Old 09-10-2011, 02:59 PM   #1
fpvfairmont2003

Default Whats This AUTO GEAR BOX??

Hi i have a gear box but dont know what its from if its like a c3 c4 ect this is whats on the plate, any info would be great
BORG WARNER
MODEL 35
FORD PART NUMBER 76-DA-7000-BA
MODEL NUMBER 0546-070
SERIAL NUMBER 74229

fpvfairmont2003 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
JG66ME

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Great tech articles and assistance to all in the Classics arena. 
Default Re: Whats This AUTO GEAR BOX??

It is a Borg Warner 35 from a 6 cylinder XC Falcon.
JG66ME is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 03:45 PM   #3

It's a common old Borg Warner 35...seen in everything from Falcons to Valiants and even some other makes. Definately not a C4...
Old 09-10-2011, 05:22 PM   #4

Its Latin name is stopperus boaterus
Old 09-10-2011, 05:54 PM   #5
fpvfairmont2003

so what will it fit and what would i type in like ebay for a filter kit and other parts for it?
Old 09-10-2011, 06:06 PM   #6

don`t forget cortina`s
Old 09-10-2011, 06:15 PM   #7
Jimmyd

don`t forget cortina`s
Or Escorts
Jimmyd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 06:29 PM   #8
drew`SEVNT5

It's a toploader

-2011 Nissan 370z Coupe (6M)-
-2006 Husqvarna SMRR450-
drew`SEVNT5 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 06:56 PM   #9

Originally Posted by drew`SEVNT5
It's a toploader
Yes it is...you "top load" it onto your trailer full of the rest of your rubbish headed for the dump to stop crap blowing out...

It was simply staggering the number, make, and size of cars that the BW35 ended up in, isn't it?
If you want to while away a few hours seeing what it was used in, type "list of cars fitted with borg warner 35 automatic gearboxes" into Google and see the amazing list of cars...MG's, Rovers, Vauxhalls, Toranas, Reliant, Datsun, Nissan...on and on and on...I would hazard a guess that it was one of the most widely used auto boxes in the world from the late 60's and into the seventies...
Old 09-10-2011, 07:30 PM   #10
mad-xa

go to supercheap or any auto place and they sell the stuff like kits for them and they bolt onto the 250 x-flow motor cast head and alloy head there cheap to replace and work pretty well for a cheap box ..
mad-xa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 08:15 PM   #11
sudszy

Its described as having three forward and one reverse gear.....any tranny of these might boast only the three forward gears!

The reverse diaphragm/clutch/servo whatever was only good for a certain amount of operations, before it spat the dummy. I went through 3 reverse thingos in less than 100 000miles, not a major repair, but costly and inconvenient enough but hardly an easy do it yourself in the driveway.
sudszy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 08:18 PM   #12
KR1STO
Just another mock-up..

Didn't they end up in sigma's too..?
I'm sure I had a BW35 in my old GJ..

see my car here:
Built my own TL50!!!

KR1STO is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-10-2011, 09:03 PM   #13

Originally Posted by KR1STO
Didn't they end up in sigma's too..?
I'm sure I had a BW35 in my old GJ..
Yes indeed...I've personally owned a Holden Sunbird, a Ford XC Falcon (briefly...bought it off my bro-in-law for a song and sold it on just as quickly for a profit), and a Valiant fitted with that box, and driven plenty of other cars with them as well.

Very common box, probably because of how cheap they were.
Old 09-10-2011, 10:08 PM   #14
sudszy

Originally Posted by 2011G6E
Yes indeed...I've personally owned a Holden Sunbird, .
?? interesting , its only listed as having the trimatic, opel or starfire motor?. The HB torana did use one though.

They were common as muck here because the were good for local content requirements. Boxes like the powerglide, torqueflite were not.
sudszy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-10-2011, 05:59 AM   #15

Originally Posted by sudszy
?? interesting , its only listed as having the trimatic, opel or starfire motor?. The HB torana did use one though.

They were common as muck here because the were good for local content requirements. Boxes like the powerglide, torqueflite were not.
It was "Powered" (and I use the term loosely) by the black Opel motor...I could be wrong and it may have been a Traumatic, but I thought it had a BW35. Ah, close enough...
I knew they were used in a lot of cars, but when I did that Google search it amazed me...they were used literally all over the world in all sorts of cars of all shapes and sizes. Must have been an amazing marketing department they had to spruik them to the car makers at the time...
Old 10-10-2011, 04:22 PM   #16
fpvfairmont2003

im rebuilding a xc 6cly engine would it be worth rebuilding this gearbox and puting a hi-stall in it?
Old 10-10-2011, 04:37 PM   #17
mad-xa

mate rebuild the engine then choose either auto or manual box id use the borgy as a training thing,get a rebuild book open it up and have alook most mechanics never do there auto box section when they do there apprentiship as its pretty complex personally id choose manual as they go harder....
mad-xa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-10-2011, 12:15 AM   #18

Originally Posted by fpvfairmont2003
im rebuilding a xc 6cly engine would it be worth rebuilding this gearbox and puting a hi-stall in it?
If you want auto, just get a c4. BW35 is best used as a boat anchor. Junk box.