Old 02-11-2005, 01:14 PM   #1
adz_1983
C Ya @ Autosalon 2007 ;-)

Default AU Instrument Panel Removal

Hi guys,
was just wondering if anyone can plz tell me any easy way to remove my instrument panel so that i can put the LED lights in. Also how to remove the centre console as i will probabl change the LED on the shift (auto). I have a 1999 Ford AU Forte Sedan. cheers

adz_1983 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 03:06 PM   #2
CongoAU2
AYE YOU

Welcome to the forums. Have a look At www.aufalcon.com and look at the articles there. it well tell you how to pull out your instrument panel and heaps of other cool stuff. :
CongoAU2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 03:40 PM   #3
adz_1983
C Ya @ Autosalon 2007 ;-)

ahhh I can't find it LOL where exactly is it located? thankx mate
adz_1983 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2005, 03:57 PM   #4

AUFalcon workshop link:
http://www.aufalcon.com/Workshop.htm

Instrument cluster removal:
http://www.aufalcon.com/Tech/techinstrument.htm

Console removal (for auto):
http://www.aufalcon.com/Tech/techconsole.htm

Old 27-12-2006, 10:05 PM   #5
Gonz
BA XR6T UTE - ANIM4L

dam, now those links dont work, im trying to pull the needles off to replace my blue instrument panel for a silver one, but i dont want to break anything so i wanted to see if it was just a case of lifting the needles and they slide off or if theres more to it!!

any help would be great...ill keep searching the forum for info too, see how i go!

Gonz.
BA XR6T"ANIM4L" UTE UNDER CONSTRUCTION!

WA Member of proUTES.com : we need more FORDS!!

CHECK OUT MY OLD AU UTES!! IN HERE!
CHECK OUT MY OLD FG UTE!! IN HERE!!
CHECK OUT MY LATEST BA UTE!! IN HERE!!

YOUTUBE POWERCRUISE VIDEO!! CLICK HERE!!
YOUTUBE INCAR VIDEO!!CLICK HERE!!
Gonz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-12-2006, 11:09 PM   #6
Tech Trainer
Are you sure about that?

Hi guys,

The cluster is held in by two srews at the top. Remove these screws. Now you need to get behind the cluster and GENTLY push it out. Best way is to get a long screw driver and probe upwards through a hole in the top plastic trim area of the fuse panel area. Be careful as the cluster can grab on to vinyl trim of the crash pad and tear or distort it.
To put it back in just gently slide it back into place and refit the screws.

The needles are just a push fit. However they are on very thin metal shafts that can bend easily. Again be gentle but forceful. Bit like looking after a two year old. Just be sure the needles go back in the correct place. We don't want speeding fines. Before you put the cluster back together be sure to make sure the the needles don't "catch" on the new instrument facia.
Good luck!
Tech Trainer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2006, 08:08 PM   #7
Gonz
BA XR6T UTE - ANIM4L

hahaha, cheers, would have been great info yesterday at noon, hahaha!

as mentioned above, fitting the silver panel was abit tricky but i managed to get the needles off with out breaking any of them, pretty simple really, the way i did it was i just used 2 butter knives to get under the needle on either side and lifted them evenly and they just pop off, you think ya gonna break em but they literaly "pop" off, so its recomended to do this in a clean environment so you can find the bugger, then i just peeled off the blue panel then stuck on the new silver panel...now this is where the above info would have been handy, i didnt take note of where my needles were sitting when i took em off so i ended up eye balling it, as you can see in the photo im about 400RPM off at idle from where i used to sit aaaaand after putting it all back together turned the key and my voltage guage didnt work as it was catching on the panel...oh well! lol!
the cluster is easy to remove, just remove the 2 screws that hold it in place, drop the steering wheel and pull it out, you may need to get behind it to help it come towards you and it will come out!

any dramas, just drop me a pm, ill be more than happy to help ya out!

Gonz.

Old 28-12-2006, 08:10 PM   #8
bodes-sh

lol, i'd kinda hate to see what speed you're doing when the cluster says 60...
bodes-sh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2006, 08:19 PM   #9
KOUPE76
OLD SKOOL BABY

LOL, Best way to alighn your needles would be to install your dash in place with the clear plastic face OFF, then turn the key to accessories and watch your needled go crazy, then you simply alighn your needles to the start of everything and you're done.
Trust this is the besy method I know of doing it as others have done the same. _2:

1976 XB GS COUPE (waiting to start the rebuild)
KOUPE76 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2006, 10:15 PM   #10
chief
FTF Club Moderator

I need to do this, ie put my silver T series fascia on, but got stuck at the needles. This will help me out greatly.

And thanks to Mick for the fascia. We never got the chance to have that beer in Wagga.

Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW

Fords in the Park 2010

I use and recommend Stingray Car Security.
http://www.stingraycar.com.au/
chief is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-12-2006, 10:59 PM   #11
Tech Trainer
Are you sure about that?

Another way of getting your needles "Just right" is to get your hands onto a Scan Tool that can "drive" the gauges. This is the most accurate way of doing it. My Tacho is notchy because it rubs on the facia.
Now I have a company car I can take my XR off the road and fix all the little things the dealerships stuff up when they service it. I suppose I am just anal about the quality of work carried out on any of my cars.

If you need any help with these things just PM me I am here most nights.
Tech Trainer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-12-2006, 02:42 AM   #12
Gonz
BA XR6T UTE - ANIM4L

cheers mate, i hear ya about being anal with ya car, im the same, i wish i could do ALL the work on my ute myself!!

Gonz.

ps: just got back from a cruise and checked my speedo with my mates car and its 2-3 k's out on the fast side, i can live with that, all the others seem ok except the tacho, ive got to pull it back out cause i gotta change a globe so i might fix it then!