Old 05-12-2011, 08:47 PM   #1
buggo
[BU66OS]

Default Rim Repair- Central Coast

G'day guys,
I have a small (about 1'') crack on the inside edge on one of my wheels.
Can anyone recommend from personal experience a good reliable joint that specialises in this? Preferably around the Gosford area but I'm willing to travel an hour odd each way if the place is good.
I did a search but couldn't find specifically what I'm after.

I'm assuming >$200 is realistic yeah.

On a side note, I have some rim rash on 3 wheels, anyone recommend a place for that also?

Thanks very much

BA XR8 Manual
buggo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2011, 09:06 PM   #2
Peter B - CV8

Default Re: Rim Repair- Central Coast

Are you sure that you want to risk your life & some other road users life to a cracked & repaired rim. Getting some gutter rash repaired is fine - but a crack
Peter B - CV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

I damn well would... It's been proven time and time again a cracked, then re-welded wheel will be fine....

Worst comes to worst, there's always a spare wheel...
Old 05-12-2011, 09:32 PM   #4
351ciofgrunt
Go Hard or Go Home

Originally Posted by buggo_gt

I'm assuming >$200 is realistic yeah.

On a side note, I have some rim rash on 3 wheels, anyone recommend a place for that also?

Thanks very much
Have you looked into the price of a new rim? Thought $200 would get you a new one
351ciofgrunt is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2011, 09:36 PM   #5
FTe342

Can't remember the name of the place, but go down showground rd from the high school and turn left into the industrial estate after the showground. Take the 2nd on the right and about half way down on the left is an engineering business., a shed set well back from the road, who does wheel repairs. Very good operator with a big lathe who fixes buckles and dents etc
he works in with another mob who fix gutter rash and paint wheels - also 1st class - ask for the referral to them - I have had plenty of work done by both
T3 TL50 #147 Silhouette Auto ESS - Brembos - Last of 3 in T3 spec, only AUIII TL50 ever built -14.2 sec @ 98mph bog stock. Only customer ordered T3 TL50 built, only LWB sedan plated AUIII and the last performance enhanced LWB sedan built by Ford Aust.

AUII Fairlane Ghia Sportsman 5.0L in Blue Pearl

OWN THE ROAD
FTe342 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2011, 10:02 PM   #6
spannerman

Give these guys a try

http://www.truelocal.com.au/business...workshop/taree

These guys repaired a cracked alloy rim from my 4wd comp truck. He is starting to repair alot of supercar teams wheels and he has all the gear to do it right.
For what it was worth he had a rim sitting there that had a crack in it that you could fit your little finger in and he said that it was going to be repaired

a small crack in my rim + a thread repair on a beadlock cost me $160
to look at the rim wouldent know
spannerman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-12-2011, 10:08 PM   #7
buggo
[BU66OS]

Originally Posted by Peter B - CV8
Are you sure that you want to risk your life & some other road users life to a cracked & repaired rim. Getting some gutter rash repaired is fine - but a crack
I didn't think it was a bad thing to do? There's businesses that do it so surely they are getting enough business to support themselves. I would have thought a repaired tyre is more dangerous than a welded wheel?

Originally Posted by xrghiawagon
I damn well would... It's been proven time and time again a cracked, then re-welded wheel will be fine....

Worst comes to worst, there's always a spare wheel...
Yeah that's the impression I was under. And I've had my spare on for ages. I've only recently got a new job after leaving maccas 2 months ago, so I'm keen to fix my car up.

Originally Posted by 351ciofgrunt
Have you looked into the price of a new rim? Thought $200 would get you a new one
Nah I have dark argent reps, about $400 a rim. Depending on the price of fixing the rash but, might be a worthwhile option for this one.

Originally Posted by FTe342
Can't remember the name of the place, but go down showground rd from the high school and turn left into the industrial estate after the showground. Take the 2nd on the right and about half way down on the left is an engineering business., a shed set well back from the road, who does wheel repairs. Very good operator with a big lathe who fixes buckles and dents etc
he works in with another mob who fix gutter rash and paint wheels - also 1st class - ask for the referral to them - I have had plenty of work done by both
Thank you very much mate. Will get on to him this weekend hopefully.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 05-12-2011, 10:09 PM   #8
buggo
[BU66OS]

Originally Posted by spannerman
Give these guys a try

http://www.truelocal.com.au/business...workshop/taree

These guys repaired a cracked alloy rim from my 4wd comp truck. He is starting to repair alot of supercar teams wheels and he has all the gear to do it right.
For what it was worth he had a rim sitting there that had a crack in it that you could fit your little finger in and he said that it was going to be repaired

a small crack in my rim + a thread repair on a beadlock cost me $160
to look at the rim wouldent know
Thanks mate will check him out also.

BA XR8 Manual
Old 06-12-2011, 07:32 AM   #9
sneaky

I have used promac engineering in cardiff (newcastle) in the past. I think the repair was $70 or $90, I was quoted one price and charged lower I think.

Pics of the wheel and repair are in the for sale section, too much of a pain to link to as I'm on my phone.