You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Escort, Cortina, Sierra and Capri

Old 15-06-2006, 07:34 PM   #1
79eskimk2

Default 5 speed gearbox

hey everyone.. im just wondering if anyone has got a 5 speed/2L pinto setup.. if you have can or if you know what the best kind of g/box to use and how much work id need to do to get it to fit. thanks

79eskimk2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2006, 09:17 PM   #2
Forg

There are a few options, kinda depends on how far you're going with engine power I guess.
Actually, my info is old; there could be better options that wot I mention.

Really the two best ways we could do it about 10 years ago were to use a Dellow (or similar) conversion kit to suit a Supra or Celica 5spd; or use a gearbox imported from the UK or NZ which I think came out of Pinto-powered Sierras. I think this was called a Type9 'box; but it's been a while & I forget.
The Supra 'box will cope with turbo Pinto power pretty easily, but requires minor massagement of large-trans-tunnel Escorts (eg. auto Mk1 shells, and I think all Mk2 shells were the same & hence have the larger auto-trans tunnel), and a bit of surgery to fit into a smaller-trans-tunnel Escort.
The Celica 'box is a bit smaller, is borderline with turbo Pinto torque, but should cope with an n/a Pinto. It may need sledge-massaging of a manual Mk1's tunnel, but I'm pretty sure they'll pop into an auto Mk1 (and hence I think all Mk2's).
The Ford 'box is, I believe, pretty similar to the Celica in terms of what it's like to use (can't recall whether ratios are similar); but not as many parts locally available, and they were stupidly expensive 10 years ago.

Oh ... I did come across a Cossie 5spd 'box in a ~$2500 rally car once, and that would've fit. We ummed & ahhed for too long though, and someone else bought the car. The fresh 'box was probably worth what they wanted for the whole car.
Anyhoo, there are probably things like this that pop-up occasionally too.

Of course, all options require things like custom tail-shafts, probably custom gearbox mount/s, maybe very specific shifter choices or mods, and possibly hydrualic clutch conversion (dunno - did all Ekys have a hydraulic clutch?).
Forg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-06-2006, 11:14 PM   #3
79eskimk2

Default thanks

thanks mate, ill have a look around for the supra or celica gearbox and adapters.. im eventuall gonna supercharge my 2L so i reckon itd be a bit better to get the supra. thanks
Old 16-06-2006, 06:53 PM   #4
BRINDO75

Default dellow adaptor and 5 speed

hi i have a dellow adaptor and 5speed celica box that came outa my mk2 if ur interested . it comes with a clutch but u will need to get a new one but it would be good for you to take into them and get a match. i also have the tailshaft ready to go for that conversion from memory it needs a new boot on the cv joint.also the gearbox adaptor is there if you have a auto tunnell. if you want pics ill send them to you.
BRINDO75 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #5
79eskimk2

oh yeah ok.. where do you live? i live in tassie and i doubt youd be able to post tem.. but if you are in the melbourne area i might be able to get a friend to pick it up and get it to me.. how much would u want for it all and what kind of condition are they in. thanks
Old 16-06-2006, 09:09 PM   #6
markscar1
1962 XL FALCON

Question Celica box on 2litre

Hi i have a 79 cortina 2litre and im getting sick of the 4 speed revving so much on freeways, i heard about fitting a celica box but im unsure of what year i should be looking for and where can i get an adapter to fit the 2litre?...can anyone help me

Thanks Mark
markscar1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2006, 03:47 AM   #7
wodahs

why wont a t5 ford box outa a six cylida with a four cylida bell housing fit ????
wodahs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2006, 03:07 PM   #8
Anglia

Default 5 speed box

Stick with the 5 speed Sierra box,will take up to 260 bhp and is not a difficult conversion,particularly into an auto.if you have a manual you will need to open up the tunnel to accomodate the bigger box or use auto tunnel.
Anglia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 02:46 PM   #9
greggh02

Will the celica 5 speed fit most ford escorts - am currently bidding on the gearbox on ebay? What engines would be suitable for this gearbox and what adaptors or bell housing would I need?
greggh02 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2007, 03:24 PM   #10
T3man

The Sierra "type 9" is a straight bolt in jobbie. All intermediate ratios (and direct fourth) stay the same (3.65, 1.97.1.37 1.0) as the original four-speed and OD is about 0.82 from memory. There was also a close ratio Sierra box but you won't find them very common in Australia.

However, my own personal opinion on doing a gearbox swap on an Eski is that if possible you should strive for a better gear set than the original offering. There is a huge gap between first and second - the rest is fine.

Now if you go the Toyota route you have several choices of gearsets available to use.

In the steel case Celica there were three first-gear ratios - the rest of the gears were pretty much common. They ranged (going from memory here) from about 3.57 to 3.28 to 3.06. IMO the 3.28 was the best to have and is what I used in my RS2000 the first time I converted it.

With the Supra alloy boxes (lighter and stronger than the steel case Celica box) there were also three different boxes available (not counting the "truck" ratios which had even lower first and second). The top three ratios were the same as for the comparable model box used in cars. There were designated W57 and W58.

But my favourite is the W55, an older Supra box, but with ratios that suit the Eski perfectly. First is ever so slightly taller at 3.57 and second ever so slightly shorter at 2.06. This gives you a very nice transition from first to second without the car tending to bog like it does with the standard box. Third is virtually identical at 1.38, fourth is direct and OD is 0.85. This is the box I have in the RS2000 now.

For a complete conversion Dellow Auotmotive in Sydney can fix you up. They are quite cost effective as you will easily achieve 15% better fuel economy in highway use.
T3man is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-07-2007, 11:25 PM   #11
EskyCosworth
RS2000 COSWORTH

Default Celica Steel case and 242kW Cossie Turbo

Pumping 228-242kW atw through a Cossie turbo in a mk2 RS2000 and the package seems to be handling the pressure quite well. A few mods here and there to get the Dellow kit to suit the larger Cossie Flywheel and Voila!
EskyCosworth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-08-2007, 08:55 PM   #12
seanyboy

errrrm i just bought a celice 5 speed and a couple of other bits.....kinda freaking out coz im not sure quite how much work is goin to be needed to get it in, i have a mk2 panel van with a 4speed manual and 2 litre in it now, any one whos done the convoersion and can helpme with some pointers> cheeras guys