You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 23-06-2011, 05:26 PM   #1
dingy

Default Newbie to oz...

Hello all,
New to Australia, Moved from the UK to Syndey.

Looking to get my car imported over in the next year.

Escort RS 2000

GRP 4 Tarmac Spec 550bhp Cosworth YB

Hello everyone..!!

dingy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2011, 05:30 PM   #2

Default Re: Newbie to oz...

Yeh Baby............

Welcome to the land of Oz and the forum
Old 23-06-2011, 05:41 PM   #3
JutroXR8

Nice RS! And welcome aboard!

FGX XR8, Auto, Black.

WG Fiesta ST Manual, Black.
JutroXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2011, 05:41 PM   #4
Psi-Pop
on the way to the RSL

That is one awesome Esky. I'm in love. I was building a grp 4 Tarmac spec Esky but I ran out of time and motivation, let alone money.

Enjoy the forums and do whatever you can to get that escort here.
Old 23-06-2011, 05:41 PM   #5
dingy

Thanks ;)
Old 23-06-2011, 05:42 PM   #6
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

Welcome mate, thats a great looking Esky you have there.

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2011, 05:44 PM   #7
dingy

Couple more pics..

Its just in the uk having a new box fitted - should be ready in a few months but the box isn't sorted from sweden yet so might be longer.
Old 23-06-2011, 06:28 PM   #8
FordFalconBF
2008 BF Futura

Nice..... Easy to find escorts over here.. they arn't all rusted out like the UK ones as well. You can also pick up Mk2 4Door RS2000's overe here =)

2003 BA Falcon Wagon Dedicated LPG
1999 Ford Fairlane Ghia
XF Fairmont Ghia
Escort MK2 RS2000 Replica
FordFalconBF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-06-2011, 08:32 PM   #9

Welcome! And get that damn thing over here!! What a car!!!!
Old 23-06-2011, 08:38 PM   #10
dingy

Yeah will do - its having some work done for the new gearbox

http://www.tractive.se/products/rwd-...-gearboxes__11

6 speed sequential going in...

this is what it looks like at the moment...

should be done in a couple of months the shell then just refitting of the new box
Old 24-06-2011, 11:06 AM   #11
LINC

Hello Dingy good to see you here. Know of you from Passionford.

Lincoln.
LINC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2011, 12:30 PM   #12

Welcome to the forums.

The current regulations are such that the vehicle being imported has to be 100% stock in every sense of the word - yours isnt.
You could try and bring it over as a race vehicle, however, you need a CAMS license to be allowed to do that too.
If you thought it was going to be as easy as putting it on a boat and picking it up, your in for a big surprise.
Old 24-06-2011, 12:48 PM   #13
Andy777

welcome to Sydney mate!

that is one awesome escort! you have given me motivation to finish my mk1 escort now!
Andy777 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2011, 08:19 PM   #14
VioletGT
Slow Sunday driver

Nice "motor"
VioletGT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-06-2011, 09:36 PM   #15
SLO AU XR8

Originally Posted by davway
Welcome to the forums.

The current regulations are such that the vehicle being imported has to be 100% stock in every sense of the word - yours isnt.
You could try and bring it over as a race vehicle, however, you need a CAMS license to be allowed to do that too.
If you thought it was going to be as easy as putting it on a boat and picking it up, your in for a big surprise.
Personal Import laws may get around that.
Forced Performance Tuned
SLO AU XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2011, 08:32 PM   #16
dingy

Importing as a classic race car is the only way as far as i can make out.
Old 25-06-2011, 09:45 PM   #17
Falcman0o7

Welcome to oz MATE! You will have alot more fun over here! warm and dry

Sweet ride to!
Falcman0o7 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-06-2011, 09:51 PM   #18

Originally Posted by dingy
Importing as a classic race car is the only way as far as i can make out.
Hopefully you can get it here, that is one stunning Escort. Welcome to OZ
DJM83 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2011, 05:32 PM   #19
SLO AU XR8

http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roa...riteria_2.aspx

This may help you out heaps! I'd love to see that come here and get rego!
Forced Performance Tuned
SLO AU XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post