2006, 06:05 PM | #8 | ||
Freudian Slippers
I went on the nicorette 16 hour patches and quit smoking for 3 months - until I had an operation, got bored, and took it up (thanks to my flatmate). I didn't have any pain, but I had some really, really intense vivid dreams if I accidently left it on overnight.
You have my support, I'm planning on quitting soon, need to save up the money - plus in a year or so you won't be able to smoke in most pubs (which is where I always light up).
1995 EF Falcon - "Lilith" // JMM "Street Fighter" Headers // JMM 2.5" Mandrel Bent Exhaust // JMM Ignition Leads // JMM Hi-Performance Valve Springs // Mandrel bent intake // K&N Pod Filter // 17" x 8" GT wheels // 130+ rwkw |
02-02-2006, 06:09 PM | #9 | ||
Can't get enough of this.
Location: Standing on the driveway sobbing because I don't have a PINK ute anymore :0(
Hey Sweetie
Just remember the little engine that could.... I think I can, I think I can, I think I can..... Wooooooo Hoooooooo Hopefully soon you won't be a puffing billy though. Yes I know I am hilarious : Txx |
02-02-2006, 06:11 PM | #10 | ||
I have had a real increase in desire in the last couple of days because on my last shift of last week and today I have had to take an ex smoker to hospital in severe respiratory distress, I am talking suffocating. The lady I had today got so tired from trying to breathe I had to artificially ventilate her. You tell me you can do that and then look at a cigarette the same way again. They are so out of here, I am sick of them and if I am not careful I really will be sick of them (read as because of them). The idea of choking on my own secretions and messed up airways does not appeal to me.
How is that for motivation?
02-02-2006, 06:23 PM | #11 | ||
Hey gecko to coin a movie phrase "you had me at secretions"lmao
02-02-2006, 06:26 PM | #12 | |||
I have only a few main goals for this year and it takes money.. so the cigs go and my dreams will happen Good luck when you give up too though.. maybe you could jump on the band wagon now and we can ИИИИИ to each other : |
02-02-2006, 06:28 PM | #13 | ||
Awww thanks Tori,
yep you are a funny funny girl : Ohhhhhh yep that sure is motivation Lynton... I definately don't like that thought.... will keep that mental picture in my head if I start to weaken : |
02-02-2006, 08:25 PM | #14 | ||
Formerly au^ute
i've never tried the 16hr patches, i like the trippy dreams on the 24 hour ones!
Walking on the beach is a great idea. You'll get there, you just have to get past the tough initial two weeks, after that you'll find it easier. |
02-02-2006, 09:31 PM | #15 | |||
As in 'best there ever'
02-02-2006, 09:33 PM | #16 | |||
Formerly au^ute
02-02-2006, 09:45 PM | #17 | |||
03-02-2006, 04:57 AM | #18 | ||
Hi Fiery, had been smoking many decades and both my wife and myself went cold turkey last March and we found it was all over in about 3 or 4 days since we didn't have patches.
Tried patches once but found it wasn't diminishing my desire for cigs. I'm sure others will have their own version with patches but for me and my wife cold turkey worked a treat. The best of luck, it's well worth it. |
03-02-2006, 10:48 AM | #19 | ||
Thanks modeltlaser,
I think you are right about the patches, but I don't have strong will power anymore : Mind you, did finally realise today just HOW bad my car stunk of cig smoke.. OMG its feral as... Giving it a massive clean today e Someone lit up near me this morning and it made me feel quite sick to smell it.. does this mean I might be getting closer to be over it.... oh gawd I hope so :gren: |
03-02-2006, 11:04 AM | #20 | ||
Location: Standing on the driveway sobbing because I don't have a PINK ute anymore :0(
Well my dear - you know how I am a reformed smoker - and one of the biggest gross outs for me is the smell of cigarette smoke. For the first couple of years after I gave up I used to have to walk away from smokers because I would feel light headed and my guts would churn. Now however I am used to it and my sensitivity has worn off so it doesn't bother me as much anymore.
Looks like all our friends will soon be smoke free - how good will that be. Keep up the good work matey - it aint easy but I believe in you and know you can do this. Just remember - Wooooooo Hooooooo (meant to sound like a train ) |
03-02-2006, 11:10 AM | #21 | ||
well Tori I know you guys will all give me a boot up the backside if I even consider to give in or should I say, give up on giving up :
:newangel: : : : :Up_to_som Must be only one to go after me eh..... yep gotta love the train sounds : |
03-02-2006, 11:27 AM | #22 | |||
I did have to explain it to him though - turns out he hasn't seen Jerry Maguire... |
03-02-2006, 11:29 AM | #23 | |||
Yes I am pretty sure that the last standing smoker will be giving up soon, he is fed up with it and once things settle down he will be able to concentrate on giving up once and for all. Think about all that extra money you can all spend on the cars.... few more mods and one of you might even be able to beat me : |
03-02-2006, 04:25 PM | #24 | ||
Sounds like setting a challenge for us Tori :
ahhhhh but the problem is I have some other plans before the 'car plans' but this is worth the challenge in itself : |
03-02-2006, 04:33 PM | #25 | ||
Mopar/No Car
You all realise that good health is just the slowest way to die?
Good work, fiery! Keep it up, you won't regret it. Meanwhile, I'm off to have a smoke.
03-02-2006, 04:36 PM | #26 | ||
goodluck with it
ive stopped for months at a time but always start smoking again... i used the brand QuitX...significantly cheaper than nicobate and it was easy with them on.....no pains for me....and i used to and still do smoke about 20 rollies day the hardest thing for me was not smoking in certain places i liked to smoke....not the actual craving....ie driving and at the pub just take it a day at a time and start concisouly doing somthing when you want a smoke......like do the washing...when u finished it you may have fogotton bout the craving...or the dishes....or somthing to your car.. |
03-02-2006, 04:37 PM | #27 | |||
03-02-2006, 04:44 PM | #28 | ||
Oh Thanks (I think) Greenmachine...
well, I did have a reply thought up about the slow dying part and realised I think it would really get up people's noses if I put it here, so leaving it go... You enjoy your ciggie (dont choke on it) :jab: Thanks gozza..... but seriously did you have to mention 'house work'... talk about nearly convincing me its so not worth giving up J/K by the way e I spent time on my car today.. it actually smells so much better inside, oh and I think it looks better too : I am hoping I dont turn into one of 'those' reformed smokers though... : feeling really good today now, but that could also be the allure of the beach and the awesome views :Up_to_som |
03-02-2006, 04:46 PM | #29 | ||
Keep busy as it helps
Don't go out with people that smoke Don't drink Find some one to compete with ,see who gives up first (don't loose) Don't go to mondays meeting Have fun walking on the beach enjoy the clean air Cough up those 20+ years of gunk you breathed in (got ta love that every morning in the shower) Ive been off them for 18 months now and could still have one tomorrow ,but I would hate the wife to win....LOL Good luck Kerrie |
03-02-2006, 04:53 PM | #30 | |||
Geez I'm not sure what part I want to pick apart first on this one ALAN.. first off... its Kerri, not Kerrie........ yes see I can be even more picky now : I don't go out with anyone full stop _2: Not drink........ are you serious!!!!!!!!! OMG... nope don't like that thought, sheesh... I have so much grog sitting here waiting for me to demolish that I just can't contemplate no drinking... Yes I am staying sort of busy, yes I have a goal (not to beat someone else but well you will all see soon enough) : Ok well you can explain to Hoops and Chrissie why I'm not at the meeting Monday then OK!!!!!!! cool, deal :monkes: Ah bet the wife wins though.. : |
Display Modes | |