Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
06-04-2005, 09:14 AM | #1 | ||
Before I start my rant, nothing makes a car look tougher from behind that a nice set of dual pipes; but it doesn't work unless your car has more than 200kw's!
What the heck is going on! Off the top of my head these are some new cars with dual exhausts: - Mazda 6 - Honda Accord Euro - Mazda MX5 (new) - Renault Clio Sport (at least its kind of got balls) - Golf R32 (passable) - Honda Odyssey - Audi TT (passable) - Holden Vectra - Hyundai TIBURON (actually doesn't look thaaat bad, but needs more balls and RWD) - Monaro There are probably heaps others that I cant remember right now but does anyone else see that's something's a little NQR! There is one car there that actually deserves them. It's sacrilege I tells ya! What does everyone else think? Its an outrage!
06-04-2005, 09:18 AM | #2 | ||
Monaro has over 200kw
06-04-2005, 09:19 AM | #3 | ||
bring it on
yeah some of them are a disgrace...espcially when you can see how they do it...
i am over the dual exhaust thing now...prefer a nice dumpy hidden away...
06-04-2005, 09:20 AM | #4 | ||
350Z as well. It's the latest styling thing, they look pretty good and car companies are trying to incorporate it into their cars for better 'looks'. They only belong to AMG's, Jags, Aston Martins, Ferraris....
06-04-2005, 09:20 AM | #5 | ||
they call me Tibbo
most of them are simple twin tips not twin pipes, there is a big difference
06-04-2005, 09:20 AM | #6 | |||
06-04-2005, 09:22 AM | #7 | ||
DO you reckon i could get that done to my BA XR6 NA???
I would like having 2 pipes coming out the back...
06-04-2005, 09:23 AM | #8 | |||
06-04-2005, 09:26 AM | #9 | ||
they call me Tibbo
not really imo, it is purely cosmetic, my Concorde and i think the Fairlanes also for that matter were factory fitted with the 1 in --> two out mufflers 8 years ago.
06-04-2005, 09:26 AM | #10 | ||
Alot of cars have a V6 in them, so a dual exhaust is actually justified, IMO.
06-04-2005, 09:30 AM | #11 | |||
Turbo AU ute ~ Nice legs, shame about the face. 282rwkw at 15psi. Last edited by dansedgli; 06-04-2005 at 09:46 AM. |
06-04-2005, 09:30 AM | #12 | ||
XB in parts...
As much as I like a proper dual exhaust system, isn't one big single pipe (say 2.5") on a 6 more effective ?
It'd be pretty sad to see two twin one inch exhuasts out the back of your car lol.
06-04-2005, 09:35 AM | #13 | |||
they call me Tibbo
If you went too large the gas velocity slows reducing low down torque and overal performance
06-04-2005, 09:37 AM | #14 | ||
The size of the exhaust is not always in relation to the 'TIP", or riced up lancers with 4 inch cannon exhuast are 4" all the way through (then again they probably are..... lol)
06-04-2005, 09:46 AM | #15 | |||
Anyway, whether it is a genuine dual exhaust or not wasn't what I was getting at. The simple fact remains that the average Joe will think it's a dual set-up, which is fine, but some of the cars don't deserve it IMO. What was once something that HiPo V8's etc used to do, and current XR8/GT owners pay good cash for; is now standard (at least cosmetically) on an Accord; just thought it was strange. :
06-04-2005, 09:47 AM | #16 | ||||
No longer driving a Ford.
Or is there an advantage in having a single exhaust split into two pipes that I am not aware of? The only advantages I can think of would be the change in exhaust note, I can't see it making much difference in exhaust flow or pressure, but maybe I'm missing something, or just don't know enough about these things...
06-04-2005, 09:52 AM | #17 | ||
If buyers like the twin exhaust look then car makers will make them to sell more cars.
