Old 06-04-2010, 10:27 PM   #31
phoenix99

I think the key is knowing which franchises are the best,

I have had one pedders experience, rang them up because I needed a new set of coilers, brang the car down 30mins later and got the car back by c.o.b same day and couldn't be happier.

btw this was pedders in dandenong
phoenix99 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-04-2010, 10:42 PM   #32
naddis01
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

Originally Posted by Fev
Yeah i've been known to tie my shoes together in double knots after those driving related episodes - nearly broke my neck!
You would get a run on ACA or Today Tonight with a story like that.

Call the lawyers surely there is someone to sue.
naddis01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-04-2010, 10:56 PM   #33

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

sorry, i wasn't meaning it like that at all. in the segment, not once did the '2nd opinion' say that the pedders shops were quoting on stuff that wasn't worn or didn't need fixing. they just said that the car would be o.k. as long as some things were addressed in line with normal servicing. i'd also go out on a limb and say the RACQ answers were 'led' by the journalists.

the quotes were always going to be different. pedders will quote using there own parts, naturally, whereas the RACQ can quote using any brand and these will more often than not be a lot cheaper. it would be interesting to see how different the quotes were if they disregarded the dollar value and just looked at the worn components.

pedders were critisized for the lack of time the cars spent on the hoist, but in fairness to pedders, these guys specialise in suspension, so you could assume they could pick all they need to within the 10-15min. it doesn't take too much to be wrong to clock up in excess of $1000.
RACQ inspectors do not quote because they do not repair, just inspect.

Anyway, I wonder how many pedders stores were hit in their little "sting" and how many came up ok?

I think it is just a case of life as normal when dealing with franchises, they use the name, the products and the advertising for a fee, the service is up to the management of the store. Like any other service, you need to do your homework and find the good one.

Although I do believe where there is smoke, there is normally fire, I do not think this is a policy of operation put in place by the Pedders franchise.
Old 07-04-2010, 07:14 AM   #34

I am very close to a Pedders store owner, and was in his store yesterday and he told me this was going to be on last night.

I had my XP with them to get it roadworthy as some of the suspension and steering parts are shot, I have good mechanical knowledge, I was walking around the car with the mechanics, yes 2 of them, there always is for parts of these checks, and I agreed with everthing they found.

ACA is a scumbag TV program, it rests alongside TT and 60 Minutes. I have refused to watch any of them for years, but I succumbed last night to support my mate and I will continue to do, prydey (above) is spot on, I have seen this in action when the Pedders blokes are talking to customers, sometimes all the customer hears is the price, not all the "straight advice" that goes with it.

I might do a little expose on how these 3 scumbag TV programs work.

A few years ago I worked for a large heavy vehcile driver training organisation, 60 Minutes asked them to provide a Volvo F12 truck with a driver for a story they were doing on Volvo, the driver training company provided said items, Jan Vendt was the reporter, well when the truck didn't do what was claimed it would do (by a disgruntled owner of a Volvo truck - one who could afford the repayments), the driver training company's driver was aked by Jana to throw himself around behind the wheel of the truck for the camera's, he refused obviously, but this is how these scumbags work.

In another case, ACA, I think aproached the same driver training company to supply a loaded trailer for a story on Ford Louisville LTL9000's. This driver training company supplied a trailer for the story, well AGAIN, this bloke with his LTL was sooking because Ford had sold him a dud truck, he was pulling road trains with a truck with chassis rails, drive train all set up for single trailer highway work, he bought the wrong truck for the job and was blaming Ford, this bloke was in the singlet, shorts and thongs, his truck had twin stacks with no mufflers, he used the Jake brake to slow it down when bob-tail - just a ************, but ACA ran the story - they are just scumbags.
Old 07-04-2010, 01:55 PM   #35
PeddStaff2
Pedders Suspension

Thanks to most of our Ford Forum friends (and many, many others today) for your support. Although we have faith in our people we take these allegations incredibly seriously as our business has built its reputation on trust and quality and we will be extensively investigating these allegations.

Please find attached a link to a release on our site which may provide some information that was somehow missed in the program last night.

http://www.pedders.com.au/news/1/article73

I hope you are all having a much better day than me!
PeddStaff2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2010, 02:12 PM   #36

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

Do you know if they showed all the cars that they sent in for test? I would not be surprised if they sent in more and just picked out the ones that had the greatest difficulty.

Also after reading your press release, a lot of this makes sense. You mark it down as requiring immediate replacement if replacement is likely to be required within 10,000 km (fair enough too). The RACQ inspector said that some of the components on that day were ok but would need to be inspected at the regular service. Too me this means Pedders said it will not make 10,000 replace it (fair call) and RACQ said it is ok now but will need replacing.

To me, that is essentially the same thing but Pedders are being more conservative in their trust of the life expectancy of the questionable component. You can not slam them for that.

