Are the Supercars on yet?
Got my ute cos i'm a country boy, it's great to chuck the swag and esky in the back and what ever else. also fell in love witht the AU XR front when it first come out. and i just like the look of utes. this one is No. 2
I had an 81 Celica for my first car, though I was a Ford man. The folks wanted me to get something smaller and smaller engined. So I got anything rear drive, that car was a heap of fun though. Sold that and moved into a mock up EA SVO, that got a cam, chip and exhaust...plus a dirty great big dint in the side door after a moment of teenage lunacy. I like dthat car...except for the constant head warping on those dirty EA motors!
That got traded in for an Ef Fairmont. That was converted to a manual, and got a Jim Mock DEV3 kit, lowered, mags. Was a good car, had fun in it. Never missed a beat. Split up with my now ex, she kept that car and I moved to a manual EF XR6. That stayed pretty standard, though came into more money in the career so was looking at whacking a turbo on the side of it....not having the resources or know how, I figured I might have to look around for a BA. So, after looking for about one month, a Velocity Blue 6 speed manual BA Mk2 XR6 Turbo was bought for $28500 on the road, which was dirt cheap back in 2006. Only 16000km and 1 year old. It stayed stock for about 3 months.....Nowadays it's running 12s. I bought it for the looks, the reputation and the ability to get insane amounts of power out of it without sacrificing any driveability. |
#3 | ||
Formerly D3v[]
cos it was the only one id ever seen and i wanted a tough old car!
#4 | ||
re
Location: Victoria - where being slow & incompetent is considered being "safe"
I wanted a daily driver that handled & braked very well stock, I wanted to use it for track days, I didn't need a large engine or 4 door practicality & I didn't want a turbo as it is just too tempting to throw money at them. 10 years later I still have it - a Honda DC2R Integra (although I was tempted by S15 Silvias)
Lap times & reliability influenced my previous purchases. Now I'm looking for a tow car & newish FG Falcons or second hand Euros are on the radar.
Scuderia Rev: Otto the tow pig - 2007 3.0 litre Coupé, vernünftig schnelle aber kein peilstab, Bathurst 2007 und 2010 zwölf Stunde Gewinner Jaffa the angry ant - mid 70's Honda 市民の, 73 と立方インチ LSD Elle "the body" shell - early 70's Datsun フェアレディ coupe. いい体は彼女の内側、内側と土台を待つ |
#5 | ||
'97 EL XR6
I had around $10,000NZ to spend when I first got here two and a half years ago. I was looking at a Nissan Wingroad (with a 2500cc NEO engine) in a used car lot when someone fired up a car, the noise made my ears stick up. Followed the noise and found a '97 EL XR6 in blue with 114,000 on the clock, gave it the once over and paid $8,500NZ for it and drove it home and I still have it.
#6 | ||
Key factors:
-Its an El XR6, that equals sex in english -It had a sunroof -Lowish kays -good condition So much for keeping it standard! lol
#7 | ||
![]() Join Date: Apr 2006
When i was about 10 or so i remember seeing an ef/el XR8 for the 1st time, i said to myself thats an awesome looking car i want one of those one day, so when the time came to replace my reliable old EB i decided it was time to get the car that really made me want a Falcon in the first place, it took me a while to find the combo i wanted, EL XR8 with a 5speed in it, but in the end i got what i wanted and will never sell the beast
![]()
#8 | ||
The BEST Falcon is the AU
I wanted a car that was alittle rare and would hold price fairly well, I did want to make money but I didn't want to lose heaps! It had to be v8 and manual and fully optioned! also top of the line was a must! And I refused to buy a ford with a boss engine! So AU was the best thing for me!
15months on, I'm still in love with it! |
#9 | ||
hav allways had fords and allways aimed for a v8, but up in nq good 1s that haven't been raped are a task to find, my ute chose me when i went to Melbourne to look for one and chased all over the place for a week for a sedan. Ended up with the first car i looked at which was a series 3 AU XR8 ute. Thought i,d sell it when i got home as i got i for a great price but the drive home changed my mind and had it for 4 years now
The Eb chose me as well, allways wanted an EB XR8 and one fell into my lap, unmodified original with factory sunroof and manual for $2000 and $200 got RWC |
#10 | ||
Youth worker
I've gotta start with my first car... Sorry to take libertys. It was an XE (I wanted an EB thanks to Glen Setons PJ Falcon), but saw the XE and hoped parents wouldnt notice it (they had an XE S pack) cause I wanted a newer car. 4 months later folks saw it after they bought me an XE wagon to play with for $100, and stopped to take a look. It was lowered, hot wire wheels, dark red, fairmont interior sports exhaust, but the clincher was... It was built on my 1st Birthday!! 12th April 1983! I bought it and completely forgot the EB!
Current BA. Had been given (lease car) 5 Commodore S packs VX and VY, they were a good car, but then got my first BA (lease) and I couldnt get over how much better the BA was! It blew me away compaired to the limp wristed VY! After I got out of leasing I bought an EL, but REALLY missed my BA. So saved enough money and as soon as I had enough went and bought my Futura! Was so excited, and love it to this day! My wife also loved it, even though she HATED all things automotive (esp guys with done up rides) that we bought her a BA Ghia in Dec... Guess who else now mods her car!!
#11 | ||
I bought mine because you don't see many Fully Optioned EA Fairmont GHIA 5 speed manuals around.
Full 3" exhaust 2.92 Diff Ratio Easily reaches 250kph and still more legs left. Needs some paintwork but is all good apart from that. |
#12 | ||
Impulse.
Most of my cars are impulse purchases. ![]() |