Old 19-10-2009, 06:18 PM   #1

Default when uninvited guest's arrive

while having a bar be Q and liquid refressment.
do drop in's happen's.

sorry wont accept my pics
kookaburra's were the problem

Last edited by burnz; 19-10-2009 at 06:31 PM.
Old 19-10-2009, 06:23 PM   #2
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

hmmmmmm, that's interesting

When I read the the thread title - naturally I assumed you were referring to the inlaws.

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
tex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2009, 06:23 PM   #3

Not sure what you mean, but I had a small group of friends over last boxing day with parents OK and it turned out alot more people than I invited came along. They had all "just heard about it" yet none of the people I did invite seemed to have told them? Funny how that happens.

Old 19-10-2009, 06:27 PM   #4

i'll try resize

Last edited by burnz; 09-04-2015 at 05:41 PM.
Old 19-10-2009, 06:28 PM   #5
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

Kookaburras taste like chicken you know.....

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
tex is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2009, 11:18 PM   #6

Kookaburras, great bird, we're taking over their bushland areas so they have to invade our home space.
I'm no greeny, not that there's anything wrong with that, but I reckon kookas are neat and always chuck them a scrap at a barbie.
Them and maggies are always welcome.
Old 19-10-2009, 11:27 PM   #7

Was at a pub in the Dandenongs a few months back .... sign on the door "Beware of kookaburra's taking your food"

Thought yep no worries, cute birds .... untill one lands on your plate and your pushing them off your steak!! Bloody hell the're big when they stare at you from your lap! I must admit I got one hell of a fright ......

Don't beleive it has anything to do with taking over the bush .... its more that they are comfortable around people and are just out to get a free meal!

Old 19-10-2009, 11:28 PM   #8
hendrixhc

mmm kookaburras would be more welcome than the inlaws!!

Living out in the sticks we quite often get visits from rabbits, foxes, kangaroos, ducks and of course everyones favourites black snakes!

Personally hate the snakes cause it ends up me having to slash all the yard, but still rather them than the inlaws!
1982 XE Falcon
1978 XCGS Falcon
1993 XG Ute
2015 FGX XR8
hendrixhc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-10-2009, 11:34 PM   #9

Originally Posted by tex
Seems you like to cook a burra or two :
Old 19-10-2009, 11:41 PM   #10

Originally Posted by tex
Seems you like to cook a burra or two :
Old 20-10-2009, 01:01 AM   #11
V3RSAC3
... Fear it!

Originally Posted by tex
Yeah but cat's are easier to catch! Their the other white meat! ... Also Penguins. I like Penguins., With abit of chilli on em'.

Nah nah I like dogs., Just can't eat a whole one.
Chrysler 300C Sedan
SY Territory Ghia
V3RSAC3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2009, 10:06 AM   #12

I miss the kookaburra's. We never see them around my area anymore which is a shame.. There isn't any more development around here either which makes it a little strange - especially since i live about 50m from the Cumberland State Forest, another small reserve and it's a very leafy suburb anyway..
Old 20-10-2009, 10:13 AM   #13

Originally Posted by auslandau
Was at a pub in the Dandenongs a few months back .... sign on the door "Beware of kookaburra's taking your food"

Thought yep no worries, cute birds .... untill one lands on your plate and your pushing them off your steak!! Bloody hell the're big when they stare at you from your lap! I must admit I got one hell of a fright ......

Don't beleive it has anything to do with taking over the bush .... its more that they are comfortable around people and are just out to get a free meal!
Had the same problem at our place at Echuca, Kooka's would sit on the table demanding food, they got damn cheeky too!
Then at night the bushy tail possums would hang around the camp fire for bread... Half the time they'd sit and chill out with us they were so comfortable..

Old 20-10-2009, 11:23 AM   #14

Had the same problem at our place at Echuca, Kooka's would sit on the table demanding food, they got damn cheeky too!
Then at night the bushy tail possums would hang around the camp fire for bread... Half the time they'd sit and chill out with us they were so comfortable..
knock back a stubby or two?

Old 20-10-2009, 11:28 AM   #15

The possums used to steal our cereal.. little bastards.
Old 20-10-2009, 11:50 AM   #16

Originally Posted by 76txcoupe
knock back a stubby or two?
They never seemed to notice the vodka in the breed till they tried to jump up a tree!
There was one young bloke next door who was a bit of a smarty pants and thought he was a bit tough, we all passed the hat$$ one night to dare him to pick up one of the cuddly friendly possums... needless to say it ended badly... VERY badly...

Old 20-10-2009, 12:29 PM   #17
BIGJB

we all passed the hat$$ one night to dare him to pick up one of the cuddly friendly possums... needless to say it ended badly... VERY badly...
Nothing funnier to watch than someone trying to
handle a wild possum.
BIGJB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2009, 12:36 PM   #18

Originally Posted by 99GHIA
Nothing funnier to watch than someone trying to
handle a wild possum.
It was like watching someone pick up a hot potato covered in barbed wire.....

We didnt see him again till the next day, funny thing is the possum was back half an hr later looking for more food! We named him Jason after the kid.. he spent about 4 summers with us.

Old 20-10-2009, 01:36 PM   #19

hahaha that's gold can't believe the bloke fell for it though you'd be mad to pick up a wild possum.

Vodka soaked bread? Jeez as small as they are they'd be tanked quite quick!

Old 20-10-2009, 01:42 PM   #20
BIGJB

It was like watching someone pick up a hot potato covered in barbed wire.....
We didnt see him again till the next day, .
No doubt he looked like he had run through a barbed wire fence too. lol
BIGJB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-10-2009, 01:47 PM   #21

Originally Posted by auslandau
Its more that they are comfortable around people and are just out to get a free meal!
Sounds like men in general...

Old 20-10-2009, 06:12 PM   #22

they are a stout looking bird, with character.
Old 20-10-2009, 09:30 PM   #23
Pinch

Was camping a while back and a goanna popped in uninvited. Polished off a WHOLE one of those 15 packs of eggs shink wrapped in plastic - it got past that.

We found out by hearing the car horns - all us boys were fishing down by the river, while the girls were back at the camp a few hundred metres away. They jumped in one of the cars and beeped the horn till we came back. The 'anna was so full it couldn't climb back over the log it appeared from. And we were NOT full at breakfast the next morning!

Then a kangaroo stole everyones left shoe (later found in the middle of the campsite), and a wombat ran dead on into my side while I was sleeping in a tent. Coolendel for those NSWelshpersons.

Have a problem with kookaburra's nicking snags off the bbq on the back of the boat when we go up to Jerusalem Bay (Hawkesbury) too. Sneaky buggers take them right off the hotplate!
Old 20-10-2009, 10:47 PM   #24
I ♥ EDM

Wow, this is first ive heard of kookas doing this. Learn something new everyday.
SSD-85 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post