Finally, anyone that thinks they can pay $14 for a suspension and steering check, expecting it to take 2 hrs and not expect the company to suggest their own parts for repairs required, is a fool. Of course they are going suggest their own services and parts, that is how they keep a business going.
Old 07-04-2010, 02:16 PM   #37

Originally Posted by Big Trev
ACA is a scumbag TV program, it rests alongside TT and 60 Minutes. I have refused to watch any of them for years, but I succumbed last night to support my mate and I will continue to do, prydey (above) is spot on, I have seen this in action when the Pedders blokes are talking to customers, sometimes all the customer hears is the price, not all the "straight advice" that goes with it.
Well I take a different view. As a consumer I think it's important that we are made aware of these "blatant" rip off attempts.

If the woman in the program was quoted $3,000 for unnecessary repairs - repairs of which the average Jo would not be aware of (unlike obvious repairs like needing a new battery or starter motor because your car won't start) then that's certainly something of interest to the public.

Now you can't tar them all with the same brush - Claude and his team at the Pedders Franchise at Liverpool NSW are top blokes to deal with. From where I live I'd pass 3 Pedders stores to get to them.
2005 BA MK2 FPV GT - 6 SPEED MANUAL , SILHOUETTE, SWISSVAX, SUNROOF, BILSTEIN AND LOVELLS, FACTORY GENUINE 19'S, X-FORCE STAINLESS QUAD CATBACK, ADVANCE HEADERS, 200 CPSI CATS, BLUEPOWER CAI, HERROD BREATHER KIT, 4:11 DIFF RATIO, MAL WOOD OPT 3+ CLUTCH, BILLET SHIFTER, MELLINGS 10227, NOW WITH REVERSE CAMERA/SENSORS, ALPINE SPEAKERS & SUB - CUSTOM TUNED TO 275 RWKW

GT0132 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2010, 02:23 PM   #38

Media beat up once again ! Always 2 sides to a storey.
Well done Pedders you have far more satisfied customers than not imo......
Have used a variety of Sydney stores with results I expected,especially wheel alignments know their stuff !
Old 07-04-2010, 02:33 PM   #39

I know from my dealings with pedders stores, which was Liverpool with my VN Gp A, one in Perth on my ED and Capalaba with my SP, I have only had positive experiences.

If I do any suspension mods to our Mini and our new F6 (when we pick it), I know where I will be going.
Old 07-04-2010, 02:43 PM   #40
BOSHOG
avenge me

ive had dealings with Pedders at gateshead (newcastle) and i found them very good. i just went in to get sway bars fitted (i sourced them elsewhere) and they didnt try to "upsell" at all, which i like from a business as i generally know what im after before i go somewhere

also i know of a forum member here involved with Pedders and hes done lots of work on my car without ever trying to sell me a single product.

in short, i will not let the actions of a minority spoil it for the rest and i will use pedders in the future
Old 07-04-2010, 05:09 PM   #41

its just a beat up for ratings
nothin more nothin less
IF aca was serious about the situation they would do a follow up on the shonky work
i mean seriously "who" cant get a road worthy over the phone ????
wouldnt that be worse for the general public
rather than a beat up by a over rated , lounge lizard evening program ???
Old 07-04-2010, 06:30 PM   #42
platinumXR
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter.

Originally Posted by GT0132
As a consumer I think it's important that we are made aware of these "blatant" rip off attempts.
If that is true, then I would strongly recommend you not pay ANY attention to ANYTHING ACA or TT have to say on such matters. They have, and always will be sensationalist, ignorant, agenda pushing, biased and misinformed.

Toys:
2017.5 LZ Focus RS, Magnetic Grey my new pocket rocket
2008 BF2 RTV Ute
1993 EB2 S-XR8 Sedan, Platinum, manual (now sold)
1975 XB Fairmont GS Sedan, Tropic Gold...or Starlight Blue...not sure yet...(SOLD)
platinumXR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2010, 08:27 PM   #43
JOSH

Originally Posted by BOSHOG
ive had dealings with Pedders at gateshead (newcastle) and i found them very good. i just went in to get sway bars fitted (i sourced them elsewhere) and they didnt try to "upsell" at all, which i like from a business as i generally know what im after before i go somewhere

also i know of a forum member here involved with Pedders and hes done lots of work on my car without ever trying to sell me a single product.

in short, i will not let the actions of a minority spoil it for the rest and i will use pedders in the future
so should the person you know be a better salesman

Blue Power Racing Developments
(03) 93053000
Ray Prescott Auto
(02) 49902488
JOSH is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-04-2010, 08:46 PM   #44
BOSHOG
avenge me

Originally Posted by JOSH
so should the person you know be a better salesman
i dont take well to sales pitches lol

you know who im seeing for ALL suspension work from now on.... and theres not a damn thing you can do about it! lol

ps, if i was keepin the STI id already have PEDDERS coilovers and swaybars fitted
Old 07-04-2010, 09:09 PM   #45

I use Pedders safety check to pick up anything wrong with the suspension components, and when talking to them, they usually point out what's urgent, what's not, an itemised list of how much each bit is, labour charges etc and what you should do now to save money on fitting later (eg if out control arm bushes need doing now, might as well do inners as well - saves on labour pulling the thing out twice). This doesn't mean i get them to do the work though; i pick and choose on price and generally get some done at Pedders, and some of the easier stuff myself, and some at the local mechanic who's good at replacing what I can't.

