Old 16-06-2011, 11:00 PM   #1
V8XTasy

Default purchasing a trailer in Vic

hi, I'm thinking of buying a small camping trailer and I understand that I need to register it with Vic roads and get a rego plate for it. But in order to do this I have to have the purchase receipt, so can't do it in advance. Therefore how do I bring the trailer home after buying it before registering it? Is there a temporary permit like there is for cars? I can't see any mention of one on the Vicroads website. Do I just stick my car rear rego plate on the trailer temporarily?

Thanks

V8XTasy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-06-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
CADSKY
'01 AU11 XR8 UTE

Default Re: purchasing a trailer in Vic

i see heaps of trailers with the car rego just spray painted on it. how far does it have to go? i dont think i have ever heard anyone being pulled over to check if the trailer is registered. maybe just take a chance and drive it home unregistered.

CURRENT
'01 AU2 XR8 UTE - 5 SPEED MANUAL.
MUCH WORK TO DO.

PREVIOUS
'07 BF MK11 XR6 - 6 SPEED AUTO
'95 EF XR6 - 5 SPEED MANUAL

See my car HERE
CADSKY is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-06-2011, 11:28 PM   #3

In Vic I am not sure how it works as most of the trailers I have seen have the car rego on them. This is not the case in NSW.

You should be able to get a permit for it.
The G6ET Spot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2011, 12:08 AM   #4
80rs

If you have the receipt and are on the way home from collecting it you will be fine but if your worried then the old cardboard rego plate will be fine but dont leave it to long to register
80rs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2011, 12:23 AM   #5
V8XTasy

that's great thanks, I'll just print a reg plate to get it home. Just an hours drive.
V8XTasy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2011, 12:45 AM   #6
Matty4
Banana

Where are you buying it from? New or secondhand?
Anything over a 6x4 trailer needs to be registered in Vic.
Using your car rego won't cut it.

If you are buying a new CT then it should come registered new from the dealer. If it's secondhand then it should already be registered.

Failing any of the above, I know you can get an unregistered vehicle permit from Vicroads to allow you to drive an unregistered car for a length of time to allow you to get it roadworthy and then regoed, it may be the same with a trailer.
Old 17-06-2011, 01:10 AM   #7

mate i think you`d be stiff to get knocked off, i`ve had a 7 x 5 unregistered for about 16 years and never been bothered, but i have always had my car rego displayed on the back of the trailer.
Old 17-06-2011, 10:44 AM   #8
cheek

I was under the impression if the trailer is not as wide as the car towing it and is used for private use you do not need to rego them?? We have about 3 trailers we use a couple times a week that are not rego'ed and have never had trouble with them..
cheek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-06-2011, 01:37 PM   #9
XRO6
On the hunt for grunt

http://vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/Regi...ed/Exemptions/

http://vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/Regi...gistration.htm
Old 17-06-2011, 02:46 PM   #10

Check on the Vicroads website, but the basic provisions for not having to register a trailer were 1) >3m length (inc drawbar), 2) >250kg tare, 3) no wider than the towing vehicle. You can get a special trailer rego plate to display your car's rego number, otherwise get something reflective eg hardware shop house numbers. Note that the unregistered exemption does not allow use of the trailer 'for reward', the exemption is intended for domestic use, and people have been done taking stuff to swap meets for example. Harsh perhaps but a technicality.

Edit - better use the links above to verify this info! (cross-posting FTL )

Last edited by outback_ute; 17-06-2011 at 03:05 PM.
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post