Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Mondeo

Old 30-10-2009, 04:52 PM   #1
saf453

Default Mondeo fuel consumption

I have a 2008 Mondeo and its fuel figures are atrocious. A common average even with a bit of freeway driving has been 14.5L per 100klms. Currently the computer is reading 16.4. I have checked this with a full to empty test and the computer is accurate. Even Dale Ford has done this for me with the same results. I am being told by the head of maintenance that this is just something to expect. Premium fuel amazingly seems to make it worse. Driving it using semi auto makes no difference. I am by no means a lead foot. Is anyone else having this problem? Is a cold air filter a possible solution?

saf453 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-10-2009, 05:58 PM   #2

Something not right definitely. I average 9.5 around town in an XR5 Mondeo and between 7.5 and 7.8 om a long trip.
Old 30-10-2009, 09:33 PM   #3
ian b

I am showing an average of 8.7 after 32000k's in an XR5T so I would say you have a problem.
Old 30-10-2009, 09:37 PM   #4
Superoo
Mondeo TDCi / BA XR6T

Many variables go into fuel consumption. What's your average speed? Without taking this into consideration it's impossible to compare individual consumption figures.
Old 30-10-2009, 09:43 PM   #5
Rapscallion
Seduce G6ET

You definately have a problem. I average between 8 and 8.5L in my Zetec running 95 octane. I get about 750k's to a tank before refilling and I don't let it run too low.

How many k's to a tank are you getting?
Rapscallion is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2009, 10:20 AM   #6
DRU842

My XR5 figures are in line with Bucky
2017 Mustang Lightening Blue, Cobb Intercooler, CAI, AccessPort, Turbo Blanket & V2 Exhaust, Mishimoto Down-Pipe & Overflow Tank, GFB DV+, Custom CRD Tune. Ford Performance Short Throw Shifter & Strut Brace. DBA T3 Brakes & Pads. Braided Brake Lines. H&R Coilovers. Anderson CF Track Pack Spoiler & Tailgate Panel. Blue CF/Leather Steering Wheel.
DRU842 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2009, 10:29 AM   #7
saf453

Average speed is 27kph
Old 31-10-2009, 02:25 PM   #8
FordFan1

I average 13.2 in my XR6 Turbo and that is with spirited stop start driving.

Can't wait to get into an XR5 Turbo, 9.5 sounds far better. What size tanks do mondeo's have?
FordFan1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2009, 03:12 PM   #9
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

I would call an ave speed of 27 to be mainly city driving. For comparison I average 75+km/hr.
naddis01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2009, 04:25 PM   #10

Originally Posted by FordFan1
I average 13.2 in my XR6 Turbo and that is with spirited stop start driving.

Can't wait to get into an XR5 Turbo, 9.5 sounds far better. What size tanks do mondeo's have?
65 Litre tank.
Old 31-10-2009, 04:58 PM   #11
wusyc

65 Litre tank.
I think it is 70 litre tank.
Old 31-10-2009, 05:10 PM   #12
Superoo
Mondeo TDCi / BA XR6T

Originally Posted by saf453
Average speed is 27kph
Unfortunately, I think you've got your answer. 27kph average is quite low and you mentioned a little highway stretch so I'd assume lots of inner city low speed stop start driving to get the average that low. The Mondeo is a large car and continuos starts from standstill will take their toll on fuel consumption. This is why you can't compare figures directly with others who may average twice your average speed. Interestingly, the urban fuel consumption for mondeo is listed at 14.1 l/100k so your experience is about right.

For comparisons sake, I get around 14.5 in my XR6T with an average of around 36 kph. At 27kph, this would be over 18 easily. Have you driven another car previously over the same route? If so, how did that compare?
Old 31-10-2009, 06:05 PM   #13
cammag

Superoo is spot on.

For one tank a couple of months ago I had 14.82l/100km. It was all slow stop & start driving with an average speed 23km/hr.

So far this year I have 10,373km with an average speed of 51.62 and 10.54l/100km.
Old 31-10-2009, 07:08 PM   #14

Originally Posted by wusyc
I think it is 70 litre tank.
I thought it was 65. I filled yesterday with less than 20 k's in the tank and it took 64 litres. Maybe theres some kind of reserve?
Old 31-10-2009, 07:52 PM   #15
Scaffy
Rlegaur Mbemer

Something not right definitely. I average 9.5 around town in an XR5 Mondeo and between 7.5 and 7.8 om a long trip.
On your long trips, is your car loaded up or is there just a couple of you? Our XR5 has only managed a best of around 8.5l/100km, sitting on about 114km/h. This is with myself, the wifey and 2 kids and the boot loaded up with probably a couple of hundred kilos of crap!