Old 09-04-2010, 07:26 AM   #46
Pedders Bendigo
Suspension Expert

Just wish to say a thanks to all for the positive comments. As I own a franchise store & have done for 10 years & been with Pedders for 14 years have found them to be the best in the business.

Like any group we have the good & the Bad but what most have said on this thread is quite true. I have always used honesty with all our customers & have nothing to hide as we are more than happy to show our customers any issues under there car on the hoist & explain the concerns.

My staff here know that it is a culture for my store & will never be any different for as long as I am here & this is how Pedders Head Office try to enstill that to the group.
The one thing you can't control is people as everyone always have differeing opinions as this thread has shown.

Anyway glad to see most have seen the show for what it is never did get to see the story from both sides.

13 Phillips Drive, Kangaroo Flat, Bendigo, Victoria, Australia, 3555
Tel: +613 5447 0009 Fax: +613 5447 2229
Email: bendigo@pedders.com.au

Multi Award Winning store Top Regional 03, 04, 06, 07.08,09,10 : Top Store 2005 & 2008 & 2010.
Pedders Bendigo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2010, 08:11 AM   #47

Good onya Grant, keep up the good work.
Old 09-04-2010, 08:18 AM   #48

I've been to Pedders in Ferntree Gully VIC a couple of times and have always found them to be very thorough and accomodating at short notice.

Great customer service and I'd definately go there again!!

Bearman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-04-2010, 07:39 PM   #49
Bobman

OT, but on TT tonight they had scammers on carsales. I think we all know about this.

One person sent someone $7000 to UK. How silly can some people be? You're selling the car and pay someone else? :

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-04-2010, 07:31 PM   #50
Angeldust

Originally Posted by geckoGT
I know from my dealings with pedders stores, which was Liverpool with my VN Gp A, one in Perth on my ED and Capalaba with my SP, I have only had positive experiences.

If I do any suspension mods to our Mini and our new F6 (when we pick it), I know where I will be going.

A long time ago, i got my torana all refitted at pedders in capalaba store and they did a wonderfull job. I will be looking at shocks/springs for my SS in the not too distant future and i was wondering how they were going.

Thx for the heads up, ill be taking my car there.

Z series Clubsport HRT edition..
e46 320ci 2.2ltr Stocko
Angeldust is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-04-2010, 07:50 PM   #51
Biggav
On the search for cubes..

my simple answer to these questions that were asked on the program is... take more interest in your car you dont need to know what a F1 team knows but geez after working in the car parts game so many people out there have no clue not that hard to pick up a gregorys or just browse the net sometimes to find out.

Current Projects
ED SOHC 3v 5.4 Cammed 5.4 3V Garage Ornament Project
Project Brimstone XE Wagon Phase 6 powered by Coyote

Long Gone Projects
EA Falcon SOHC 4.0 237rwhp
BA 3V 'The Taxi' DJR320 Kit, G6ET Wheels, Lunati Voodoo Cams 320rwhp
Biggav is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-04-2010, 01:33 AM   #52
Stoney!
Happy Volkswagen owner

I'm assuming RACQ and RAA are like NRMA in NSW, which we up here call them No Real Mechanic Available.

Stoney!

Originally Posted by 04redxr8
Holden are kicking the enemy when they are down. Trouble is Ford seems to lay down a lot.
Stoney! is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-04-2010, 04:07 AM   #53
FG XR
Custom FG XR6!

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always keen to get on board and help others along the way 

never trusted a RACQ person..... they are mechanics who didnt quiet make it. Yet some people think the sun shines out their behinds and they take their word as the holy gospel why? simple. brand. R.A.C.
Old 17-04-2010, 08:59 AM   #54
XDV800

Originally Posted by geckoGT

Originally Posted by Angeldust
A long time ago, i got my torana all refitted at pedders in capalaba store and they did a wonderfull job. I will be looking at shocks/springs for my SS in the not too distant future and i was wondering how they were going.

Thx for the heads up, ill be taking my car there.

I visited the Capalaba store the other day and was informed that the ACA tour breezed through their establishment in a Mazda 3. The reporter acted like a complete B.I.T.C.H. but the Capalaba stores integrity was not brought into question.
HOWEVER, immediatly after the story aired, they have had cancellations, and bookings have dropped, the place was empty.
Hopefully, this will all blow over soon.
XDV800 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-04-2010, 09:03 AM   #55
OLDFORDNUT

Originally Posted by platinumXR
Not sure I can do it again; last time I watched A Current Affair the right side of my face dropped and I couldn't tie my shoes for a week.
hahahahahahahah,i like that
OLDFORDNUT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-04-2010, 10:32 AM   #56

Originally Posted by yzfr101
HOWEVER, immediatly after the story aired, they have had cancellations, and bookings have dropped, the place was empty.
Hopefully, this will all blow over soon.
That is only a bit of what that shyte program has caused, there are other far reaching issues that have impacted on the Pedders business and all the honest people within, including the Pedders themselves.

I am told that the 'husband and wife' that were on the TV are "interesting"!!!! and I will leave it at that.

It is not fair that this rubbish is allowed to go to air.