You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-06-2005, 03:26 PM   #1
max^power
Formerly au^ute

Default Wiper Blades

Time for mine to get replaced. I dont like the streaks!!

Any particular type thats better than the stock ones?

TIA
max^power is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 03:34 PM   #2
FNQracing
RAGE Engineering

Graphite coated from any auto parts shop. About $15
Old 23-06-2005, 03:36 PM   #3
TIRED6
A V8 salute to my DEATH

Get a set of Teflon Blades, They may be a tad more expensive but they do a ripper of a job and outlast the older rubber ones.
Old 23-06-2005, 04:06 PM   #4
3Toed
The Smoking Sloth™

I just got some Aunger silicone ones. They have some weird powdery coating on them but as FFOracing just mentioned graphite then that's probably it. Looks and feels like it.

Oh, and thoroughly clean your windscreen and give it a coat of Rain-X while you're at it. Rain-X anti-fog on the inside is great also.
Amen Brother.
3Toed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 04:08 PM   #5

KMart...$11. These are a disposable item. I replace mine every 6 months or so.

Old 23-06-2005, 04:11 PM   #6
MAD
Petro-sexual

I got "big Clear" ones from bigw, they're a silicon type, not sure which brand they are, but they're terrible. At first they were great, but didnt take long for them to go to the big wiper-arm in the sky and start leaving streaks and not even wiping in some spots..
Old 23-06-2005, 04:20 PM   #7
nugget01
95EFAIRMONT

it actually does matter what type of windscreen you have in your car!
I had my original Ford screen in there and was spending heaps on trying different types of blades. wasnt until I got it replaced that I found it wasnt the blades problems at all. Some times you need to get a new wind screen.
Best price around adelaide would be united windscreens on main north road , oppisite hungry jacks.
Nugget
nugget01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 04:24 PM   #8

I should probably get some aswell. Does the anti fog stuff actually work well cause i have a big problem with windows foggin up. So damn cold in Canberra.
Old 23-06-2005, 04:31 PM   #9
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Originally Posted by Casper
KMart...$11. These are a disposable item. I replace mine every 6 months or so.
What brand are they? Are they decent enough? I need to replace mine.
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~
FRDGAL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 04:42 PM   #10

Originally Posted by 3Toed
Oh, and thoroughly clean your windscreen and give it a coat of Rain-X while you're at it. Rain-X anti-fog on the inside is great also.
first ive heard of something like that.

care to explain how it works and if its worht buying?
Old 23-06-2005, 04:52 PM   #11

Originally Posted by Fairmont_Krissy
What brand are they? Are they decent enough? I need to replace mine.
The cheapest ones I could find from KMart. Not sure of the brand but they work Very well on my car. Took about a day to bed in but they do not leave a single streak so I'm happy with them.

I change mine so often that I just cant justify huge $$$ on a set of rubber strips with a 6 month lifecycle. I change them regardless of if they need it or not as rubber goes hard quickly and they deteriate without you even noticing.

Old 23-06-2005, 04:54 PM   #12
3Toed
The Smoking Sloth™

Originally Posted by MITCHAY
Does the anti fog stuff actually work well cause i have a big problem with windows foggin up. So damn cold in Canberra.
Does for me! Still helps to have the demister on cos when you get in the car your breath condenses on the windscreen but it's sooo much better than without the Rain-X.

If you want to just try it out, get the single use pre-moistened pack. It's like a giant KFC moist towelette impregnated with Rain-X. There's enough to do one windscreen with each towelette. I saw them in Big-W when I got my wiper blades.

first ive heard of something like that.

care to explain how it works and if its worht buying?
Well, before when I just washed my windscreen it would get grimey again the next day. And it would fog up inside severely on cold days.

With the Rain-X exterior treatment it repells water and also other stuff like splattered bugs and dirt.
The Rain-X anti-fog stops the inside form fogging up on cold mornings. A very slight haze appears after I get in because of my breathing but the demister on low fixes that.

I only tried Rain-X last weekend so I am by no means an expert. I'm just going by my own experiences (and anyone who knows me knows that I am the last person to come to for car cleaning advice! :P)

I can't remember how much each towelette cost but it was either around $5 or $10 each. Obviously the bottle is cheaper but it's good if you just want to try it out like I did.
Amen Brother.
3Toed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 05:36 PM   #13
max^power
Formerly au^ute

Originally Posted by MADXF
I got "big Clear" ones from bigw, they're a silicon type, not sure which brand they are, but they're terrible. At first they were great, but didnt take long for them to go to the big wiper-arm in the sky and start leaving streaks and not even wiping in some spots..

ah yeah, this is the sh!t that i dont want to waste money on!
Old 23-06-2005, 06:13 PM   #14
FNQracing
RAGE Engineering

If you're after a good brand - Trico.
Old 23-06-2005, 06:22 PM   #15

Originally Posted by FFOracing
If you're after a good brand - Trico.
Thats the ones!!! Thats what I got from KMart for $11

Old 23-06-2005, 06:57 PM   #16
Jamie XR6
3FB Detailing Tragic

Yeap, they are just about the best you can get. Replace them twice a year and wipe them down every time you wash the car.
03 BA XR6T, Black, T5, Unichip tuned by Autotech Engineering (235.5 rwkW), BPT short shifter, Custom Leather, 18" rims, PBR sports calipers, Lowered, Tint, duel CAI & BMC filter, AWC bits, custom stripes.

My Website
Jamie XR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 07:11 PM   #17
max^power
Formerly au^ute

Originally Posted by Jamie XR6
Yeap, they are just about the best you can get. Replace them twice a year and wipe them down every time you wash the car.
Nice tip that one! Thanks mate. Thanks everyone for their input. I'll have to get some of them on the weekend!
Old 23-06-2005, 07:35 PM   #18

I use the rain-x, it is good stuff, it work's really well in speed's above 80klm, it still work's in speed's below this but not as good, sitting on 100klm on the fwy you don't even need to use the wiper's.
galaxy xr8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 09:37 PM   #19
FRDGAL
GT-P #0336

Originally Posted by Jamie XR6
I think I'll give those a go then.
2003 FULLY OPTIONED MERCURY SILVER BA GT-P BUILD #336
REVERSE CAMERA - SAT NAV - PIONEER SUB & AMP - SUNROOF - DVD PLAYER - CUSTOM DUAL EXHAUST
~Tuned By Bluepower Racing~
FRDGAL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2005, 11:57 PM   #20
xrgran

I think they are the same brand that I bought from Big W. brilliant!
Old 24-06-2005, 03:25 AM   #21
LOWAU

Every few years it is good to change the whole wiper arm not just the wiper blades.
The plastic joints become loose and the whole thing jiggles compared to a new one.

Give it a try, they are about 12 bucks each(including wiper blades).
LOWAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post