Turbo AU ute ~ Nice legs, shame about the face. 282rwkw at 15psi. Last edited by dansedgli; 06-04-2005 at 10:25 AM. |
06-04-2005, 09:54 AM | #18 | |||
they call me Tibbo
If the fuel tank is mounted in the centre of the car, not offset with a bias towards one side like most Aussie cars it is cheaper and simpler to run two seperate pipes to the rear of the car.
06-04-2005, 09:56 AM | #19 | |||
06-04-2005, 09:56 AM | #20 | |||
Unless it's something with muscle, and you can usually tell pretty quick, I think it is ghey. No offence to the owner but a Focus with quad tips? IMO that's just wrong.
06-04-2005, 09:57 AM | #21 | ||
Yep they're starting to become rather common now, i think they look great on the right car. It's all a matter of personal taste and choice really.
There will always be people who cry foul about something someone does.
06-04-2005, 09:58 AM | #22 | |||
EDIT: probably would have been taken as a personal comment, it was, no point closing the thread over one persons ****ing contest. Yes it looks good, yes it probably helps with emissions, and yes customers like it. It is a trend that I was curious what people thoughts were, thats it. I personal think it looks great, but on a GT, not an Odyssey or alike.
Last edited by Polyal; 06-04-2005 at 10:13 AM. |
06-04-2005, 10:16 AM | #23 | |||||
No longer driving a Ford.
Perhaps a crappy picture will make it clearer what I was referring to: Obviously I have made it more simple then it would actually be (top down view, no visable bends for the axle and no mufflers), but it should make it clear what I am talking about. Would there be any advantage in the system on the left over the one on the right?
06-04-2005, 10:24 AM | #24 | ||
I would think the pic on the right would expel exhaust gases better, but, I could be wrong here.
06-04-2005, 10:27 AM | #25 | |||
Im no expert either.
06-04-2005, 10:29 AM | #26 | ||
Looking for clues...
I had a Pintara wagon years ago, (4cyl, 8 plug motor), and had to replace the rear muffler, which was a dual tip. When I was looking for the cheapest replacement option (car wasn't worth spending money on) I was told that being a wagon, it had the dual tip to reduce cabin noise from the exhaust.
I got this from a couple of places, while I was getting quotes. |
06-04-2005, 10:31 AM | #27 | ||
they call me Tibbo
as drawn :- left would be balanced, ie the pulses would flow better helping to draw out some of the exhaust gas if the pipe was tuned correctly (the exact lenght req.) But the most important thing though is still the diameter of the pipe..
The right side concept with a balance pipe fitted offers less restriction in comparisin as the LH system is not 'tuned' and the velocity of the exhaust gas slows as it is travelling alot further. I guess it comes down to hours and hours on the dyno to find the most effective and space permitting system for an individual car. I made a set of custom pipes for a 454BB One tonner a few years ago and the owner gave me a few pages of information ( inc. some crazy rocket science mathematics) to work from.. I can't remember the science of it all now and lost the info years ago
06-04-2005, 10:32 AM | #28 | ||
I agree that dual exhaust like the pic on the left is just a waste and I would say more a **** factor, but if done like the right pic then it can be justified.
06-04-2005, 10:37 AM | #29 | ||
Yes and no.
IMO a dual after a single system is 100% pointless. Dual into a single is OK, if you like the note and dual from cat to tail is fine with x pipe. Most od the cars ATM with the two tips are single systems with the final muffler having one in and two outs. Not practical or performance enhancing. It is for looks only. Quad exhaust same, just for looks only.
1992 DC LTDHO 360rwkw built by me Tuned by CVE Performance Going of the rails on a crazy train Other cars include Dynamic ED Sprint, Dynamic DL LTD, Sparkling Burgundy DL LTD, Yellow, Red & Blue XB sedan & Black XB Coupe
06-04-2005, 10:43 AM | #30 | |||
I think EZY10 is running a single dump pipe from his turbo into twin 3 inch exhausts and it cleared up some horsepower in his case. I read that in fullboost or similar. That would be a rarity though I imagine, not many people have 800hp turbos on their cars.
Display Modes | |