Old 19-05-2012, 02:36 PM   #1
krzysiek

Default Just got windows tinted - bubbles around edges, normal?

Hi guys,

Just got my xr6 FG tinted with octane on the sides and 25% on the rear.

I like it and it looks good but there are some bubbles around the edges of the rear window. Not in all places, only in some. Don't like it and I need to fix it somehow as I love this car and want everything done properly.

The tinter said its because around the edges it has those grooves / dots and the surface is uneven. So the tint doesn't stick in all places.

Will upload photos soon. Anyone know what to do though?

krzysiek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 02:38 PM   #2
stalker

Default Re: Just got windows tinted - bubbles around edges, normal?

if its what im thinking off there isnt alot you can do about it, over the little black dots.. they will normally fade away when the heat hits it though.
XF ute 4.0ltr injected out of an ed with girl cam and 5speed, and an xd front end for good measure
stalker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
jamesson1980

I was told when my FG was done that the bubbles around the edge would vanish within a week or two, and sure enough, they did.

Maybe just call the mob who did the work to let them know you are worried (just to create a paper trail in case it is actually a crap job), but I think you'll find they'll tell you to wait, and they will most likely be right. MY EA was the same many years ago.. bubbles everywhere, especially around the brown dotted area on the rear window, the film seems to shrink on over the first period and ends up fine.

I'm no expert on tinting, just my experience, and I wouldn't stress

2009 FG XR6, Ego Paint, Darkest possible tint, Sunroof, Black Vic number plates. No performance mods. Born To Be Mild
jamesson1980 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 02:51 PM   #4
Jip

Bubbles in new window tint is normal. just leave it in the sun for a week or two and it should clear up.

DO NOT wind down your windows for a few days either.
Jip is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 03:21 PM   #5
krzysiek

Thanks guys. Will upload photo in a bit just to confirm what it is.

He said "it will be like that for a bit" when I first pointed it out to him. However I just said okay but he never said it was actually gong to get better. I hope it does as you guys have said.

I noticed on my drivers side window it looks as If there was a bit of a streak left before the tint was put on (after he cleaned). It is hard to notice but it looks like the streak won't be cleaned off as it is "before" the tint.

I noticed on passenger window at the front he must have scraped about 2cm of the window with his tool as there is a scratch in the tint. Again only aroun 2cm long but still there.

The main thing is the bubbles though. Do not want them. Was the first thing my mum noticed as soon as she had a look at it too.
Old 19-05-2012, 03:52 PM   #6
irdonn

My AU had these bubbles too. Like everyone else has stated, they went away after a few days.

If you're not happy with the other things you've noticed, take it back and let them know.

Ian
Old 19-05-2012, 04:41 PM   #7

Yeah, as above. it's normal around the stenciled matt black paint around the inside of the window edges. It won't be perfect, but will improve

Two things will happen in the next few days:

1. It will improve as it dries out
2. You won't worry about it so much
Shonky. is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 04:59 PM   #8
krzysiek

Update: After having a bit closer of an inspection, I think I have wrongly led you guys on about what I meant.

I had a closed look, and all over the rear glass window there are tiny bubbles all over the place - covering the whole window.

I think this is what you guys are referring to as the 'bubbles' and that they will 'go away' after a bit (I certainly hope so, as the whole rear window is made up of these little bubbles - as you can see in the photos).

What I am more concerned about is the bubbles / tint not sticking to the window around the very edges of the window, as you can see in the photos. This is the part that I am mainly concerned about as it is blatantly obvious when looking at the car.

I think I might take it in after a week as the front right hand side door, the tint has been applied and I think the window wasn't cleaned properly - and the ~2cm scratch in the tint on the left hand side front passenger window.

If these bubbles around the outside of the rear window don't also disappear, I am going to be a bit upset as it does not look good!

Is it even meant to look like that? I Note the bubbles / non sticking of the tint around the edges of the window is not consistent. In some parts it seems to stick to the window just fine, and in other places it bubbles up and doesn't stick.

The photos should explain all.

Any pointers are appreciated!

(click on the image for larger picture)

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/713/photo3hl.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/404/photo2nto.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/543/photo1rpr.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/822/photofsu.jpg/

PS: Not nit picking, but seeing through the rear window is now slightly blurry. Still good for driving of course, but comparing to before, or the side windows, the rear appears slightly blurry. Perhaps need to let it dry out first.
Old 19-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #9
Tomo1972

I had that result from my tinton my FG from the dealer.

It is being stripped off, redone, car detailed, tank of fuel and free 15000k service as a result.

Few other issues contributed to the compensation...**** service on pickup, car not clean "like new" but ost importanly for us, poor tinting.
Tomo1972 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-05-2012, 05:12 PM   #10
krzysiek

Tomo, you mean mainly in reference to the bubbles on the rear around the edges? Did you give it some time to dry out and still nothing?
Old 19-05-2012, 05:15 PM   #11

in regard to around the edges: if you run your finger around the inside to push the tinting against the glass from time to time it will help improve it, together with it drying out.

Like I said above, it won't be quite perfect, but will get much better
Old 19-05-2012, 05:17 PM   #12
Tomo1972

Originally Posted by krzysiek
Tomo, you mean mainly in reference to the bubbles on the rear around the edges? Did you give it some time to dry out and still nothing?
Yeah mate, its been two months and sill looks the same.

If I rub my finger on it, it sticks properly but then becomes detached a few minutes after.

It is he same the entire way around the window.
Old 19-05-2012, 05:25 PM   #13
krzysiek

Originally Posted by Tomo1972
Yeah mate, its been two months and sill looks the same.

If I rub my finger on it, it sticks properly but then becomes detached a few minutes after.

