Old 16-02-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
Cam
Stroking it...

Question Crossroads..

So as the title suggests I have a dilemma..

I bought my AU wagon for towing duties on my trip. Which its done well do far..

I'm up for new rotors and also had to get some issues with my auto attended too... I was has issues with the box locking up too early and disengaging too soon.. instead of having the box dropped to do the S7 solenoid I opted to just do the S6 and check the state of the box... It wasn't good... After about 2000k the oil was black and the filter full of metal..

I hadn't planned on keeping the AU after my travels but when I need to spend 2 or 5k with labour I find it hard to justify.. on the plus I have changed everything from the air filter to the fuel pump in the AU..and its only had an easy 180k..

Now I had planned on a Terri AWD to replace the AU, so I can use it daily. Tow with it, and best of all go on the beach during my travels after some new tyres... The Terri would be fitted witha trans cooler obviously...

Discuss...

PS, van is only 1200kg and has good working mechanical brakes..

PPS, I have no service. So checking this when possible. Will try check it again tonight...

Now: Busted assed EB Wagon - 5sp and Dual Fuel.
Cam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 03:16 PM   #2
Papa Smurf

Default Re: Crossroads..

I see no trouble with getting a Territory. If you do, make sure that the front lower control arms have been replaced and, if the dealer you get it from won't or doesn't want to check, go elsewhere. If you are going to buy it privately phone 13FORD and ask if the vehicle has had all the warranty issues fixed.
Papa Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 03:36 PM   #3
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

That's the Problem Cam. age is taking it's toll on the mighty AUs no mater how well you keep and maintain them reality is there are nearly past there use by date, you either spend the $$ to keep them as a daily or keep throwing second hand bits at them or drive them into the ground. Or save the good ones for the weekend ,, A Terry upgrade may not be such a bad idea at this time

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 03:39 PM   #4
Cam
Stroking it...

BTW, forgot to add, I'd be trading on a 05/06 ghia..
Old 16-02-2013, 03:44 PM   #5
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

Do it Cam, if its going to cost heaps to fix why not!

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Maka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 04:14 PM   #6
BHDOGS

drive to Adelaide and buy my au v8 for towing duties.
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 06:02 PM   #7
Cam
Stroking it...

Does it have all my good bits in it?
Old 16-02-2013, 06:36 PM   #8
BHDOGS

haha yes ur interior, diff, exhaust just needed ur old engine
BHDOGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 07:33 PM   #9
fordman302

the only possible slight downside to the territory is the fuel use, our awd is a little heavy on juice, when we tow an offroad camper to bathurst i get about 20l/100k, in saying that if the speed limit is 110k's thats what i do without hassle and i rarely get stuck behind anything, probably be better if i was happier to take more time.... must try that one day
fordman302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #10
fordman302

oh and it weighs 900kg
fordman302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-02-2013, 08:50 PM   #11
Cam
Stroking it...

Well, nce the roads re-open I am en route to Sydney.. Currently shacked up in Nambucca Heads till the floods ease.

I can get a SY AWD Terri (with the ZF) for my budget so thas my plan once I hit Sydney, I also have my eye on a couple online..

The AU's days are numbered, and she knows it.. Today she got a flat, and the cat collapsed and sounds terrible!
Old 27-02-2013, 08:41 PM   #12
Cam
Stroking it...

Well, today I found myself halfway up a steep hill, on a dirt road, in the middle of National Park with a failed gearbox. Not one of my better days...

Anyone in Sydney got a box sitting around?
Old 27-02-2013, 09:31 PM   #13
GK
Walking with God

Originally Posted by Cam View Post
Well, today I found myself halfway up a steep hill, on a dirt road, in the middle of National Park with a failed gearbox. Not one of my better days...

Anyone in Sydney got a box sitting around?
Mate, that is a bad, bad run. :(

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-02-2013, 11:00 PM   #14
Cam
Stroking it...

Arhh well, that's life mate!

I got towed by a fellow traveller to the site, so am sitting tight for a few days whilst I calculate my next move. Got enough gas and food for a week, so it's all good (except for the whole bank account part)..

But, I still get to wake up surrounded by national park, and spend yet another day with my little boy. See, life could be worse..
Old 27-02-2013, 11:22 PM   #15
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

Cam, I have an AU 4L gearbox sitting here. It isn't the best (unknown KM's), but it will help you get out of trouble. Was running fine in the Fairlane..
Old 03-03-2013, 07:54 PM   #16

Wouldn't buy a Terry if you're planning to tow a lot. Will do it no worries but geez you'll pay thru the you know what for fuel.

Would a Ranger etc do? The 3L Turbo Diesels are meant to be alright, I am planning on putting one in the driveway as soon as the Navara is gone.
Old 05-03-2013, 09:07 PM   #17
Cam
Stroking it...

Originally Posted by b2tf View Post
Wouldn't buy a Terry if you're planning to tow a lot. Will do it no worries but geez you'll pay thru the you know what for fuel.

Would a Ranger etc do? The 3L Turbo Diesels are meant to be alright, I am planning on putting one in the driveway as soon as the Navara is gone.
That's why I was planning a 6sp, the fuel usage is comparable to the AU from everyone I've spoken to who tows with them.

But... I got cold feet.. I found a very sweet SY Ghia and at the last minute I chickened out. After I bought it I'd be left with a very sad looking bank account, something that's not really ideal when living on the road.. Not to mention the money I need to have aside for when my (autistic) son needs therapy etc. I was just going to be cutting it too close financially..

So the plan is got get a box, buy some bags for the back of the goon, and do the brakes. I'll continue to travel with it and buy a TTG upon my return..

Thanks for all the advice guys, and a massive thanks to DC Todd who came to my rescue in more ways then one since I've been in Sydney!

Ps, If any of you wanna catch up whilst I am in Sydney, drop me a pm. Would love to put some faces to names!