Around town, we can't get it under 10l/100km, no matter how hard we try. It's gradually been creeping up and we're both conscious of it and try to keep it down.
[YEAH NAH] Red EL XR8 with Trick Flow top end kit, 70mm tb, 73mm maf, 24lb injectors, tweecer, 3.73s & tired T5 = 275rwhp & 13.155@105mph NA. 12.375@116.73 N2O - Off the road, awaiting 347 293ci and Astro Performance gear-kitted T5 (A5)

White EL Series II XR8, manual, high flow cats, single 3" exhaust and Quarterhorse = 236rwhp and 14.18@97.5mph - E7 heads FTW! - SOLD
Scaffy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-10-2009, 08:24 PM   #16

Originally Posted by thechad
On your long trips, is your car loaded up or is there just a couple of you? Our XR5 has only managed a best of around 8.5l/100km, sitting on about 114km/h. This is with myself, the wifey and 2 kids and the boot loaded up with probably a couple of hundred kilos of crap!

Around town, we can't get it under 10l/100km, no matter how hard we try. It's gradually been creeping up and we're both conscious of it and try to keep it down.
I'm in Canberra, so the traffic flows pretty well. The town trips I do is to and from work, not so much anymore, but it is a 60k round trip, with about 30 of those on a main road with no lights at 100k per hour. The remainder of the trip is not bumper to bumper. I think this could be the difference.

In comparison, when I had my XR5 focus, I managed as low as 9.1 on the same trip. I experimented with different fuels, speeds, throttle use and gear changes. In the end I gave up and just drove the car. I use Vortex 98. When I did 9.1, I was using 95 unleaded. I actually found 95 was more fuel efficient than 98. Now I just stick to 98. For the record, I've never used 95 in the Mondeo. Only 98 and Only Vortex98
Old 31-10-2009, 10:21 PM   #17
LRsedan
Now XR5hatch!

My XR5 consumption is the same as Bucknaked and Dru842.

If your only averaging 27km/h thats the reason, thats very slow. Im averaging around 45km/h to get my figures.
LRsedan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-11-2009, 04:34 PM   #18
piquetcon

My XR5 averages 28km/h and my trip computer is always just under 12l/100km.
piquetcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-11-2009, 03:17 AM   #19
NZ XR6

I've never seen anything that high on mine. Even with 100% city driving, it's never gone above 12 l/100km.

Maybe you could borrow a demonstrator from your dealer, and do the same drive?
Old 03-11-2009, 11:35 AM   #20
saf453

Thanks for the feedback all. Looks like it's the length of drives mainly with low ave speed. Rarely loaded up though. Have only run a diesel over comparative area so that is no real comparison. Incidently when we have always gotten good figures out on the highway.
Old 03-11-2009, 11:07 PM   #21
apstar

Originally Posted by saf453
Thanks for the feedback all. Looks like it's the length of drives mainly with low ave speed. Rarely loaded up though. Have only run a diesel over comparative area so that is no real comparison. Incidently when we have always gotten good figures out on the highway.
Mate if I was you get the car out on an expressway and give it a decent 2hr run at that speed your engine is not even getting warm enough to give you good fuel figures once every 2 months I take my TDCi out for a run to Katoomba along the M4 early on a sunday morning sitting on 110kph

apstar
apstar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2009, 01:03 AM   #22
warren77

My May 2008 XR5 is currently sitting on 16,280km with 10.2L and an average speed of 37km/hr.
That is mainly peak hour driving, driven quite hard at times with the air con on and sun roof open.
warren77 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2009, 09:15 AM   #23
bathurst77

Mines Zetech, 45,000km.
Average speed 59 average fuel 9.5.
And a tankful is about 750km so thats right.

Mostly up and down blue mountains, highway, freeway, trip into city traffic once every few weeks.
bathurst77 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2009, 10:42 AM   #24
r2d2

R2D2 XR5
Average Speed 55 Average Fuel 10.4
I do a bit of city driving with a heavy foot.
Old 04-11-2009, 11:37 AM   #25

you defanatly have a problem i ave 23k and return 13.5 in my V8.

i'd have a look at some ovious things like failing cat, O2, map/maf, injectors, air filter.
ask ford to do a softwear upgrade.
for an eco type car that isn't very eco.
Old 04-11-2009, 12:19 PM   #26
mac_man_luke

i average around 25km/hr and get 19L/100km in my XR8 ute

Id have thought the mondeo would be better with similar conditions...
mac_man_luke is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-11-2009, 04:04 PM   #27
RicOz

I think these results are pretty acurate. Ive had my MB Zetec Wagon for about 4 months now and do a lot of metro stop start going short distance to work trips. I normally average 28km/h for about between 13.5 to 14.5l/100km. I think the lack of torque in the 2.3L petrol engine could be the reason especially when you're doing short distance city driving.

However, I was sitting on 14.5l/100km for nearly the whole tank then did one 25 min trip on the M7 motorway and it went all the way down to 12L/100km. Also on tests ive done only on the freeway, i usually get around 9.5l/100km.

So the tip is, take it easy when the lights go green to save on a bit on consumption, otherwise if you do a lot of highway driving, you should have no concerns.
Old 04-11-2009, 04:25 PM   #28
Dusty1
Giddy up!

I reckon any car in stop start traffic will be producing bad figures. Isn't that way hybrids shut down the petrol motor and run the electric ones when starting and in stop start traffic?
Oct 07 built Mondeo TDCi hatch, Stardust Silver, bluetooth, leather, tow pack, sunroof.
Dusty1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post