Old 21-06-2012, 05:29 PM   #1
SPArKy_Dave
Too many Fords........ :)

Default ebay traders, Read This

We all know how ebay can be a right minefield.

I myself have had a few issues with purchases on the bay,
(one which is taking nearly six months to resolve.)

Valuable lessons to be learnt.

Have a read -

http://www.rippedoffbyrob.com/story.php

97 EL V8 wagon - cool cruiser, or street bruiser? CLICKY
93 XG panel van - at your door in 60 secs, or the first hr is FREE........ yep, that's the goal.
95 XG ute - awaiting a head gasket...... grrrrr.

74 XB GS pano..... factory optioned with all the good stuff..... not much there now. ........long term resto.
XB Coupe and Van TV Ad
you know........ there's a little bit of Bathurst in every Ford Falcon.... think about it
SPArKy_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2012, 05:41 PM   #2
Simple6

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Tech article on rear bushes. 
Default Re: ebay traders, Read This

Re post but none the less a good warning!
Old 21-06-2012, 05:50 PM   #3
KIWI-1

Two fools, if you ask me.
KIWI-1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
HULK EF

Who the hell pays for a car online? Takes two idiots to tango.. although one evil one and one gullible one.

CASH ON PICK UP OR NOTHING! buying or selling a car.

NO PAYPAL
NO DIECT DEPOSITS
NO FRIENDS PICKING UP ON BEHALF OF THE OFFSHORE OIL RIGGER.
HULK EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2012, 06:54 PM   #5
KIWI-1

Originally Posted by HULK EF
Who the hell pays for a car online?
I did, eBay, rang owner on landline, hit 'Buy Now' while still on phone, direct debit $1000 deposit while still on phone, owner got roadworthy, direct debit balance, drove 400km and picked up 2 weeks later, transfered rego, all good.
KIWI-1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 21-06-2012, 07:15 PM   #6

Originally Posted by HULK EF
Who the hell pays for a car online? Takes two idiots to tango.. although one evil one and one gullible one.

CASH ON PICK UP OR NOTHING! buying or selling a car.

NO PAYPAL
NO DIECT DEPOSITS
NO FRIENDS PICKING UP ON BEHALF OF THE OFFSHORE OIL RIGGER.

I have and had no dramas...

Its a case of buyer beware and make sure you have set terms prior to buying/ bidding. Get as many photos as possible (recent ones). If your going to pick up the car, pay the deposit (10% is the max) and tell the seller you will be there on a certain day. Get it in writting in an email.
Bring cash or do the bank transfer with the seller present.

If you cant pick it up, get someone to at least confirm the whereabouts of the car.... and get them to inspect it prior to buying.

Old 21-06-2012, 08:16 PM   #7
Jack960

They seller was in the wrong and seems like a legit nut case if you read all the emails at the bottom. As stated tho, the buyer could check off everything on the list of things what not to do when you buy a car.
Jack960 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post