You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-12-2013, 11:36 AM   #1

Default Why use steel reinforcing in concrete?

They built 13 stories on grade, with no basement, and tied it all down to hollow pilings with no steel reinforcing in an earthquake zone to boot.

Brought to you by the same folks that make your kids' toys and want to build your car.

zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 11:57 AM   #2

Default Re: Why use steel reinforcing in concrete?

Bet they will rig up a bunch of pulleys and right it with some plastic tent pegs and poly guy ropes...

When I was in Vietnam we were travelling with a commercial building inspector and in the 2 weeks we were walking around he didn't see one thing that came close to our codes.

Mostly in regards to erection of scaffolding / workplace safety etc. Did see a few slabs being poured and he walked away shaking his head saying 'good luck'...

Old 02-12-2013, 11:57 AM   #3

Say no more. Not the first and won't be the last.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 02-12-2013, 12:37 PM   #4

I remember my first trip to India, talking about codes........ I made the mistake of looking up and following the power lines, one stretch had fifty lines and half a dozen knots tied into it not insulated?

I thought Aussies were the only one's to use the "she'll be right mate" approach.....Obviously not!

may your day's be filled with smiles, your life be filled with love, may your children know nothing but happiness and joy, cherish the memory of those who strove before us for they cleared the way, spare a thought for those who serve we owe so much to so many, life and the freedom to enjoy it is a special gift that can be taken away far too soon!
Old 02-12-2013, 12:48 PM   #5
cobramania
FPV BFII GT Cobra No.249

What's your issue?
The building's in one piece, & the footings are still attached, it's the ground that didn't hold up it's end of the bargain.
cobramania is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 12:51 PM   #6
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by zilo View Post
They built 13 stories on grade, with no basement, and tied it all down to hollow pilings with no steel reinforcing in an earthquake zone to boot.
Sooooo, who’s game enough to live in the other two that are “for now” still standing?
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 12:53 PM   #7

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Its different in those countries.

I'd like to see how many parents would allow this to happen in Australia.

...picture I took when working in India.
Old 02-12-2013, 12:58 PM   #8

Originally Posted by Full Noise View Post
Sooooo, who’s game enough to live in the other two that are “for now” still standing?

Would be like sitting in the second WTC building after watching the first one come down I imagine?
Old 02-12-2013, 12:59 PM   #9
Full Noise
Life begins at 40

Originally Posted by vztrt View Post
Its different in those countries.

I'd like to see how many parents would allow this to happen in Australia.

...picture I took when working in India.
I have no problem with this.

In fact, I’d like to see Indians who live in this country travel that way.
Full Noise is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 01:46 PM   #10
jpblue1000

Brought to you by the same folks that make your kids' toys and want to build your car.

The remaining buildings were condemned befoer ocupation and the major shareholders of the development were persecuted.
there was steel in the footings as clearly shown in photos from the site.

News from the day September 2010

Errors in construction procedure (not design) were the main cause of the 13-floor building toppling in Minhang District of Shanghai, local government officials said Friday at a press conference.

Workers piled excavated earth up to 10 meters high on the north side of the building at Lotus Riverside complex while digging a 4.6-meter underground garage at the south side of the building at the same time.

The pressure on both sides moved the foundations horizontally and they were unable to support the building, Huang Rong, director of the Shanghai Construction and Communication Commission, told a press conference.

JP
jpblue1000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 05:08 PM   #11

Originally Posted by jpblue1000 View Post
The remaining buildings were condemned befoer ocupation and the major shareholders of the development were persecuted.
there was steel in the footings as clearly shown in photos from the site.

JP
I've got the other photos, chicken mesh doesn't qualify as a substitute for reo.
Old 02-12-2013, 06:54 PM   #12
jpblue1000

I've got the other photos, chicken mesh doesn't qualify as a substitute for reo.
You are absoulutely right. The vast majority of piles were in fact built with substandard or innefective (read none) reinforcing bar. The tension Piles in effect couldnt work to hold the building down as concrete is very poor in tension but Ok in Compression. Steel is Great in tension Ok in Compression.
But the mitigating effect was poor sequencing of work, digging out under one side piling the spoil to the other side during a very wet period which overloaded the capacity of the piles, had tyhe sequence not been por they probably would have stood for eons. look at the great cathederals of Europe, some are built on slate footings 12 inches deep!.
I wonder how much of this goes on here.
I am aware of 2 buildings demolished before habitation here in australia due to not being fit structurally. and know of several Similar (smaller scale) failures in the UK.

JP
Old 02-12-2013, 09:09 PM   #13

That picture is at least 5 years old... EDIT 3 years, just saw the other post.

When I was in Vietnam we were travelling with a commercial building inspector and in the 2 weeks we were walking around he didn't see one thing that came close to our codes.

Mostly in regards to erection of scaffolding / workplace safety etc. Did see a few slabs being poured and he walked away shaking his head saying 'good luck'...
Have a European Enginer look at our designs and construction techniques and they would walk away in the same manner.

Not sure they remember what cast-in situ construction or formwork is in Northern Europe.
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-12-2013, 09:30 PM   #14
jpblue1000

Originally Posted by Stefan View Post

Not sure they remember what cast-in situ construction or formwork is in Northern Europe.
Probably a bit of an exageration. My last project poured 200,000 cubic meters of concrete insitu and also on ground formwork. some slabs up to 2 meters thick

JP
Old 02-12-2013, 09:32 PM   #15

Originally Posted by Stefan View Post
Have a European Enginer look at our designs and construction techniques and they would walk away in the same manner.

Yes, you are correct, a builder that comes from the UK used to live in our block and we were chewing the fat one day about his bigger jobs here and he promptly pointed to to several features our older building has and the new building next door has that wouldn't be accepted in one of the countries he worked in (Sweden or Switzerland?) prior to getting here.

Old 03-12-2013, 03:10 AM   #16

No, no, no, "the Chinese are going to take over the world," "Great Walls will be as good as Mercedes in a few years, just wait and see..."
Bwahahaha
Crazy Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-12-2013, 08:03 PM   #17

It's beyond dumb to honestly think that a country which does not really value human life, will somehow miraculously value your life when trying to make a car for you; even though it's made as cheaply as possible for maximum profit.