Old 30-07-2011, 07:55 PM   #1
RAPID_BA

Default A angry hsv owner

A good mate of mine stopped in today and owns a VE GTS with the 6.0 ls2 and 6 spd man. 307kw motor. Its bog stock and Its out of warranty. he wanted me to go with him to trade it in.

He was telling me about all the reasons why it was no good. Essentially with just 50000km he is spending more money on it than an old clunker.

Harmonic balancer, electrical issues and blinkers working erratically, steering feels loose, water gets in rear lights, clutch feels sticky with any sort of spirited driving. Engine makes strange noises when cold. Changed all sorts of stuff and noises persist. He says all the hsv rims need machining as they are warped in some way and cost a bomb.

He is a member of ls1 forums and says many other members concurr with him that the ve is generally a poorly made vehicle.

Today with me he traded it and they gave him $37k. He bought a cheaper car but brand new. That means a dealer would want $45k for it. So someone is gonna pay that sort of money and get a pretty rough car.

I didn't think the VEs were that bad?

Old 30-07-2011, 07:58 PM   #2
fat4D

Default Re: A angry hsv owner

every car has it's issues i suppos, and every model of every make has its lemons. I think its the same as on here some times it seems like there is lots because people search for answers on forums. hell its why i originally joined
Old 30-07-2011, 07:58 PM   #3

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

I can see this thread going a long way.
Old 30-07-2011, 08:04 PM   #4

Can happen to any make, have a look around this place.
Old 30-07-2011, 08:08 PM   #5

Can anybody say BA

Old 30-07-2011, 08:09 PM   #6
Cashie

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Multiple helpful contributions throughout the tech area. 

Sounds very similar to my VE GTS that I traded on the G6E. I also got a similar trade in too..
The clutch is a known problem with early VEs, gave me the sh$ts.
The MRC suspension was either too soft or too hard and made lots of bangs and clunks.
His blinker issues is also a known HSV issue with the rear LED tail lights.
As I have said in my build thread, I'm enjoying daily driving the G6E far more than I did the GTS.

Past Rides:
2017 Kia Stinger GT
2008 FG XR6 Sedan
2008 FG G6E Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2008 BF XR6 Turbo Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2003 BA XR8 Ute
2003 BA XR6 Sedan
Old 30-07-2011, 08:09 PM   #7
MrsLow006

Ditto to post # 4, I have had a holden - lemon and the FG we have now has 70,000km's and is nearly new with all the new parts it has in it - still under warranty thank god,

XB - ENVY

XB WAGON - Dark Angel
Old 30-07-2011, 08:10 PM   #8
kenz
BOSS Pilot

cool story

Blue SY Territory Ghia

Originally Posted by CAT600
No matter how good the F6 is (and it is damn good), its missing two cylinders.
Old 30-07-2011, 08:11 PM   #9
Ford17

HSV have never understood their target market properly (basically cashed up bogans); instead they've always thought their product to be a European market based competitor.

It's not, and never can be; it's always going to be based on the inexpensive Commodore.
Their name alone (H for Holden + SV) virtually ensures this situation is forever.

Thus it will always contain all the bad (and good) traits of the standard Holden/Commodore.
Old 30-07-2011, 08:13 PM   #10

Not good for a $75K car, but as stated do a search heare and there a lots of FPV owners not happy either.
Old 30-07-2011, 08:22 PM   #11
ILLaViTaR

Anyone with a spec of intelligence would understand that the quality one car isn't evidence against the overall quality of that particular model.

This would also apply to the opposite situation eg. "My EA and JMM parts have never missed a beat, I recommend them despite large scale problems"

Small mindedness ARGHHHH
Old 30-07-2011, 09:00 PM   #12
my69f100
my69

I have a BA RTV which has had quite a few problems, my after work car is a VE GTS 6.2ltr 6spd.Never had any problems with the GTS but rarely drive it.I've had other FORD utes without any problems , thats life. A friend brought a $103,000 merc been back to dealer 4 times in first 3 mths. Can happen to anyone.
Old 30-07-2011, 09:12 PM   #13
RAPID_BA

This guy was really upset about it, hsv kep saying the problems with his car are known by hsv, but then with a smug look they tell him he has no warranty and rack up a nice fat quote to repair. He kept paying and paying and today he decided to move it on.

Quality is about consistency of build as well. You can't say its a once off and therefore we should disregard. If a car manufacturer makes the same car 10 times and all 10 feel different to drive that's not a good thing. Obviously someone is not gonna buy 10 of the same model so they will never know.

My mate is entitled to think they are all built as his was

Last edited by RAPID_BA; 30-07-2011 at 09:17 PM.
Old 30-07-2011, 09:14 PM   #14

Originally Posted by Forda
HSV have never understood their target market properly (basically cashed up bogans); instead they've always thought their product to be a European market based competitor.

It's not, and never can be; it's always going to be based on the inexpensive Commodore.
Their name alone (H for Holden + SV) virtually ensures this situation is forever.

Thus it will always contain all the bad (and good) traits of the standard Holden/Commodore.
You mean like FPV's (sorry FORD performance vehicles) do? I dont really see how the target market has anything to do with issues relating to the vehicle either but hey, if it's holden bashing it has to be right.
Old 30-07-2011, 09:17 PM   #15
falconnut

Holden "Special" Vehicles indeed

Special in the same way a normal holden is, just with pre boganed/riced crap added from the factory.

Same goes with the old Dickfords and Fraud Performance Vehicles
Old 30-07-2011, 09:21 PM   #16
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

like others have said, every make and model will have it's issues... it's a fact of life you just have to live with. if you can't live with issues of a car, don't buy one... quite simple.....
Old 30-07-2011, 09:23 PM   #17
falconnut

I would rather fix a car then deal with most people.
Old 30-07-2011, 09:35 PM   #18

Originally Posted by falconnut

Special in the same way a normal holden is, just with pre boganed/riced crap added from the factory.

Top post
Old 30-07-2011, 09:37 PM   #19

Originally Posted by falconnut

......... "SPECIAL" post.