It is he same the entire way around the window.
Well that sucks. I hate to be a ****** and go back in there as the bloke 'did the job' and I hate people who complain over stupid things... but I really feel like he's been a bit slack with the scratch, tint applied over not clean window, and then all the bubbles on the back.

Will give it a week or two and see what happens with the bubbles.

Originally Posted by shonkymofo
in regard to around the edges: if you run your finger around the inside to push the tinting against the glass from time to time it will help improve it, together with it drying out.

Like I said above, it won't be quite perfect, but will get much better
I will do as you say as often as I can (while not over doing it) and hopefully it will help. It pretty comes unstuck immediately upon letting go with the finger though. If I get a hair dryer or something in there and 'heat it' to make it stick around the edges, you guys think that might work?

I'd only try anything like that after a week though.
Old 19-05-2012, 05:34 PM   #14
krzysiek

With tint a car, you register your warranty online. I just did that, and here is a line from the warranty card;

On vehicles, the whiting effect caused when film is applied over the ‘black dots’ on rear screens is normal and
not a fault of either the film or application. Performance of the film is not affected.

Seems like I am screwed in regards to the rear window...
Old 19-05-2012, 05:37 PM   #15
Tomo1972

Originally Posted by krzysiek
With tint a car, you register your warranty online. I just did that, and here is a line from the warranty card;

On vehicles, the whiting effect caused when film is applied over the ‘black dots’ on rear screens is normal and
not a fault of either the film or application. Performance of the film is not affected.

Seems like I am screwed in regards to the rear window...
Nah I have seen dozens of cars where the tint has stuck perfectly to the dots.
Old 19-05-2012, 06:02 PM   #16

I wouldn't use a hair dryer.

I've had 3 cars done in the last couple of years and had the same result on the black window surrounds.

In a week it will be as good as it's going to get. Make a call then whether its acceptable to you or not.

The other issues would be unacceptable to me. I would wait until after it has dried (so you know what you're left with) and then take it back.

I have taken 2/3 cars back, but it was regarding how the tinting was cut around the edges of the non-fixed glass (side windows)

I can't imagine it's a very hard skill so it is frustrating that guys who do it for a living can't get it Mickey Mouse
Old 19-05-2012, 06:32 PM   #17
krzysiek

I wouldn't use a hair dryer.

I've had 3 cars done in the last couple of years and had the same result on the black window surrounds.

In a week it will be as good as it's going to get. Make a call then whether its acceptable to you or not.

The other issues would be unacceptable to me. I would wait until after it has dried (so you know what you're left with) and then take it back.

I have taken 2/3 cars back, but it was regarding how the tinting was cut around the edges of the non-fixed glass (side windows)

I can't imagine it's a very hard skill so it is frustrating that guys who do it for a living can't get it Mickey Mouse
I think this here is pretty much what I should do. Give it time to dry and see what is left with it - to be fair.

But yeah, I paid $300 for it and while it may not be the most expensive - I still want a good job.
Old 19-05-2012, 11:39 PM   #18

i was a window tinter for 9 years and the spots in the photos all look perfectly normal. the ones in the clear part of the window is just the water left behind from the aplication process and will dry out over a few days( depending on weather etc it can take 1 day to several weeks. ) best thing to do is not touch it and leave it to dry naturaly. the smear on the side glass is probably the same thing.
the film not sitting down on the spots around the edge is an inherant problem with windows that have the dots. sometimes the dots are thick enough to hold the film up off the glass and the air gap between gives that white look. it is nobodies fault and most times there is no solution. sometimes it will pull down by itself or after about a week or so if you rub it with your thumb nail or a credit card wraped on a cotton cloth you might get it to stick between the spots.
Old 19-05-2012, 11:41 PM   #19

if its so easy how come you dont do your own.
Old 19-05-2012, 11:43 PM   #20
WILDB

Mine looked the same at first, it went away after a couple of weeks.
WILDB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 20-05-2012, 12:15 AM   #21

lol, the pros make it look easy.. it a freaking frustrating job.

ive done quite of a few of my own cars, and rear windows are the one where il always pay a pro to do it for me.
Old 20-05-2012, 12:37 AM   #22

" Just got windows tinted - bubbles around edges, normal? "

Maybe he just wants a hug.....

(I've had issues with back windows on previous cars that were tinted)
Old 20-05-2012, 01:01 AM   #23

Originally Posted by dave351cid
if its so easy how come you dont do your own.
Same reason I don't bake my own bread. Given the cost of buying it my time is better spent doing what I either get paid to do or enjoy doing.

I do see your point though, my comment was arrogant. Just the problems I have had to ask to be rectified by tinters would not have been there if they had pride in their work, which is frustrating esp given the last car I had done is worth a lot of money yet the job he had done on his 20 year old workshop vehicle was far superior (I looked)

Anyway, I shouldn't sell anyones trade short, so I apologise
Old 20-05-2012, 01:04 AM   #24

Same reason I don't bake my own bread. Given the cost of buying it my time is better spent doing what I either get paid to do or enjoy doing.

I do see your point though, my comment was arrogant. Just the problems I have had to ask to be rectified by tinters would not have been there if they had pride in their work, which is frustrating esp given the last car I had done is worth a lot of money yet the job he had done on his 20 year old workshop vehicle was far superior (I looked)

Anyway, I shouldn't sell anyones trade short, so I apologise
and i agree there are a few dodgy window tinters around. like all trades i expect.
Old 20-05-2012, 11:47 AM   #25
jamesson1980

Seeing your pics, mine was certainly like this around the edge, it did improve to near perfect in a week or so.. as for the apparent bubbly look over the entire window, that looks to me like the the adhesive just needs to dry.

2009 FG XR6, Ego Paint, Darkest possible tint, Sunroof, Black Vic number plates. No performance mods. Born To Be Mild
jamesson1980 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post