You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-05-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
Bobman

Default Police operation in Melbourne tonight 05/05

I'd advise against driving on Princes Highway between Huntingdale and Clayton Roads tonight from 7pm.

One of those operations with EPA, immigration etc.

Heads up.

Current Cars:
2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current)
2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current)
2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current)
2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020)
1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019)
1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019)
2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018)
2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013)
1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010)
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006)
1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005)
1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005)
Bobman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 06:48 PM   #2
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Default Re: Police operation in Melbourne tonight 05/05

Will there be delays or are you just saying don't drive illegally?
Old 05-05-2011, 06:57 PM   #3

Originally Posted by Professor_Evans
Will there be delays or are you just saying don't drive illegally?
I think he's saying try to avoid it if your car has anything that is technically illegal, or anything that could possibly cause you some unnecessary problems if you were to be stopped.
chrisfpv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 06:57 PM   #4
Bobman

Bit of both I'd imagine.

Everytime they've run these things, there have been significant traffic delays, so I'd avoid at all costs if you need to be somewhere or if you shouldn't be driving (for whatever reason).

Also, if you don't want to be deported, might be good to avoid the area and get your affairs in order.

Current Cars:
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
Old 05-05-2011, 07:02 PM   #5

Thanks for the heads up mate .. I'm sure no-one here would be doing anything illegal ?
Old 05-05-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

So just let me get this straight, The police, Vic roads, Immigration, The EPA and who ever else they want can stop all cars and do Breath tests, inspections, searches and what else they want? WOW talk about a police state. I didn't realise it had got so bad. I left melb over 7yrs ago.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 07:19 PM   #7
THE CADBURY KID

They need to do that here in wa and clean up our roads of some of the dodgy cars and drivers.
P.S dont forget your green card
THE CADBURY KID is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 07:20 PM   #8

You make it out like this only happens in VIC.

Police + EPA is pretty normal, immigration is odd though; must want to get out of the office and get overtime.
Old 05-05-2011, 07:36 PM   #9
JG65TE

yeah , immigration is weird. epa , sheriffs office , rbt, rdt is pretty standard these days. and they wonder why the public has no respect for them..... when i say public i mean me. dont wanna get all u people locked up on chrissy island with me.
JG65TE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 07:44 PM   #10
93EB_SXR6
I totalled my XR6

Originally Posted by FREE02
They need to do that here in wa and clean up our roads of some of the dodgy cars and drivers.
P.S dont forget your green card
By "Green Card" do you mean my old CITB card? Because mine expired earlier this year, so I'd be screwed.

Nah, but in all seriousness I will admit that I'm no angel and sometimes bend the rules a bit.
Its always good to get the heads up about info like this, even though it won't impact me.
Old 05-05-2011, 07:47 PM   #11
conordec

nothing wrong with a bit of a clean up, immigration is good, lots of overstayers etc
same old saying, if you're not guilty you have nothing to worry about.
reef green xwgt falcon
lime green HT GTS Monaro 308 4 speed
reef green ZC Fairlane black interior
conordec is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 08:43 PM   #12
Bobman

Also 2 booze buses on South Road on the same side. Just left mum's and saw them both. One's outside Brighton golf course and the other is just near the corner of Nepean Highway.

Whilst it's good to get drink drivers off the road, surely they could put some resources into other crimes that are often ignored (but that's for another thread).

I understand Victoria Police are also seeking a pay rise and were going to flash their lights near speed camera sites.

Originally Posted by conordec
nothing wrong with a bit of a clean up, immigration is good, lots of overstayers etc
That I agree with BUT to be inconvenienced for some time is just unacceptable. When they did one at 9am on Princes Highway in Malvern, some who had done nothing wrong had to wait in the jam for up to half an hour.

They did a road block in Diamond Creek recently that angered many motorists. Police said they would never do that again.

Current Cars:
2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008)
Old 05-05-2011, 08:48 PM   #13
stang65
FPRJET

yep just left Recreation( the gym) and they were parked outside. I ALSO HEARD Elvis Presley was gonna pay a special visit.
stang65 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 09:48 PM   #14
joolz

You make it out like this only happens in VIC.

Police + EPA is pretty normal, immigration is odd though; must want to get out of the office and get overtime.
He did say up to Clayton!!
joolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 10:17 PM   #15

Originally Posted by Bobman

That I agree with BUT to be inconvenienced for some time is just unacceptable. When they did one at 9am on Princes Highway in Malvern, some who had done nothing wrong had to wait in the jam for up to half an hour.

So when is an acceptible time and place to set up any sort of road blitz, such as the one you're referring to at the beginning of this thread? 1 am in some back block?

Please read the manual carefully, as the these manufacturers spent millions of dollars making sure it is perfect.....Now why are there so many problems with my car, when I follow the instructions to the letter?....Answer, majority rules round here

Old 05-05-2011, 10:50 PM   #16

They're running an OP in Ipswich up here tonight 6 cars 4 unmarked, the lappers are being pulled up and there are tow trucks picking up the illegal cars all over the place.
Ah, peace and quiet at last.

Burnout is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 11:20 PM   #17
robbo/region15

Wondering if the overstayers/illegals are driving Barinas,Corrollas,Shades tonight?Maybe the Mitsi Van is the Mothership ......outhere?
robbo/region15 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-05-2011, 11:33 PM   #18

Originally Posted by GhiaEB
WOW talk about a police state
What, like the stop and search laws in WA?

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 06-05-2011, 05:53 AM   #19

Looks like you were on the money Bobman.
Listening to the 4am 3AW news on the way home from work & they gave the breakdown of the results.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2011, 07:39 AM   #20

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always puts a good amount of thought into his posts and voices his ideas and opinions in a well thought out and constructive manner. I have certainly seen many threads where his input has been constructive to the topic and overall the forum has benfited f 

Originally Posted by Burnout
They're running an OP in Ipswich up here tonight 6 cars 4 unmarked, the lappers are being pulled up and there are tow trucks picking up the illegal cars all over the place.
Ah, peace and quiet at last.
Peace?

Where?

I think I need to move...a 50k sign means nothing on my street...and not just to the doof doof brigade...minimum speed is generally about 70 going up the hill.

It's nice to see them 'cleaning up' though, both here and in Melbourne.

As for being inconvenienced...would people rather drive on the roads with idiots who are drunk, drugged, driving unroadworthy vehicles, no licence, blah blah blah?

I know I sure as hell don't...as long as they get what they're looking for, even if only 1 or 2...it's better than nothing.

Patience is a virtue that so many people miss out on...

SEZ213 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2011, 08:20 AM   #21

Originally Posted by conordec
Agreed. Sure, being stuck in traffic would annoy me particularly if I'm scratching to get to an appointment but as long as they get results (particularly immigration) I'm happy.

The Immigration Department used to do sweeps at the main taxi rank at the Airport until the taxi directorate complained they were losing all their drivers....

Bearman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2011, 11:39 AM   #22
FTE72
Red is nice Mark.

Would have been hard to get a cab in that area last night.......
TE 50 #72 Blueprint & TS 50 #105 Blueprint
FTE72 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-05-2011, 02:51 PM   #23
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

What, like the stop and search laws in WA?
True. But i thought they never came into effect, as in they were never made into law.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post